| [100010] Filing information | [200100] Independent auditors report | [300100] Statement of financial position, order of liquidity | |||
| [300200] Statement of insurance/ takaful operations, nature of expense | [300300] Statement of shareholders operations, nature of expense | [300400] Statement of other comprehensive income, before tax, insurance operations | |||
| [300500] Statement of other comprehensive income, before tax, shareholders operations | [300600] Statement of cash flows, indirect method, insurance operations | [300700] Statement of cash flows, indirect method, shareholders operations | |||
| [300800] Statement of changes in equity | [400100] Notes forming part of accounts |

| [100010] Filing information |
|   | English [member] | |
|---|---|---|
| Start Date | 2018-01-01 | 2017-01-01 |
| End Date | 2018-03-31 | 2017-03-31 |
| Filing information [line items] | ||
| Disclosure of entity information [abstract] | ||
| Name of reporting entity | Al-Rajhi Company for Cooperative Insurance | |
| Company symbol code| ISIN code | 8230 | SA12A0540J14 | |
| Sector| Industry group | Financials | Insurance | |
| Disclosure of document information [abstract] | ||
| Whether entity wants to report opening statement of financial position | No | |
| Period covered by financial statements | Quarter 1 | |
| Reporting period start date | 2018-01-01 | 2017-01-01 |
| Reporting period end date | 2018-03-31 | 2017-03-31 |
| Description of nature of financial statements | Consolidated | |
| Status of financial statements | Reviewed | |
| Description of presentation currency | Saudi Arabia, Riyals | |
| Level of rounding used in financial statements | Thousands | |
| [200100] Independent auditors report |
|   | Primary auditor [member] | Second primary auditor [member] |
|---|---|---|
|   | English [member] | English [member] |
| Start Date | 2018-01-01 | 2018-01-01 |
| End Date | 2018-03-31 | 2018-03-31 |
| Auditors information [line items] | ||
| Details of auditors signing report [abstract] | ||
| Name of auditor signing report | Bader I. Benmohareb | Abdullah M. Al Basri |
| Registration number of auditor | 471 | 171 |
| Details of audit firm [abstract] | ||
| Name of audit firm | PricewaterhouseCoopers | Aldar Audit Bureau |
| Registration number of audit firm | 25 | 36/11/323 |
| Contact number of audit firm | (966) 11 211 0400 | (+966) 11 463 0680 |
| Address of audit firm | P.O. Box 8282, Riyadh 11482Kingdom of Saudi Arabia | P.O. Box 2195 Riyadh 11451 Kingdom of Saudi Arabia |
|   | English [member] |
|---|---|
| Start Date | 2018-01-01 |
| End Date | 2018-03-31 |
| Auditors report [line items] | |
| Contents of auditors report [abstract] | |
| Nature of auditors opinion | Unmodified opinion |
| Auditors opinion | Based on our review, nothing has come to our attention that causes us to believe that the accompanying interim financial information is not prepared, in all material respects, in accordance with IAS 34 and SAMA guidance on accounting for zakat and taxes |
| Responsibilities of management and those charged with governance for financial statements | Management is responsible for the preparation and presentation of this interim financial information in accordance with International Accounting Standard 34 - “Interim Financial Reporting” (IAS 34) and Saudi Arabian Monetary Authority (SAMA) guidance on accounting for zakat and taxes. Our responsibility is to express a conclusion on these interim financial information based on our review |
| Auditors responsibilities for audit of financial statements | We conducted our review in accordance with International Standard on Review Engagements 2410, “Review of interim financial information performed by the independent auditor of the entity” as endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. A review of interim financial information consists of making inquiries, primarily of persons responsible for financial and accounting matters, and applying analytical and other review procedures. A review is substantially less in scope than an audit conducted in accordance with International Standards on Auditing as endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and consequently does not enable us to obtain assurance that we would become aware of all significant matters that might be identified in an audit. Accordingly, we do not express an audit opinion.shareholders operations for the three-month period then ended and notes, comprising a summary of significant accounting policies and other explanatory notes. Management is responsible for the preparation and presentation of this interim financial information in accordance with International Accounting Standard 34 - “Interim Financial Reporting” (IAS 34) and Saudi Arabian Monetary Authority (SAMA) guidance on accounting for zakat and taxes. Our responsibility is to express a conclusion on these interim financial information based on our review. |
| Date of signing audit report by auditor | 2018-05-11 |
| [300100] Statement of financial position, order of liquidity |
| Start Date | 2018-01-01 | 2017-01-01 | 2017-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2018-03-31 | 2017-12-31 | 2017-03-31 | |
| Statement of financial position [abstract] | ||||
| Assets [abstract] | ||||
| Insurance/ takaful operations assets [abstract] | ||||
| Property and equipment, net, insurance/ takaful operations assets | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| Deferred policy acquisition costs | 59,098 | 35,789 | 52,263 | |
| Reinsurers/ retakaful share of unearned premiums/ contributions | 101,263 | 91,709 | 75,441 | |
| Prepayments and other assets, insurance/ takaful operations assets | 64,226 | 46,898 | 32,380 | |
| Due from shareholders operations | -92,010 | -139,387 | 196,822 | |
| Premiums/ insurance receivables/takaful contributions receivable, net | 629,321 | 263,285 | 244,532 | |
| Reinsurers/ retakaful share of outstanding claims/ benefits, net | 116,795 | 142,473 | 117,237 | |
| Cash and cash equivalents, insurance/ takaful operations assets | 399,449 | 566,460 | 1,320,229 | |
| Reinsurers/ retakaful share of mathematical reserves | 114 | 65 | ||
| Re-takaful share of financial liabilities at FVPL | 112 | |||
| Financial assets mandatorily measured at FVPL | 120,758 | 124,829 | ||
| Financial assets at amortised cost | 1,383,810 | 1,284,094 | 349,743 | |
| Financial assets, at fair value | 47,875 | |||
| Total insurance/ takaful operations assets | 2,782,822 | 2,416,264 | 2,436,587 | |
| Shareholders assets [abstract] | ||||
| Property and equipment, net, shareholders assets | 17,749 | 18,936 | 20,645 | |
| Statutory deposit | 39,968 | 39,968 | 39,968 | |
| Investments held at fair value through statement of income, shareholders assets | 82,065 | |||
| Accrued investment income | 2,766 | 2,565 | ||
| Other receivables, net | 66,303 | |||
| Due from insurance/ takaful operations assets | 92,010 | 139,387 | ||
| Cash and cash equivalents, shareholders assets | 204,380 | 250,319 | 137,584 | |
| Other assets, shareholders assets | 148,217 | 218,908 | 14,590 | |
| Assets classified as held for sale/ distribution | 214,970 | |||
| Financial assets at fair value through profit or loss | 101,111 | |||
| Financial assets at amortised cost | 244,850 | |||
| Total shareholders assets | 720,060 | 670,083 | 707,116 | |
| Total assets | 3,502,882 | 3,086,347 | 3,143,703 | |
| Liabilities and equity [abstract] | ||||
| Insurance/ takaful operations liabilities and surplus (deficit) [abstract] | ||||
| Insurance/ takaful operations liabilities [abstract] | ||||
| Gross unearned premiums/ contributions | 1,585,189 | 1,304,110 | 1,451,099 | |
| Unearned commission income | 7,945 | 7,072 | 6,855 | |
| Reinsurers/ retakaful balance payable | 44,780 | 66,318 | 61,720 | |
| Gross outstanding claims/ benefits including IBNR payable | 913,349 | 893,230 | 675,023 | |
| Other technical reserves | 134 | |||
| Accrued expenses payable, insurance/ takaful operations liabilities | 160,199 | 139,120 | ||
| Other liabilities, insurance/ takaful operations | 35,790 | 111,092 | 66,303 | |
| Total insurance/ takaful operations liabilities | 2,747,252 | 2,381,822 | 2,417,655 | |
| Financial liabilities at fair value through profit or loss | 17,401 | |||
| Insurance/ takaful operations surplus (deficit) [abstract] | ||||
| Surplus (deficit) from insurance/ takaful fund | 38,643 | 34,442 | 18,932 | |
| Fair value reserves on investments | -3,073 | |||
| Total insurance/ takaful operations surplus (deficit) | 35,570 | 34,442 | 18,932 | |
| Total insurance/ takaful operations liabilities and surplus (deficit) | 2,782,822 | 2,416,264 | 2,436,587 | |
| Shareholders liabilities and equity [abstract] | ||||
| Shareholders liabilities [abstract] | ||||
| Zakat payable | 30,290 | 26,490 | 21,141 | |
| Due to insurance/ takaful operations | 196,822 | |||
| Accrued expenses payable, shareholders liabilities | 32,404 | 31,777 | 17,463 | |
| Other liabilities, shareholders liabilities | 15,123 | 13,756 | 13,094 | |
| Total shareholders liabilities | 77,817 | 72,023 | 248,520 | |
| Shareholders equity [abstract] | ||||
| Equity attributable to owners of parent [abstract] | ||||
| Share capital | 400,000 | 400,000 | 400,000 | |
| Statutory reserve | 62,569 | 54,297 | 24,548 | |
| Fair value reserve on investments, shareholders equity | 8,175 | 1,552 | -1,905 | |
| Retained earnings (accumulated losses) | 171,499 | 142,211 | 35,953 | |
| Total equity attributable to owners of parent | 642,243 | 598,060 | 458,596 | |
| Total equity attributable to equity holders of company | 642,243 | 598,060 | 458,596 | |
| Total shareholders liabilities and equity | 720,060 | 670,083 | 707,116 | |
| Total insurance/ takaful operations liabilities, surplus (deficit) and shareholders liabilities and equity | 3,502,882 | 3,086,347 | 3,143,703 |
| [300200] Statement of insurance/ takaful operations, nature of expense |
| Start Date | 2018-01-01 | 2017-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2018-03-31 | 2017-03-31 | |
| Statement of insurance/ takaful operations [abstract] | |||
| Statement of insurance/ takaful operations and accumulated surplus (deficit) [abstract] | |||
| Income from insurance/ takaful operations [abstract] | |||
| Net premiums/ contributions earned [abstract] | |||
| Net premiums/ contributions written [abstract] | |||
| Gross premiums/ contributions written | 1,015,685 | 1,107,212 | |
| Excess of loss expense | 3,114 | 3,261 | |
| Reinsurance/ retakaful premiums ceded | 27,785 | 27,945 | |
| Net premiums/ contributions written | 984,786 | 1,076,006 | |
| Changes in unearned premiums/ contributions | 271,525 | 448,938 | |
| Net premiums/ contributions earned | 713,261 | 627,068 | |
| Reinsurance/ retakaful commissions | 2,654 | 3,373 | |
| Fees and other income from insurance/ takaful operations | 3,296 | 4,004 | |
| Total income from insurance/ takaful operations | 719,211 | 634,445 | |
| Cost and expenses [abstract] | |||
| Net claims/ benefits incurred [abstract] | |||
| Net claims/ benefits paid [abstract] | |||
| Gross claims/ benefits paid | 537,267 | 422,266 | |
| Reinsurance/ retakaful share of gross claims/ benefits paid | 10,970 | 5,513 | |
| Surrenders and maturities | 652 | 264 | |
| Expenses incurred related to claims | 17,845 | 13,045 | |
| Net claims/ benefits paid | 544,794 | 430,062 | |
| Changes in outstanding claims/ benefits including IBNR | 1,953 | 7,046 | |
| Changes in incurred but not reported claims, net | 43,844 | 103,839 | |
| Net claims/ benefits incurred | 590,591 | 540,947 | |
| Policy acquisition costs | 33,769 | 17,595 | |
| Impairment charges for held-to-maturity investments, insurance/ takaful operations | 329 | 66 | |
| Other underwriting expenses | 7,511 | 7,485 | |
| Other cost and expenses | 54,204 | 35,785 | |
| Other technical reserves | 4,690 | 2,992 | |
| Other income | -18,938 | -8,958 | |
| Allowance for doubtful debts | 1,494 | 1,029 | |
| Total cost and expenses | 673,650 | 596,941 | |
| Surplus (deficit) for period from insurance/ takaful operations | 45,561 | 37,504 | |
| Shareholders appropriation from insurance/ takaful operations surplus (deficit) | 41,360 | 34,113 | |
| Net result for period from insurance/ takaful operations after shareholders appropriation | 4,201 | 3,391 | |
| Policyholders share of accumulated surplus, at end of period | 4,201 | 3,391 |
| [300300] Statement of shareholders operations, nature of expense |
| Start Date | 2018-01-01 | 2017-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2018-03-31 | 2017-03-31 | |
| Statement of shareholders operations [abstract] | |||
| Profit (loss) [abstract] | |||
| Income (loss) from continuing operations [abstract] | |||
| Shareholders appropriation of surplus (deficit) transferred from insurance/ takaful operations | 41,360 | 34,113 | |
| Revenue [abstract] | |||
| Fee income | 54,204 | 35,785 | |
| Dividend income | 459 | 1,084 | |
| Other income | 3,127 | 2,540 | |
| Total revenue | 57,790 | 39,409 | |
| Expenses [abstract] | |||
| General and administrative expenses, shareholders operations | 54,204 | 35,785 | |
| Other expenses | 3,554 | 3,594 | |
| Impairment loss recognised in profit or loss | 32 | 30 | |
| Total expenses | 57,790 | 39,409 | |
| Income (loss) from continuing operations before zakat and income tax | 41,360 | 34,113 | |
| Profit (loss) from continuing operations | 41,360 | 34,113 | |
| Profit (loss) for the period | 41,360 | 34,113 | |
| Profit (loss), attributable to [abstract] | |||
| Profit (loss), attributable to saudi shareholders of company | 41,360 | 34,113 | |
| Earnings per share [abstract] | |||
| Basic earnings (loss) per share [abstract] | |||
| Basic earnings (loss) per share from continuing operations | 1.03 | 0.85 | |
| Total basic earnings (loss) per share | 1.03 | 0.85 | |
| Diluted earnings (loss) per share [abstract] | |||
| Diluted earnings (loss) per share from continuing operations | 0 | 0 | |
| Diluted earnings (loss) per share from discontinued operations | 0 | 0 | |
| Total diluted earnings (loss) per share | 0 | 0 | |
| Weighted average number of equity shares outstanding | 40000000 | 40000000 |
| [300400] Statement of other comprehensive income, before tax, insurance operations |
| Start Date | 2018-01-01 | 2017-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2018-03-31 | 2017-03-31 | |
| Statement of other comprehensive income, before tax [abstract] | |||
| Net result for period from insurance/ takaful operations after shareholders appropriation | 4,201 | 3,391 | |
| Other comprehensive income [abstract] | |||
| Components of other comprehensive income that will not be reclassified to profit or loss [abstract] | |||
| Other comprehensive gains (losses) that will not be reclassified to profit or loss | -3,073 | 0 | |
| Total other comprehensive income that will not be reclassified to profit or loss | -3,073 | 0 | |
| Total other comprehensive income (loss) | -3,073 | 0 | |
| Total comprehensive income (loss) for period | 1,128 | 3,391 |
| [300500] Statement of other comprehensive income, before tax, shareholders operations |
| Start Date | 2018-01-01 | 2017-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2018-03-31 | 2017-03-31 | |
| Statement of other comprehensive income, before tax [abstract] | |||
| Statement of comprehensive income [abstract] | |||
| Profit (loss) for the period | 41,360 | 34,113 | |
| Other comprehensive income [abstract] | |||
| Components of other comprehensive income that will not be reclassified to profit or loss [abstract] | |||
| Other comprehensive gains (losses) that will not be reclassified to profit or loss | 6,623 | -1,905 | |
| Total other comprehensive income that will not be reclassified to profit or loss | 6,623 | -1,905 | |
| Total other comprehensive income (loss) | 6,623 | -1,905 | |
| Total comprehensive income (loss) for period | 47,983 | 32,208 | |
| Total comprehensive income (loss) attributable to [abstract] | |||
| Total comprehensive income (loss), attributable to saudi shareholders of company | 47,983 | 32,208 |
| [300600] Statement of cash flows, indirect method, insurance operations |
| Start Date | 2018-01-01 | 2017-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2018-03-31 | 2017-03-31 | |
| Statement of cash flows, indirect method [abstract] | |||
| Statement of cash flows, insurance/ takaful operations [abstract] | |||
| Cash flows from (used in) operating activities, insurance/ takaful operations [abstract] | |||
| Net result for period from insurance/ takaful operations after shareholders appropriation | 4,201 | 3,391 | |
| Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash from insurance/ takaful operations after shareholders appropriation | |||
| Adjustments for depreciation, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | 0 | ||
| Adjustments for unrealised (gains) losses on investments held as fair value through statement of income | -448 | -63 | |
| Adjustments for allowance for doubtful receivables | 732 | 1,029 | |
| Adjustments for impairment (reversal of impairment) charges for investments, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | 297 | 36 | |
| Management fee for administration of takaful operations | 54,204 | 35,785 | |
| Management fee attributable to shareholders operations | 37,806 | 30,519 | |
| Total adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash from insurance/ takaful operations after shareholders appropriation | 92,591 | 67,306 | |
| Changes in operating assets and liabilities [abstract] | |||
| Adjustments for decrease (increase) in premium receivables, net | -366,768 | 65,241 | |
| Adjustments for decrease (increase) in prepayments and other assets | 10,623 | 2,014 | |
| Adjustments for increase (decrease) in outstanding claims including IBNR | 25,678 | -21,528 | |
| Adjustments for increase (decrease) in reinsurers/ retakaful balance payable | -21,538 | 11,041 | |
| Adjustments for increase (decrease) in accrued expenses and other liabilities | 5,195 | 3,205 | |
| Adjustments for decrease (increase) in deferred policy acquisition costs | -23,309 | -21,897 | |
| Adjustment for changes in other technical reserves | 2 | -7 | |
| Adjustments for other changes in operating assets and liabilities, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | 79,702 | 87,229 | |
| Unearned contributions | 281,079 | 454,713 | |
| Unearned re-takaful commission | 873 | 127 | |
| Re-takaful share of unearned contributions | -9,554 | -5,775 | |
| Outstanding claims | 20,119 | 132,413 | |
| Total changes in operating assets and liabilities | 2,102 | 706,776 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) insurance/ takaful operations | 98,894 | 777,473 | |
| Other inflows (outflows) of cash classified as operating activities, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | -343,709 | -169,554 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) operating activities, insurance/ takaful operations | -244,815 | 607,919 | |
| Cash flows from (used in) investing activities, insurance/ takaful operations [abstract] | |||
| Additions in operations invesment | -520,717 | -518,150 | |
| Disposal in operations invesment | 394,199 | 853,535 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) investing activities, insurance/ takaful operations | -126,518 | 335,385 | |
| Cash flows from (used in) financing activities, insurance/ takaful operations [abstract] | |||
| Other inflows (outflows) of cash classified as financing activities, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | 204,322 | 0 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) financing activities, insurance/ takaful operations | 204,322 | 0 | |
| Increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents before effect of exchange rate changes | -167,011 | 943,304 | |
| Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents | -167,011 | 943,304 | |
| Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period | 566,460 | 376,925 | |
| Cash and cash equivalents at end of period | 399,449 | 1,320,229 |
| [300700] Statement of cash flows, indirect method, shareholders operations |
| Start Date | 2018-01-01 | 2017-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2018-03-31 | 2017-03-31 | |
| Statement of cash flows, indirect method [abstract] | |||
| Statement of cash flows [abstract] | |||
| Cash flows from (used in) operating activities [abstract] | |||
| Net profit (loss) for period [abstract] | |||
| Income (loss) from continuing operations before zakat and income tax | 41,360 | 34,113 | |
| Net profit (loss) for period (before zakat expenses and income tax) | 41,360 | 34,113 | |
| Adjustments to reconcile profit (loss) [abstract] | |||
| Adjustment for depreciation and amortisation | 1,984 | 1,996 | |
| Adjustment for management fees for administration of takaful operations | -54,204 | -35,785 | |
| Adjustment for management fees attributable to shareholders operations | -37,806 | -30,519 | |
| Unrealized gain on investments | -5 | -248 | |
| Impairment of investments | 32 | 30 | |
| Provision for end-of-service indemnities | 1,309 | 614 | |
| Total adjustments to reconcile profit (loss) | -88,690 | -63,912 | |
| Changes in operating assets and liabilities [abstract] | |||
| Advances and prepayments | 1,174 | 1,461 | |
| Accrued income- statutory deposit | -201 | 0 | |
| Payable, accruals and other liabilities | 829 | -3,671 | |
| Total changes in operating assets and liabilities | 1,802 | -2,210 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) operations | -45,528 | -32,009 | |
| Other inflows (outflows) of cash | 343,565 | 169,372 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) operating activities | 298,037 | 137,363 | |
| Cash flows from (used in) investing activities [abstract] | |||
| Purchase of property and equipment | 797 | 2,636 | |
| Disposals in invesment | 216,620 | 272,125 | |
| Additions in invesment | -355,477 | -353,608 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) investing activities | -139,654 | -84,119 | |
| Cash flows from (used in) financing activities [abstract] | |||
| Due to reinsurance/ retakaful operations | 204,322 | 0 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) financing activities | -204,322 | 0 | |
| Increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents before effect of exchange rate changes | -45,939 | 53,244 | |
| Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents | -45,939 | 53,244 | |
| Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period | 250,319 | 84,340 | |
| Cash and cash equivalents at end of period | 204,380 | 137,584 |
| [300800] Statement of changes in equity |
|   | Share capital [member] | Share premium [member] | Statutory reserve [member] | General reserve [member] | Fair value reserve on investments, shareholders equity [member] | Retained earnings (accumulated losses) [member] | Treasury shares [member] | Other reserves [member] | Reserve of disposal group held for distribution/ sale [member] | Share based payments reserve [member] | Other equity interest [member] | Equity attributable to owners of parent [member] | Non-controlling interests [member] | Total equity [member] | Note No. | ||||||||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Start Date | 2018-01-01 | 2017-01-01 | 2018-01-01 | 2017-01-01 | 2018-01-01 | 2017-01-01 | 2018-01-01 | 2017-01-01 | 2018-01-01 | 2017-01-01 | 2018-01-01 | 2017-01-01 | 2018-01-01 | 2017-01-01 | 2018-01-01 | 2017-01-01 | 2018-01-01 | 2017-01-01 | 2018-01-01 | 2017-01-01 | 2018-01-01 | 2017-01-01 | 2018-01-01 | 2017-01-01 | 2018-01-01 | 2017-01-01 | 2018-01-01 | 2017-01-01 | |
| End Date | 2018-03-31 | 2017-03-31 | 2018-03-31 | 2017-03-31 | 2018-03-31 | 2017-03-31 | 2018-03-31 | 2017-03-31 | 2018-03-31 | 2017-03-31 | 2018-03-31 | 2017-03-31 | 2018-03-31 | 2017-03-31 | 2018-03-31 | 2017-03-31 | 2018-03-31 | 2017-03-31 | 2018-03-31 | 2017-03-31 | 2018-03-31 | 2017-03-31 | 2018-03-31 | 2017-03-31 | 2018-03-31 | 2017-03-31 | 2018-03-31 | 2017-03-31 | |
| Statement of changes in equity [line items] | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Equity balance at beginning of period (before adjustments) | 400,000 | 400,000 | 54,297 | 17,725 | 1,552 | 502 | 142,211 | 11,136 | 598,060 | 429,363 | 598,060 | 429,363 | |||||||||||||||||
| Adjustments for restatements | -502 | 277 | -225 | -225 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Equity balance at beginning of period (after adjustments) | 400,000 | 400,000 | 54,297 | 17,725 | 1,552 | 0 | 142,211 | 11,413 | 598,060 | 429,138 | 598,060 | 429,138 | |||||||||||||||||
| Changes in equity [abstract] | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Comprehensive income [abstract] | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Net profit (loss) for period | 41,360 | 34,113 | 41,360 | 34,113 | 41,360 | 34,113 | |||||||||||||||||||||||
| Other comprehensive income, net of tax | 6,623 | -1,905 | 6,623 | -1,905 | 6,623 | -1,905 | |||||||||||||||||||||||
| Total comprehensive income (loss) for period | 6,623 | -1,905 | 41,360 | 34,113 | 47,983 | 32,208 | 47,983 | 32,208 | |||||||||||||||||||||
| Transfer to statutory reserve | 8,272 | 6,823 | -8,272 | -6,823 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |||||||||||||||||||||
| Provision for zakat and tax | 3,800 | 2,750 | 3,800 | 2,750 | 3,800 | 2,750 | |||||||||||||||||||||||
| Total changes in equity | 8,272 | 6,823 | 6,623 | -1,905 | 29,288 | 24,540 | 44,183 | 29,458 | 44,183 | 29,458 | |||||||||||||||||||
| Equity balance at end of period | 400,000 | 400,000 | 62,569 | 24,548 | 8,175 | -1,905 | 171,499 | 35,953 | 642,243 | 458,596 | 642,243 | 458,596 | |||||||||||||||||
| [400100] Notes forming part of accounts |
|   | English [member] | Note No. |
|---|---|---|
| Start Date | 2018-01-01 | |
| End Date | 2018-03-31 | |
| Notes forming part of accounts [line items] | ||
| Disclosure of notes and other explanatory information [text block] | ||
| Disclosure of general information about reporting entity [abstract] | ||
| Disclosure of general information about reporting entity [text block] | 1 ORGANISATION AND PRINCIPAL ACTIVITIESAl Rajhi Company for Cooperative Insurance (the “Company”) is a Saudi Joint Stock Company registered in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia under commercial registration number 1010270371 dated 5 Rajab 1430 corresponding to 28 June 2009. The address of the registered office of the Company is as follows:Al Rajhi Company for Cooperative InsuranceP.O. Box 67791 Riyadh 11517 Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. The objective of the Company is to transact cooperative insurance business and carry out related activities in accordance with the Law on Supervision of Cooperative Insurance Companies and its implementing regulations in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. On 29 Dhul-Qi’dah 1430H (corresponding to 17 November 2009), the Company received its license from the Saudi Arabian Monetary Agency (SAMA) to transact cooperative insurance business in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. The Company was listed on the Saudi Arabian Stock Exchange ("Tadawul") on 13 July 2009. The Company received product approvals from SAMA on 17 January 2010. | |
| Disclosure of basis of preparation of financial statements [text block] | Basis of presentation The interim condensed financial information of the Company has been prepared in accordance with ‘International Accounting Standard 34 - Interim Financial Reporting ("IAS 34") as modified by SAMA for the accounting of zakat and income tax’, which requires, adoption of all IFRSs as issued by the International Accounting Standards Board (“IASB”) except for the application of International Accounting Standard (IAS) 12 - “Income Taxes” and IFRIC 21 - “Levies” so far as these relate to zakat and income tax. As per the SAMA Circular no. 381000074519 dated April 11, 2017 and subsequent amendments through certain clarifications relating to the accounting for zakat and income tax (“SAMA Circular”), the zakat and income tax are to be accrued on a quarterly basis through shareholder’s equity under retained earnings.The interim condensed financial information is prepared under the going concern basis and the historical cost convention, except for financial assets measured at fair value through profit or loss (FVPL), financial assets measured at fair value through other comprehensive income (FVOCI) financial liabilities measured at fair value through profit or loss (FVPL) and end of service indemnities at present value. The Company’s interim condensed statement of financial position is not presented using a current/non-current classification. The following balances would generally be classified as non-current : financial assets at fair value through other comprehensive income, financial asset at amortised cost, property and equipment, statutory deposit, other assets, end of service benefits and payable to shareholders. All other assets and liabilities are classified as current.As required by the Saudi Arabian Insurance Regulations and guidelines of the sharia board, the Company maintains separate books of accounts for takaful operations and shareholders’ operations and presents the financial information accordingly (refer note 17). Assets, liabilities, revenues and expenses clearly attributable to either activity are recorded in the respective accounts. The basis of allocation of expenses from joint operations is determined and approved by the management and the Board of Directors. As per the Company’s policy, all general and administrative expenses of takaful operations are charged to shareholders’ operations. The Company in accordance with the Islamic Shariah provisions managing the co-operative insurance operations and calculates the management fee in the below manner and pays it in full shortly after at the end of the fiscal year.The first component of the management fee is calculated based on the net contributions written for the period after adjusting commission income and cost of production for motor and general at 40% and for health at 30% and is limited to the extent of general and administrative expenses charged in the interim statement of income – shareholders’ operations (refer note 17); and The other component of the management fee is determined up to 90% of the net surplus, if any, for the period from takaful operations remaining after computing the first component of management fee. The Company is required to distribute the remaining 10% of the net surplus from Takaful operations to policyholders in accordance with the Insurance Law and Implementation Regulations issued by the Saudi Arabian Monetary Agency (“SAMA”).The interim condensed statement of financial position, statements of income, comprehensive income and cash flows of the takaful operations and shareholders’ operations which are presented in note 17 of the financial information have been provided as supplementary financial information to comply with the requirements of the guidelines issued by SAMA implementing regulations. SAMA implementing regulations requires the clear segregation of the assets, liabilities, income and expenses of the takaful operations and the shareholders’ operations. Accordingly, the interim condensed statements of financial position, statements of income, comprehensive income and cash flows prepared for the takaful operations and shareholders operations as referred to above, reflect only the assets, liabilities, income, expenses and comprehensive gains or losses of the respective operations.In preparing the Company-level financial information in compliance with IFRS, the balances and transactions of the takaful operations are amalgamated and combined with those of the shareholders’ operations. Interoperation balances, transactions and unrealised gains or losses, if any, are eliminated in full during amalgamation. The accounting policies adopted for the takaful operations and shareholders’ operations are uniform for like transactions and events in similar circumstances. | |
| Disclosure of critical accounting judgements, estimates and assumptions, general [text block] | The preparation of interim financial information requires management to make judgments, estimates and assumptions that affect the application of accounting policies and the reported amounts of assets and liabilities, income and expense. Actual results may differ from these estimates.In preparing these condensed financial information, the significant judgments made by management in applying the Company’s accounting policies and the key sources of estimation uncertainty including the risk management policies were the same as those that applied to the annual financial information as at and for the year ended December 31, 2017. | |
| Disclosure of functional and presentation currency [text block] | The functional and presentational currency of the Company is Saudi Riyals. The financial information values are presented in Saudi Riyals rounded to the nearest thousand (SAR’000), unless otherwise indicated.The interim condensed financial information do not include all of the information required for full annual financial statements and should be read in conjunction with the annual financial statements as of and for the year ended December 31, 2017. | |
| Disclosure of summary of significant accounting policies [abstract] | ||
| Disclosure of summary of significant accounting policies, general comment [text block] | The accounting policies used in the preparation of the interim condensed financial information are consistent with those followed in the preparation of the Company’s annual financial statements for the year ended 31 December 2017, except for the adoption of new standards and amendments to the existing standards, as mentioned below, which has no significant financial impact on the financial information of the Company.The Company adopted IFRS 15 ‘Revenue from Contracts with Customers’. IFRS 15 was issued in May 2014 and is effective for annual periods commencing on or after 1 January 2018. IFRS 15 outlines a single comprehensive model of accounting for revenue arising from contracts with customers and supersedes current revenue guidance, which is found currently across several Standards and Interpretations within IFRS. It established a new five-step model that will apply to revenue arising from contracts with customers. Under IFRS 15, revenue is recognized at an amount that reflects the consideration to which an entity expects to be entitled in exchange for transferring goods or services to a customer.The Company has opted for the modified retrospective application permitted by IFRS 15 upon adoption of the new standard. Modified retrospective application requires the recognition of the cumulative impact of adoption of IFRS 15 on all contracts as at 1 January 2018 in equity. IFRS-15 does not have a material impact on the financial statement of the Company.3. SIGNIFICANT ACCOUNTING POLICIES (continued)Following is a brief on the new IFRS and amendments to IFRS, effective for future period. The Company has chosen not to early adopt these standards;- IFRS 16 - “Leases”, applicable for the period beginning on or after 1 January 2019. The new standard eliminates the current dual accounting model for lessees under IAS 17, which distinguishes between on-balance sheet finance leases and off-balance sheet operating leases. Instead, IFRS 16 proposes on-balance sheet accounting model. The Company has decided not to early adopt this new standard.- IFRS 17 - “Insurance Contracts”, applicable for the period beginning on or after 1 January 2021, and will supersede IFRS 4 “Insurance Contracts”. Earlier adoption permitted if both IFRS 15 'Revenue from Contracts with Customers' and IFRS 9 'Financial Instruments' have also been applied. The Company has decided not to early adopt this new standard. | |
| Disclosure of notes forming part of accounts [abstract] | ||
| Disclosure of due from related parties [text block] | . RELATED PARTY TRANSACTIONS AND BALANCESRelated parties represent major shareholders, directors and key management personnel of the Company, and companies of which they are principal owners and any other entities controlled, jointly controlled or significantly influenced by them. Pricing policies and terms of these transactions are approved by the Company’s management and Board of Directors. The following are the details of the major related party transactions during the period and the related balances: Transactions for the period ended Balance receivable / (payable) as at March 31, March 31, March 31, December 31, 2018 2017 2018 2017 (Unaudited) (Unaudited) (Unaudited) (Audited) SAR’000Major shareholders Gross contribution written 279,411 337,425 393,086 121,017Claims paid 275,267 249,219 (4,941) (3,743)Claims incurred and notified during the period 246,984 272,714 (117,019) (146,500)Reimbursement from / (expenses paid) on behalf of related party 340 - - 340Bank Balance - - 87,693 289,236Investment in shares of Al Rajhi Bank (6) 956 15,887 13,679 Entities controlled, jointly controlled or significantly influenced by related parties Gross contribution written 9,163 10,986 20,880 22,784Claims paid 10,106 6,930 (4) (1,148)Claims incurred and notified during the period 10,319 2,770 (16,141) (14,784)Investments managed by affiliates 3,887 35,893 93,197 88,857Income received from sale of investment in Al Rajhi Capital commodity fund 1,154 1,948 - -Investment management fee paid to Al Rajhi Capital 802 643 - -The compensation of key management personnel during the period is as follows: March 31, 2018 (Unaudited) March 31, 2017 (Unaudited) SAR’000Salaries and other allowances 1,543 1,490End of service indemnities 600 677 2,143 2.167 Shariah committee remuneration 74 88 | |
| Disclosure of cash and cash equivalents [text block] | CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTSCash and cash equivalents included in the statement of cash flows comprise the following: Takaful operationsSAR’000 March 31, 2018(Unaudited) December 31, 2017(Audited)Bank balances and cash 99,449 316,460Deposits maturing within 3 months from the acquisition date 300,000 250,000Cash and cash equivalents in the statement of cash flow 399,449 566,460Less : Impairment loss (189) (175)Cash and cash equivalents, net 399,260 566,285Deposits against letters of guarantee 12,997 12,997Total 412,257 579,282 Shareholders’ operationsSAR’000 March 31, 2018(Unaudited) December 31, 2017(Audited)Bank balances and cash 4,380 319Deposits maturing within 3 months from the acquisition date 200,000 250,000Cash and cash equivalents in the statement of cash flow 204,380 250,319Less : Impairment loss (54) (68)Cash and cash equivalents, net 204,326 250,251Cash at banks (statutory deposit income) 908 908Total 205,234 251,159 Total 617,491 830,441 5. CONTRIBUTIONS AND RE-TAKAFUL BALANCES RECEIVABLE - NETReceivables comprise amounts due from the following:SAR’000 March 31, 2018(Unaudited) December 31, 2017(Audited) Policyholders 194,923 107,328Brokers and agents 54,754 44,879Related parties (note 11) 413,966 143,801Receivables from re-takaful 5,658 5,763 669,301 301,771Provision for doubtful receivables (39,980) (38,486)Contributions and re-takaful balances receivable – net 629,321 263,285 | |
| Disclosure of zakat [text block] | ZAKAT AND INCOME TAXStatus of assessmentsThe Company had filed zakat and income tax returns with the General Authority of Zakat and Tax (“GAZT”) for the years from 2010 to 2016. For the year 2011, the Company has filed an appeal against the additional paid zakat assessment of SR 1,852 thousand raised by the GAZT. The appeal is still pending. | |
| Disclosure of compensation to key management personnel [text block] | The compensation of key management personnel during the period is as follows: March 31, 2018 (Unaudited) March 31, 2017 (Unaudited) SAR’000Salaries and other allowances 1,543 1,490End of service indemnities 600 677 2,143 2.167 Shariah committee remuneration 74 88 | |
| Disclosure of earnings per share [text block] | Earnings per share for the period ended March 31, 2018 and 2017 is calculated by dividing the net income for the period attributable to the equity holders by 40 million shares. | |
| Disclosure of investments held at fair value through statement of income [text block] | operating segmen | |
| Disclosure of entity's operating segments [text block] | . OPERATING SEGMENTS Operating segments are identified on the basis of internal reports about components of the Company that are regularly reviewed by the Company’s Board of Directors in their function as chief operating decision maker in order to allocate resources to the segments and to assess its performance. Transactions between the operating segments are on normal commercial terms and conditions. The revenue from external parties reported to the Board is measured in a manner consistent with that in the condensed income statement. Segment assets and liabilities comprise operating assets and liabilities.There have been no changes to the basis of segmentation or the measurement basis for the segment profit or loss since December 31, 2017.Segment assets do not include takaful operations’ bank balances and cash, net contributions receivable, investments etc., accordingly, they are included in unallocated assets. Segment liabilities do not include takaful operations’ payables accruals and other liabilities and re-takaful balances payable etc., accordingly, they are included in unallocated liabilities.These unallocated assets and liabilities are not reported to chief operating decision maker under related segments and are monitored on a centralized basis.The segment information provided to the Company’s Board of Directors for the reportable segments for the Company’s total assets and liabilities at March 31, 2018 and December 31, 2017, its total revenues, expenses, and net income for the the three-month periods then ended, are as follows: 11. OPERATING SEGMENTS (continued) As at March 31, 2018 (Unaudited) Takaful operations Operating segments Medical Motor Property & casualty Protection & Savings Total - Takaful operations Shareholders’ operations Total SAR’000Assets Cash and cash equivalents - - - - 412,257 205,234 617,491Contributions and re-takaful balances receivable – net - - - - 629,321 - 629,321Re-takaful share of unearned contributions - 30,695 69,471 1,097 101,263 - 101,263Re-takaful share of outstanding claims - 25,303 80,582 10,910 116,795 - 116,795Deferred policy acquisition costs 18,479 36,245 3,869 505 59,098 - 59,098Investments - - - - 1,532,533 347,702 1,880,235Unallocated assets - - - - (68,445) 167,124 98,679Total assets 18,479 92,243 153,922 12,512 2,782,822 720,060 3,502,882 Liabilities Unearned contributions 237,658 1,257,730 85,301 4,500 1,585,189 - 1,585,189Unearned re-takaful commission - 1,482 6,463 - 7,945 - 7,945Outstanding claims 109,982 702,790 86,519 14,058 913,349 - 913,349Unallocated liabilities - - - - 276,339 720,060 996,399Total liabilities and surplus 347,640 1,962,002 178,283 18,558 2,782,822 720,060 3,502,882 | |
| Disclosure of comparative figures [text block] | COMPARATIVE FIGURESCertain of the prior period figures have been reclassified to conform to the current period presentation. | |
| Disclosure of board of director's approval of the financial statements [text block] | The interim condensed financial information has been approved by the Board of Directors, on 16, Shaban 1439H, corresponding May 2, 2018. |