| Notes forming part of accounts [line items] | | |
| Disclosure of notes and other explanatory information [text block] | | |
| Disclosure of general information about reporting entity [abstract] | | |
| Disclosure of general information about reporting entity [text block] |
Saudi Re for Cooperative Reinsurance Company (the “Company”) is a Saudi Joint Stock Company registered in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia under commercial registration number 7001556021 dated 12 Jumada Al-Awal 1429H (corresponding to 17 May 2008) with a branch in the Federal Territory of Labuan, Malaysia with license number IS2014146. The address of the Company’s registered office is at 4130 Northern Ring Road Al Wadi, Unit number 1, Riyadh 13313-6684, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.
The objective of the Company is to transact cooperative reinsurance and related activities inside and outside the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia | |
| Disclosure of basis of preparation of financial statements [text block] |
BASIS OF PREPARATION
Statement of compliance
The interim condensed financial statements of the Company as at and for the period ended 31 March 2021 have been prepared in accordance with International Accounting Standard 34 “Interim Financial Reporting” (IAS 34) as endorsed in Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and other standards and pronouncements issued by the Saudi Organization for Chartered and Professional Accountants (“SOCPA”).
The Company’s interim condensed statement of financial position is not presented using a current/non-current classification. However, the following balances would generally be classified as current: bank balances and cash, time deposits, accrued special commission income from time deposits, reinsurance premium receivables, net, investments held at fair value through income statement, accrued special commission income from bonds and sukuk and held-to-maturity investments, retrocession balances receivable, deferred excess of loss premiums, retroceded share of outstanding claims, prepaid expenses, deposits and other assets, , accounts payable, retrocession balances payable, outstanding claims, accrued expenses and other liabilities, provision for zakat and income tax and accumulated surplus. The following balances would generally be classified as non-current: held-to-maturity investments, accrued reinsurance premiums, retroceded share of unearned premiums, retroceded share of claims incurred but not reported, deferred policy acquisition costs, property and equipment, net, investment in an equity accounted investee, statutory deposit, accrued income on statutory deposit, accrued retroceded premiums, unearned premiums, claims incurred but not reported, unearned retrocession commission, retrocession balance payable, margin payable, employees end of service benefits and accrued commission income payable to SAMA.
The interim condensed statement of financial position, statements of income, comprehensive income and cash flows of the insurance operations and shareholders’ operations which are presented in Note 16 of the interim condensed financial statements have been provided as supplementary financial information to comply with the requirements of the guidelines issued by SAMA implementing regulations.
In preparing the Company’s interim condensed financial information in compliance with IFRS, the balances and transactions of the reinsurance operations are amalgamated and combined with those of the shareholders’ operations. Interoperation balances, transactions and unrealised gains or losses, if any, are eliminated in full during amalgamation. The accounting policies adopted for the reinsurance operations and shareholders operations are uniform for like transactions and events in similar circumstances.
The inclusion of separate information of the reinsurance operations with the financial information of the Company in the interim condensed statement of financial position, statement of income, statement of comprehensive income, cash flows as well as certain relevafnt notes to the interim condensed financial information represents additional supplementary information required as required by the implementing regulations.
The accompanying unaudited interim condensed financial statements do not include all the information and disclosures required in the annual financial statements and should be read in conjunction with the Company’s annual financial statements as at 31 December 2020.
Surplus is distributed between reinsurance operations and shareholders operations in accordance with the implementing regulations issued by the SAMA, whereby the shareholders of the Company are to receive 90% of the annual surplus from reinsurance operations and the policyholders are to receive the remaining 10%. Any deficit arising on reinsurance operations is transferred to the shareholders' operation in full.
BASIS OF PREPARATION (CONTINUED)
As required by Saudi Arabian insurance regulations, the Company maintains separate accounts for Reinsurance and Shareholders’ operations and presents the interim condensed financial statements accordingly. Revenues and expenses clearly attributable to either activity are recorded in the respective accounts. The basis of allocation of other revenue and expenses from joint operations is determined by the management and Board of Directors.
In accordance with the Article 70 (2g) of the Insurance Implementing Regulations of SAMA, a minimum of 20% of the annual net income is required to be transferred to a statutory reserve until this reserve equals the paid-up capital of the Company. This reserve is not available for distribution.
Basis of measurement
These unaudited interim condensed financial statements have been prepared on the historical cost basis, except for the measurement at fair value of investments held at fair value through income statement and investment in an equity accounted investee which is accounted for under the equity method and employees’ end of service benefits (EOSB) measured at present value of future obligations using projected unit credit method.
Functional and presentation currency
These unaudited interim condensed financial statements have been presented in Saudi Arabian Riyals (SAR), which is the functional and presentational currency of the Company. All financial information presented has been rounded off to the nearest SAR.
Fiscal year The Company’s fiscal year is aligned with the calendar year i.e. it begins at 1 January and ends at 31 December.
Critical accounting judgments, estimates and assumptions The preparation of interim financial information requires management to make judgments, estimates and assumptions that affect the application of accounting policies and the reported amounts of assets and liabilities, income and expense. Actual results may differ from these estimates.
In preparing these interim condensed financial statements, the significant judgments made by management in applying the Company’s accounting policies, the risk management policies and the key sources of estimation uncertainty were the same as those that applied to the annual financial statements as at and for the year ended 31 December 2020. Further, the Company has considered the following:
On 11 March 2020, the World Health Organisation (“WHO”) declared the Coronavirus (“Covid-19”) outbreak as a pandemic in recognition of its rapid spread across the globe. This outbreak has also affected the GCC region including the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Governments all over the world took steps to contain the spread of the virus. Saudi Arabia in particular has implemented closure of borders, released social distancing guidelines and enforced country wide lockdowns and curfews.
In response to the spread of the Covid-19 virus in the GCC, non-GCC and other territories where the Company operates and its consequential disruption to the social and economic activities in those markets, the Company’s management has proactively assessed its impacts on its operations and has taken a series of proactive and preventative measures and processes to ensure:
-the health and safety of its employees and the wider community where it is operating -the continuity of its business throughout the world is protected and kept intact.
| |
| Disclosure of accounting framework used in preparation of financial statements [text block] |
Classification and measurement IFRS 9 uses a single approach to determine whether a financial asset is measured at amortized cost, fair value through other comprehensive income or fair value through profit or loss. A financial asset is measured at amortized cost if both:
the asset is held within a business model whose objective is to hold assets in order to collect contractual cash flows and; the contractual terms of the financial asset give rise on specified dates to cash flows that are solely payments of principal and interest on the principal amount outstanding (“SPPI”).
The financial asset is measured at fair value through other comprehensive income and realized gains or losses would be recycled through profit or loss upon sale, if both conditions are met:
i) the asset is held within a business model whose objective is to hold assets in order to collect contractual cash flows and for sale and; ii) the contractual terms of cash flows are SPPI
Assets not meeting either of these categories are measured at fair value through profit or loss. Additionally, at initial recognition, an entity can use the option to designate a financial asset at fair value through profit or loss if doing so eliminates or significantly reduces an accounting mismatch.
For equity instruments that are not held for trading, an entity can also make an irrevocable election to present in other comprehensive income subsequent changes in the fair value of the instruments (including realized gains and losses), dividends being recognized in profit or loss.
Additionally, for financial liabilities that are designated as at fair value through profit or loss, the amount of change in the fair value of the financial liability that is attributable to changes in the credit risk of that liability is recognized in other comprehensive income, unless the recognition of the effects of changes in the liability’s credit risk in other comprehensive income would create or enlarge an accounting mismatch in profit or loss.
Impairment
The impairment model under IFRS 9 reflects expected credit losses, as opposed to incurred credit losses under IAS 39. Under the IFRS 9 approach, it is no longer necessary for a credit event to have occurred before credit losses are recognized. Instead, an entity always accounts for expected credit losses and changes in those expected credit losses. The amount of expected credit losses is updated at each reporting date to reflect changes in credit risk since initial recognition.
SIGNIFICANT ACCOUNTING POLICIES AND AMENDMENTS TO STANDARDS (CONTINUED)
Standards issued but not yet effective (Continued)
Effective date
The published effective date of IFRS 9 was January 1, 2018. However, amendments to IFRS 4 – Insurance Contracts: Applying IFRS 9 – Financial Instruments with IFRS 4 – Insurance Contracts, published on September 12, 2016, changes the existing IFRS 4 to allow entities issuing insurance contracts within the scope of IFRS 4 to mitigate certain effects of applying IFRS 9 before the IASB’s new insurance contract standard (IFRS 17 – Insurance Contracts) becomes effective. The amendments introduce two alternative options:
apply a temporary exemption from implementing IFRS 9 until the earlier of
the effective date of a new insurance contract standard; or
b)annual reporting periods beginning on or after January 1, 2023. On 17 March 2020, the International Accounting Standards Board (“IASB”) decided to extend the effective date of IFRS 17 and the IFRS 9 temporary exemption in IFRS 4 from January 1, 2021 to January 1, 2023. Additional disclosures related to financial assets are required during the deferral period. This option is only available to entities whose activities are predominately connected with insurance and have not applied IFRS 9 previously; or;
adopt IFRS 9 but, for designated financial assets, remove from profit or loss the effects of some of the accounting mismatches that may occur before the new insurance contract standard is implemented. During the interim period, additional disclosures are required.
The Company has performed a preliminary assessment which included below:
(1) The carrying amount of the Company’s liabilities arising from contracts within the scope of IFRS 4 (including deposit components or embedded derivatives unbundled from insurance contracts) were compared to the total carrying amount of all its liabilities; and
(2) The total carrying amount of the Company’s liabilities connected with insurance were compared to the total carrying amount of all its liabilities. Based on these assessments the Company determined that it is eligible for the temporary exemption. Consequently, the Company has decided to defer the implementation of IFRS 9 until the effective date of the new insurance contracts standard. Disclosures related to financial assets required during the deferral period are included in the Company’s interim condensed financial statements.
Impact assessment
The Company is currently assessing the impact of the application and implementation of IFRS 9. As of the date of the publication of these interim condensed financial statements, the financial impact of adopting the standard has yet to be fully assessed by the Company. The Company expects the classification and measurement of financial assets to be impacted from implementation of IFRS 9 as the Company is yet to perform a detailed review.
IFRS 17 Insurance Contracts
Overview This standard has been published on May 18, 2017, it establishes the principles for the recognition, measurement, presentation and disclosure of insurance contracts and supersedes IFRS 4 – Insurance contracts.
The new standard applies to insurance contracts issued, to all reinsurance contracts and to investment contracts with discretionary participating features provided the entity also issues insurance contracts. It requires to separate the following components from insurance contracts: i)embedded derivatives, if they meet certain specified criteria; ii)distinct investment components; and iii)any promise to transfer distinct goods or non-insurance services.
These components should be accounted for separately in accordance with the related standards (IFRS 9 and IFRS 15).
| |
| Disclosure of statement of compliance [text block] |
Statement of compliance
The interim condensed financial statements of the Company as at and for the period ended 31 March 2021 have been prepared in accordance with International Accounting Standard 34 “Interim Financial Reporting” (IAS 34) as endorsed in Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and other standards and pronouncements issued by the Saudi Organization for Chartered and Professional Accountants (“SOCPA”).
The Company’s interim condensed statement of financial position is not presented using a current/non-current classification. However, the following balances would generally be classified as current: bank balances and cash, time deposits, accrued special commission income from time deposits, reinsurance premium receivables, net, investments held at fair value through income statement, accrued special commission income from bonds and sukuk and held-to-maturity investments, retrocession balances receivable, deferred excess of loss premiums, retroceded share of outstanding claims, prepaid expenses, deposits and other assets, , accounts payable, retrocession balances payable, outstanding claims, accrued expenses and other liabilities, provision for zakat and income tax and accumulated surplus. The following balances would generally be classified as non-current: held-to-maturity investments, accrued reinsurance premiums, retroceded share of unearned premiums, retroceded share of claims incurred but not reported, deferred policy acquisition costs, property and equipment, net, investment in an equity accounted investee, statutory deposit, accrued income on statutory deposit, accrued retroceded premiums, unearned premiums, claims incurred but not reported, unearned retrocession commission, retrocession balance payable, margin payable, employees end of service benefits and accrued commission income payable to SAMA.
The interim condensed statement of financial position, statements of income, comprehensive income and cash flows of the insurance operations and shareholders’ operations which are presented in Note 16 of the interim condensed financial statements have been provided as supplementary financial information to comply with the requirements of the guidelines issued by SAMA implementing regulations.
In preparing the Company’s interim condensed financial information in compliance with IFRS, the balances and transactions of the reinsurance operations are amalgamated and combined with those of the shareholders’ operations. Interoperation balances, transactions and unrealised gains or losses, if any, are eliminated in full during amalgamation. The accounting policies adopted for the reinsurance operations and shareholders operations are uniform for like transactions and events in similar circumstances.
The inclusion of separate information of the reinsurance operations with the financial information of the Company in the interim condensed statement of financial position, statement of income, statement of comprehensive income, cash flows as well as certain relevafnt notes to the interim condensed financial information represents additional supplementary information required as required by the implementing regulations.
The accompanying unaudited interim condensed financial statements do not include all the information and disclosures required in the annual financial statements and should be read in conjunction with the Company’s annual financial statements as at 31 December 2020.
Surplus is distributed between reinsurance operations and shareholders operations in accordance with the implementing regulations issued by the SAMA, whereby the shareholders of the Company are to receive 90% of the annual surplus from reinsurance operations and the policyholders are to receive the remaining 10%. Any deficit arising on reinsurance operations is transferred to the shareholders' operation in full.
| |
| Disclosure of basis of measurement [text block] |
Measurement
In contrast to the requirements in IFRS 4, which permitted insurers to continue to use the accounting policies for measurement purposes that existed prior to January 2015, IFRS 17 provides the following different measurement models:
The General Measurement Model (GMM) is based on the following “building blocks”: the fulfilment cash flows (FCF), which comprise:
probability-weighted estimates of future cash flows, an adjustment to reflect the time value of money (i.e. discounting) and the financial risks associated with those future cash flows, and a risk adjustment for non-financial risk;
the Contractual Service Margin (CSM). The CSM represents the unearned profit for a group of insurance contracts and will be recognized as the entity provides services in the future. The CSM cannot be negative at inception; any net negative amount of the fulfilment cash flows at inception will be recorded in profit or loss immediately.
At the end of each subsequent reporting period the carrying amount of a group of insurance contracts is remeasured to be the sum of:
the liability for remaining coverage, which comprises the FCF related to future services and the CSM of the group at that date; and the liability for incurred claims, which is measured as the FCF related to past services allocated to the group at that date.
The CSM is adjusted subsequently for changes in cash flows related to future services but the CSM cannot be negative, so changes in future cash flows that are greater than the remaining CSM are recognized in profit or loss. The effect of changes in discount rates will be reported in either profit or loss or other comprehensive income, determined by an accounting policy choice.
The Variable Fee Approach (VFA) is a mandatory model for measuring contracts with direct participation features (also referred to as ‘direct participating contracts’). This assessment of whether the contract meets these criteria is made at inception of the contract and not reassessed subsequently. For these contracts, in addition to adjustment under GMM, the CSM is also adjusted for:
the entity’s share of the changes in the fair value of underlying items; the effect of changes in the time value of money and in financial risks not relating to the underlying items.
In addition, a simplified Premium Allocation Approach (PAA) is permitted for the measurement of the liability for remaining coverage if it provides a measurement that is not materially different from the General Measurement Model for the group of contracts or if the coverage period for each contract in the group is one year or less. With the PAA, the liability for remaining coverage corresponds to premiums received at initial recognition less insurance acquisition cash flows. The General Measurement Model remains applicable for the measurement of the liability for incurred claims.
However, the entity is not required to adjust future cash flows for the time value of money and the effect of financial risk if those cash flows are expected to be paid/received in one year or less from the date the claims are incurred.
Effective date
The Company intends to apply the Standard on its effective date i.e. 1 January 2023. The IASB issued an Exposure Draft Amendments to IFRS 17 proposing certain amendments to IFRS 17 during June 2019 and received comments from various stakeholders. On 17 March 2020, the IASB completed its discussions on the amendments to IFRS 17 Insurance Contracts that were proposed for public consultation in June 2019. It decided that the effective date of the Standard will be deferred to annual reporting periods beginning on or after 1 January 2023. Earlier application is permitted if both IFRS 15 – Revenue from Contracts with Customers and IFRS 9 – Financial Instruments have also been applied.
3. SIGNIFICANT ACCOUNTING POLICIES AND AMENDMENTS TO STANDARDS (CONTINUED)
Standards issued but not yet effective (Continued)
IFRS 17 Insurance Contracts (continued)
Transition Retrospective application is required. However, if full retrospective application for a group of insurance contracts is impracticable, then the entity is required to choose either a modified retrospective approach or a fair value approach.
Presentation and Disclosures The Company expects that the new standard will result in a change to the accounting policies for insurance contracts and reinsurance and investment contracts with discretionary participating features, if applicable together with amendments to presentation and disclosures.
Impact assessment: The Company is currently assessing the impact of the application and implementation of IFRS 17. As of the date of the publication of these financial statements, the financial impact of adopting the standard has yet to be fully assessed by the Company. The status of the implementation is as follows:
Impact Area | Summary of Impact | Governance and control framework | The Company has put in place a comprehensive IFRS 17 governance framework which includes establishing a steering committee to provide oversight, monitor the progress of implementation, approve design phase decisions and assign roles and responsibilities to various stakeholders. | Operational area | The Company has completed the assessment of its business requirements and has selected a vendor and currently is assessing various processes needed for transition and its resource need. The Company has completed the design phase which includes establishing comprehensive data policy and data dictionary, however, the end state functional design will continue to be tested in the next phase of implementation. | Technical and financial area | The Company has completed technical policy papers documenting the policy decisions required under the IFRS 17 standard. The policy decisions are taken after performing detailed assessments and due deliberations among various stakeholders. All policy papers have been approved by the Company's IFRS 17 project steering committee. These policies will be tested during the next phase before adopting as part of the final design. | Assurance plan | The Company is working along with other stakeholders to finalize the assurance plan for the transitional and post-implementation periods. |
The Company has completed the Design phase on 31 March 2021. This will be followed by the implementation phase, which will involve refinement of phase 3 design decisions, implementing changes to the accounting, actuarial modelling, processes and controls, data and systems, and performing user acceptance testing, dry runs, parallel runs and transition calculation to get the Company compliant with IFRS 17 by 1 January 2023.
| |
| Disclosure of notes forming part of accounts [abstract] | | |
| Disclosure of reinsurers/ retakaful share of unearned premium/ contributions, net [text block] |
UNEARNED PREMIUM
Reinsurance operations | 31 March 2021 (Unaudited) |
|
Gross SR | Retroceded share SR |
Net SR | Opening balance | 548,541,182 | (71,861,774) | 476,679,408 | Premiums written during the period | 834,284,016 | (41,908,290) | 792,375,726 | Premium earned | (233,213,515) | 37,741,959 | (195,471,556) | Changes in unearned premiums | 601,070,501 | (4,166,331) | 596,904,170 | Closing balance | 1,149,611,683 | (76,028,105) | 1,073,583,578 |
|
31 December 2020 (Audited) |
|
Gross SR | Retroceded share SR |
Net SR |
|
|
|
| Opening balance | 401,997,592 | (50,836,786) | 351,160,806 | Premiums written during the year | 935,114,217 | (162,475,035) | 772,639,182 | Premiums earned | (788,570,627) | 141,450,047 | (647,120,580) | Changes in unearned premiums | 146,543,590 | (21,024,988) | 125,518,602 | Closing balance | 548,541,182 | (71,861,774) | 476,679,408 |
| |
| Disclosure of investments in associates and joint ventures [text block] |
INVESTMENT IN AN EQUITY ACCOUNTED INVESTEE
Shareholders’ operations | 31 March 2021 |
| 31 December 2020 |
| (Unaudited) |
| (Audited) |
| SR |
| SR |
|
|
|
| Balance at the beginning of the period / year | 120,141,077 |
| 101,445,631 | Addition during the period / year | -- |
| 3,696,900 | Share of profit of an equity accounted investee for the period / year | 4,172,888 |
| 12,071,843 | Share in foreign currency translation adjustments for the period / year | -- |
| 2,926,703 | Balance at the end of the period / year | 124,313,965 |
| 120,141,077 |
The Company, on 6 October 2017, acquired 49.9% of the ordinary shares of Probitas Holdings (Bermuda) Limited (“PHBL”). The Company has accounted for this investment as an associate (equity accounted investee). PHBL operates in insurance and reinsurance businesses including Lloyds market in London, United Kingdom.
During September 2020, the Company subscribed to the rights issue of shares of PHBL for the purpose of providing funding of its own Lloyds Managing Agency to manage the Syndicate 1492. The Company retained its ordinary shareholding percentage of 49.9% by fully subscribing to the 141,644 ordinary shares allocated through the rights issue on payment of SR 3,696,900.
SEGMENTAL INFORMATION
Consistent with the Company’s internal reporting process, business and geographical segments have been approved by the Management Committee in respect of the Company’s activities, assets and liabilities as stated below. | |
| Disclosure of investments held-to-maturity [text block] |
HELD-TO-MATURITY INVESTMENTS (CONTINUED)
In 2020, the Company obtained a margin loan amounting to SR 23,116,816 million and was fully collateralized by the underlying sukuk. During 2021, additional drawdown was made amounting to SR 15,728,614. The loan has no fixed maturity and carries a floating special commission payable quarterly. | |
| Disclosure of investments at fair value through statement of income [text block] |
INVESTMENTS HELD AT FAIR VALUE THROUGH INCOME STATEMENT
Investments held at fair value through income statement consist of the following as at:
| 31 March 2021 (Unaudited) |
| 31 December 2020 (Audited) |
| Reinsurance operations SR | Shareholders’ operations SR |
Total SR |
| Reinsurance operations SR | Shareholders’ operations SR |
Total SR | Money market funds | 215,066,928 | 147,449,230 | 362,516,158 |
| 201,003,059 | 148,338,596 | 349,341,655 | Investment and real estate funds | -- | 100,132,881 | 100,132,881 |
| -- | 101,474,960 | 101,474,960 | Equities | -- | 2,413,639 | 2,413,639 |
| -- | -- | -- | Fixed-rate bonds/sukuk | -- | 41,022,851 | 41,022,851 |
| -- | 41,264,763 | 41,264,763 | Floating-rate bonds/sukuk | -- | 20,000,000 | 20,000,000 |
| -- | 20,000,000 | 20,000,000 |
| 215,066,928 | 311,018,601 | 526,085,529 |
| 201,003,059 | 311,078,319 | 512,081,378 |
Determination of fair value and fair values hierarchy:
Fair value is the price that would be received to sell an asset or paid to transfer a liability in an orderly transaction in the principal (or the most advantageous) market between market participants at the measurement date under current market conditions regardless of whether that price is directly observable or estimated using another valuation technique.
The Company uses the following hierarchy for determining and disclosing the fair value of financial instruments:
Level 1: Quoted (unadjusted) market prices in active markets for identical assets or liabilities.
Level 2:Valuation techniques for which the lowest level input that is significant to the fair value measurement is directly or indirectly observable. Level 3: Valuation techniques for which the lowest level input that is significant to the fair value measurement is unobservable.
As at 31 March 2021 and 31 December 2020, the investment in money market funds under reinsurance operations amounting to SR 215.07 million (31 December 2020 SR 201.00 million) is classified as level 2 investments. The following table shows an analysis of financial instruments under shareholders’ operations measured at fair value by level of the fair value hierarchy:
| 31 March 2021 (Unaudited) |
| Level 1 SR | Level 2 SR | Level 3 SR | Total SR | Money market funds | - | 147,449,230 | - | 147,449,230 | Investment and real estate funds | - | 73,445,877 | 26,687,004 | 100,132,881 | Equities | 2,413,639 | - | - | 2,413,639 | Fixed-rate bonds / sukuk | - | - | 41,022,851 | 41,022,851 | Floating-rate bonds / sukuk | - | - | 20,000,000 | 20,000,000 |
| 2,413,639 | 220,895,107 | 87,709,855 | 311,018,601 |
| Level 1 SR | Level 2 SR | Level 3 SR | Total SR | Money market funds | -- | 148,338,596 | -- | 148,338,596 | Investment and real estate funds | -- | 73,951,258 | 27,523,702 | 101,474,960 | Equities | -- | -- | -- | -- | Fixed-rate bonds / sukuk | -- | -- | 41,264,763 | 41,264,763 | Floating-rate bonds / sukuk | -- | -- | 20,000,000 | 20,000,000 |
| -- | 222,289,854 | 88,788,465 | 311,078,319 |
7. INVESTMENTS HELD AT FAIR VALUE THROUGH INCOME STATEMENT (CONTINUED)
Fair values of real estate funds is based on the NAV calculated on the basis of the fair value of the underlying real estate as disclosed in the fund’s latest available financial statements. The Discounted Cash flow (DCF) model has been used to value the debt securities. This model considers the present value of net cash flows to be generated from the debt security, discounted at the market yield of similar quoted instruments. The estimate is adjusted for the effect of non-marketability of the debt securities. The following table shows a reconciliation from the beginning balances to the ending balances for the fair value measurement in level 3 of the fair value hierarchy.
| Opening | Matured | Unrealized (loss) / gain | Closing |
|
|
|
|
| For the three-month period ended 31 March 2021 (Unaudited) | 88,788,465 | -- | (1,078,610) | 87,709,855 | For the year ended 31 December 2020 (Audited) | 115,512,516 | (30,000,000) | 3,275,949 | 88,788,465 |
Sensitivity Analysis
For the fair value of level 3 investments, reasonable possible changes at the reporting date to one of the unobservable inputs, holding other inputs constant, would have the following effects.
| 31 March 2021 (Unaudited) | 31 December 2020 (Audited) | Investments held at fair value through income statement | 41,022,851 | 41,264,763 | Impact on unrealized gain / loss for the period / year ended: |
|
| If increased by 5% in market rate | (151,829) | (39,233) | If decreased by 5% in market rate | 151,829 | 39,233 |
There were no transfers between Level 1 and Level 2 fair value measurements, and no transfers into or out of Level 3 fair value measurements during the period ended 31 March 2021 and year ended 31 December 2020.
Investment in real-estate funds have various unobservable inputs.
The movements of investments held at fair value through income statement are as follows:
| 31 March 2021 (Unaudited) | 31 December 2020 (Audited) |
| Reinsurance operations SR | Shareholders’ operations SR | Total SR | Reinsurance operations SR | Shareholders’ operations SR | Total SR | Opening balance | 201,003,059 | 311,078,319 | 512,081,378 | 40,877,141 | 376,970,680 | 417,847,821 | Additions | 26,490,897 | 5,796,027 | 32,286,927 | 174,427,890 | 325,592,566 | 500,020,456 | Disposals | (13,000,000) | (5,444,919) | (18,444,919) | (14,196,700) | (392,390,475) | (406,587,175) | Unrealized gains / (losses) | 494,950 | (1,041,639) | (546,691) | (264,021) | 1,949,670 | 1,685,649 | Realized gains / (losses) | 78,022 | 630,813 | 708,834 | 158,749 | (1,044,122) | (885,373) | Closing balance | 215,066,928 | 311,018,601 | 526,085,529 | 201,003,059 | 311,078,319 | 512,081,378 |
7. INVESTMENTS HELD AT FAIR VALUE THROUGH INCOME STATEMENT (CONTINUED)
The analysis of the composition of investments for shareholder’s operations is as follows:
| 31 March 2021 (Unaudited) |
Shareholders’ operations | Quoted SR | Unquoted SR | Total SR | Money market funds | 147,449,230 | -- | 147,449,230 | Investment and real estate funds | 73,445,877 | 26,687,004 | 100,132,881 | Equities | 2,413,639 | -- | 2,413,639 | Fixed-rate bonds/sukuk | -- | 41,022,851 | 41,022,851 | Floating-rate bonds/sukuk | -- | 20,000,000 | 20,000,000 |
| 223,308,746 | 87,709,855 | 311,018,601 |
| 31 December 2020 (Audited) |
Shareholders’ operations | Quoted SR | Unquoted SR | Total SR | Money market funds | 148,338,596 | -- | 148,338,596 | Investment and real estate funds | 73,951,258 | 27,523,702 | 101,474,960 | Equities | -- | -- | -- | Fixed-rate bonds/sukuk | -- | 41,264,763 | 41,264,763 | Floating-rate bonds/sukuk | -- | 20,000,000 | 20,000,000 |
| 222,289,854 | 88,788,465 | 311,078,319 |
As at 31 March 2021 and 31 December 2020, all financial instruments under reinsurance operations, which are measured at fair value, are quoted.
Average credit ratings of all fixed and floating rates sukuk and bonds are within the investment grades i.e. BBB and above.
All investments held as at 31 March 2021 and 31 December 2020 are domiciled within the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.
| |
| Disclosure of cash and cash equivalents [text block] |
CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS
| 31 March 2021 (Unaudited) |
| 31 December 2020 (Audited) | Cash in hand | 45,618 |
| 48,999 | Bank balances | 9,721,753 |
| 7,985,348 | Total Bank balances and cash (A) | 9,767,371 |
| 8,034,347 |
| 31 March 2021 (Unaudited) |
| 31 December 2020 (Audited) | Bank balances (C) | 21,631,937 |
| 5,122,375 | Total Bank balances and cash / Cash and cash equivalents for reinsurance operations and shareholders’ operations (A+C) | 31,399,308 |
| 13,156,722 |
| |
| Disclosure of statutory deposit [text block] |
STATUTORY DEPOSIT
The Company has deposited an amount of SR 81 million (31 December 2020: SR 81 million) with a local bank, which has been rated “A” by Standard & Poor’s Rating agency representing the statutory deposit of 10% of its paid-up capital as required by the Implementing Regulations of the “Law On Supervision of Cooperative Insurance Companies” issued by SAMA. This statutory deposit cannot be withdrawn without the consent of SAMA. The statutory deposit generates special commission income which is accrued on regular basis and is shown as a separate line item as part of the shareholders’ liabilities in the Statement of Financial Position as “Accrued commission income payable to SAMA”. The accrued commission on the deposit as at 31 March 2021 is SAR 20,369,481 (31 December 2020: 20,185,653) and has also been disclosed in assets as “Accrued income on statutory deposit”. | |
| Disclosure of gross outstanding claims/ benefits [text block] |
CLAIMS RESERVES
Reinsurance operations | 31 March 2021 (Unaudited) |
| 31 December 2020 (Audited) |
|
|
|
| Outstanding claims | 742,840,357 |
| 716,946,866 | Claims incurred but not reported | 375,289,461 |
| 350,741,781 |
| 1,118,129,818 |
| 1,067,688,647 | Less: |
|
|
| - Retroceded share of outstanding claims | 167,842,891 |
| 154,674,308 | - Retroceded share of claims incurred but not reported | 35,813,050 |
| 45,796,293 |
| 203,655,941 |
| 200,470,601 | Net outstanding claims reserves | 914,473,877 |
| 867,218,046 |
| |
| Disclosure of zakat [text block] |
PROVISION FOR ZAKAT AND TAX
A summary of the Company’s share capital and percentages of ownership are follows:
| 31 March 2021 (Unaudited) | 31 December 2020 (Audited) |
| SR | % | SR | % | Saudi Shareholders | 707,316,300 | 87.32% | 676,763,100 | 83.55% | GCC Shareholders | 61,827,300 | 7.63% | 92,712,600 | 11.45% | GCC Shareholders and general public | 769,143,600 |
| 769,475,700 |
| Non-GCC Shareholders | 40,856,400 | 5.04% | 40,524,300 | 5.00% | Total | 810,000,000 | 100.00% | 810,000,000 |
|
As at 31 March 2021 and 31 December 2020, the authorized, issued and fully paid-up share capital of the Company consists of 100 million shares of SAR 10 each. The Company’s zakat and tax calculations and corresponding accruals and payments of zakat and tax are based on the above ownership percentages in accordance with the relevant provisions of the Saudi Arabian Zakat and Income Tax regulations.
The zakat and tax liability as at period / year end are as follows:
| 31 March 2021 |
| 31 December 2020 |
| SR (Unaudited) |
| SR (Audited) | Provision for zakat | 18,134,756 |
| 14,815,136 | Provision for tax | 387,720 |
| 358,694 |
| 18,522,476 |
| 15,173,830 |
The zakat and tax charges for the three-month period ended are as follows:
| 31 March 2021 | 31 March 2020 |
| SR (Unaudited) | SR (Unaudited) | Zakat charge for the period | 3,319,620 | 2,912,751 | Tax charge for the period | 29,026 | 10,897 |
| 3,348,646 | 2,923,648 |
The Company has recorded zakat and tax provision based on the circular No. 12746/16/1438H (18 January 2017) issued by the General Authority of Zakat and Income Tax (GAZT), in which Saudi public listed companies are to provide for tax and zakat based on the shareholding percentages of GCC and non-GCC founding shareholders. The shareholding percentages of GCC and non-GCC founding shareholders were 94.96% and 5.04% respectively as at 31 March 2021 and 95.00% and 5.00% as at 31 December 2020.
Status of assessment The Company has filed its tax / Zakat returns for the years ended 31 December 2014 to 2018 with the General Authority of Zakat and Income Tax (GAZT). The Company received the final assessments for the years up to 31 December 2018 and have settled the additional liability.
Status of VAT assessment Other assets include a payment made “Under Protest” to avoid penalties in relation to the VAT assessment raised by General Authority of Zakat and Tax ("GAZT'') for the 2018 & 2019 financial years totaling SAR 35 million (31 December 2020: 38.5 million), as the GAZT accepted the Company’s objection regarding local and standard rated purchases and refunded the full amount of SAR 3.4 million in early 2021. The Company has filed an appeal with General Secretariat of Tax Committees (“GSTC”) against the GAZT’s rejection decision. GAZT filed a counter-reply to the Company’s appeal with GSTC in April 2021. The Company is currently preparing a response to GAZT’s counter-response to GSTC. The Company’s management believes that there is a strong case that the GAZT’s assessment will be reversed and the full amount will be refunded in due course.
| |
| Disclosure of income tax [text block] |
PROVISION FOR ZAKAT AND TAX
A summary of the Company’s share capital and percentages of ownership are follows:
| 31 March 2021 (Unaudited) | 31 December 2020 (Audited) |
| SR | % | SR | % | Saudi Shareholders | 707,316,300 | 87.32% | 676,763,100 | 83.55% | GCC Shareholders | 61,827,300 | 7.63% | 92,712,600 | 11.45% | GCC Shareholders and general public | 769,143,600 |
| 769,475,700 |
| Non-GCC Shareholders | 40,856,400 | 5.04% | 40,524,300 | 5.00% | Total | 810,000,000 | 100.00% | 810,000,000 |
|
As at 31 March 2021 and 31 December 2020, the authorized, issued and fully paid-up share capital of the Company consists of 100 million shares of SAR 10 each. The Company’s zakat and tax calculations and corresponding accruals and payments of zakat and tax are based on the above ownership percentages in accordance with the relevant provisions of the Saudi Arabian Zakat and Income Tax regulations.
The zakat and tax liability as at period / year end are as follows:
| 31 March 2021 |
| 31 December 2020 |
| SR (Unaudited) |
| SR (Audited) | Provision for zakat | 18,134,756 |
| 14,815,136 | Provision for tax | 387,720 |
| 358,694 |
| 18,522,476 |
| 15,173,830 |
The zakat and tax charges for the three-month period ended are as follows:
| 31 March 2021 | 31 March 2020 |
| SR (Unaudited) | SR (Unaudited) | Zakat charge for the period | 3,319,620 | 2,912,751 | Tax charge for the period | 29,026 | 10,897 |
| 3,348,646 | 2,923,648 |
The Company has recorded zakat and tax provision based on the circular No. 12746/16/1438H (18 January 2017) issued by the General Authority of Zakat and Income Tax (GAZT), in which Saudi public listed companies are to provide for tax and zakat based on the shareholding percentages of GCC and non-GCC founding shareholders. The shareholding percentages of GCC and non-GCC founding shareholders were 94.96% and 5.04% respectively as at 31 March 2021 and 95.00% and 5.00% as at 31 December 2020.
Status of assessment The Company has filed its tax / Zakat returns for the years ended 31 December 2014 to 2018 with the General Authority of Zakat and Income Tax (GAZT). The Company received the final assessments for the years up to 31 December 2018 and have settled the additional liability.
Status of VAT assessment Other assets include a payment made “Under Protest” to avoid penalties in relation to the VAT assessment raised by General Authority of Zakat and Tax ("GAZT'') for the 2018 & 2019 financial years totaling SAR 35 million (31 December 2020: 38.5 million), as the GAZT accepted the Company’s objection regarding local and standard rated purchases and refunded the full amount of SAR 3.4 million in early 2021. The Company has filed an appeal with General Secretariat of Tax Committees (“GSTC”) against the GAZT’s rejection decision. GAZT filed a counter-reply to the Company’s appeal with GSTC in April 2021. The Company is currently preparing a response to GAZT’s counter-response to GSTC. The Company’s management believes that there is a strong case that the GAZT’s assessment will be reversed and the full amount will be refunded in due course.
| |
| Disclosure of classes of share capital [text block] |
SHARE CAPITAL
The authorized, issued and paid up capital of the Company was SAR810 million at 31 March 2021 (31 December 2020: SAR810 million) consisting of 81 million shares (December 31, 2020: 81 million shares) of SAR10 each. Shareholding structure of the Company is as below. The shareholders of the Company are subject to zakat and income tax.
|
| 31 March 2021 (Unaudited) |
|
| Authorized and issued | Paid up |
|
|
No. of Shares | Value per share SR |
Ahmed Hamad Algosaibi Brothers Co. |
| 4,050,000 | 10 | 40,500,000 | Others |
| 76,950,000 | 10 | 769,500,000 |
|
| 81,000,000 | 10 | 810,000,000 |
|
| 31 December 2020 (Audited) |
|
| Authorized and issued | Paid up |
|
|
No. of Shares | Value per share SR |
Ahmed Hamad Algosaibi Brothers Co. |
| 4,050,000 | 10 | 40,500,000 | Others |
| 76,950,000 | 10 | 769,500,000 |
|
| 81,000,000 | 10 | 810,000,000 |
Objectives are set by the Company to maintain healthy capital ratios in order to support its business objectives and maximize shareholders’ value.
The Company manages its capital requirements by assessing shortfalls between reported and required capital levels on a regular basis. Adjustments to current capital levels are made in light of changes in market conditions and risk characteristics of the Company’s activities. In order to maintain or adjust the capital structure, the Company may adjust the amount of dividends paid to shareholders or issue shares.
In the opinion of the Board of Directors, the Company has fully complied with the externally imposed capital requirements during the reported financial period.
The company’s Board of Directors recommended, at their meeting on 30 March 2021, that the company’s ordinary share capital be increased from SR 810 million to SR 891 million, a 10% increase, by issuing bonus shares at the rate of one share to every ten shares held. The proposal and the distribution criteria were announced at Tadawul on 30 March 2021. Company received ‘No Objections’ from SAMA on 13 April 2021, for the proposed increase of capital. The Company will utilize SR 81 million of its retained earnings for this purpose. The company currently is in the process of completing the other regulatory requirements to present the proposal to its shareholders for approval.
| |