| Notes forming part of accounts [line items] | | |
| Disclosure of notes and other explanatory information [text block] | | |
| Disclosure of general information about reporting entity [abstract] | | |
| Disclosure of general information about reporting entity [text block] | Saudi Enaya Cooperative Insurance Company (the “Company”) is a Saudi Joint Stock Company incorporated in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia as per the Ministry of Commerce and Industry’s Resolution number 98/Q dated 16 Rabi Al-Awwal 1433H (corresponding to 8 February 2012). The Commercial Registration number of the Company is 4030223528 dated 27 Rabi Al-Awal 1433H (corresponding to 19 February 2012).The Registered Office address of the Company is:Building No. 8433Prince Sultan Street, Al Rawdah DistrictP.O. Box 3528Jeddah 23435Kingdom of Saudi ArabiaFollowing is the branch of the Company:BranchCommercial Registration Number:Riyadh1010421871The Company is licensed to conduct insurance business in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia under cooperative principles in accordance with Royal Decree No. M/49 dated 27 Rajab 1432H (corresponding to 29 June 2011) pursuant to the Council of Ministers’ Resolution No 224 dated 25 Rajab 1432H (corresponding to 27 June 2011). As of the date of incorporation, the Company is 77% owned by the Saudi shareholders and the general public and 23% owned by non-Saudi shareholders. The Company was listed on the Saudi Stock Exchange (Tadawul) on 27 February 2012.The objective of the Company is to engage in cooperative insurance operations and related activities, including reinsurance, agencies, representation, correspondence and brokerage, in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia in accordance with its Articles of Association, and applicable regulations in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. The Company is licensed to underwrite medical insurance only. The Company commenced its commercial operations on 7 January 2013. | 1 |
| Disclosure of basis of preparation of financial statements [text block] | The interim condensed financial information for the three months and nine-months periods ended 30 September 2020 have been prepared in accordance with International Accounting Standard 34 - Interim Financial Reporting (“IAS 34”) as endorsed in Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and other standards and pronouncements issued by the Saudi Organization for Certified Public Accountants (“SOCPA”).The interim condensed financial statement is prepared under the going concern basis and the historical cost convention, except for the measurement of investments at their fair value. The Company’s interim condensed statement of financial position is not presented using a current / non-current classification. However, the following balances would generally be classified as current: cash and cash equivalents, investment in Murabaha deposits, premiums receivable-net, due from reinsurers-net, reinsurers’ share of unearned premiums, deferred policy acquisition costs, deferred excess of loss premiums, prepayments and other assets, due to policyholders, reinsurers and brokers, accrued expenses, unearned premiums and reinsurance commission, outstanding claims and claims IBNR, provision for premium deficiency reserve, other technical reserves and accrued Zakat. The following balances would generally be classified as non-current: outstanding claims, claims IBNR, end-of-service indemnities, related parties balances, accrued interest on statutory deposit, investments held at fair value through income statement, available-for-sale investment, statutory deposit, property and equipment, and intangible assets.As required by the Saudi Arabian Insurance Regulations, the Company maintains separate books of accounts for Insurance Operations and Shareholders’ Operations and presents the financial information accordingly. Assets, liabilities, revenues and expenses clearly attributable to either activity are recorded in the respective accounts. Similarly, in the past, the Company’s interim condensed and annual financial statements presented separately the statements of financial position, income, comprehensive income and cash flows for the insurance operations and shareholders operations. The basis of allocation of expenses from joint operations is determined and approved by the management and the Board of Directors.The interim condensed statement of financial position, statements of income and statement of comprehensive income and cash flows of the insurance operations and shareholders operations which are presented on pages 27 to 34 of the interim condensed financial statements have been provided as supplementary financial information and to comply with the requirements of the guidelines issued by SAMA implementing regulations. SAMA implementing regulations requires the clear segregation of the assets, liabilities, income and expenses of the insurance operations and the shareholders operations. Accordingly, the interim condensed statements of financial position, statements of income, comprehensive income and cash flows prepared for the insurance operations and shareholders operations as referred to above, reflect only the assets, liabilities, income, expenses and comprehensive gains or losses of the respective operations.In preparing the Company-level financial statements in compliance with IFRS, the balances and transactions of the insurance operations are amalgamated and combined with those of the shareholders’ operations. Interoperation balances, transactions and unrealized gains or losses, if any, are eliminated in full during amalgamation. The accounting policies adopted for the insurance operations and shareholders operations are uniform for like transactions and events in similar circumstances.The inclusion of separate information of the insurance operations with the financial information of the Company in the interim condensed statements of financial position, statement of income, statement of comprehensive income, statement of cash flows as well as certain relevant notes to the financial statements represents additional supplementary information required as required by the implementing regulations.The interim condensed financial statements do not include all of the information required for full annual financial statements and should be read in conjunction with the annual financial statements as of and for the year ended 31 December 2019.The interim condensed financial statements may not be considered indicative of the expected results for the full year.These interim condensed financial statements are expressed in Saudi Arabian Riyals (SAR) and are rounded off to the nearest thousands. | 2-A |
| Disclosure of statement of compliance [text block] | As required by the Saudi Arabian Insurance Regulations, the Company maintains separate books of accounts for Insurance Operations and Shareholders’ Operations and presents the financial information accordingly. Assets, liabilities, revenues and expenses clearly attributable to either activity are recorded in the respective accounts. Similarly, in the past, the Company’s interim condensed and annual financial statements presented separately the statements of financial position, income, comprehensive income and cash flows for the insurance operations and shareholders operations. The basis of allocation of expenses from joint operations is determined and approved by the management and the Board of Directors.The interim condensed statement of financial position, statements of income and statement of comprehensive income and cash flows of the insurance operations and shareholders operations which are presented on pages 27 to 34 of the interim condensed financial statements have been provided as supplementary financial information and to comply with the requirements of the guidelines issued by SAMA implementing regulations. SAMA implementing regulations requires the clear segregation of the assets, liabilities, income and expenses of the insurance operations and the shareholders operations. Accordingly, the interim condensed statements of financial position, statements of income, comprehensive income and cash flows prepared for the insurance operations and shareholders operations as referred to above, reflect only the assets, liabilities, income, expenses and comprehensive gains or losses of the respective operations.In preparing the Company-level financial statements in compliance with IFRS, the balances and transactions of the insurance operations are amalgamated and combined with those of the shareholders’ operations. Interoperation balances, transactions and unrealized gains or losses, if any, are eliminated in full during amalgamation. The accounting policies adopted for the insurance operations and shareholders operations are uniform for like transactions and events in similar circumstances. | 2-A |
| Disclosure of new standards and amendments in standards [text block] | The Company has adopted the following new standards, amendments and revisions to existing standards, which were issued by the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB):Amendments to IFRS 3 – definition of a businessThis amendment revises the definition of a business. According to feedback received by the IASB, application of the current guidance is commonly thought to be too complex, and it results in too many transactions qualifying as business combinations.Amendments to IAS 1 and IAS 8 on the definition of materialThese amendments to IAS 1, “Presentation of financial statements”, and IAS 8, “Accounting policies, changes in accounting estimates and errors”, and consequential amendments to other IFRSs: i) use a consistent definition of materiality throughout IFRSs and the Conceptual Framework for Financial Reporting; ii) clarify the explanation of the definition of material; and iii) incorporate some of the guidance in IAS 1 about immaterial information -Incentives’ and SIC 27 ‘Evaluating the Substance of Transactions Involving the Legal Form of a Lease’.The Company has assessed the impact and concludes that the relevant new standard and interpretations applicable to the Company did not have any significant impact on these interim condensed financial statements. Lease agreement is not falling under qualified lease. Thus, no right of use has been recognized. | 3-A |
| Disclosure of issued IFRS not yet adopted [text block] | Standards issued but not yet effective up to the date of issuance of the Company’s interim condensed financial statements are listed below. The listing is of standards and interpretations issued, which the Company reasonably expects to be applicable at a future date. The Company intends to adopt these standards when they are effective.IFRS 17 – Insurance ContractsOverviewThis standard has been published on 18 May 2017, it establishes the principles for the recognition, measurement, presentation and disclosure of insurance contracts and supersedes IFRS 4 – Insurance contracts.The new standard applies to insurance contracts issued, to all reinsurance contracts and to investment contracts with discretionary participating features provided the entity also issues insurance contracts. It requires to separate the following components from insurance contracts:A) embedded derivatives, if they meet certain specified criteria;B) distinct investment components; andC) any promise to transfer distinct goods or non-insurance services.These components should be accounted for separately in accordance with the related standards (IFRS 9 and IFRS 15).MeasurementIn contrast to the requirements in IFRS 4, which permitted insurers to continue to use the accounting policies for measurement purposes that existed prior to January 2015, IFRS 17 provides the following different measurement models.The General model is based on the following “building blocks”:A) the fulfilment cash flows (FCF), which comprise: probability-weighted estimates of future cash flows, an adjustment to reflect the time value of money (i.e. discounting) and the financial risks associated with those future cash flows, and a risk adjustment for non-financial risk;B) the Contractual Service Margin (CSM). The CSM represents the unearned profit for a group of insurance contracts and will be recognized as the entity provides services in the future. The CSM cannot be negative at inception; any net negative amount of the fulfilment cash flows at inception will be recorded in profit or loss immediately. At the end of each subsequent reporting period the carrying amount of a group of insurance contracts is remeasured to be the sum of: the liability for remaining coverage, which comprises the FCF related to future services and the CSM of the group at that date; and the liability for incurred claims, which is measured as the FCF related to past services allocated to the group at that date.The CSM is adjusted subsequently for changes in cash flows related to future services but the CSM cannot be negative, so changes in future cash flows that are greater than the remaining CSM are recognized in profit or loss. Interest is also accreted on the CSM at rates locked in at initial recognition of a contract (i.e. discount rate used at inception to determine the present value of the estimated cash flows). Moreover, the CSM will be released into profit or loss based on coverage units, reflecting the quantity of the benefits provided and the expected coverage duration of the remaining contracts in the group.The Variable Fee Approach (VFA) is a mandatory model for measuring contracts with direct participation features (also referred to as ‘direct participating contracts’). This assessment of whether the contract meets these criteria is made at inception of the contract and not reassessed subsequently. For these contracts, the CSM is also adjusted for in addition to adjustment under general model;A) changes in the entity’s share of the fair value of underlying items,B) changes in the effect of the time value of money and financial risks not relating to the underlying items.In addition, a simplified Premium Allocation Approach (PAA) is permitted for the measurement of the liability for the remaining coverage if it provides a measurement that is not materially different from the general model or if the coverage period for each contract in the group is one year or less. With the PAA, the liability for remaining coverage corresponds to premiums received at initial recognition less insurance acquisition cash flows. The general model remains applicable for the measurement of incurred claims. However, the entity is not required to adjust future cash flows for the time value of money and the effect of financial risk if those cash flows are expected to be paid/received in one year or less from the date the claims are incurred.Effective dateThe Company intends to apply the Standard on its effective date i.e. 1 January 2023. In May 2017, the International Accounting Standards Board ("IASB") published the final version of IFRS 17 Insurance Contracts. On 17 March 2020, IASB has tentatively decided to defer the effective date of IFRS 17 by one year to reporting periods beginning on or after 1 January 2023. The IASB also tentatively decided to allow insurers qualifying for deferral of IFRS 9 an additional one year of deferral, meaning they could apply as at both standards for the first time in reporting periods beginning on or after 1 January 2023. In June 2020, the IASB amended IFRS 17 Insurance Contracts. The amendments are aimed at helping companies implement the IFRS 17 and making it easier for them to explain their financial performance. IFRS 17 incorporating the amendments is effective from annual reporting periods beginning on or after 1 January 2023. SAMA is rolling out instructions for design phase. Earlier application is permitted if both IFRS 15 – Revenue from Contracts with Customers and IFRS 9 – Financial Instruments have also been applied.TransitionRetrospective application is required. However, if full retrospective application for a group of insurance contracts is impracticable, then the entity is required to choose either a modified retrospective approach or a fair value approach.Presentation and DisclosuresThe Company expects that the new standard will result in a change to the accounting policies for insurance contracts together with amendments to presentation and disclosures.ImpactThe Company is currently assessing the impact of the application and implementation of IFRS 17. As of the date of the publication of these interim condensed financial statements, the financial impact of adopting the standard has yet to be fully assessed by the Company. The Company expects a material impact on measurement and disclosure of insurance and cession that will affect both the statement of income and the statement of financial position. The Company has decided not to early adopt this new standard.The Company has started its implementation process and has set up a project team, supervised by an IFRS executive management committee.IFRS 9 – Financial InstrumentsThis standard was published on 24 July 2014 and has replaced IAS 39. The new standard addresses the following items related to financial instruments:a) Classification and measurement:IFRS 9 uses a single approach to determine whether a financial asset is measured at amortized cost, fair value through other comprehensive income or fair value through profit or loss. A financial asset is measured at amortized cost if both: the asset is held within a business model whose objective is to hold assets in order to collect contractual cash flows and the contractual terms of the financial asset give rise on specified dates to cash flows that are solely payments of principal and interest on the principal amount outstanding (“SPPI”).The financial asset is measured at fair value through other comprehensive income and realized gains or losses would be recycled through profit or loss upon sale, if both conditions are met: the asset is held within a business model whose objective is to hold assets in order to collect contractual cash flows and for sale and the contractual terms of cash flows are SPPI,Assets not meeting either of these categories are measured at fair value through profit or loss. Additionally, at initial recognition, an entity can use the option to designate a financial asset at fair value through profit or loss if doing so eliminates or significantly reduces an accounting mismatch.For equity instruments that are not held for trading, an entity can also make an irrevocable election to present in other comprehensive income subsequent changes in the fair value of the instruments (including realized gains and losses), dividends being recognized in profit or loss. Additionally, for financial liabilities that are designated as at fair value through profit or loss, the amount of change in the fair value of the financial liability that is attributable to changes in the credit risk of that liability is recognized in other comprehensive income, unless the recognition of the effects of changes in the liability’s credit risk in other comprehensive income would create or enlarge an accounting mismatch in profit or loss.b) Impairment:The impairment model under IFRS 9 reflects expected credit losses, as opposed to incurred credit losses under IAS 39. Under the IFRS 9 approach, it is no longer necessary for a credit event to have occurred before credit losses are recognized. Instead, an entity always accounts for expected credit losses and changes in those expected credit losses. The amount of expected credit losses is updated at each reporting date to reflect changes in credit risk since initial recognition.Effective dateThe published effective date of IFRS 9 was 1 January 2018. However, amendments to IFRS 4 – Insurance Contracts: Applying IFRS 9 – Financial Instruments with IFRS 4 – Insurance Contracts, published on 12 September 2016, changes the existing IFRS 4 to allow entities issuing insurance contracts within the scope of IFRS 4 to mitigate certain effects of applying IFRS 9 before the IASB’s new insurance contract standard (IFRS 17 – Insurance Contracts) becomes effective. The amendments introduce two alternative options:1. Apply a temporary exemption from implementing IFRS 9 until the earlier ofa. the effective date of a new insurance contract standard; orb. annual reporting periods beginning on or after 1 January 2023. On 17 March 2020, the International Accounting Standards Board (“IASB”) decided to extend the effective date of IFRS 17 and the IFRS 9 temporary exemption in IFRS 4 from January 1, 2021 to January 1, 2023. Additional disclosures related to financial assets are required during the deferral period. This option is only available to entities whose activities are predominately connected with insurance and have not applied IFRS 9 previously; or;2. Adopt IFRS 9 but, for designated financial assets, remove from profit or loss the effects of some of the accounting mismatches that may occur before the new insurance contract standard is implemented. During the interim period, additional disclosures are required.The Company has performed a detailed assessment beginning 1 January 2017: (1) The carrying amount of the Company’s liabilities arising from contracts within the scope of IFRS 4 (including deposit components or embedded derivatives unbundled from insurance contracts) were compared to the total carrying amount of all its liabilities; and (2) the total carrying amount of the company’s liabilities connected with insurance were compared to the total carrying amount of all its liabilities. Based on these assessments the Company determined that it is eligible for the temporary exemption. Consequently, the Company has decided to defer the implementation of IFRS 9 until the effective date of the new insurance contracts standard. Disclosures related to financial assets required during the deferral period are included in the Company’s financial statements.Impact assessmentThe Company is currently assessing the impact of the application and implementation of IFRS 9. As of the date of the publication of these interim condensed financial statements, the financial impact of adopting the standard has yet to be fully assessed by the Company. However, the Company expects the classification and measurement of financial assets to be impacted from implementation of IFRS 9 as company is yet to perform a detailed review. | 3-B |
| Disclosure of critical accounting judgements, estimates and assumptions, general [text block] | The preparation of interim condensed financial statements requires management to make judgments, estimates and assumptions that affect the application of accounting policies and the reported amounts of assets and liabilities, income and expense. Actual results may differ from these estimates.In preparing these interim condensed financial statements, the significant judgments made by management in applying the Company’s accounting policies and the key sources of estimation uncertainty including the risk management policies were the same as those that applied to the annual financial statements as at and for the year ended 31 December 2019. | 2-B |
| Disclosure of going concern [text block] | On 18 January 2020 corresponding to 23 Jamada Al-Awwal 1441H, the Company Board of Directors recommended to reduce the Company’s share capital by SR 150 million through netting-off with the accumulated losses. Accordingly, on 19 January 2020 corresponding to 24 Jamada Al-Awwal 1441H, the Company appointed a Financial Advisor to initiate the reduction process. On 22 April 2020, in an Extraordinary General Assembly Meeting, it resolved to reduce the Company’s share capital from SR 300 million to SR 150 million. As at 30 September 2020, the Company’s accumulated losses reached 16.6% of its share capital (31 December 2019: 50.29%). The Company Board of Directors has approved the revised business plan. The Management is confident of having positive outcome of the strategy and contented that the Company’s operations shall continue for foreseeable future under normal course of business and is satisfied that the going concern basis of preparation of the interim condensed financial statements is appropriate. Accordingly, the interim condensed financial statements has been prepared on the going concern basis. | 4 |
| Disclosure of major shareholders of reporting entity [text block] | There are no seasonal changes that may affect insurance operations of the Company. | 2-C |
| Disclosure of summary of significant accounting policies [abstract] | | |
| Disclosure of summary of significant accounting policies, general comment [text block] | The accounting policies adopted by the Company for the preparation of these interim condensed financial statements are in accordance with International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) as endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and are consistent with those used for the preparation of the annual financial statements for the year ended 31 December 2019 and new amended IFRS and International Financial Reporting Interpretations Committee Interpretations (IFRIC) as mentioned in note 3(a) which had no impact on the financial position or financial performance of the Company. Certain comparative amounts have been reclassified / regrouped to conform with the current period’s presentation. This did not have any impact on interim condensed statement of changes in shareholders’ equity for the period. Further, the Company has reviewed the key sources of estimation uncertainties disclosed in the last annual financial statements against the backdrop of the COVID-19 pandemic. For further details, please see note 21 to these interim condensed financial statements. Management will continue to assess the situation, and reflect any required changes in future reporting periods. | 3 |
| Description of accounting policy for time (murabaha) deposit [text block] | Murabaha deposits having original maturity of more than three months but less than a year, amounting to SR 76.91 million (2019: SR 76.04 million), held in Saudi Arabian Riyals and are presented in the statement of financial position of the shareholders separately (note 20). As at 30 September 2020, the deposit carrying commission rates ranges from 0.90% to 1.65% (31 December 2019: 1.9% to 3.1%). | 6 |
| Description of accounting policy for statutory deposit [text block] | As required by the Saudi Arabian Insurance Regulations, the Company deposited an amount equivalent to 15% of its paid up share capital, amounting to SR 45 million (31 December 2019: SR 45 million), in a bank designated by SAMA. This statutory deposit cannot be withdrawn without the consent of SAMA, and commission accruing on this deposit is payable to SAMA. During the three-months period ended 30 June 2020, the Company has reduced its share capital by SR 150 million, however not withdrawn the surplus statutory deposit of SR 22.5 million as at 30 September 2020. Subsequent to the period-end, on 1 October 2020, the Company received SAMA approval to withdraw the surplus statutory deposit. The Company in process to withdraw the surplus. | 10 |
| Disclosure of notes forming part of accounts [abstract] | | |
| Disclosure of zakat [text block] | The differences between the financial and the Zakatable results are mainly due to certain adjustments in accordance with the relevant fiscal regulations.Movements in provision during the period / year30 September2020(Unaudited)31 December 2019(Audited)SAR’000Balance at the beginning of the period / year15,49810,698Charge for the period / year1,8004,800Balance at the end of the period / year17,29815,498As the Company has incurred a loss during the nine-months period ended 30 September 2020, and in previous years, no provision has been established in respect of income tax in these interim condensed financial statements.b. Status of zakat assessmentsThe Company has filed its Zakat and tax return for the first twelve month period ended 30 June 2012 with the General Authority of Zakat and Tax (“GAZT”). The Company has also filed its Zakat and income tax return for the long period from 8 February 2012 to 31 December 2013 and for the years from 2014 to 2019 and obtained restricted zakat certificates. The GAZT issued final assessment for the years 2011 to 2014 with an additional Zakat liability of SR 12.545 million. The Company has filed an appeal against such assessment. The Company submitted an appeal against the GAZT treatment and is confident of a favourable outcome.During 2017, the Company filed an appeal to the Appellate Committee for Zakat and Tax Appeal (“ACZTA”) against the Preliminary Objection Committee’s (“POC”) decision for the years 2011 through 2014 and lodged a bank guarantee of SR 12.545 million, with respect to additional zakat liability. The appeal case has registered with the General Secretariat of Tax Committees (“GSTC”) and hearing date is awaited.Zakat base has been computed based on the Company’s understanding of the zakat regulations enforced in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. The Zakat regulations in Saudi Arabia are subject to different interpretations, and the assessments to be raised by the GAZT could be different from the declarations filed by the Company. The Zakat is applicable on 81% of the shareholders’ while Income Tax on 19% of the shareholders’. | 16 |
| Disclosure of classes of share capital [text block] | As at 31 December 2019, the authorized, subscribed and paid up share capital of the Company was SR 300 million, divided into 30 million shares of SR 10 each.On 18 January 2020, the Board of Directors had recommended reducing the Company's share capital from SR 300 million to SR 150 million divided into 15 million shares by off-setting with accumulated losses. In an extra-ordinary general meeting (second meeting) held on 29 Sha’ban 1441H corresponding to 22 April 2020, the shareholders' of the Company approved the reduction and the required changes in the Company by-laws relating to this reduction. Accordingly, the share capital and accumulated losses have been reduced by SR 150 million. The capital reduction is through reduction of 1 share for every 2 shares held by the shareholder. The purpose of capital reduction is to restructure the capital position of the Company in order to meet the compliance with the Companies Law. There will be no impact of capital reduction on the Company’s financial obligations.As at 30 September 2020, the authorized, subscribed and paid up share capital of the Company is SR 150 million, divided into 15 million shares of SR 10 each. | 17 |
| Disclosure of technical reserve for insurance/takaful/reinsurance/retakaful operations [text block] | 11.1 Net outstanding claims and reservesNet outstanding claims and reserves comprise of the following:30 September2020(Unaudited)SAR’00031 December 2019(Audited)SAR’000Outstanding claims reserve29,43221,431Claims incurred but not reported12,53818,49341,97039,924Premium deficiency reserve19,37217,335Other technical reserves1,3631,46062,70558,719Less:- Reinsurer share of outstanding claims reserve(203)(1,034)- Reinsurer share of claims incurred but not reported-(94)(203)(1,128)Net outstanding claims and reserves62,50257,59111.2 Movement in unearned premiumsMovement in unearned premiums comprise of the following:Nine-months period ended 30 September 2020(Unaudited)GrossReinsuranceNetSAR’000Balance as at the beginning of the period75,920-75,920Premium written during the period133,331-133,331Premium earned during the period(131,523)-(131,523)Balance as at the end of the period77,728-77,728Year ended 31 December 2019(Audited)GrossReinsuranceNetSAR’000Balance as at the beginning of the year20,338-20,338Premium written during the year154,028-154,028Premium earned during the year(98,446)-(98,446)Balance as at the end of the year75,920-75,920 | 11 |
| Disclosure of earnings per share [text block] | Loss per share for the period has been calculated by dividing the net loss for the period by the weighted average number of issued and outstanding shares for the period. The Company have reduced its share capital by offsetting with accumulated loss (note 17), as result the weighted average number of ordinary shares issued and outstanding in the prior year has been restated to 15 million shares and accordingly loss per share is restated.A) The weighted average number of shares has been retrospectively adjusted for prior period to reflect the reduction in share capital as required by IAS 33 “Earnings per share” as follows:Nine-months period ended30 September 2020(Unaudited)30 September 2019(Unaudited)Restated’000Issued and outstanding ordinary shares as at 1 January30,00010,000Effect of right share issue-19,213Effect of reduction of share capital(15,000)(15,000)Weighted average number of ordinary shares outstanding15,00014,213B) The basic and diluted loss per share is calculated as follows:Nine-month period ended30 September 2020(Unaudited)30 September 2019(Unaudited)(Restated)SAR’000Net loss for the period(23,923)(79,976)Weighted average number of ordinary shares outstanding15,00014,213Basic and diluted loss per share (SR)(1.59)(5.63) | 19 |
| Disclosure of related party transactions [text block] | Related parties represent major shareholders, directors and key management personnel of the Company, and companies of which they are principal owners and any other entities controlled, jointly controlled or significantly influenced by them. Pricing policies and terms of these transactions are approved by the Company’s management and Board of Directors. The following are the details of the major related party transactions during the period and the related balances:Nature ofTransactionsTransactions for thenine-months period endedBalance receivable / (payable)as at30 September30 September30 September31 December2020201920202019(Unaudited)(Unaudited)(Unaudited)(Audited)SAR’000Entities controlled, jointly controlled or significantly influenced by related partiesRelated parties of Juffali Group (affiliates)Insurance premium written2,9022,2088151,231Claims paid1,1082,676--Purchase of computer equipment, licenses, vehicles and other services519329--Commission paid39100(71)(32)Related parties of Dr. Soliman Fakeeh Group– (affiliates)Insurance premium written21,47720,05916,8639,517Claims paid15,2833,328(3,274)(5,430)Related parties of International Medical Center – (affiliates)Insurance premium written32,787-15,512-Claims paid16,9321,360(2,344)(1,381)The above balances are included in premiums receivables, net, prepaid expenses and other assets and accrued expenses and other liabilities.Key management personnel are persons having authority and responsibility for planning, directing and controlling the activities of the Company, directly or indirectly and comprise top management executives including the Chief Executive Officer and the Chief Financial Officer of the Company. The compensation of key management personnel during the nine-months period is as follows:30 September 2020(Unaudited)30 September 2019(Unaudited)SAR’000Salaries and other allowances2,6952,678End of service indemnities100972,7952,775 | 15 |
| Disclosure of entity's operating segments [text block] | The Company only issues insurance contracts for providing health care services (‘medical insurance’) and all the insurance operations of the Company are carried out in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. The insurance operations are being monitored by management under one segment; hence no separate information is required. | 14 |
| Disclosure of capital management [text block] | Objectives are set by the Company to maintain healthy capital ratios in order to support its business objectives and maximize shareholders’ value.The Company manages its capital requirements by assessing shortfalls between reported and required capital levels on a regular basis. Adjustments to current capital levels are made in light of changes in market conditions and risk characteristics of the Company’s activities. In order to maintain or adjust the capital structure, the Company may adjust the amount of dividends paid to shareholders or issue shares. In the opinion of the Board of Directors that the Company has fully complied with the externally imposed capital requirements during the reported financial period.The Company’s management, through various scenario analysis as required by the regulator, has assessed the potential of the Covid-19 pandemic by performing stress testing for various variables like: gross premium growth, increase in employee cost, YTD loss ratio, outstanding premium provisions etc. and the related impact on the revenue, profitability, loss ratio and solvency ratio. As with any forecasts, the projections and likelihoods of occurrence are underpinned by significant judgements and uncertainties and, therefore, the actual outcomes may be different to those projected. As the situation is fluid and rapidly evolving, the Company will continue to reassess its position and the related impact on a regular basis. | 18 |
| Disclosure of commitments and contingencies, general [text block] | a. The Company’s commitments and contingencies are as follows:30 September2020(Unaudited)SAR’00031 December 2019(Audited)SAR’000Letters of guarantee12,54512,545b. There were no capital commitments outstanding as at 30 September 2020 (31 December 2019: Nil).c. As at 30 September 2020, the Company has a letter of guarantee amounting to SR 12.545 million (31 December 2019: SR 12.545 million) in favor of General Authority of Zakat and Tax (GAZT), which is secured against the Company’s murabaha deposit of SR 14 million (31 December 2019: SR 14 million) with Saudi Arabian British Bank (SABB). | 12 |
| Disclosure of fair value of financial assets and liabilities [text block] | Fair value is the price that would be received to sell an asset or paid to transfer a liability in an orderly transaction between market participants at the measurement date. The fair value measurement is based on the presumption that the transaction takes place either:- in the accessible principal market for the asset or liability, or- in the absence of a principal market, in the most advantages accessible market for the asset or liabilityThe fair values of on-balance sheet financial instruments are not significantly different from their carrying amounts included in the interim condensed financial statements.Determination of fair value and fair value hierarchyThe Company uses the following hierarchy for determining and disclosing the fair value of financial instruments:Level 1: quoted prices in active markets for the same or identical instrument that an entity can access at the measurement date;Level 2: quoted prices in active markets for similar assets and liabilities or other valuation techniques for which all significant inputs are based on observable market data; andLevel 3: valuation techniques for which any significant input is not based on observable market data.a. Carrying amounts and fair valueThe following table shows the carrying amount and fair values of financial assets and financial liabilities, including their levels in the fair value hierarchy for financial instruments measured at fair value. It does not include fair value information for financial assets and financial liabilities not measured at fair value if the carrying amount is a reasonable approximation to fair value.a. Carrying amounts and fair valueShareholders’ OperationsFair valueCarrying valueLevel 1Level 2Level 3TotalSAR’00030 September 2020 (Unaudited)Financial assets measured at fair value- Investments held as FVSI7,9747,974--7,9747,9747,974--7,974Financial assets not measured at fair value- Held to maturity investments60,289-61,021-61,021- Short term murabaha deposits76,906--77,11777,117137,195-61,02177,117138,138Shareholders’ OperationsFair valueCarrying valueLevel 1Level 2Level 3TotalSAR’00031 December 2019 (Audited)Financial assets measured at fair value- Investments held as FVSI12,78012,780--12,78012,78012,780--12,780Financial assets not measured at fair value- Held to maturity investments60,170-60,714-60,714- Short term murabaha deposits76,036--77,74277,742136,206-60,71477,742138,456 | 12 |
| Disclosure of other notes relevant to understanding of financial statements [text block] | The interim condensed financial statements have been approved by Board of Directors, on 12 Rabi-Al-Awwal1442H, corresponding to 29 October 2020 | 22 |