| [100010] Filing information | [200100] Independent auditors report | [300100] Statement of financial position, order of liquidity | |||
| [300200] Statement of insurance/ takaful operations, nature of expense | [300300] Statement of shareholders operations, nature of expense | [300400] Statement of other comprehensive income, before tax, insurance operations | |||
| [300500] Statement of other comprehensive income, before tax, shareholders operations | [300600] Statement of cash flows, indirect method, insurance operations | [300700] Statement of cash flows, indirect method, shareholders operations | |||
| [300800] Statement of changes in equity | [400100] Notes forming part of accounts |

| [100010] Filing information |
|   | English [member] | |
|---|---|---|
| Start Date | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 |
| End Date | 2021-03-31 | 2020-03-31 |
| Filing information [line items] | ||
| Disclosure of entity information [abstract] | ||
| Name of reporting entity | Al-Rajhi Company for Cooperative Insurance | |
| Company symbol code| ISIN code | 8230 | SA12A0540J14 | |
| Sector| Industry group | Financials | Insurance | |
| Disclosure of document information [abstract] | ||
| Whether entity wants to report opening statement of financial position | No | |
| Period covered by financial statements | Quarter 1 | |
| Reporting period start date | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 |
| Reporting period end date | 2021-03-31 | 2020-03-31 |
| Description of nature of financial statements | Consolidated | |
| Status of financial statements | Reviewed | |
| Description of presentation currency | Saudi Arabia, Riyals | |
| Level of rounding used in financial statements | Thousands | |
| [200100] Independent auditors report |
|   | Primary auditor [member] | Second primary auditor [member] |
|---|---|---|
|   | English [member] | English [member] |
| Start Date | 2021-01-01 | 2021-01-01 |
| End Date | 2021-03-31 | 2021-03-31 |
| Auditors information [line items] | ||
| Details of auditors signing report [abstract] | ||
| Name of auditor signing report | Gihad Al Amri | Ali Al Basri |
| Registration number of auditor | 362 | 409 |
| Details of audit firm [abstract] | ||
| Name of audit firm | BDO Dr. Mohamed Al-Amri & Co. | PricewaterhouseCoopers |
| Registration number of audit firm | 1010433982 | 25 |
| Contact number of audit firm | (+966) 11 278 0608 | (+966) 11 211 0400 |
| Address of audit firm | P.O. Box 8736, Riyadh 11492 Kingdom of Saudi Arabia | P.O. Box 8282, Riyadh 11482 Kingdom of Saudi Arabia |
|   | English [member] |
|---|---|
| Start Date | 2021-01-01 |
| End Date | 2021-03-31 |
| Auditors report [line items] | |
| Disclosures of auditors report [text block] | We have reviewed the accompanying interim statement of financial position of Al Rajhi Company for Cooperative Insurance (A Saudi Joint Stock Company) (the “Company”) as of 31 March 2021 and the related interim statements of income, comprehensive income, changes in equity and cash flows for the three-month period then ended and other explanatory notes (the “interim condensed financial information”). Management is responsible for the preparation and presentation of this interim condensed financial information in accordance with International Accounting Standard 34 - “Interim Financial Reporting” (“IAS 34”), as endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Our responsibility is to express a conclusion on this interim condensed financial information based on our review. |
| Contents of auditors report [abstract] | |
| Nature of auditors opinion | Unmodified opinion |
| Auditors opinion | Based on our review, nothing has come to our attention that causes us to believe that the accompanying interim condensed financial information is not prepared, in all material respects, in accordance with IAS 34, as endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. |
| Basis of opinion | We conducted our review in accordance with International Standard on Review Engagements 2410, “Review of interim financial information performed by the independent auditor of the entity”, as endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. A review of interim financial information consists of making inquiries, primarily of persons responsible for financial and accounting matters, and applying analytical and other review procedures. A review is substantially less in scope than an audit conducted in accordance with International Standards on Auditing, as endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and consequently does not enable us to obtain assurance that we would become aware of all significant matters that might be identified in an audit. Accordingly, we do not express an audit opinion. |
| Responsibilities of management and those charged with governance for financial statements | The Directors are responsible for the preparation and fair presentation of the financial statements in accordancewith the International Financial Reporting Standards, as endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, the applicablerequirements of the Regulations for Companies and the Company’s By-laws, and for such internal control as theDirectors determine is necessary to enable the preparation of financial statements that are free from materialmisstatement, whether due to fraud or error.In preparing the financial statements, the Directors are responsible for assessing the Company’s ability to continueas a going concern, disclosing, as applicable, matters related to going concern and using the going concern basisof accounting unless Directors either intend to liquidate the Company or to cease operations, or have no realisticalternative but to do so. |
| Auditors responsibilities for audit of financial statements | Our objectives are to obtain reasonable assurance about whether the financial statements as a whole are free from material misstatement, whether due to fraud or error, and to issue an auditors’ report that includes our opinion. Reasonable assurance is a high level of assurance, but is not a guarantee that an audit conducted in accordance with International Standards on Auditing as endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia will always detect a material misstatement when it exists. Misstatements can arise from fraud or error and are considered material if, individually or in the aggregate, they could reasonably be expected to influence the economic decisions of users taken on the basis of these financial statements.As part of an audit in accordance with ISAs as endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, we exercise professional judgment and maintain professional skepticism throughout the audit. We also: Identify and assess the risks of material misstatement of the financial statements, whether due to fraud or error, design and perform audit procedures responsive to those risks, and obtain audit evidence that is sufficient and appropriate to provide a basis for our opinion. The risk of not detecting a material misstatement resulting from fraud is higher than for one resulting from error, as fraud may involve collusion, forgery, intentional omissions, misrepresentations, or the override of internal control; Obtain an understanding of internal control relevant to the audit in order to design audit procedures that are appropriate in the circumstances, but not for the purpose of expressing an opinion on the effectiveness of the Company’s internal control; Evaluate the appropriateness of accounting policies used and the reasonableness of accounting estimates and related disclosures made by the Directors; Conclude on the appropriateness of the Directors’ use of the going concern basis of accounting and, based on the audit evidence obtained, whether a material uncertainty exists related to events or conditions that may cast significant doubt on the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern. If we conclude that a material uncertainty exists, we are required to draw attention in our auditors’ report to the related disclosures in the financial statements or, if such disclosures are inadequate, to modify our opinion. Our conclusions are based on the audit evidence obtained up to the date of our auditors’ report. However, future events or conditions may cause the Company to cease to continue as a going concern; and Evaluate the overall presentation, structure and content of the financial statements, including the disclosures, and whether the financial statements represent the underlying transactions and events in a manner that achieves fair presentation.We communicate with those charged with governance regarding, among other matters, the planned scope and timing of the audit and significant audit findings, including any significant deficiencies in internal control that we identify during our audit.We also provide those charged with governance with a statement that we have complied with relevant ethical requirements regarding independence, and to communicate with them all relationships and other matters that may reasonably be thought to bear on our independence, and where applicable, related safeguards.From the matters communicated with those charged with governance, we determine those matters that were of most significance in the audit of the financial statements of the current period and are therefore the key audit matters. We describe these matters in our auditors’ report unless law or regulation precludes public disclosure about the matter or when, in extremely rare circumstances, we determine that a matter should not be communicated in our report because the adverse consequences of doing so would reasonably be expected to outweigh the public interest benefits of such communication. |
| Date of signing audit report by auditor | 2021-05-19 |
| [300100] Statement of financial position, order of liquidity |
| Start Date | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2021-03-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2020-03-31 | |
| Statement of financial position [abstract] | ||||
| Assets [abstract] | ||||
| Insurance/ takaful operations assets [abstract] | ||||
| Deferred policy acquisition costs | 111,975 | 87,591 | 51,058 | |
| Reinsurers/ retakaful share of unearned premiums/ contributions | 209,139 | 210,423 | 127,883 | |
| Prepayments and other assets, insurance/ takaful operations assets | 78,367 | 83,494 | 76,956 | |
| Due from shareholders operations | -130,223 | -533,451 | -113,537 | |
| Premiums/ insurance receivables/takaful contributions receivable, net | 549,208 | 564,188 | 523,503 | |
| Reinsurers/ retakaful share of outstanding claims/ benefits, net | 99,185 | 85,469 | 108,088 | |
| Time (Murabaha) deposits, insurance/ takaful operations assets | 1,372,531 | 1,229,030 | 1,298,888 | |
| Available-for-sale investments, insurance/ takaful operations assets | 31,007 | 30,107 | 26,289 | |
| Investments held at fair value through statement of income, insurance/ takaful operations assets | 469,906 | 461,621 | 166,657 | |
| Cash and cash equivalents, insurance/ takaful operations assets | 256,147 | 810,564 | 456,204 | |
| Reinsurers/ retakaful share of mathematical reserves | 26 | 23 | 23 | |
| Reinsurance retakaful share of outstanding claims IBNR | 32,281 | 26,957 | 16,982 | |
| Total insurance/ takaful operations assets | 3,079,549 | 3,056,016 | 2,738,994 | |
| Shareholders assets [abstract] | ||||
| Property and equipment, net, shareholders assets | 110,622 | 100,298 | 42,072 | |
| Statutory deposit | 39,971 | 39,969 | 39,969 | |
| Prepayments and other assets, shareholders assets | 32,407 | 28,656 | 67,445 | |
| Investments held at fair value through statement of income, shareholders assets | 58,917 | 72,098 | 6,107 | |
| Time (Murabaha) deposits, shareholders assets | 264,950 | 150,009 | 115,024 | |
| Accrued investment income | 2,572 | 2,227 | 1,173 | |
| Available-for-sale investments, shareholders assets | 346,182 | 296,341 | 239,856 | |
| Due from insurance/ takaful operations assets | 130,223 | 533,451 | 113,537 | |
| Cash and cash equivalents, shareholders assets | 384,963 | 37,548 | 369,535 | |
| Right-of-use assets | 44,823 | 43,649 | 8,540 | |
| Total shareholders assets | 1,415,630 | 1,304,246 | 1,003,258 | |
| Total assets | 4,495,179 | 4,360,262 | 3,742,252 | |
| Liabilities and equity [abstract] | ||||
| Insurance/ takaful operations liabilities and surplus (deficit) [abstract] | ||||
| Insurance/ takaful operations liabilities [abstract] | ||||
| Gross unearned premiums/ contributions | 1,281,096 | 1,204,917 | 1,277,065 | |
| Unearned commission income | 18,038 | 14,902 | 10,025 | |
| Reinsurers/ retakaful balance payable | 137,007 | 177,442 | 91,464 | |
| Gross outstanding claims/ benefits including IBNR payable | 1,156,864 | 1,180,823 | 1,116,677 | |
| Other technical reserves | 111,233 | 74,952 | 10,412 | |
| Accrued expenses payable, insurance/ takaful operations liabilities | 161,198 | 214,502 | 90,245 | |
| Other liabilities, insurance/ takaful operations | 158,659 | 141,093 | 87,378 | |
| Total insurance/ takaful operations liabilities | 3,024,095 | 3,008,631 | 2,683,266 | |
| Insurance/ takaful operations surplus (deficit) [abstract] | ||||
| Surplus (deficit) from insurance/ takaful fund | 55,485 | 48,316 | 60,477 | |
| Other insurance/ takaful operations surplus (deficit) | -31 | |||
| Total insurance/ takaful operations surplus (deficit) | 55,454 | 48,316 | 60,477 | |
| Total insurance/ takaful operations liabilities and surplus (deficit) | 3,079,549 | 3,056,947 | 2,743,743 | |
| Shareholders liabilities and equity [abstract] | ||||
| Shareholders liabilities [abstract] | ||||
| Zakat payable | 52,032 | 46,654 | 45,482 | |
| Income tax payable | 1,250 | 1,250 | 1,250 | |
| Accrued expenses payable, shareholders liabilities | 72,316 | 65,699 | 57,798 | |
| Other liabilities, shareholders liabilities | 7,282 | 6,937 | 5,883 | |
| Lease liabilities | 47,156 | 42,714 | 6,930 | |
| employees end of services benefits | 27,099 | 27,680 | 19,471 | |
| Total shareholders liabilities | 207,135 | 190,934 | 136,814 | |
| Shareholders equity [abstract] | ||||
| Equity attributable to owners of parent [abstract] | ||||
| Share capital | 400,000 | 400,000 | 400,000 | |
| Statutory reserve | 170,833 | 158,491 | 120,348 | |
| Fair value reserve on investments, shareholders equity | 79,275 | 44,867 | -15,522 | |
| Retained earnings (accumulated losses) | 566,139 | 516,775 | 358,397 | |
| Other reserves | -7,752 | -7,752 | -1,528 | |
| Total equity attributable to owners of parent | 1,208,495 | 1,112,381 | 861,695 | |
| Total equity attributable to equity holders of company | 1,208,495 | 1,112,381 | 861,695 | |
| Total shareholders liabilities and equity | 1,415,630 | 1,303,315 | 998,509 | |
| Total insurance/ takaful operations liabilities, surplus (deficit) and shareholders liabilities and equity | 4,495,179 | 4,360,262 | 3,742,252 |
| [300200] Statement of insurance/ takaful operations, nature of expense |
| Start Date | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2021-03-31 | 2020-03-31 | |
| Statement of insurance/ takaful operations [abstract] | |||
| Statement of insurance/ takaful operations and accumulated surplus (deficit) [abstract] | |||
| Income from insurance/ takaful operations [abstract] | |||
| Net premiums/ contributions earned [abstract] | |||
| Net premiums/ contributions written [abstract] | |||
| Gross premiums/ contributions written | 739,643 | 787,542 | |
| Excess of loss expense | 2,677 | 2,063 | |
| Reinsurance/ retakaful premiums ceded | 98,004 | 58,131 | |
| Net premiums/ contributions written | 638,962 | 727,348 | |
| Changes in unearned premiums/ contributions | 77,463 | 137,883 | |
| Net premiums/ contributions earned | 561,499 | 589,465 | |
| Reinsurance/ retakaful commissions | 8,655 | 5,502 | |
| Fees and other income from insurance/ takaful operations | 953 | 691 | |
| Total income from insurance/ takaful operations | 571,107 | 595,658 | |
| Cost and expenses [abstract] | |||
| Net claims/ benefits incurred [abstract] | |||
| Net claims/ benefits paid [abstract] | |||
| Gross claims/ benefits paid | 402,365 | 471,381 | |
| Reinsurance/ retakaful share of gross claims/ benefits paid | 14,030 | 9,424 | |
| Net claims/ benefits paid | 388,335 | 461,957 | |
| Changes in outstanding claims/ benefits including IBNR | -42,999 | -15,363 | |
| Changes in other technical reserves | 36,281 | -15,891 | |
| Net claims/ benefits incurred | 381,617 | 430,703 | |
| Surrenders | 5,651 | 2,888 | |
| Policy acquisition costs | 39,201 | 28,385 | |
| Impairment charges for other assets, insurance/ takaful operations | -168 | -130 | |
| General and administrative expenses, insurance/ takaful operations | 65,688 | 81,174 | |
| Other underwriting expenses | 6,812 | 5,727 | |
| Realised gain (loss) on investments held at fair value through statement of income | 2,097 | 1,734 | |
| Adjustments for allowance for doubtful receivables, operations | 3,826 | 17,356 | |
| Fee and commission income | 11,471 | 13,229 | |
| Changes in mathematical reserves | 10,345 | 8,561 | |
| Total cost and expenses | 499,404 | 559,701 | |
| Surplus (deficit) for period from insurance/ takaful operations | 71,703 | 35,957 | |
| Shareholders appropriation from insurance/ takaful operations surplus (deficit) | 64,533 | 32,361 | |
| Net result for period from insurance/ takaful operations after shareholders appropriation | 7,170 | 3,596 | |
| Policyholders share of accumulated surplus, at end of period | 7,170 | 3,596 |
| [300300] Statement of shareholders operations, nature of expense |
| Start Date | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2021-03-31 | 2020-03-31 | |
| Statement of shareholders operations [abstract] | |||
| Profit (loss) [abstract] | |||
| Income (loss) from continuing operations [abstract] | |||
| Shareholders appropriation of surplus (deficit) transferred from insurance/ takaful operations | 64,533 | 32,361 | |
| Revenue [abstract] | |||
| Fee income | 65,688 | 81,174 | |
| Commission/ profit on deposits | 821 | 1,905 | |
| Realised gain (loss) on investments held as fair value through statement of income | 755 | 603 | |
| Dividend income | 2,536 | 1,383 | |
| Other income | 127 | 275 | |
| Impairment loss reversal | -266 | -202 | |
| Total revenue | 69,661 | 85,138 | |
| Expenses [abstract] | |||
| General and administrative expenses, shareholders operations | 65,688 | 81,174 | |
| Total expenses | 65,688 | 81,174 | |
| Income (loss) from continuing operations before zakat and income tax | 68,506 | 36,325 | |
| Zakat expenses on continuing operations for period | 6,800 | 5,800 | |
| Profit (loss) from continuing operations | 61,706 | 30,525 | |
| Profit (loss) for the period | 61,706 | 30,525 | |
| Profit (loss), attributable to [abstract] | |||
| Profit (loss), attributable to saudi shareholders of company | 61,706 | 30,525 | |
| Earnings per share [abstract] | |||
| Basic earnings (loss) per share [abstract] | |||
| Basic earnings (loss) per share from continuing operations | 1.5427 | 0.7631 | |
| Total basic earnings (loss) per share | 1.5427 | 0.7631 | |
| Weighted average number of equity shares outstanding | 40000 | 40000 |
| [300400] Statement of other comprehensive income, before tax, insurance operations |
| Start Date | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2021-03-31 | 2020-03-31 | |
| Statement of other comprehensive income, before tax [abstract] | |||
| Net result for period from insurance/ takaful operations after shareholders appropriation | 7,170 | 3,596 | |
| Other comprehensive income [abstract] | |||
| Components of other comprehensive income that will not be reclassified to profit or loss [abstract] | |||
| Other comprehensive gains (losses) that will not be reclassified to profit or loss | 900 | -3,693 | |
| Total other comprehensive income that will not be reclassified to profit or loss | 900 | -3,693 | |
| Total other comprehensive income (loss) | 900 | -3,693 | |
| Total comprehensive income (loss) for period | 8,070 | -97 |
| [300500] Statement of other comprehensive income, before tax, shareholders operations |
| Start Date | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2021-03-31 | 2020-03-31 | |
| Statement of other comprehensive income, before tax [abstract] | |||
| Statement of comprehensive income [abstract] | |||
| Profit (loss) for the period | 61,706 | 30,525 | |
| Other comprehensive income [abstract] | |||
| Components of other comprehensive income that will not be reclassified to profit or loss [abstract] | |||
| Other comprehensive gains (losses) that will not be reclassified to profit or loss | 33,477 | -44,049 | |
| Total other comprehensive income that will not be reclassified to profit or loss | 33,477 | -44,049 | |
| Total other comprehensive income (loss) | 33,477 | -44,049 | |
| Total comprehensive income (loss) for period | 95,183 | -13,524 | |
| Total comprehensive income (loss) attributable to [abstract] | |||
| Total comprehensive income (loss), attributable to saudi shareholders of company | 95,183 | -13,524 |
| [300600] Statement of cash flows, indirect method, insurance operations |
| Start Date | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2021-03-31 | 2020-03-31 | |
| Statement of cash flows, indirect method [abstract] | |||
| Statement of cash flows, insurance/ takaful operations [abstract] | |||
| Cash flows from (used in) operating activities, insurance/ takaful operations [abstract] | |||
| Net result for period from insurance/ takaful operations after shareholders appropriation | 7,170 | 3,596 | |
| Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash from insurance/ takaful operations after shareholders appropriation | |||
| Adjustments for unrealised (gains) losses on investments held as fair value through statement of income | -6,139 | 8,014 | |
| Adjustments for allowance for doubtful receivables | 3,826 | 17,356 | |
| Adjustments for impairment (reversal of impairment) charges for held-to-maturity investments | -168 | -130 | |
| Adjustment for management fees attributable to shareholders operations | -64,535 | -32,363 | |
| Adjustment for management fees attributable to policyholder operations | -65,688 | -81,174 | |
| Total adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash from insurance/ takaful operations after shareholders appropriation | 127,742 | 138,777 | |
| Changes in operating assets and liabilities [abstract] | |||
| Adjustments for decrease (increase) in premium receivables, net | 11,154 | -204,710 | |
| Adjustments for decrease (increase) in prepayments and other assets | 7,067 | 29,778 | |
| Adjustments for increase (decrease) in outstanding claims including IBNR | -19,040 | -1,477 | |
| Adjustments for increase (decrease) in reinsurers/ retakaful balance payable | -40,435 | -3,173 | |
| Adjustments for increase (decrease) in retrocession balance payable | -53,307 | -2,132 | |
| Adjustments for increase (decrease) in accrued expenses and other liabilities | 17,566 | 557 | |
| Adjustments for decrease (increase) in deferred policy acquisition costs | -24,384 | -6,546 | |
| Adjustments for decrease (increase) in unearned commission income | 3,136 | 1,233 | |
| Adjustments for movement in gross unearned premiums/ contributions | 76,179 | 153,895 | |
| Adjustments for reinsurance/ retakaful share of unearned premiums/ contributions | 1,284 | -16,013 | |
| Adjustment for changes in other technical reserves | -3 | -2 | |
| Adjustment for changes in other reserves | 36,281 | -15,891 | |
| Gross outstanding claims | 26,057 | -6,577 | |
| Claims incurred but not reported | -50,016 | -7,309 | |
| Deposit against letters of guarantee | -1,771 | 4,719 | |
| Total changes in operating assets and liabilities | -10,232 | -73,648 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) insurance/ takaful operations | 124,680 | 68,725 | |
| Other inflows (outflows) of cash classified as operating activities, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | -533,451 | -328,011 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) operating activities, insurance/ takaful operations | -408,771 | -259,286 | |
| Cash flows from (used in) investing activities, insurance/ takaful operations [abstract] | |||
| Proceeds from sales of held-to-maturity investments, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | 300,000 | ||
| Proceeds from sales of investments held as fair value through statement of income, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | 493,968 | 323,909 | |
| Purchase of held-to-maturity investments, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | 143,500 | ||
| Purchase of investments held as fair value through statement of income, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | 496,114 | 328,028 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) investing activities, insurance/ takaful operations | -145,646 | 295,881 | |
| Cash flows from (used in) financing activities, insurance/ takaful operations [abstract] | |||
| Other inflows (outflows) of cash classified as financing activities, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | 0 | 0 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) financing activities, insurance/ takaful operations | 0 | 0 | |
| Increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents before effect of exchange rate changes | -554,417 | 36,595 | |
| Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents | -554,417 | 36,595 | |
| Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period | 810,564 | 419,609 | |
| Cash and cash equivalents at end of period | 256,147 | 456,204 |
|   | English [member] | Note No. | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Start Date | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | |
| End Date | 2021-03-31 | 2020-03-31 | |
| Disclosure of other non-cash information [line items] | |||
| Disclosure of other non-cash information, insurance/ takaful operations [text block] | Changes in fair value of investments designated as FVOCI 900 | ||
| [300700] Statement of cash flows, indirect method, shareholders operations |
| Start Date | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2021-03-31 | 2020-03-31 | |
| Statement of cash flows, indirect method [abstract] | |||
| Statement of cash flows [abstract] | |||
| Cash flows from (used in) operating activities [abstract] | |||
| Net profit (loss) for period [abstract] | |||
| Income (loss) from continuing operations before zakat and income tax | 68,506 | 36,325 | |
| Net profit (loss) for period (before zakat expenses and income tax) | 68,506 | 36,325 | |
| Adjustments to reconcile profit (loss) [abstract] | |||
| Adjustments for unrealised loss (gain) on investments held as fair value through statement of income, shareholders cash flow | 166 | 51 | |
| Adjustment for depreciation and amortisation | 5,307 | 2,935 | |
| Adjustment for management fees for administration of takaful operations | -65,688 | -81,174 | |
| Adjustment for management fees attributable to shareholders operations | -64,535 | -32,363 | |
| Adjustments for impairment (reversal of impairment) charges for investments, shareholders cash flow | 266 | 202 | |
| Finance cost | 627 | 62 | |
| Adjustments for employees end of service benefits | 1,202 | 1,836 | |
| Total adjustments to reconcile profit (loss) | -122,655 | -108,451 | |
| Changes in operating assets and liabilities [abstract] | |||
| Adjustments for decrease (increase) in prepayments and other assets, shareholders assets | -3,960 | 4,166 | |
| Adjustments for decrease (increase) in statutory deposits | 2 | 0 | |
| Adjustments for increase (decrease) in other liabilities | 6,962 | 21,701 | |
| Accrued income on statutory deposit | -347 | -229 | |
| Adjustments for employees end of services benefits | -1,783 | -985 | |
| Total changes in operating assets and liabilities | 874 | 24,653 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) operations | -53,275 | -47,473 | |
| Zakat expenses | 1,422 | ||
| Other inflows (outflows) of cash | 533,451 | 328,011 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) operating activities | 478,754 | 280,538 | |
| Cash flows from (used in) investing activities [abstract] | |||
| Purchase of investments held at fair value through statement of income | 130,162 | 333,000 | |
| Proceeds from investments held at fair value through statement of income | 143,177 | 339,846 | |
| Purchase of available-for-sale investments | 28,097 | 10,140 | |
| Proceeds from disposal of available-for-sale investments | 11,733 | ||
| Purchase of held-to-maturity investments | 114,999 | ||
| Proceeds from disposal of held-to-maturity investments | 100,000 | ||
| Purchase of property and equipment | 13,870 | 18,470 | |
| Movement in cash balance in equity share portfolio | 1,528 | -23,358 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) investing activities | -130,690 | 54,878 | |
| Cash flows from (used in) financing activities [abstract] | |||
| Payments of finance lease liabilities | 649 | 152 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) financing activities | -649 | -152 | |
| Increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents before effect of exchange rate changes | 347,415 | 335,264 | |
| Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents | 347,415 | 335,264 | |
| Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period | 37,548 | 34,271 | |
| Cash and cash equivalents at end of period | 384,963 | 369,535 |
|   | English [member] | Note No. | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Start Date | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | |
| End Date | 2021-03-31 | 2020-03-31 | |
| Disclosure of other non-cash information [line items] | |||
| Disclosure of other non-cash information, shareholders operations [text block] | Changes in fair value of investments designated as FVOCI 33,477 | ||
| [300800] Statement of changes in equity |
|   | Share capital [member] | Share premium [member] | Statutory reserve [member] | General reserve [member] | Fair value reserve on investments, shareholders equity [member] | Retained earnings (accumulated losses) [member] | Treasury shares [member] | Other reserves [member] | Reserve of disposal group held for distribution/ sale [member] | Share based payments reserve [member] | Other equity interest [member] | Equity attributable to owners of parent [member] | Non-controlling interests [member] | Total equity [member] | Note No. | ||||||||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Start Date | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | |
| End Date | 2021-03-31 | 2020-03-31 | 2021-03-31 | 2020-03-31 | 2021-03-31 | 2020-03-31 | 2021-03-31 | 2020-03-31 | 2021-03-31 | 2020-03-31 | 2021-03-31 | 2020-03-31 | 2021-03-31 | 2020-03-31 | 2021-03-31 | 2020-03-31 | 2021-03-31 | 2020-03-31 | 2021-03-31 | 2020-03-31 | 2021-03-31 | 2020-03-31 | 2021-03-31 | 2020-03-31 | 2021-03-31 | 2020-03-31 | 2021-03-31 | 2020-03-31 | |
| Statement of changes in equity [line items] | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Equity balance at beginning of period (before adjustments) | 400,000 | 400,000 | 158,491 | 113,082 | 45,798 | 28,527 | 516,775 | 335,138 | -7,752 | -1,528 | 1,113,312 | 875,219 | 1,113,312 | 875,219 | |||||||||||||||
| Equity balance at beginning of period (after adjustments) | 400,000 | 400,000 | 158,491 | 113,082 | 45,798 | 28,527 | 516,775 | 335,138 | -7,752 | -1,528 | 1,113,312 | 875,219 | 1,113,312 | 875,219 | |||||||||||||||
| Changes in equity [abstract] | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Comprehensive income [abstract] | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Net profit (loss) for period | 61,706 | 30,525 | 61,706 | 30,525 | 61,706 | 30,525 | |||||||||||||||||||||||
| Other comprehensive income, net of tax | 33,477 | -44,049 | 33,477 | -44,049 | 33,477 | -44,049 | |||||||||||||||||||||||
| Total comprehensive income (loss) for period | 33,477 | -44,049 | 61,706 | 30,525 | 95,183 | -13,524 | 95,183 | -13,524 | |||||||||||||||||||||
| Transfer to statutory reserve | 12,342 | 7,266 | -12,342 | -7,266 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |||||||||||||||||||||
| Total changes in equity | 12,342 | 7,266 | 33,477 | -44,049 | 49,364 | 23,259 | 95,183 | -13,524 | 95,183 | -13,524 | |||||||||||||||||||
| Equity balance at end of period | 400,000 | 400,000 | 170,833 | 120,348 | 79,275 | -15,522 | 566,139 | 358,397 | -7,752 | -1,528 | 1,208,495 | 861,695 | 1,208,495 | 861,695 | |||||||||||||||
| [400100] Notes forming part of accounts |
|   | English [member] | Note No. |
|---|---|---|
| Start Date | 2021-01-01 | |
| End Date | 2021-03-31 | |
| Notes forming part of accounts [line items] | ||
| Disclosure of notes and other explanatory information [text block] | ||
| Disclosure of general information about reporting entity [abstract] | ||
| Disclosure of general information about reporting entity [text block] | Al Rajhi Company for Cooperative Insurance (a Saudi Joint Stock Company incorporated in Kingdom of Saudi Arabia), “the Company”, was formed pursuant to Royal Decree No. (M/35) dated Jumada al thani 27,1429. (January 1, 2008). The Company operates under Commercial Registration no. 1010270371 dated Rajab 5, 1430 corresponding to June 28, 2009. The registered address of the Company's head office is as follows: Al Rajhi Company for Cooperative InsuranceP.O. Box 67791 Riyadh 11517 Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. The purpose of the Company is to conduct takaful operations and all related activities including re-takaful / re-insurance and agency activities. Its principal lines of business include motor, medical, protection & savings, marine, fire, engineering and casualty insurance. On July 31, 2003, corresponding to Jumada al thani 2, 1424, the Saudi Arabian Monetary Authority (“SAMA”), as the principal authority responsible for the application and administration of the Insurance Law and its Implementing Regulations, granted the Company a license to transact insurance activities in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. On April 20, 2004, corresponding to Rabi' al-awwal 1, 1425, the Law on the Supervision of Cooperative Insurance Companies (“Insurance Law”) was promulgated by Royal Decree Number (M/32). As a commitment from the Company for its activities to be in compliance with Islamic Shari’a legislations, since its inception, the Company has established a Shari’a Authority to review and approve the activities and the products of the Company. | |
| Disclosure of basis of preparation of financial statements [text block] | (a) Basis of presentation The interim condensed financial information is prepared under the going concern basis and the historical cost convention, except for financial assets measured at fair value through statement of income (FVSI), financial assets measured at fair value through other comprehensive income (FVOCI), financial liabilities measured at fair value through statement of income (FVSI), and end of service benefits (EOSB) at present value. The Company’s interim statement of financial position is not presented using a current / non-current classification. The following balances would generally be classified as non-current: financial assets at fair value through other comprehensive income, financial asset at amortised cost, property and equipment, statutory deposit, other assets, end of service benefits and payable to shareholders. All other assets and liabilities are classified as current. As required by the Saudi Arabian Insurance Regulations and guidelines of the sharia board, the Company maintains separate books of accounts for takaful operations and shareholders’ operations and presents the financial information accordingly (refer note 19). Assets, liabilities, revenues and expenses clearly attributable to either activity are recorded in the respective accounts. The basis of allocation of expenses from joint operations is determined and approved by the management and the Board of Directors. As per the Company’s policy, all general and administrative expenses of takaful operations are charged to shareholders’ operations. The Company in accordance with the Islamic Shariah provisions manages the co-operative insurance operations and calculates the management fee in the below manner and pays it in full shortly after at the end of the fiscal year. The first component of the management fee is calculated based on the net contributions written for the period after adjusting commission income and cost of production for motor and general at 40% and for health at 30% and is limited to the extent of general and administrative expenses charged in the interim statement of income – shareholders operations. (refer note 19); and the other component of the management fee is determined up to 90% of the net surplus, if any, for the period from takaful operations remaining after computing the first component of management fee. The Company is required to distribute the remaining 10% of the net surplus from Takaful operations to policyholders in accordance with the Insurance Law and Implementation Regulations issued by the Saudi Central Bank (SAMA). The interim statement of financial position, statements of income, comprehensive income and cash flows of the takaful operations and shareholders’ operations which are presented in note 19 of the condensed interim financial information have been provided as supplementary financial information to comply with the requirements of the guidelines issued by SAMA implementing regulations. SAMA implementing regulations requires the clear segregation of the assets, liabilities, income and expenses of the takaful operations and the shareholders’ operations. Accordingly, the interim statements of financial position, statements of income, comprehensive income and cash flows prepared for the takaful operations and shareholders operations as referred to above, reflect only the assets, liabilities, income, expenses and comprehensive gains or losses of the respective operations. In preparing the Company-level financial information in compliance with IFRSs, the balances and transactions of the takaful operations are amalgamated and combined with those of the shareholders’ operations. Interoperation balances, transactions and unrealised gains or losses, if any, are eliminated in full during amalgamation. The accounting policies adopted for the takaful operations and shareholders’ operations are uniform for like transactions and events in similar circumstances. b) Critical accounting judgments, estimates and assumptions The preparation of interim condensed financial information requires management to make judgments, estimates and assumptions that affect the application of accounting policies and the reported amounts of assets and liabilities, income and expense. Actual results may differ from these estimates. In preparing this interim condensed financial information, the significant judgments made by the management in applying the Company’s accounting policies and the key sources of estimation uncertainty were the same as those that applied to the financial statements for the year ended 31 December 2020. Further, the Company has considered the following: On 11 March 2020, the World Health Organization (“WHO”) declared the Coronavirus (“COVID-19”) outbreak as a pandemic in recognition of its rapid spread across the globe. This outbreak has also affected the GCC region including the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Governments all over the world took steps to contain the spread of the virus. Saudi Arabia in particular has implemented closure of borders, released social distancing guidelines and enforced country wide lockdowns and curfews. In response to the spread of the Covid-19 virus in the country where the Company operates and its consequential disruption to the social and economic activities in the market, the Company’s management has proactively assessed its impacts on its operations and has taken a series of proactive and preventative measures and processes to ensure: - the health and safety of its employees and the wider community where it is operating- the continuity of its business throughout the Kingdom is protected and kept intact. The major impact of Covid-19 pandemic is seen in medical and motor line of business as explained below. As with any estimate, the projections and likelihoods of occurrence are underpinned by significant judgment and rapidly evolving situation and uncertainties surrounding the duration and severity of the pandemic, and therefore, the actual outcomes may be different to those projected. The impact of such uncertain economic environment is judgmental, and the Company will continue to reassess its position and the related impact on a regular basis. Medical technical reserves Based on the management’s assessment, the management believes that the Government’s decision to assume the medical treatment costs for both Saudi citizens and expatriates has helped in reducing any unfavourable impact. During the lockdown, the Company saw a decline in medical reported claims (majorly elective and non-chronic treatment claims) which resulted in a drop in claims experience. However, subsequent to the lifting of lockdown since June 21, 2020, the Company is experiencing a surge in claims which is in line with the expectations of the Company’s management. The Company’s management has duly considered the impact of surge in claims in the current estimate of future contractual cashflows of the insurance contracts in force as at March 31, 2021 for its liability adequacy test. Based on the results, the Company has booked an amount of SR 24.5 million (December 31, 2020: SR 21.6 million) as a contribution deficiency reserve.b) Critical accounting judgments, estimates and assumptions (continued) Motor technical reserves (continued)In response to the Covid-19 pandemic, SAMA issued a circular 189 (the “circular”) dated 08 May 2020 to all insurance companies in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Amongst other things, the circular instructed insurance companies to extend the period of validity of all existing retail motor insurance policies by further two months as well as providing a two-month additional coverage for all new retail motor policies written within one month of this circular. The Management, in conjunction with its appointed actuary, deliberated on a variety of internal factors and concluded, that the Company considers the extension of two months in existing motor policies as new policy and record a premium deficiency reserve based on the expected claims for the extended 2 months period. For new retail motor policies issued as per above circular, the premium is earned over the period of 12 month as the impact of earnings over the period of coverage. i.e 14 month are not considered significant by the management as no significant policies were written during that period. The Company has performed a liability adequacy test using current estimates of future cash flows under its insurance contracts at segmented level for motor line of business and recorded a Contribution deficiency reserve amounting to SR 85.9 million as at 31 March, 2021 (31 December, 2020: SR 52.8 million) Financial assets The Company has performed an assessment in accordance with its accounting policy due to the Covid-19 pandemic to determine the impact of expected credit losses (“ECL”) on its financial assets. These current events and the prevailing economic condition may require the Company to revise certain inputs and assumptions used for the determination of expected credit losses (“ECL”). These would primarily revolve around either adjusting macroeconomic factors used by the Company in estimation of expected credit losses (and or) revisions to the scenario probabilities currently being used by the Company in ECL estimation. Based on these assessments, the Company’s management believes that the Covid-19 pandemic has had no material effects on Company’s reported results for the three-month period ended 31 March 2021. The Company’s management will continue to reassess its position and the related impact on a regular basis. Credit risk management The Company has strengthened its credit risk management policies to address the fast changing and evolving risks posed by the current circumstances. These include review of credit concentrations at granular economic sector, region, counterparty level and take appropriate action where required. Based on the review, the Company has identified that certain sectors like government contractors, airlines, retail sector and hospitality industry being impacted significantly by the Covid-19 pandemic and lower oil prices. c) Seasonality of operations There are no seasonal changes that may affect takaful operations of the Company. d) Functional and presentation currency The functional and presentational currency of the Company is Saudi Riyals. The financial information values are presented in Saudi Riyals rounded to the nearest thousand (SAR’000), unless otherwise indicated. | |
| Disclosure of statement of compliance [text block] | These interim condensed financial statements (interim condensed financial information) of the Company as at and for the three months period ended 31 March 2021 have been prepared in accordance with International Accounting Standard 34 'Interim Financial Reporting' (“IAS 34”), as endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (KSA), and other standards and pronouncements issued by Saudi Organization of Certified Public Accountants (SOCPA).” | |
| Disclosure of summary of significant accounting policies [abstract] | ||
| Disclosure of summary of significant accounting policies, general comment [text block] | The accounting policies, estimates and assumptions adopted in the preparation of this interim condensed financial information are consistent with those described in the annual financial statements for the year ended December 31, 2020 | |
| Description of accounting policy for cash and cash equivalents [text block] | Cash and cash equivalents included in the interim statement of cash flows comprise the following: Takaful operationsSAR’000 March 31, 2021(Unaudited) December 31, 2020(Audited)Bank balances and cash 256,147 185,564 Deposits maturing within 3 months from the acquisition date - 625,000 Cash and cash equivalents in the statement of cash flows 256,147 810,564 Less : Impairment loss - (169)Cash and cash equivalents 256,147 810,395 Deposits against letters of guarantee 22,844 21,073 Cash and bank balances 278,991 831,468 Shareholders’ operations SAR’000 March 31, 2021(Unaudited) December 31, 2020(Audited)Bank balances and cash 94,081 38,194 Deposits maturing within 3 months from the acquisition date 290,000 - Cash balance with Al Rajhi Capital 882 (646)Cash and cash equivalents in the statement of cash flows 384,963 37,548 Less : Impairment loss (209) - Cash and cash equivalents 384,754 37,548 Cash at banks (statutory deposit income) 4,709 4,709 Cash and bank balances 389,463 42,257 Total 668,454 873,725 | |
| Description of accounting policy for statutory reserve [text block] | Statutory deposit amounting to SAR 40 million (December 2020: SAR 40 million) kept with a local bank, represents 10% of the paid up share capital of the Company which is maintained in accordance with the Cooperative Insurance Companies Control Law issued by the Saudi Arabian Monetary Authority (“SAMA”). This statutory deposit cannot be withdrawn without the consent of SAMA. Under ECL method the Company charged an impairment loss amounting to SAR 0.03 million (2020: SAR 0.03 million) | |
| Description of accounting policy for fair value measurement [text block] | Fair value is the price that would be received to sell an asset or paid to transfer a liability in an orderly transaction between market participants at the measurement date. The fair value measurement is based on the presumption that the transaction takes place either: - in the accessible principal market for the asset or liability, or - in the absence of a principal market, in the most advantageous accessible market for the asset or liability Determination of fair value and fair value hierarchy The Company uses the following hierarchy for determining and disclosing the fair value of financial instruments: Level 1: quoted prices in active markets for the same or identical instrument that an entity can access at the measurement date; Level 2: quoted prices in active markets for similar assets and liabilities or other valuation techniques for which all significant inputs are based on observable market data; and Level 3: valuation techniques for which any significant input is not based on observable market data. | |
| Disclosure of notes forming part of accounts [abstract] | ||
| Disclosure of reinsurers/ retakaful share of outstanding claims, net [text block] | 9.1 Net outstanding claims and reserves a) Net outstanding claims and reserves comprise of the following: SAR’000 "March 31, 2021(Unaudited)" "December 31, 2020(Audited)" Outstanding claims 471,629 436,979 Less: Realizable value of salvage and subrogation (137,043) (128,450) 334,586 308,529 Claims incurred but not reported 822,278 872,294 Contribution deficiency reserve 111,233 74,952 1,268,097 1,255,775 Unit linked liabilities at FVSI 158,659 141,093 1,426,756 1,396,868 Less: Re-takaful / reinsurance share of outstanding claims 99,185 85,469 Re-takaful / reinsurance share of claims incurred but not reported 32,281 26,957 131,466 112,426 Net outstanding claims and reserves 1,558,222 1,284,442 | |
| Disclosure of reinsurers/ retakaful share of unearned premium/ contributions, net [text block] | 9.2 Movement in unearned contributions Movement in unearned contributions comprise of the following: " Three month period ended March 31, 2021(Unaudited) " SAR’000 Gross Re-takaful (Reinsurance) XOL Net Balance at the beginning of the period 1,204,917 (210,423) - 994,494 Contribution written during the period 739,643 (98,004) (2,677) 638,962 Contribution earned during the period (663,464) 99,288 2,677 (561,499) Balance at the end of the period 1,281,096 (209,139) - 1,071,957 | |
| Disclosure of compensation to key management personnel [text block] | For the period ended The compensation of key management personnel during the period is as follows: March 31, 2021(Unaudited) March 31, 2020 (Unaudited) SAR’000 Salaries and other allowances 1,341 1,783 End of service benefits 4,221 3,637 5,562 5,420 Shariah committee remuneration 45 60 | |
| Disclosure of earnings per share [text block] | Earnings per share for the periods ended March 31, 2021 and March 31, 2020 are calculated by dividing the net income for the period attributable to the equity holders by 40 million shares. There were no dilutive potential shares in issue as at March 31, 2021 and March 31, 2020. | |
| Disclosure of related party transactions [text block] | Related parties represent major shareholders, directors and key management personnel of the Company, and companies of which they are principal owners and any other entities controlled, jointly controlled or significantly influenced by them. Pricing policies and terms of these transactions are approved by the Company’s management and Board of Directors. The following are the details of the major related party transactions during the period and the related balances: Transactions for the period ended Balance receivable / (payable) as at March 31, March 31, March 31, December 31, 2021 2020 2021 2020 (Unaudited) (Unaudited) (Unaudited) (Audited) SAR’000Major shareholders Gross contribution written 165,629 209,670 326,902 309,824 Claims paid 98,706 135,977 - - Claims incurred and notified during the period 103,044 146,841 (173,776) (169,437) Reimbursement from related party - - - - Bank Balance - - 319,900 206,432 Investment in shares of Al Rajhi Banking and Investment Corporation - - 44,993 33,517 Entities controlled, jointly controlled or significantly influenced by related parties Gross contribution written 19,211 9,039 22,071 2,165 Claims paid 8 235 - - Claims incurred and notified during the period 131 178 (490) (367) Investments managed by affiliates 1,116 1,685 310,995 345,047 Income received from sale of investment in Al Rajhi Capital commodity fund 1,354 1,744 - - Investment management fee paid to Al Rajhi Capital Company 867 682 - - | |
| Disclosure of entity's operating segments [text block] | Operating segments are identified on the basis of internal reports about components of the Company that are regularly reviewed by the Company’s Board of directors in their function as chief operating decision maker in order to allocate resources to the segments and to assess their performance. Transactions between the operating segments are on normal commercial terms and conditions. The revenue from external parties reported to the Board is measured in a manner consistent with that in the interim income statement. Segment assets and liabilities comprise operating assets and liabilities. There have been no changes to the basis of segmentation or the measurement basis for the segment surplus or deficit since December 31, 2020. Segment assets do not include takaful operations’ bank balances and cash, net contributions receivable, investments etc., accordingly, they are included in unallocated assets. Segment liabilities do not include takaful operations’ payables accruals and other liabilities and re-takaful / re-insurance balances payable etc., accordingly, they are included in unallocated liabilities. These unallocated assets and liabilities are not reported to chief operating decision maker under related segments and are monitored on a centralized basis. The segment information provided to the Company’s Board of Directors for the reportable segments for the Company’s total assets and liabilities at March 31, 2021 and December 31, 2020, its total revenues, expenses, and net income for period ended, are as follows: For the three month period ended March 31, 2021(Unaudited) Customers' category Medical Motor Property & casualty Protection&Savings Total SAR’000GROSS CONTRIBUTION WRITTEN Retail 6,880 289,955 829 22,690 320,354 Very small 1,909 - - - 1,909 Small 8,121 1,765 - - 9,886 Medium 9,499 28,622 71 - 38,192 Corporate 39,239 215,668 87,375 27,020 369,302 TOTAL GROSS CONTRIBUTION WRITTEN 65,648 536,010 88,275 49,710 739,643 For the three month period ended March 31, 2020(Unaudited) Customers' category Medical Motor Property & casualty Protection&Savings Total SAR’000GROSS CONTRIBUTION WRITTEN Retail 6,754 157,730 3,370 16,999 184,853 Very small 3,280 - - - 3,280 Small 12,375 5,879 - - 18,254 Medium 14,024 26,292 - - 40,316 Corporate 55,222 413,150 53,833 18,634 540,839 TOTAL GROSS CONTRIBUTION WRITTEN 91,655 603,051 57,203 35,633 787,542 | |
| Disclosure of capital management [text block] | Objectives are set by the Company to maintain healthy capital ratios in order to support its business objectives and maximize shareholders’ value. The Company manages its capital requirements by assessing shortfalls between reported and required capital levels on a regular basis. Adjustments to current capital levels are made in light of changes in market conditions and risk characteristics of the Company’s activities. In order to maintain or adjust the capital structure, the Company may adjust the amount of dividends paid to shareholders or issue shares. The operations of the Company are subject to local regulatory requirements within the jurisdiction where it is incorporated. Such regulations not only prescribe approval and monitoring of activities but also impose certain restrictive provisions e.g. capital adequacy to minimize the risk of default and insolvency on the part of the insurance companies and to enable them to meet unforeseen liabilities as these arise. The Company maintains its capital as per guidelines laid out by SAMA in Article 66 table 3 and 4 of the Implementing Insurance Regulations detailing the solvency margin required to be maintained. According to the said Article, the Company shall maintain solvency margin equivalent to the highest of the following three methods as per SAMA Implementing Regulations: Minimum Capital Requirement of SAR 200 million Premium Solvency Margin Claims Solvency Margin The Company is in compliance with all externally imposed capital requirements with sound solvency margin. The capital structure of the Company as at March 31, 2021 consists of paid-up share capital of SAR 400 million, statutory reserves of SAR 170.8 million and retained earnings of SAR 566.1 million (December 31, 2020: paid-up share capital of SAR 400 million, statutory reserves of SAR 158.5 million and retained earnings of SAR 516.8 million.) in the statement of financial positionThe Company’s management, through various scenario analysis as required by the regulator, has assessed the potential of the Covid-19 pandemic by performing stress testing for various variables like: gross premium growth, increase in employee cost, YTD loss ratio, outstanding premium provisions etc. and the related impact on the revenue, profitability, loss ratio and solvency ratio. The Company’s management has concluded that based on the stress testing performed the solvency margin of the Company can be impacted 1 % to 5%. As with any forecasts, the projections and likelihoods of occurrence are underpinned by significant judgements and uncertainties and, therefore, the actual outcomes may be different to those projected. As the situation is fluid and rapidly evolving, the Company will continue to reassess its position and the related impact on a regular basis. | |
| Disclosure of commitments and contingencies, general [text block] | a) The Company’s commitments and contingencies are as follows: SAR’000 March 31, 2021(Unaudited) December 31, 2020(Audited)Letters of guarantee 22,844 21,073 Total 22,844 21,073 b) The Company enters into takaful contracts and is subject to legal proceedings in the normal course of business. While it is not practicable to forecast or determine the final results of all the pending and threatened legal proceedings, management does not believe that any such proceedings (including litigation) that are in progress at reporting date will have a material effect on its results and financial position. | |
| Disclosure of risk management [abstract] | ||
| Disclosure of credit risk [text block] | Credit risk management The Company has strengthened its credit risk management policies to address the fast changing and evolving risks posed by the current circumstances. These include review of credit concentrations at granular economic sector, region, counterparty level and take appropriate action where required. Based on the review, the Company has identified that certain sectors like government contractors, airlines, retail sector and hospitality industry being impacted significantly by the Covid-19 pandemic and lower oil prices. | |
| Disclosure of board of director's approval of the financial statements [text block] | These interim condensed financial statements were approved by the Board of Directors of the Company, on Ramadan 16, 1442, corresponding April 28, 2021. | |
| Disclosure of other notes relevant to understanding of financial statements [text block] | The Company had filed zakat and income tax returns with the General Authority of Zakat and Tax (“GAZT”) for the years from 2010 to 2019. GAZT has issued assessments for the years 2015 to 2018, demanding an additional Zakat as assessed by GAZT amounting to SAR 11.73 million pertains to these years. The Company paid an amount of SAR 1.42 million and has filed objections for SAR 10.31 million with the authority. However, the Company has kept the provision in the financial statements for any possible negative outcome. |