| Notes forming part of accounts [line items] | | |
| Disclosure of notes and other explanatory information [text block] | | |
| Disclosure of general information about reporting entity [abstract] | | |
| Disclosure of general information about reporting entity [text block] |
CHUBB Arabia Cooperative Insurance Company (“the Company”) is a Saudi Joint Stock Company registered on 21 July 2009 (corresponding to 28 Rajab 1430H) under commercial registration number 2050066029 which was later amended to 2051043431 dated 21 July 2010 (corresponding to 9 Sha’aban 1431H), issued in Al-Khobar, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. The Company has been licensed to conduct cooperative insurance business in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia under cooperative principles in accordance with Royal Decree number 60/M dated 11 October 2006 (corresponding to 18 Ramadan 1427H), pursuant to Council of Ministers resolution number 233 dated 9 October 2006 (corresponding to 16 Ramadan 1427H).
The activities of the Company are to transact cooperative insurance operations and all related activities in accordance with the Law on Supervision of Cooperative Insurance Companies and its implementing regulations in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. On 8 December 2009 (corresponding to 21 Dhul-Hijjah, 1430H), the Company received the license from Saudi Central Bank (“SAMA”) to transact insurance business in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Its principal lines of business include property, engineering, motor and casualty insurance.
Surplus from insurance operations is distributed in accordance with the Implementing Regulations issued by SAMA, whereby the shareholders of the Company are to receive 90% of the annual surplus from insurance operations and the policyholders are to receive the remaining 10%. Any deficit arising on insurance operations is transferred to the shareholders’ operations in full.
The registered address of the Company's head office is as follows P.O Box 2685 Al Khobar 31952, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.
The Company’s principal place of business is in Al-Khobar, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Furthermore, the Company operates through various branches located in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia with the following commercial registration numbers:
No |
|
Branch name |
|
Location |
| Commercial Registration Number | 1 |
| Regional Branch |
| Al Khobar |
| 2051043431 | 2 |
| Regional Branch |
| Jeddah |
| 4030233953 | 3 |
| Regional Branch |
| Riyadh |
| 1010310552 |
Asset purchase agreement and transfer of insurance portfolio The Company started its insurance operations on 1 February 2010. The Company acquired the insurance portfolio and the net assets of Ace Arabia Insurance Company BSC and International Insurance Company BSC with effect from 1 January 2009 as set forth in SAMA’s guidelines in this respect, following the approval on the transfer from the respective authorities in 2012. | |
| Disclosure of basis of preparation of financial statements [text block] |
Basis of presentation and measurement
These financial statements of the Company have been prepared in accordance with International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRSs) that are endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and other standards and pronouncements endorsed by the Saudi Organization for Chartered and Professional Accountants (“SOCPA”) and the Regulations for Companies in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.
The Company’s statement of financial position is not presented using a current/non-current classification. However, the following balances would generally be classified as non-current: available for sale investments, right-of-use assets, property and equipment, intangible asset, goodwill, statutory deposit, accrued income on statutory deposit, provision for end-of-service indemnities, lease liabilities, certain engineering related unearned premiums, reinsurance share of unearned premiums, reinsurance unearned commission, deferred policy acquisition cost and accrued commission income payable to SAMA. All other financial statement line items would generally be classified as current unless, stated otherwise.
The Company presents its statement of financial position in order of liquidity. As required by the Saudi Arabian Insurance Regulations, the Company maintains separate books of accounts for Insurance operations and Shareholders’ operations and presents the financial statements accordingly under note 36. Assets, liabilities, revenues and expenses clearly attributable to either activity are recorded in the respective accounts. The basis of allocation of expenses from joint operations is determined and approved by the management and the Board of Directors.
The statement of financial position, statements of income, comprehensive income and cash flows of the insurance operations and shareholders’ operations which are presented under note 36 to the financial statements have been provided as supplementary financial information and to comply with the requirements of the guidelines issued by SAMA implementing regulations and is not required under IFRSs. SAMA implementing regulations requires the clear segregation of the assets, liabilities, income and expenses of the insurance operations and the shareholders’ operations. Accordingly, the statements of financial position, statements of income, comprehensive income and cash flows prepared for the insurance operations and shareholders’ operations as referred to above, reflect only the assets, liabilities, income, expenses and comprehensive gains or losses of the respective operations.
In preparing the Company-level financial statements in compliance with IFRS, the balances and transactions of the insurance operations are amalgamated and combined with those of the shareholders’ operations. Inter-operation balances, transactions and unrealised gains or losses, if any, are eliminated in full during amalgamation. The accounting policies adopted for the insurance operations and shareholders’ operations are uniform for like transactions and events in similar circumstances.
The financial statements are prepared under the going concern basis and the historical cost convention, except for the measurement at fair value of investments held for trading and investments available for sale, end of service indemnities which is recognized at the present value of future obligation using the projected unit credit method.
Functional and presentation currency
These financial statements have been presented in Saudi Arabian Riyals (SAR), which is also the functional currency of the Company. All financial information presented in Saudi Arabian Riyals has been rounded to the nearest Riyal, except where otherwise indicated.
Fiscal year
The Company follows a fiscal year ending 31 December.
Seasonality of operations
There are no seasonal changes that might affect insurance operations of the Company.
BASIS OF PREPARATION (CONTINUED)
Critical accounting judgements estimates and assumptions
The preparation of the financial statements requires the use of estimates and judgements that affect the reported amounts of assets and liabilities and disclosure of contingent assets and liabilities at the date of the financial statements and the reported amounts of revenues and expenses during the reporting year. Although these estimates and judgements are based on management’s best knowledge of current events and actions, actual results ultimately may differ from those estimates.
Estimates and judgements are continually evaluated and based on historical experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances. In preparing these financial statements, the significant judgements made by the management in applying the Company’s accounting policies and the key sources of estimation uncertainty were the same as those that applied to the financial statements for the year ended 31 December 2020. Following are the key accounting judgements and estimates that are critical in preparation of these financial statements:
The ultimate liability arising from claims made under insurance contracts
The estimation of the ultimate liability arising from claims made under insurance contracts is the Company’s most critical accounting estimate. There are several sources of uncertainty that need to be considered in the estimate of the liability that the Company will ultimately pay for such claims. Estimates are made at the end of the reporting year both for the expected ultimate cost of claim reported and for the expected ultimate costs of claims incurred but not reported (“IBNR”). Liabilities for unpaid reported claims are estimated using the input of assessments for individual cases reported to the Company. At the end of each reporting year, prior year claims estimates are reassessed for adequacy and changes are made to the provision. The provision for claims incurred but not reported (IBNR) is an estimation of claims which are expected to be reported subsequent to the date of statement of financial position, for which the insured event has occurred prior to the date of statement of financial position. The primary technique adopted by management in estimating the cost of notified and IBNR claims, is that of using the past claims settlement trends to predict future claims settlement trends. A range of methods such as Chain Ladder Method, Bornhuetter-Ferguson Method and Expected Loss Ratio Method are used by the actuaries to determine these provisions. Underlying these methods are a number of explicit or implicit assumptions relating to the expected settlement amount and settlement patterns of claims.
Estimates have to be made both for the expected ultimate cost of claims reported at the reporting date and for the expected ultimate cost of claims incurred but not yet reported at the reporting date (IBNR). It can take a significant period of time before the ultimate claims cost can be established with certainty. For some types of policies, IBNR claims form the majority of the liability in the statement of financial position. The ultimate cost of outstanding claims is estimated by using a range of standard actuarial claims projection techniques.
The main assumption underlying these techniques is the Company’s past claims settlement experience can be used to project future claims settlement and hence ultimate claims costs. As such, these methods extrapolate the settlement of paid and incurred losses, average costs per claim and claim numbers based on the observed settlement of earlier years and expected loss ratios. Historical claims settlement is mainly analysed by accident years, but can also be further analysed by geographical area, as well as by significant business lines and claim types.
BASIS OF PREPARATION (CONTINUED)
Critical accounting judgements estimates and assumptions (continued)
The ultimate liability arising from claims made under insurance contracts (continued)
Large claims are usually separately addressed, either by being reserved at the face value of loss adjuster estimates or separately projected in order to reflect their future settlement. In most cases, no explicit assumptions are made regarding future rates of claims inflation or loss ratios. Instead, the assumptions used are those implicit in the historical claims’ settlement data on which the projections are based. Additional qualitative judgement is used to assess the extent to which past trends may not apply in future, (e.g. to reflect one-off occurrences, changes in external or market factors such as public attitudes to claiming, economic conditions, levels of claims inflation, judicial decisions and legislation, as well as internal factors such as portfolio mix, policy features and claims handling procedures) in order to arrive at the estimated ultimate cost of claims that present the likely outcome from the range of possible outcomes, taking account of all the uncertainties involved. Similar judgements, estimates and assumptions are employed in the assessment of adequacy of provisions for unearned premium. Judgement is also required in determining whether the pattern of insurance service provided by a contract requires amortisation of unearned premium on a basis other than time apportionment.
Impairment of financial assets
The Company determines that financial assets are impaired when there has been a significant or prolonged decline in the fair value of the financial assets below its cost. The determination of what is significant or prolonged requires judgement. A period of 12 months or longer is considered to be prolonged and a decline of 30% from original cost is considered significant as per Company’s policy. In making this judgement, the Company evaluates among other factors, the normal volatility in share price, the financial health of the investee, industry and sector performance, changes in technology, and operational and financing cash flows.
Fair value of financial instruments
Fair values of available-for-sale investment and investment held for trading are based on quoted prices for marketable securities or estimated fair values. The fair value of commission-bearing items is estimated based on discounted cash flows using commission for items with similar terms and risk characteristics. The fair value of financial instruments where no active market exists or where quoted prices are not otherwise available are determined by using valuation techniques. In these cases, the fair values are estimated from observable data in respect of similar financial instruments or using models. Where market observable inputs are not available, they are estimated based on appropriate assumptions. Where valuation techniques (for example, models) are used to determine fair values, they are validated and periodically reviewed by qualified personnel independent of those that sourced them. All models are certified before they are used, and models are calibrated to ensure that outputs reflect actual data and comparative market prices. To the extent practical, models use only observable data; however, areas such as credit risk (both own credit risk and counterparty risk), volatilities and correlations require management to make estimates. Where the fair values of financial assets and financial liabilities recorded on the statement of financial position cannot be derived from active markets, they are determined using a variety of valuation techniques that include the use of discounted cash flow models and/or mathematical models. The inputs to these models are derived from observable market data where possible, but where observable market data are not available, judgement is required to establish fair values. The judgements include considerations of liquidity risk, credit risk, and model inputs such as volatility for longer dated derivatives and discount rates, prepayment rates and default rate assumptions for asset backed securities.
BASIS OF PREPARATION (CONTINUED)
Critical accounting judgements estimates and assumptions (continued)
Impairment losses on premium and reinsurance receivables
The Company assesses receivables that are individually significant and receivables included in a group of financial assets with similar credit risk characteristics for impairment. Receivables that are individually assessed for impairment and for which an impairment loss is or continues to be recognised are not included in a collective assessment of impairment. This assessment of impairment requires judgement. In making this judgement, the Company evaluates credit risk characteristics that consider past-due status being indicative of the ability to pay all amounts due as per contractual terms. A provision for impairment of receivables is established when there is objective evidence that the Company will not be able to collect all amounts due according to the original terms of the receivables. Significant financial difficulties of the debtor, probability that the debtor will enter bankruptcy or financial reorganization, and default or delinquency in payments are considered indicators that the receivable is impaired.
Deferred policy acquisition costs (“DAC”)
Certain acquisition costs related to the sale of policies are recorded as DAC and are amortized in the statement of income over the related period of policy coverage. If the assumptions relating to future profitability of these policies are not realised, the amortisation of these costs could be accelerated and this may also require additional impairment/write-offs in the statement of income.
Useful life of property and equipment, intangible assets and right of use assets
The Company’s management determines the estimated useful lives of its property and equipment, intangible assets and right of use assets before calculating depreciation / amortisation. These estimates are determined after considering the expected usage of the assets or physical wear and tear. Management reviews the residual values and useful lives annually and future depreciation / amortisation charges would be adjusted where the management believes the useful lives differ from previous estimates.
Goodwill impairment testing
The Company determines whether goodwill is impaired at least on an annual basis. This requires an estimation of the value in use of the cash-generating units to which the goodwill is allocated. Estimating the value in use requires the Company to make an estimate of the expected future cash flows from the cash-generating unit and also to choose a suitable discount rate in order to calculate the present value of those cash flows.
Zakat and income tax
The Company is subject to Zakat in accordance with the Zakat, Tax and Customs Authority (“the ZATCA”) regulations. Zakat and income tax is provided on an accrual basis. Zakat and income tax computation involves relevant knowledge and judgement of the Zakat rules and regulations to assess the impact of Zakat liability at a particular year end. This liability is considered as an estimate until the final assessment by ZATCA is carried out until which the Company retains exposure to additional Zakat liability. Tax on the profit or loss for the year comprises current tax. Tax is recognized in the statement of income except to the extent that it relates to items recognized directly in equity or other comprehensive income.
End of service indemnities
The cost of end of service indemnities and the present value of the related obligation are determined using actuarial valuations. An actuarial valuation involves making various assumptions which may differ from actual developments in the future. These include the determination of the discount rate, future salary increases, withdrawal before normal retirement age, mortality rates etc. Due to the complexity of the valuation, the underlying assumptions and its long-term nature, an end of service indemnities is highly sensitive to changes in these assumptions. All assumptions are reviewed at each reporting date. The parameter most subject to change is the discount rate.
BASIS OF PREPARATION (CONTINUED)
Critical accounting judgements estimates and assumptions (continued)
End of service indemnities (continued)
In determining the appropriate discount rate, yield and duration of Saudi sovereign bonds obligation with at least an ‘A’ rating or above, as set by an internationally acknowledged rating agency, and extrapolated as needed along the yield curve to correspond with the expected term of the end of service indemnities is considered.
The rates assumed are based on the WHO Ultimate mortality tables, rated down one year. In the absence of any standard mortality tables in the region, these rates are generally used in Kingdom of Saudi Arabia in carrying out the actuarial valuation of end of service benefits (EOSB) schemes. If any other mortality table is used it will not make any significant difference in the results.
SIGNIFICANT ACCOUNTING POLICIES
The significant accounting policies applied in the preparation of these financial statements are summarised below. These policies have been consistently applied to each of the years presented except for the adoption of the amendments to existing standards as explained below in 4(a):
Insurance contracts
The Company issues insurance contracts that transfer insurance risk. Insurance contracts are those contracts where the insurer accepts significant insurance risk from the policyholder by agreeing to compensate the policyholder if a specified uncertain future event adversely affects the policyholder. As a general guideline, the Company determines whether it has significant insurance risk, by comparing benefits payable after an insured event with benefits payable of the insured event did not occur. Insurance contracts can also transfer financial risk.
Investment contracts
Investment contracts are those contracts that transfer significant financial risk but not significant insurance risk. Financial risk is the risk of a possible future change in one or more of a specified interest rate, financial instrument price, commodity price, foreign exchange rate, index of price or rates, a credit rating or credit index or the other variable, provided in the case of a non-financial variable that the variable is not specific to a party to the contract.
Once a contract has been classified as an insurance contract, it remains an insurance contract for the remainder of its lifetime, even if the insurance risk reduces significantly during this year, unless all rights and obligations are extinguished or expired. Investment contracts can, however, be reclassified as insurance contracts after inception if insurance risk becomes significant.
Goodwill
Goodwill is initially measured at excess of the fair value of the consideration paid over the fair value of the identifiable assets and liabilities acquired. After initial recognition, goodwill is measured at cost less any accumulated impairment losses. For the purpose of impairment testing, goodwill acquired in a business combination is, from the acquisition date, allocated to each of the Company’s cash-generating units that are expected to benefit from the combination, irrespective of whether other assets or liabilities of the acquiree are assigned to those units. Where goodwill has been allocated to a cash-generating unit (CGU) and part of the operation within that unit is disposed of, the goodwill associated with the disposed operation is included in the carrying amount of the operation when determining the gain or loss on disposal. Goodwill disposed in these circumstances is measured based on the relative values of the disposed operation and the portion of the cash-generating unit retained.
Goodwill is tested for impairment annually as and when circumstances indicate that the carrying value may be impaired.
Impairment is determined for goodwill by assessing the recoverable amount of each CGU (or group of CGUs) to which the goodwill relates. When the recoverable amount of the CGU is less than its carrying amount, an impairment loss is recognized. Impairment losses relating to goodwill cannot be reversed in future years. | |
| Disclosure of new standards and amendments in standards [text block] |
NEW STANDARDS, AMENDMENTS AND INTERPRETATIONS
The application of these revised IFRSs did not have any material impact on the amounts reported for current and prior years. Following provides a summary of new standards and amendments that are effective for the first time for years commencing on 1 January 2021 (i.e. years ended 31 December 2021).
Title |
Key requirement |
|
Effective Date |
IAS 39. IFRS 7, IFRS 4 and IFRS 16 |
Interest rate benchmark reform – phase 2 |
January 01, 2021 | These amendments modify specific hedge accounting requirements to allow hedge accounting to continue for affected hedges during the period of uncertainty before the hedged items or hedging instruments affected by the current interest rate benchmarks are amended as a result of the on-going interest rate benchmark reforms. The amendments also introduce new disclosure requirements to IFRS 7 for hedging relationships that are subject to the exceptions introduced by the amendments to IFRS 9. |
IFRS 16 |
Amendments to IFRS 16 Leasing - Covid-19 related rent Concessions |
April 01, 2021 | This amendment extend the exemption from assessing whether a COVID-19-related rent concession is a lease modification for payments originally due on or before June 30, 2022 (rather than payment due on or before June 30, 2021). |
b) STANDARD ISSUED BUT NOT YET EFFECTIVE
The Company has chosen not to early adopt the following new standards which have been issued but not yet effective for the Company's accounting year beginning on 1 January 2021 and is currently assessing their impact:
IFRS 17 – Insurance Contracts
Overview This standard has been published on May 18, 2017, it establishes the principles for the recognition, measurement, presentation and disclosure of insurance contracts and supersedes IFRS 4 – Insurance contracts.
The new standard applies to insurance contracts issued, to all reinsurance contracts and to investment contracts with discretionary participating features provided the entity also issues insurance contracts. It requires to separate the following components from insurance contracts: embedded derivatives, if they meet certain specified criteria; distinct investment components; and any promise to transfer distinct goods or non-insurance services.
These components should be accounted for separately in accordance with the related standards (IFRS 9 and IFRS 15).
Measurement In contrast to the requirements in IFRS 4, which permitted insurers to continue to use the accounting policies for measurement purposes that existed prior to January 2015, IFRS 17 provides the following different measurement models:
The General Measurement Model (GMM) is based on the following “building blocks”:
The fulfilment cash flows (FCF), which comprise: probability-weighted estimates of future cash flows, an adjustment to reflect the time value of money (i.e. discounting) and the financial risks associated with those future cash flows, and a risk adjustment for non-financial risk;
The CSM represents the unearned profit for a group of insurance contracts and will be recognized as the entity provides services in the future. The CSM cannot be negative at inception; any net negative amount of the fulfilment cash flows at inception will be recorded in statement of income immediately.
At the end of each subsequent reporting year the carrying amount of a group of insurance contracts is remeasured to be the sum of: the liability for remaining coverage, which comprises the FCF related to future services and the CSM of the group at that date; and the liability for incurred claims, which is measured as the FCF related to past services allocated to the group at that date.
The CSM is adjusted subsequently for changes in cash flows related to future services but the CSM cannot be negative, so changes in future cash flows that are greater than the remaining CSM are recognized in statement of income. Interest is also accreted on the CSM at rates locked in at initial recognition of a contract (i.e. discount rate used at inception to determine the present value of the estimated cash flows). Moreover, the CSM will be released into statement of income based on coverage units, reflecting the quantity of the benefits provided and the expected coverage duration of the remaining contracts in the group.
b) STANDARD ISSUED BUT NOT YET EFFECTIVE (CONTINUED) IFRS 17 – Insurance Contracts (continued)
The Variable Fee Approach (VFA) is a mandatory model for measuring contracts with direct participation features (also referred to as ‘direct participating contracts’). This assessment of whether the contract meets these criteria is made at inception of the contract and not reassessed subsequently. For these contracts, the CSM is also adjusted for in addition to adjustment under general model;
changes in the entity’s share of the fair value of underlying items, changes in the effect of the time value of money and financial risks not relating to the underlying items.
In addition, a simplified Premium Allocation Approach (PAA) is permitted for the measurement of the liability for the remaining coverage if it provides a measurement that is not materially different from the general model or if the coverage year for each contract in the group is one year or less. With the PAA, the liability for remaining coverage corresponds to premiums received at initial recognition less insurance acquisition cash flows. The general model remains applicable for the measurement of incurred claims. However, the entity is not required to adjust future cash flows for the time value of money and the effect of financial risk if those cash flows are expected to be paid/received in one year or less from the date the claims are incurred.
Effective date The effective date of IFRS 17 is currently 1 January 2023 and will supersede IFRS 4 “Insurance Contracts”. Earlier adoption is permitted if both IFRS 15 “Revenue from Contracts with Customers” and IFRS 9 “Financial Instruments” have also been applied. The Company expects a material impact on measurement and disclosure of insurance and reinsurance that will affect both the statement of income and the statement of financial position. The Company has decided not to early adopt this new standard.
Transition Retrospective application is required. However, if full retrospective application for a group of insurance contracts is impracticable, then the entity is required to choose either a modified retrospective approach or a fair value approach.
Presentation and Disclosures The Company expects that the new standard will result in a change to the accounting policies for insurance contracts together with amendments to presentation and disclosures.
Impact The Company has performed an operational gap assessment which has focused on the impact of IFRS 17 across data, systems, processes and people. The Company is currently assessing the impact of the application and implementation of IFRS 17. As of the date of the publication of these financial statements, the financial impact of adopting the standard has yet to be fully assessed by the Company.
Impact Area | Summary of Impact | Financial Impact | Based on the initial assessment, the majority of Company’s products (which provide cover for annual periods or less) are expected to be measured using the simplified approach (PAA) which requires less changes to the existing approach under IFRS 4.
As a result, the financial impact of measuring contracts under IFRS 17 is not expected to be significant. | Data Impact | Where the GMM is applied to measure the Liability for Remaining Coverage, additional data to inform the assumptions made will be required to generate cash-flow models.
Yield curves and other financial market information will also be required to determine suitable discount rates and the credit risk of reinsurers. |
b. STANDARD ISSUED BUT NOT YET EFFECTIVE (CONTINUED) IFRS 17 – Insurance Contracts (continued)
Impact (continued) IT Systems | Cash-flow models will be required to cater for the calculation of the Liability for Remaining Coverage. In addition, model development will be required to allow for the calculation, updating and amortization of the Contractual Service Margin. Amendments will also be required to the current chart of accounts and reporting disclosures. | Process Impact | A process will need to be established to assess the expected profitability of contracts issued, at the issuing date. Cost allocation processes will need refinement to ensure directly attributable costs are identified according to the requirements of IFRS 17 and are then used as part of cash flow projections. The financial statement close process will also require changes to allow for more frequent interaction between the finance and actuarial teams. | Impact on RI Arrangements | IFRS 17 is not expected to significantly impact the structure of the reinsurance arrangements currently in place for the Company. It is however expected that further insight into the expected (and subsequently actual) performance of reinsurance treaties will be derived under IFRS 17. | Impact on Policies & Control Frameworks | Various decisions need to be made and policies drafted which cover the below (amongst other items): Allocating directly attributable expenses Onerous contract identification and measurement Risk adjustment |
The Company has started with a detailed data gap assessment as well as the development of an implementation plan which considers the key IFRS 17 design principles. In addition, the Company has set up an IFRS 17 Steering Committee.
IFRS 9 – Financial Instruments
This standard was published on July 24, 2014 and has replaced IAS 39. The new standard addresses the following items related to financial instruments:
Classification and measurement: IFRS 9 uses a single approach to determine whether a financial asset is measured at amortized cost, fair value through other comprehensive income or fair value through statement of income. A financial asset is measured at amortized cost if both: the asset is held within a business model whose objective is to hold assets in order to collect contractual cash flows; and the contractual terms of the financial asset give rise on specified dates to cash flows that are solely payments of principal and interest on the principal amount outstanding (“SPPI”).
The financial asset is measured at fair value through other comprehensive income and realized gains or losses would be recycled through statement of income upon sale, if both conditions are met:
the asset is held within a business model whose objective is to hold assets in order to collect contractual cash flows and for sale; and the contractual terms of cash flows are SPPI,
Assets not meeting either of these categories are measured at fair value through statement of income. Additionally, at initial recognition, an entity can use the option to designate a financial asset at fair value through statement of income if doing so eliminates or significantly reduces an accounting mismatch. For equity instruments that are not held for trading, an entity can also make an irrevocable election to present in other comprehensive income subsequent changes in the fair value of the instruments (including realized gains and losses), dividends being recognized in statement of income.
b. STANDARD ISSUED BUT NOT YET EFFECTIVE (CONTINUED) IFRS 9 – Financial Instruments (continued)
Additionally, for financial liabilities that are designated as at fair value through statement of income, the amount of change in the fair value of the financial liability that is attributable to changes in the credit risk of that liability is recognized in other comprehensive income, unless the recognition of the effects of changes in the liability’s credit risk in other comprehensive income would create or enlarge an accounting mismatch in statement of income.
Impairment: The impairment model under IFRS 9 reflects expected credit losses, as opposed to incurred credit losses under IAS 39. Under the IFRS 9 approach, it is no longer necessary for a credit event to have occurred before credit losses are recognized. Instead, an entity always accounts for expected credit losses and changes in those expected credit losses. The amount of expected credit losses is updated at each reporting date to reflect changes in credit risk since initial recognition.
Hedge accounting: IFRS 9 introduces new requirements for hedge accounting that align hedge accounting more closely with Risk Management. The requirements establish a more principles-based approach to the general hedge accounting model. The amendments apply to all hedge accounting with the exception of portfolio fair value hedges of interest rate risk (commonly referred to as “fair value macro hedges”). For these, an entity may continue to apply the hedge accounting requirements currently in IAS 39. This exception was granted largely because the IASB is addressing macro hedge accounting as a separate project.
Effective date: The published effective date of IFRS 9 was 1 January 2018. However, amendments to IFRS 4 – Insurance Contracts: Applying IFRS 9 – Financial Instruments with IFRS 4 – Insurance Contracts, published on September 12, 2016, changes the existing IFRS 4 to allow entities issuing insurance contracts within the scope of IFRS 4 to mitigate certain effects of applying IFRS 9 before the IASB’s new insurance contract standard (IFRS 17 – Insurance Contracts) becomes effective.
The amendments introduce two alternative options:
apply a temporary exemption from implementing IFRS 9 until the earlier of
the effective date of a new insurance contract standard; or annual reporting years beginning on or after 1 January 2023. On 17 March 2020, the International Accounting Standards Board (“IASB”) decided to extend the effective date of IFRS 17 and the IFRS 9 temporary exemption in IFRS 4 from 1 January 2021 to 1 January 2023. Additional disclosures related to financial assets are required during the deferral period. This option is only available to entities whose activities are predominately connected with insurance and have not applied IFRS 9 previously; or;
adopt IFRS 9 but, for designated financial assets, remove from statement of income the effects of some of the accounting mismatches that may occur before the new insurance contract standard is implemented. During the interim period, additional disclosures are required.
The Company has performed a detailed assessment beginning January 1, 2018: (1) The carrying amount of the Company’s liabilities arising from contracts within the scope of IFRS 4 (including deposit components or embedded derivatives unbundled from insurance contracts) were compared to the total carrying amount of all its liabilities; and (2) the total carrying amount of the company’s liabilities connected with insurance were compared to the total carrying amount of all its liabilities. The Company’s total liabilities were SAR 409.8 million and liabilities connected with insurance in the statement of financial position primarily included the liabilities arising in the course of writing insurance business and were valued at SAR 327.9 million. Based on these assessments the Company determined that it is eligible for the temporary exemption. Consequently, the Company has decided to defer the implementation of IFRS 9 until the effective date of the new insurance contracts standard. Disclosures related to financial assets required during the deferral period are included in the Company’s financial statements.
b. STANDARD ISSUED BUT NOT YET EFFECTIVE (CONTINUED) IFRS 9 – Financial Instruments (continued)
As at December 31, 2021, the Company has total financial assets and insurance related assets amounting to SAR 592.7 million (2020: SAR 575.9 million) and SAR 357.2 million (2020: SAR 312.3 million), respectively. Currently, financial assets held at amortized cost consist of loans and receivable (cash and cash equivalents, terms deposit, premiums and reinsurance balances receivable and certain other receivables) amounting to SAR 454.8 million (2020: SAR 472.3 million). Financial assets held at amortized cost are expected to meet the SPPI test as required by IFRS 9 and the Company expects to measure such assets at amortized cost. Financial assets includes available for sale investment amounting to SAR 1.9 million (2020: SAR 1.9 million), the Company expect to use the FVOCI classification of financial assets based on the business model of the Company for these strategic nature of equity investments.
The Company’s financial assets have low credit risk as at December 31, 2021 and 2020. The above is based on high-level impact assessment of IFRS 9. This preliminary assessment is based on currently available information and may be subject to changes arising from further detailed analyses or additional reasonable and supportable information being made available to the Company in the future. Overall, the Company expects some effect of applying the impairment requirements of IFRS 9: However, the impact of the same is not expected to be significant.
At present it is not possible to provide reasonable estimate of the effects of application of this new standard as the Company is yet to perform a detailed review.
Fair value of financial assets as at December 31, 2021 and change in the fair values during the year:
| As at December 31, 2021 | As at December 31, 2020 | Change during the year |
Financial assets with contractual cash flows that meet the SPPI criteria, excluding those held for trading |
|
|
Mudaraba/Murahaba deposits – held-to-maturity | 57,236,755 | 124,348,532 | (67,111,777) |
|
|
|
| Financial assets that do not meet the SPPI criteria |
|
|
| Fixed income securities – held for trading | 74,729,318 | 74,740,298 | (10,980) | Equity securities – held for trading | 27,421,360 | 26,901,131 | 520,229 |
Amendments to IAS 1, ‘Presentation of financial statements’ on classification of liabilities
These narrow-scope amendments to IAS 1, ‘Presentation of financial statements’, clarify that liabilities are classified as either current or non-current, depending on the rights that exist at the end of the reporting year. Classification is unaffected by the expectations of the entity or events after the reporting date (for example, the receipt of a waiver or a breach of covenant). The amendment also clarifies what IAS 1 means when it refers to the ‘settlement’ of a liability.
Amendments to IFRS 3, IAS 16, IAS 37
-IFRS 3, ‘Business combinations’ update a reference in IFRS 3 to the Conceptual Framework for Financial Reporting without changing the accounting requirements for business combinations.
-IAS 16, ‘Property, plant and equipment’ prohibit a company from deducting from the cost of property, plant and equipment amounts received from selling items produced while the company is preparing the asset for its intended use. Instead, a company will recognise such sales proceeds and related cost in profit or loss.
- IAS 37, ‘Provisions, contingent liabilities and contingent assets’ specify which costs a company includes when assessing whether a contract will be loss-making. Amendments to IAS 1, Practice statement 2 and IAS 8
The amendments aim to improve accounting policy disclosures and to help users of the financial statements to distinguish between changes in accounting estimates and changes in accounting policies.
Amendments to IAS 12, Income taxes
This amendment deals with clarification regarding accounting of deferred tax on transactions such as leases and decommissioning obligations. | |
| Disclosure of summary of significant accounting policies [abstract] | | |
| Description of accounting policy for cash and cash equivalents [text block] |
CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS
| Insurance operations | Shareholders’ operations |
Total |
| 2021 | 2020 | 2021 | 2020 | 2021 | 2020 | Cash at bank |
|
|
|
|
|
| - Current accounts | 11,555,000 | 4,875,037 | 2,667,046 | 1,505,384 | 14,222,046 | 6,380,421 | - Time deposits | 25,712,250 | 34,389,382 | 146,109,589 | 95,023,839 | 171,821,839 | 129,413,221 |
| 37,267,250 | 39,264,419 | 148,776,635 | 96,529,223 | 186,043,885 | 135,793,642 |
Short term deposits are placed with local and licensed foreign banks in Kingdom of Saudi Arabia within an original maturity of less than three months from the date of original acquisition and earned commission income ranging 0.7 % to 1.35% per annum (31 December 2020: 0.65% to 1.15% per annum). The carrying amounts of the short-term deposits reasonably approximate to the fair value at the statement of financial position date. Bank balances are also placed with counterparties with sound credit ratings. | |
| Description of accounting policy for investment properties [text block] |
Investments comprise the following:
| Insurance operations | Shareholders’ operations | Total |
| 2021 | 2020 | 2021 | 2020 | 2021 | 2020 | Investments held for trading | 39,755,154 | 40,105,314 | 62,395,524 | 61,536,115 | 102,150,678 | 101,641,429 | Investments available for sale (d) | - | - | 1,932,078 | 1,932,078 | 1,932,078 | 1,932,078 |
| 39,755,154 | 40,105,314 | 64,327,602 | 63,468,193 | 104,082,756 | 103,573,507 |
INVESTMENTS (CONTINUED)
Category wise analysis is as follows:
Insurance operations | Domestic | International | Total |
| 2021 | 2020 | 2021 | 2020 | 2021 | 2020 | Sukuks and bonds | 20,014,283 | 19,424,178 | 9,146,135 | 9,646,798 | 29,160,418 | 29,070,976 | Equity securities | 10,594,736 | 11,034,338 | - | - | 10,594,736 | 11,034,338 |
| 30,609,019 | 30,458,516 | 9,146,135 | 9,646,798 | 39,755,154 | 40,105,314 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Shareholders’ operations | Domestic | International | Total |
| 2021 | 2020 | 2021 | 2020 | 2021 | 2020 | Sukuks and bonds | 33,703,928 | 33,154,855 | 11,864,972 | 12,514,467 | 45,568,900 | 45,669,322 | Equity securities | 18,758,702 | 17,798,871 | - | - | 18,758,702 | 17,798,871 |
| 52,462,630 | 50,953,726 | 11,864,972 | 12,514,467 | 64,327,602 | 63,468,193 |
Investments held for trading includes quoted securities of SAR 97.18 million and unquoted SAR 4.97 million (2020: quoted securities of SAR 96.67 million and unquoted SAR 4.97 million).
Movements in investments held for trading is as follows:
| Insurance operations | Shareholders’ operations |
Total |
| 2021 | 2020 | 2021 | 2020 | 2021 | 2020 | At the beginning of the year | 40,105,314 | 38,013,460 | 61,536,115 | 58,493,236 | 101,641,429 | 96,506,696 | Acquired during the year | 8,405,791 | 11,661,873 | 12,145,756 | 15,128,556 | 20,551,547 | 26,790,429 | Disposals during the year | (7,915,357) | (10,060,269) | (10,268,326) | (13,050,848) | (18,183,683) | (23,111,117) | Unrealised (losses) / gains | (843,695) | 592,066 | (1,022,019) | 1,097,253 | (1,865,714) | 1,689,319 | Realised gains / (losses) | 3,101 | (101,816) | 3,998 | (132,082) | 7,099 | (233,898) | At the end of the year | 39,755,154 | 40,105,314 | 62,395,524 | 61,536,115 | 102,150,678 | 101,641,429 |
As at the balance sheet date investments amounting to SAR 68.10 million (2020: SAR 66.78 million) are denominated in US Dollars.
The Company arranged through a financial institution inside the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia to invest in certain Sukuks, bonds and equity securities traded in active open market in US Dollars. However, as the management’s intention is to sell these investments in the short term, accordingly such investments are classified as investments held for trading.
This represents an investment in respect of the Company’s shareholding in Najm for Insurance Services which provides loss determination services for motor class. This investment has been carried at cost in the absence of an active market also management does not have access to the most recent available information to determine the fair value. There has been no movement in this investment for the year ended 31 December 2021 and 2020.
There has been no change in the classification in the investments held for trading and available for sale for the year ended 31 December 2021 and 2020.
| |
| Description of accounting policy for intangible assets and goodwill [text block] |
GOODWILL During the year 2008, the Company entered into a purchase agreement whereby it has purchased the insurance business operations in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia of Ace Arabia Insurance Company B.S.C. (c) and International Insurance Company B.S.C. (c). The purchase price was based on a valuation study conducted in accordance with the due diligence and valuation guidelines issued by SAMA. In accordance with the SAMA letter of November 10, 2008 (“the Letter”), the value of combined goodwill was estimated at SAR 43.77 million. The amount has been paid in accordance with SAMA’s instructions.
Goodwill was allocated to the operations of the entire Company which is considered as one CGU. The carrying amount of goodwill amounts to SAR 43.77 million and no impairment loss has been recognised in 2021 and 2020, as a result of the impairment review for the CGU.
As at the statement of financial position date, the management of the Company has assessed the carrying value of the goodwill. Based on their assessment, the management believes that there is no objective evidence or circumstances that indicate any impairment in the value of the goodwill. Therefore, no impairment is required to be recognised in respect of the goodwill in the statement of income of shareholders’ operations.
In accordance with the requirements of the International Financial Reporting Standards as applicable in Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, the Company’s management has annually carried out an impairment test in respect of the abovementioned goodwill. The management conducted the impairment exercise for the year ended 31 December 2021. The recoverable amount of the operations has been based on the value in use (VIU) calculation using cash flow projections based on financial budgets approved by the senior management covering a three-year period.
The key assumptions used for the VIU impairment calculation are:
Sensitivity to changes in assumptions With regard to the assessment of value in use for the identified CGU, management does not believe a reasonably possible change in any of the above key assumptions would cause the carrying value of the CGU to exceed its recoverable amount. The actual recoverable amount exceeds its carrying amount by SAR 104.65 million (2020 SAR 77.24 million).
Management recognised the fact that current market conditions reflect stable and profitable margins. Management believes even a reduction of 10% in the premium growth rate would not have any significant impact on the recoverable amount as compared to the carrying amount of the CGU.
Sensitivity to change in WACC The 5% increase/ decrease in WACC will affect the recoverable amount by SR 21.99 million (2020: SR 22.02 million). | |
| Description of accounting policy for fair value measurement [text block] |
FAIR VALUE OF FINANCIAL INSTRUMENTS Fair value is the price that would be received to sell an asset or paid to transfer a liability in an orderly transaction between market participants at the measurement date. The fair value measurement is based on the presumption that the transaction takes place either:
in the accessible principal market for the asset or liability, or in the absence of a principal market, in the most advantages accessible market for the asset or liability
The management assessed that cash, bank balances and short-term deposits, receivables from policyholders/ /brokers/insurance/reinsurance companies and related parties, accounts payable, reinsurance balances payable, and other financial liabilities approximate their carrying amounts largely due to the short-term maturities of these instruments.
Determination of fair value and fair value hierarchy The Company uses the following hierarchy for determining and disclosing the fair value of financial instruments:
Level 1: quoted prices in active markets for the same or identical instrument that an entity can access at the measurement date;
Level 2: quoted prices in active markets for similar assets and liabilities or other valuation techniques for which all significant inputs are based on observable market data; and
Level 3: valuation techniques for which any significant input is not based on observable market data.
During the year, there has been no transfer between level 1, level 2 and level 3.
The following table shows the carrying amount and fair values of financial assets and financial liabilities, including their levels in the fair value hierarchy for financial instruments measured at fair value. It does not include fair value information for financial assets and financial liabilities not measured at fair value if the carrying amount is a reasonable approximation to fair value:
Financial instrument carried at fair value |
31 December 2021 |
Investments held for trading | Carrying value |
| Level 1 |
| Level 2 |
| Level 3 |
| Total | Insurance operations | 39,755,154 |
| 37,590,842 |
| 2,164,312 |
| - |
| 39,755,154 | Shareholders’ operations | 62,395,524 |
| 59,587,836 |
| 2,807,688 |
| - |
| 62,395,524 |
| 102,150,678 |
| 97,178,678 |
| 4,972,000 |
| - |
| 102,150,678 |
Financial instrument carried at fair value |
31 December 2020 |
Investments held for trading | Carrying value |
| Level 1 |
| Level 2 |
| Level 3 |
| Total | Insurance operations | 40,105,314 |
| 37,947,965 |
| 2,157,349 |
| - |
| 40,105,314 | Shareholders’ operations | 61,536,115 |
| 58,737,464 |
| 2,798,651 |
| - |
| 61,536,115 |
| 101,641,429 |
| 96,685,429 |
| 4,956,000 |
| - |
| 101,641,429 |
Financial instruments measured at fair value also includes investments available for sale amounting to SAR 1.93 million (2020: SAR 1.93 million) which is categorized as level 3 financial instruments. | |
| Description of accounting policy for other revenue recognition [text block] |
TERM DEPOSITS Term deposits are placed with counterparties which have credit ratings of A- to A+ ratings under Standard and Poor's and Fitch ratings methodology. Term deposits are placed with local banks with a maturity of more than three months from the date of original placement and earn investment income at an average rate of 1.83% per annum (2020: 1.5 % per annum). The carrying amounts of the term deposits approximate the fair value at the statement of financial position date.
The movements in term deposits during the year ended 31 December 2021 as follows:
| Insurance operations | Shareholders’ operations |
Total |
| 2021 | 2020 | 2021 | 2020 | 2021 | 2020 | At the beginning of the year | 25,333,510 | - | 99,015,022 | 132,081,773 | 124,348,532 | 132,081,773 | Matured during the year | (25,333,510) | - | (99,015,022) | (132,081,773) | (124,348,532) | (132,081,773) | Placed during the year | - | 25,333,510 | 57,236,755 | 99,015,022 | 57,236,755 | 124,348,532 | At the end of the year | - | 25,333,510 | 57,236,755 | 99,015,022 | 57,236,755 | 124,348,532 |
| |
| Disclosure of notes forming part of accounts [abstract] | | |
| Disclosure of zakat [text block] |
Income tax Charge for the year Income tax relating to the non-Saudi shareholders’ consists of:
| 2021 |
| 2020 | Charge and provision for the year | 735,297 |
| 1,937,429 |
Income tax has been provided for based on the estimated taxable profit at the rate of 20% per annum.
The differences between the financial results and taxable income are mainly due to adjustments for certain costs/claims based on the relevant fiscal regulations.
ZAKAT AND INCOME TAX (CONTINUED)
Movement in the provision for Zakat and income tax during the year
The movement in Zakat and income tax provision is as follows:
| 2021 |
| 2020 | At the beginning of the year | 19,536,736 |
| 16,501,196 | Provision for the year: |
|
|
| -Zakat | 5,638,068 |
| 4,596,805 | -Income tax | 735,297 |
| 1,937,429 | Paid during the year | (6,604,857) |
| (3,498,694) | At the end of the year | 19,305,244 |
| 19,536,736 |
The following is the founding shareholding percentage:
| 2021 |
| 2020 | Shareholding subject to zakat | 70 |
| 70 | | Shareholding subject to income tax | 30 |
| 30 | |
Zakat and income tax assessments
In 2015, the ZATCA raised final assessments for the years ended 31 December 2009 to 2012 and claimed additional Zakat and income tax liability including withholding tax amounting to SAR 13.79 million. The management has filed an appeal against these assessments and believes that the outcome of this appeal will be in the favor of the Company. However, the Company has paid SAR 14.9 million (including delay penalties and withholding tax) and also furnished a bank guarantee of SAR 3.3 million in favor of ZATCA to avoid any further delay penalties until the appeal against the assessments is finalized. During the year ended December 31, 2021, the Company has received final decision from General Secretariat of Tax Committees (GSTC) – Appellate Committee with settlement amount of SR 12.78 million (SR 2.1 million refundable from the additional amount of SR 14.9 million paid). Based on it, the Company has filed a settlement letter with ZATCA and waiting their concurrence to it.
The Company has also received a provisional assessment for the years 2013 to 2015 where ZATCA had requested for an additional Zakat and income tax liability of SAR 6.2 million. The management has also filed an appeal against this assessment. However, the Company has submitted an additional bank guarantee amounting to SAR 6.2 million to cover the full additional liability and to avoid delay penalties.
Furthermore, in 2020, the ZATCA raised final assessments for the years ended 31 December 2016 to 2018 and assessed additional Zakat and income tax liability amounting to SAR 10.6 million. The management filed an appeal with the ZATCA and the ZATCA issued a revised assessment with the additional Zakat and Income tax liability amounting to SR 8.5 million. The management has filed appeals against these assessments with the General secretariat of tax committees (GSTC) and believes that the outcome of these appeals will be in the favor of the Company. The ZATCA in 2020 also raised a Withholding tax assessment for the years 2016 and 2017 amounting to SR 9.5 million. The management has filed an appeal against this assessment and believes that the outcome of this appeal will be in favor of the Company.
Additionally, in March 2021, the Company settled the additional WHT liability amounting to SR 6.8 million under the tax amnesty scheme of waiving the delay fine if the principal amount is paid, the company will request a refund of this amount after favorable outcome of the case.
The Company has filed Zakat and tax returns up to year ended 31 December 2020 and obtained Zakat and tax clearance certificate valid till 30 April 2022. During the year 2021, ZATCA has raised final assessment for the years 2019 and 2020 with additional tax and zakat exposure of SR 7.3 million. The management filed appeals with GSTC against these assessments and believes that the outcome of the appeals will be in the favor of the Company. | |
| Disclosure of statutory reserve [text block] |
The statutory deposit represents 10% of the paid up share capital which is maintained in accordance with the Law on Supervision of Cooperative Insurance Companies in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Saudi Central Bank (“SAMA”) is entitled to the earnings of this statutory deposit and it cannot be withdrawn without its consent. In accordance with the instruction received from SAMA vide their circular dated 1 March 2016, the Company has disclosed the commission earned on the statutory deposit as at 31 December 2021 as an asset and a liability in these financial statements. During the year 2021, the Company has made additional contribution amounting to SR 10 million to the statutory deposit, on account of the increase in share capital amounting to SR 100 million (note 27). | |