| Disclosure of entity's operating segments [text block] |
SEGMENTAL INFORMATION
Consistent with the Company’s internal reporting process, business and geographical segments have been approved by the Management Committee in respect of the Company’s activities, assets and liabilities as stated below.
SEGMENTAL INFORMATION (CONTINUED)
15.1Business segments
The Company revises periodically its estimated gross written premiums and related retroceded premium upon receipt of actual information from cedants. In some business segments, this results in negative gross written premiums, positive retroceded premiums and negative net written premiums for the period when the revision take place.
| Engineering SR | Fire SR | Marine SR | Motor SR | General Accident SR | Protection SR |
Health SR |
Speciality SR | Others SR | Total SR | For the three month period ended 31 March 2020 (Unaudited) |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| REVENUES |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Gross written premiums | 120,375,821 | 82,558,754 | 39,944,161 | 54,233,631 | 27,959,424 | 10,349,631 | 14,085,265 | 114,850,170 | 63,360,797 | 527,717,654 | Retroceded premiums | (24,065,764) | (7,984,556) | 3,617,748 | -- | 683,209 | (1,851,861) | -- | -- | (1,255,965) | (30,857,189) | Excess of loss expenses | (1,144,902) | (5,020,768) | (24,326) | 228,819 | (377,687) | (239,850) | -- | -- | (959,142) | (7,537,856) | Net written premiums | 95,165,155 | 69,553,430 | 43,537,583 | 54,462,450 | 28,264,946 | 8,257,920 | 14,085,265 | 114,850,170 | 61,145,690 | 489,322,609 | Changes in unearned premiums, net | (59,680,841) | (56,742,125) | (30,461,112) | (36,865,209) | (31,400,920) | 378,470 | (13,329,832) | (101,172,348) | (37,305,246) | (366,579,163) | Net earned premiums | 35,484,314 | 12,811,305 | 13,076,471 | 17,597,241 | (3,135,974) | 8,636,390 | 755,433 | 13,677,822 | 23,840,444 | 122,743,446 | Retrocession commissions | 2,715,825 | 83,352 | (1,100,514) | -- | (467,515) | 1,417 | -- | -- | 797,029 | 2,029,594 | TOTAL REVENUES | 38,200,139 | 12,894,657 | 11,975,957 | 17,597,241 | (3,603,489) | 8,637,807 | 755,433 | 13,677,822 | 24,637,473 | 124,773,040 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| UNDERWRITING COSTS AND EXPENSES |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Gross claims paid | (7,317,213) | (29,500,474) | (24,052,187) | (12,253,489) | (10,687,283) | (12,801,202) | (12,298,060) | -- | (3,979,706) | (112,889,614) | Retroceded share of claims paid | 459,701 | 3,811,333 | 17,011,359 | -- | 4,296,514 | -- | -- | -- | 202,432 | 25,781,339 | Net claims paid | (6,857,512) | (25,689,141) | (7,040,828) | (12,253,489) | (6,390,769) | (12,801,202) | (12,298,060) | -- | (3,777,274) | (87,108,275) | Changes in outstanding claims, net | 2,772,860 | (7,315,275) | 5,123,496 | 942,754 | (771,422) | 64,552 | (4,114,752) | -- | 1,782,438 | (1,515,349) | Changes in Incurred but not reported claims, net | 7,891,752 | 12,352,251 | (5,345,802) | 5,274,228 | 2,161,913 | 3,685,018 | 18,505,747 | (10,590,403) | (3,774,338) | 30,160,366 | Net claims incurred | 3,807,100 | (20,652,165) | (7,263,134) | (6,036,507) | (5,000,278) | (9,051,632) | 2,092,935 | (10,590,403) | (5,769,174) | (58,463,258) | Policy acquisition costs and profit commissions | (13,104,588) | (5,209,945) | (8,238,504) | (4,010,147) | (1,186,291) | (1,151,088) | (115,277) | (6,530,069) | (5,860,071) | (45,405,980) | Other underwriting expenses | (189,678) | (191,292) | (137,190) | 2,320 | (131,409) | (11,339) | 24,574 | (574,251) | (134,102) | (1,342,367) | TOTAL UNDERWRITING COSTS AND EXPENSES |
(9,487,166) | (26,053,402) | (15,638,828) | (10,044,334) | (6,317,978) | (10,214,059) | 2,002,232 | (17,694,723) | (11,763,347) | (105,211,605) | NET UNDERWRITING INCOME / (LOSS) | 28,712,973 | (13,158,745) | (3,662,871) | 7,552,907 | (9,921,467) | (1,576,252) | 2,757,665 | (4,016,901) | 12,874,126 | 19,561,435 |
15 SEGMENTAL INFORMATION (CONTINUED)
Business segments (continued)
| Engineering SR | Fire SR | Marine SR | Motor SR | General Accident SR | Protection SR |
Health SR |
Speciality SR | Others SR | Total SR | For the three month period ended 31 March 2019 (Unaudited) |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| REVENUES |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Gross written premiums | 40,815,955 | 108,579,618 | 36,567,441 | 47,229,278 | 44,241,756 | 11,661,891 | 25,246,985 | 61,182,339 | 48,795,299 | 424,320,562 | Retroceded premiums | (1,987,188) | (6,213,367) | (77,491) | -- | 118,703 | -- | -- | -- | (5,278,441) | (13,437,784) | Excess of loss expenses | (698,505) | (4,344,649) | (201,638) | -- | (52,043) | (193,830) | -- | -- | (2,695,580) | (8,186,245) | Net written premiums | 38,130,262 | 98,021,602 | 36,288,312 | 47,229,278 | 44,308,416 | 11,468,061 | 25,246,985 | 61,182,339 | 40,821,278 | 402,696,533 | Changes in unearned premiums, net | (18,909,978) | (51,845,653) | (22,865,436) | (23,128,181) | (29,998,009) | (1,135,606) | (17,036,976) | (39,666,074) | (23,916,858) | (228,502,771) | Net earned premiums | 19,220,284 | 46,175,949 | 13,422,876 | 24,101,097 | 14,310,407 | 10,332,455 | 8,210,009 | 21,516,265 | 16,904,420 | 174,193,762 | Retrocession commissions | 418,173 | 1,133,260 | 146,754 | -- | 622,848 | (5,438) | -- | -- | 1,366,394 | 3,681,991 | TOTAL REVENUES | 19,638,457 | 47,309,209 | 13,569,630 | 24,101,097 | 14,933,255 | 10,327,017 | 8,210,009 | 21,516,265 | 18,270,814 | 177,875,753 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| UNDERWRITING COSTS AND EXPENSES |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Gross claims paid | (7,848,525) | (47,360,369) | (5,592,345) | (13,751,784) | (3,538,767) | (10,730,758) | (2,848,529) | -- | (16,913,809) | (108,584,886) | Retroceded share of claims paid | 373,194 | 14,518,469 | 1,938,586 | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 10,509,140 | 27,339,389 | Net claims paid | (7,475,331) | (32,841,900) | (3,653,759) | (13,751,784) | (3,538,767) | (10,730,758) | (2,848,529) | -- | (6,404,669) | (81,245,497) | Changes in outstanding claims, net | (12,368,837) | 2,989,388 | (270,255) | (2,677,634) | (1,934,547) | 1,465,912 | 1,308,462 | -- | (276,557) | (11,764,068) | Changes in Incurred but not reported claims, net | (2,424,296) | 3,223,029 | (2,781,503) | (4,571,728) | (3,596,800) | 3,999,382 | (6,214,547) | (15,902,766) | 47 | (28,269,182) | Net claims incurred | (22,268,464) | (26,629,483) | (6,705,517) | (21,001,146) | (9,070,114) | (5,265,464) | (7,754,614) | (15,902,766) | (6,681,179) | (121,278,747) | Policy acquisition costs and profit commissions | (6,454,070) | (13,797,591) | (4,598,577) | (2,355,837) | (4,246,312) | (1,177,517) | (554,336) | (8,366,611) | (3,346,359) | (44,897,210) | Other underwriting expenses | (77,734) | (255,188) | (72,818) | (119,407) | (79,404) | (47,347) | (41,050) | (86,773) | (62,009) | (841,730) | TOTAL UNDERWRITING COSTS AND EXPENSES | (28,800,268) |
(40,682,262) |
(11,376,912) |
(23,476,390) |
(13,395,830) |
(6,490,328) |
(8,350,000) |
(24,356,150) |
(10,089,547) |
(167,017,687) | NET UNDERWRITING (LOSS) / INCOME | (9,161,811) | 6,626,947 | 2,192,718 | 624,707 | 1,537,425 | 3,836,689 | (139,991) | (2,839,885) | 8,181,267 | 10,858,066 |
SEGMENTAL INFORMATION (CONTINUED)
15.1Business segments (continued)
| Engineering SR | Fire SR | Marine SR | Motor SR | General Accident SR | Protection SR |
Health SR |
Speciality SR | Others SR |
Unallocated SR |
Shareholders SR | Total SR | As at 31 March 2020 (Unaudited) |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| ASSETS |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Bank balances and cash | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 20,860,595 | 7,374,352 | 28,234,947 | Time deposits | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 125,553,834 | 228,805,317 | 354,359,151 | Accrued special commission income from time deposits | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 2,723,174 | 4,606,213 | 7,329,387 | Premium receivables, net | 52,789,794 | 106,341,191 | 17,583,554 | 32,013,526 | 19,435,548 | 10,774,121 | 11,381,943 | 942,428 | 92,569,650 | (81,280,853) | -- | 262,550,902 | Investments held at fair value through income statement | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 35,841,624 | 393,390,567 | 429,232,191 | Held-to-maturity investments | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 37,500,000 | 37,500,000 | Accrued reinsurance premiums | 113,209,223 | 114,264,507 | 46,644,931 | 51,335,410 | 41,013,219 | 29,829,567 | 15,579,009 | 194,294,364 | 69,437,050 | -- | -- | 675,607,280 | Retroceded share of unearned premiums | 28,451,832 | 6,828,442 | 52,650 | -- | 4,921,047 | 1,391,426 | -- | -- | 11,774,200 | -- | -- | 53,419,597 | Deferred excess of loss premiums | 1,507,949 | 2,004,509 | 201,640 | -- | 49,875 | 504,667 | -- | -- | 2,215,244 | -- | -- | 6,483,884 | Retroceded share of outstanding claims | 6,573,124 | 39,386,553 | 86,297,761 | (995,031) | 3,541,079 | 1,623,157 | -- | -- | 107,591,415 | -- | -- | 244,018,058 | Retroceded share of claims incurred but not reported | 1,068,013 | 2,390,938 | 5,499,010 | (10) | 7,605,247 | 448,039 | 15 | 1,670 | 13,018,607 | -- | -- | 30,031,529 | Deferred policy acquisition costs | 40,410,058 | 46,809,658 | 17,372,110 | 9,824,836 | 15,007,736 | 799,252 | 603,572 | 76,113,068 | 11,550,834 | -- | -- | 218,491,124 | Prepaid expenses, deposits and other assets | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 174,348,501 | 73,574,978 | 247,923,479 | Property and equipment, net | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 4,271,810 | 29,436,486 | 33,708,296 | Accrued special commission income from bonds and sukuk | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 2,195,415 | 2,195,415 | Investment in an equity accounted investee | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 104,501,460 | 104,501,460 | Statutory deposit | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 121,500,000 | 121,500,000 | Accrued income on statutory deposit | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 18,662,243 | 18,662,243 | TOTAL ASSETS | 244,009,993 | 318,025,798 | 173,651,656 | 92,178,731 | 91,573,751 | 45,370,229 | 27,564,539 | 271,351,530 | 308,157,000 | 282,318,685 | 1,021,547,031 | 2,875,748,943 |
SEGMENTAL INFORMATION (CONTINUED)
15.1Business segments (continued)
| Engineering SR | Fire SR | Marine SR | Motor SR |
General Accident SR | Protection SR |
Health SR |
Speciality SR | Others SR |
Unallocated SR |
Shareholders SR | Total SR | As at 31 March 2020 (Unaudited) |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| LIABILITIES |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Accounts payable | (4,730,854) | 1,663,619 | (13,646,979) | (5,061,950) | (528,243) | (7,282,076) | 671,812 | -- | (23,625,703) | 98,634,095 | -- | 46,093,721 | Retrocession balances payable | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 33,222,641 | -- | 33,222,641 | Accrued retroceded premiums | 15,788,659 | 6,229,901 | 335,416 | 38,016 | 4,654,265 | 73,543 | -- | -- | 6,988,785 | -- | -- | 34,108,585 | Unearned premiums | 152,360,803 | 155,794,196 | 52,405,687 | 55,158,672 | 54,573,677 | 22,276,427 | 21,421,092 | 182,612,359 | 74,556,653 | -- | -- | 771,159,566 | Outstanding claims | 98,523,893 | 217,428,738 | 109,268,902 | 51,802,075 | 27,918,737 | 26,273,804 | 11,541,372 | -- | 157,286,388 | -- | -- | 700,043,909 | Claims incurred but not reported | 23,367,956 | 34,554,205 | 22,957,627 | 44,373,072 | 29,023,053 | 22,049,392 | 6,948,355 | 99,251,923 | 37,788,453 | -- | -- | 320,314,036 | Unearned retrocession commission | 6,647,582 | 1,192,432 | 65,890 | -- | 1,163,030 | 13,914 | -- | -- | 2,219,459 | -- | -- | 11,302,307 | Accrued expenses and other liabilities | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 10,999,262 | 4,342,337 | 15,341,599 | End of service indemnities | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 9,057,669 | -- | 9,057,669 | Provision for zakat and tax | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 26,665,710 | 26,665,710 | Accrued commission income payable to SAMA | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 18,662,243 | 18,662,243 | TOTAL LIABILITIES | 291,958,039 | 416,863,091 | 171,386,543 | 146,309,885 | 116,804,519 | 63,405,004 | 40,582,631 | 281,864,282 | 255,214,035 | 151,913,667 | 49,670,290 | 1,985,971,986 |
SEGMENTAL INFORMATION (CONTINUED)
15.1 Business segments (continued)
| Engineering SR | Fire SR | Marine SR | Motor SR | General Accident SR | Protection SR |
Health SR |
Speciality SR | Others SR |
Unallocated SR |
Shareholders SR | Total SR | As at 31 December 2019 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| ASSETS |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Bank balances and cash | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 6,061,323 | 7,107,736 | 13,169,059 | Time deposits | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 138,195,362 | 239,835,817 | 378,031,179 | Accrued special commission income from time deposits | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 1,728,030 | 6,246,374 | 7,974,404 | Premium receivables, net | 41,176,448 | 93,225,725 | 16,348,014 | 25,012,608 | 19,080,882 | 9,079,607 | 6,077,569 | (308,692) | 74,556,629 | (50,856,414) | -- | 233,392,376 | Investments held at fair value through income statement | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 40,877,141 | 376,970,680 | 417,847,821 | Held-to-maturity investments | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 37,500,000 | 37,500,000 | Accrued reinsurance premiums | 45,237,422 | 92,142,828 | 31,036,428 | 28,103,983 | 31,708,390 | 38,383,493 | 16,671,462 | 133,976,736 | 49,810,124 | -- | -- | 467,070,866 | Retroceded share of unearned premiums | 7,061,901 | 5,456,335 | 6,597,140 | -- | 9,593,658 | -- | -- | -- | 22,127,752 | -- | -- | 50,836,786 | Deferred excess of loss premiums | 3,015,897 | 3,794,146 | 403,280 | -- | 99,749 | -- | -- | -- | 4,430,491 | -- | -- | 11,743,563 | Retroceded share of outstanding claims | 6,785,245 | 46,220,224 | 116,859,302 | (995,031) | 3,542,132 | 1,626,261 | -- | -- | 108,680,638 | -- | -- | 282,718,771 | Retroceded share of claims incurred but not reported | 3,755,287 | 4,727,577 | 3,431,631 | 32,904 | 8,726,492 | -- | -- | -- | 14,138,184 | -- | -- | 34,812,075 | Deferred policy acquisition costs | 20,867,565 | 27,478,912 | 6,844,095 | 3,257,350 | 7,274,190 | 1,313,273 | 129,394 | 31,879,345 | 7,234,977 | -- | -- | 106,279,101 | Prepaid expenses, deposits and other assets | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 171,904,335 | 72,735,563 | 244,639,898 | Property and equipment, net | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 3,941,322 | 29,634,206 | 33,575,528 | Accrued special commission income from bonds and sukuk | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 2,793,154 | 2,793,154 | Investment in an equity accounted investee | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 101,445,631 | 101,445,631 | Statutory deposit | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 121,500,000 | 121,500,000 | Accrued income on statutory deposit | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 17,992,463 | 17,992,463 | TOTAL ASSETS | 127,899,765 | 273,045,747 | 181,519,890 | 55,411,814 | 80,025,493 | 50,402,634 | 22,878,425 | 165,547,389 | 280,978,795 | 311,851,099 | 1,013,761,624 | 2,563,322,675 |
SEGMENTAL INFORMATION (CONTINUED)
15.1Business segments (continued)
| Engineering SR | Fire SR | Marine SR | Motor SR |
General Accident SR | Protection SR |
Health SR |
Speciality SR | Others SR |
Unallocated SR |
Shareholders SR | Total SR | As at 31 December 2019 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| LIABILITIES |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Accounts payable | (4,835,815) | 7,007,543 | (16,377,915) | 5,093,599 | (1,891,045) | (1,585,379) | 1,147,290 | -- | (20,746,114) | 72,116,481 | -- | 39,928,645 | Retrocession balances payable | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 46,173,239 | -- | 46,173,239 | Accrued retroceded premiums | 1,176,668 | 2,625,156 | 787,215 | -- | 6,995,292 | 73,543 | -- | -- | 10,083,938 | -- | -- | 21,741,812 | Unearned premiums | 71,388,608 | 97,227,443 | 28,929,678 | 18,293,464 | 27,725,120 | 21,263,471 | 8,091,261 | 81,440,011 | 47,638,536 | -- | -- | 401,997,592 | Outstanding claims | 101,508,874 | 216,947,133 | 144,953,939 | 52,744,829 | 27,148,368 | 26,341,460 | 7,426,620 | -- | 160,158,049 | -- | -- | 737,229,272 | Claims incurred but not reported |
33,946,957 |
49,242,742 |
15,544,440 |
49,680,204 |
32,306,225 |
25,366,145 |
25,454,102 |
88,661,520 |
35,052,611 | -- | -- | 355,254,946 | Unearned retrocession commission |
1,283,599 |
1,972,899 |
91,998 |
-- |
1,966,475 |
-- |
-- |
-- |
3,081,101 | -- | -- | 8,396,072 | Accrued expenses and other liabilities | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 15,509,872 | 3,910,916 | 19,420,788 | Employees’ end of service benefits | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 8,828,705 | -- | 8,828,705 | Provision for zakat and tax | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 23,742,062 | 23,742,062 | Accrued commission income payable to SAMA | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 17,992,463 | 17,992,463 | TOTAL LIABILITIES | 204,468,891 | 375,022,916 | 173,929,355 | 125,812,096 | 94,250,435 | 71,459,240 | 42,119,273 | 170,101,531 | 235,268,121 | 142,628,297 | 45,645,441, | 1,680,705,596 |
SEGMENTAL INFORMATION (CONTINUED)
15.2Geographical segments
| Kingdom of Saudi Arabia SR | Other Middle Eastern Countries SR | Africa SR |
Asia SR |
Other territories SR | Total SR |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
For the three month period ended 31 March 2020 (Unaudited) |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| | Reinsurance operations’ results |
|
|
|
|
|
| | REVENUES |
|
|
|
|
|
| | Gross written premiums | 156,668,533 | 70,882,956 | 28,748,697 | 155,439,509 | 115,977,959 | 527,717,654 | | Retroceded premiums | (31,751,618) | (224,081) | (179,185) | 1,297,695 | -- | (30,857,189) | | Excess of loss expenses | (5,892,190) | (143,647) | (493,989) | (1,008,030) | -- | (7,537,856) | | Net written premiums | 119,024,725 | 70,515,228 | 28,075,523 | 155,729,174 | 115,977,959 | 489,322,609 | | Changes in unearned premiums, net | (79,076,378) | (54,390,254) | (20,661,266) | (108,204,951) | (104,246,314) | (366,579,163) | | Net earned premiums | 39,948,347 | 16,124,974 | 7,414,257 | 47,524,223 | 11,731,645 | 122,743,446 | | Retrocession commissions | 2,248,740 | (97,675) | 58,615 | (180,086) | -- | 2,029,594 | | TOTAL REVENUES | 42,197,087 | 16,027,299 | 7,472,872 | 47,344,137 | 11,731,645 | 124,773,040 | |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| | UNDERWRITING COSTS AND EXPENSES |
|
|
|
|
|
| | Gross claims paid | (55,212,917) | (17,893,974) | (6,223,966) | (33,509,496) | (49,261) | (112,889,614) | Retroceded share of claims paid | 20,433,036 | 1,642,605 | -- | 3,532,944 | 172,754 | 25,781,339 | Net claims paid | (34,779,881) | (16,251,369) | (6,223,966) | (29,976,552) | 123,493 | (87,108,275) | Changes in outstanding claims, net | 17,930 | (1,329,491) | (403,658) | 554,304 | (354,434) | (1,515,349) | Changes in Incurred but not reported claims, net | 24,008,745 | 7,929,860 | 4,365,136 | 4,085,361 | (10,228,736) | 30,160,366 | Net claims incurred | (10,753,206) | (9,651,000) | (2,262,488) | (25,336,887) | (10,459,677) | (58,463,258) | Policy acquisition costs and profit commissions | (15,712,566) | (4,477,042) | (2,284,325) | (16,757,090) | (6,174,957) | (45,405,980) | Other underwriting expenses | (79,886) | (24,784) | (26,891) | (648,774) | (562,032) | (1,342,367) | TOTAL UNDERWRITING COSTS AND EXPENSES | (26,545,658) | (14,152,826) | (4,573,704) | (42,742,751) | (17,196,666) | (105,211,605) | NET UNDERWRITING INCOME / (LOSS) | 15,651,429 | 1,874,473 | 2,899,168 | 4,601,386 | (5,465,021) | 19,561,435 | |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| |
15 SEGMENTAL INFORMATION (CONTINUED)
15.2Geographical segments (continued)
| Kingdom of Saudi Arabia SR | Other Middle Eastern Countries SR | Africa SR |
Asia SR |
Other territories SR | Total SR |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
For the three month period ended 31 March 2019 (Unaudited) |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Reinsurance operations’ results |
|
|
|
|
|
| REVENUES |
|
|
|
|
|
| Gross written premiums | 135,344,920 | 47,450,230 | 25,350,750 | 151,254,167 | 64,920,495 | 424,320,562 | Retroceded premiums | (13,448,557) | (107,702) | (228) | 118,703 | -- | (13,437,784) | Excess of loss expenses | (2,430,617) | (2,352,533) | (330,103) | (3,081,602) | 8,610 | (8,186,245) | Net written premiums | 119,465,746 | 44,989,995 | 25,020,419 | 148,291,268 | 64,929,105 | 402,696,533 | Changes in unearned premiums, net | (62,979,349) | (20,323,040) | (14,697,559) | (88,130,697) | (42,372,126) | (228,502,771) | Net earned premiums | 56,486,397 | 24,666,955 | 10,322,860 | 60,160,571 | 22,556,979 | 174,193,762 | Retrocession commissions | 3,106,779 | 6,706 | 1,666 | 566,840 | -- | 3,681,991 | TOTAL REVENUES | 59,593,176 | 24,673,661 | 10,324,526 | 60,727,411 | 22,556,979 | 177,875,753 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| UNDERWRITING COSTS AND EXPENSES |
|
|
|
|
|
| Gross claims paid | (59,135,125) | (14,431,500) | (7,435,549) | (27,593,637) | 10,925 | (108,584,886) | Retroceded share of claims paid | 26,737,682 | 55,463 | 29,530 | 516,714 | -- | 27,339,389 | Net claims paid | (32,397,443) | (14,376,037) | (7,406,019) | (27,076,923) | 10,925 | (81,245,497) | Changes in outstanding claims, net | 2,435,886 | (1,632,939) | 2,083,184 | (13,295,542) | (1,354,657) | (11,764,068) | Changes in Incurred but not reported claims, net | (5,751,535) | (2,356,028) | 553,683 | (4,424,063) | (16,291,239) | (28,269,182) | Net claims incurred | (35,713,092) | (18,365,004) | (4,769,152) | (44,796,528) | (17,634,971) | (121,278,747) | Policy acquisition costs and profit commissions | (11,975,476) | (7,114,594) | (2,871,817) | (14,437,952) | (8,497,371) | (44,897,210) | Other underwriting expenses | (261,581) | (123,147) | (48,474) | (316,627) | (91,901) | (841,730) | TOTAL UNDERWRITING COSTS AND EXPENSES | (47,950,149) | (25,602,745) | (7,689,443) | (59,551,107) | (26,224,243) | (167,017,687) | NET UNDERWRITING INCOME | 11,643,027 | (929,084) | 2,635,083 | 1,176,304 | (3,667,264) | 10,858,066 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
15 SEGMENTAL INFORMATION (CONTINUED)
15.2Geographical segments (continued)
| Kingdom of Saudi Arabia SR | Other Middle Eastern Countries SR | Africa SR |
Asia SR |
Other territories SR |
Unallocated SR | Shareholders SR |
Total SR | As at 31 March 2020 (Unaudited) |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| ASSETS |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Bank balances and cash | 15,001,926 | -- | -- | 5,858,669 | -- | -- | 7,374,352 | 28,234,947 | Time deposits | 63,881,124 | -- | -- | 61,672,710 | -- | -- | 228,805,317 | 354,359,151 | Accrued special commission income from time deposits | 2,022,353 | -- | -- | 700,821 | -- | -- | 4,606,213 | 7,329,387 | Premium receivables, net | 110,790,632 | 62,864,661 | 39,676,970 | 47,279,625 | 3,510,930 | (1,571,916) | -- | 262,550,902 | Investments held at fair value through income statement | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 35,841,624 | 393,390,567 | 429,232,191 | Held-to-maturity investments | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 37,500,000 | 37,500,000 | Accrued reinsurance premiums | 185,244,635 | 77,596,767 | 34,091,196 | 183,496,832 | 195,177,850 | -- | -- | 675,607,280 | Retroceded share of unearned premiums | 47,998,598 | 447,345 | 52,607 | 4,921,047 | -- | -- | -- | 53,419,597 | Deferred excess of loss premiums | 1,927,351 | 1,436,256 | 633,220 | 2,183,397 | 303,660 | -- | -- | 6,483,884 | Retroceded share of outstanding claims | 214,826,041 | 12,390,470 | 1,018,486 | 15,783,061 | -- | -- | -- | 244,018,058 | Retroceded share of claims incurred but not reported | 22,627,461 | 868,663 | 298,110 | 6,400,397 | (163,102) | -- | -- | 30,031,529 | Deferred policy acquisition costs | 48,540,054 | 28,550,626 | 10,448,770 | 54,749,119 | 76,202,555 | -- | -- | 218,491,124 | Prepaid expenses, deposits and other assets | 64,876,556 | -- | -- | 31,636 | 109,440,309 | -- | 73,574,978 | 247,923,479 | Property and equipment, net | 2,868,596 | -- | -- | 1,403,214 | -- | -- | 29,436,486 | 33,708,296 | Accrued special commission income from bonds and sukuk | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 2,195,415 | 2,195,415 | Investment in an equity accounted investee | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 104,501,460 | 104,501,460 | Statutory deposit | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 121,500,000 | 121,500,000 | Accrued income on statutory deposit | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 18,662,243 | 18,662,243 | TOTAL ASSETS | 780,605,327 | 184,154,788 | 86,219,359 | 384,480,528 | 384,472,202 | 34,269,708 | 1,021,547,031 | 2,875,748,943 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| LIABILITIES |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Accounts payable | 10,140,852 | 22,294,513 | 5,079,749 | 3,668,270 | 1,612,472 | 3,297,865 | -- | 46,093,721 | Retrocession balances payable | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 33,222,641 | -- | 33,222,641 | Accrued retroceded premiums | 19,922,257 | 588,090 | 108,175 | 4,341,558 | 10,209 | 9,138,296 | -- | 34,108,585 | Unearned premiums | 243,803,346 | 101,003,439 | 39,227,047 | 201,414,395 | 185,711,339 | -- | -- | 771,159,566 | Outstanding claims | 371,374,069 | 131,241,123 | 22,414,633 | 171,968,783 | 3,045,301 | -- | -- | 700,043,909 | Claims incurred but not reported | 97,191,358 | 36,595,704 | 13,772,772 | 72,290,521 | 100,463,681 | -- | -- | 320,314,036 | Unearned retrocession commission | 8,126,843 | 84,659 | 11,013 | 908,713 | -- | 2,171,079 | -- | 11,302,307 | Accrued expenses and other liabilities | -- | -- | --- | -- | -- | 10,999,262 | 4,342,337 | 15,341,599 | End of service indemnities | -- | -- | --- | -- | -- | 9,057,669 | -- | 9,057,669 | Provision for zakat and tax | -- | -- | --- | -- | -- | -- | 26,665,710 | 26,665,710 | Accrued commission income payable to SAMA | -- | -- | --- | -- | -- | -- | 18,662,243 | 18,662,243 | TOTAL LIABILITIES | 750,558,725 | 291,807,528 | 80,613,389 | 454,592,240 | 290,843,002 | 67,886,812 | 49,670,290 | 1,985,971,986 |
15 SEGMENTAL INFORMATION (CONTINUED)
15.2Geographical segments (continued)
| Kingdom of Saudi Arabia SR | Other Middle Eastern Countries SR | Africa SR |
Asia SR |
Other territories SR |
Unallocated SR | Shareholders SR |
Total SR | As at 31 December 2019 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| ASSETS |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Bank balances and cash | 5,300,551 | -- | -- | 760,772 | -- | -- | 7,107,736 | 13,169,059 | Time deposits | 78,881,124 | -- | -- | 59,314,238 | -- | -- | 239,835,817 | 378,031,179 | Accrued special commission income from time deposits | 863,471 | -- | -- | 864,559 | -- | -- | 6,246,374 | 7,974,404 | Premium receivables, net | 112,557,458 | 45,533,263 | 23,783,305 | 53,855,741 | (3,313,544) | 976,153 | -- | 233,392,376 | Investments held at fair value through income statement | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 40,877,141 | 376,970,680 | 417,847,821 | Held-To-Maturity investment | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 37,500,000 | 37,500,000 | Accrued reinsurance premiums | 136,607,255 | 52,954,230 | 28,976,678 | 113,640,819 | 134,891,884 | -- | -- | 467,070,866 | Retroceded share of unearned premiums | 41,115,249 | 126,581 | 1,298 | 9,593,658 | -- | -- | -- | 50,836,786 | Deferred excess of loss premiums | 10,684,229 | 1,059,334 | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 11,743,563 | Retroceded share of outstanding claims | 244,360,997 | 20,333,649 | 1,582,715 | 16,441,410 | -- | -- | -- | 282,718,771 | Retroceded share of claims incurred but not reported | 23,801,093 | 916,722 | 204,631 | 9,842,863 | 46,766 | -- | -- | 34,812,075 | Deferred policy acquisition costs | 30,013,241 | 13,651,794 | 5,381,604 | 25,344,262 | 31,888,200 | -- | -- | 106,279,101 | Prepaid expenses, deposits and other assets | 15,058,631 | -- | -- | 155,394 | -- | 156,690,309 | 72,735,564 | 244,639,898 | Property and equipment, net | 2,472,186 | -- | -- | 1,469,136 | -- | -- | 29,634,206 | 33,575,528 | Accrued special commission income from bonds and sukuk | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 2,793,154 | 2,793,154 | Investment in an equity accounted investee | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 101,445,631 | 101,445,631 | Statutory deposit | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 121,500,000 | 121,500,000 | Accrued income on statutory deposit | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 17,992,463 | 17,992,463 | TOTAL ASSETS | 701,715,485 | 134,575,573 | 59,930,231 | 291,282,852 | 163,513,306 | 198,543,603 | 1,013,761,625 | 2,563,322,675 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| LIABILITIES |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Accounts payable | 12,420,446 | 11,542,237 | 2,519,498 | 8,790,765 | 2,087,962 | 2,567,737 | -- | 39,928,645 | Retrocession balances payable | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 46,173,239 | -- | 46,173,239 | Accrued retroceded premiums | 533,382 | (1,124,041) | (311,533) | 7,243,582 | -- | 15,400,422 | -- | 21,741,812 | Unearned premiums | 157,880,145 | 46,341,278 | 18,504,245 | 97,806,899 | 81,465,025 | -- | -- | 401,997,592 | Outstanding claims | 402,401,571 | 136,453,774 | 22,019,223 | 173,189,167 | 3,165,537 | -- | -- | 737,229,272 | Claims incurred but not reported | 121,578,164 | 44,964,529 | 18,261,640 | 80,004,135 | 90,446,478 | -- | -- | 355,254,946 | Unearned retrocession commission | 6,404,367 | 24,928 | 302 | 1,966,475 | -- | -- | -- | 8,396,072 | Accrued expenses and other liabilities | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 15,509,872 | 3,910,916 | 19,420,788 | Employees’ end of service benefits | 8,828,705 | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 8,828,705 | Provision for zakat and tax | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 23,742,062 | 23,742,062 | Accrued commission income payable to SAMA | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | 17,992,463 | 17,992,463 | TOTAL LIABILITIES |
710,046,780 | 238,202,705 | 60,993,375 | 369,001,023 | 177,165,002 | 79,651,270 | 45,645,441 |
1,680,705,596 |
SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION
Interim condensed statement of financial position
| 31 March 2020 (Unaudited) | 31 December 2019 (Audited) |
| Reinsurance operations | Shareholders’ operations | Total | Reinsurance operations | Shareholders’ operations | Total | ASSETS |
|
|
|
|
|
| Bank balances and cash | 20,860,595 | 7,374,352 | 28,234,947 | 6,061,323 | 7,107,736 | 13,169,059 | Time deposits | 125,553,834 | 228,805,317 | 354,359,151 | 138,195,362 | 239,835,817 | 378,031,179 | Accrued special commission income from time deposits | 2,723,174 | 4,606,213 | 7,329,387 | 1,728,030 | 6,246,374 | 7,974,404 | Premium receivables, net | 262,550,902 | -- | 262,550,902 | 233,392,376 | -- | 233,392,376 | Investments held at fair value through income statement | 35,841,624 | 393,390,567 | 429,232,191 | 40,877,141 | 376,970,680 | 417,847,821 | Held-to-maturity investments | -- | 37,500,000 | 37,500,000 | -- | 37,500,000 | 37,500,000 | Accrued reinsurance premiums | 675,607,280 | -- | 675,607,280 | 467,070,866 | -- | 467,070,866 | Retroceded share of unearned premiums | 53,419,597 | -- | 53,419,597 | 50,836,786 | -- | 50,836,786 | Deferred excess of loss premiums | 6,483,884 | -- | 6,483,884 | 11,743,563 | -- | 11,743,563 | Retroceded share of outstanding claims | 244,018,058 | -- | 244,018,058 | 282,718,771 | -- | 282,718,771 | Retroceded share of claims incurred but not reported | 30,031,529 | -- | 30,031,529 | 34,812,075 | -- | 34,812,075 | Deferred policy acquisition costs | 218,491,124 | -- | 218,491,124 | 106,279,101 | -- | 106,279,101 | Prepaid expenses, deposits and other assets | 174,348,501 | 73,574,978 | 247,923,479 | 171,904,334 |
72,735,564 | 244,639,898 | Property and equipment, net | 4,271,810 | 29,436,486 | 33,708,296 | 3,941,322 | 29,634,206 | 33,575,528 | Accrued special commission income from bonds and sukuk | -- | 2,195,415 | 2,195,415 |
-- |
2,793,154 | 2,793,154 | Investment in an equity accounted investee | -- | 104,501,460 | 104,501,460 | -- | 101,445,631 | 101,445,631 | Statutory deposit | -- | 121,500,000 | 121,500,000 | -- | 121,500,000 | 121,500,000 | Accrued income on statutory deposit | -- | 18,662,243 | 18,662,243 | -- | 17,992,463 | 17,992,463 | Due from shareholders’ operations* | 88,121,876 | -- | 88,121,876 | 90,986,728 | -- | 90,986,728 | TOTAL ASSETS | 1,942,323,788 | 1,021,547,031 | 2,963,870,819 | 1,640,547,778 | 1,013,761,625 | 2,654,309,403 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| LIABILITIES |
|
|
|
|
|
| Accounts payable | 46,093,721 | -- | 46,093,721 | 39,928,645 | -- | 39,928,645 | Retrocession balances payable | 33,222,641 | -- | 33,222,641 | 46,173,239 | -- | 46,173,239 | Accrued retroceded premiums | 34,108,585 | -- | 34,108,585 | 21,741,812 | -- | 21,741,812 | Unearned premiums | 771,159,566 | -- | 771,159,566 | 401,997,592 | -- | 401,997,592 | Outstanding claims | 700,043,909 | -- | 700,043,909 | 737,229,272 | -- | 737,229,272 | Claims incurred but not reported | 320,314,036 | -- | 320,314,036 | 355,254,946 | -- | 355,254,946 | Unearned retrocession commission | 11,302,307 | -- | 11,302,307 | 8,396,072 | -- | 8,396,072 | Accrued expenses and other liabilities | 10,999,262 | 4,342,337 | 15,341,599 | 15,509,872 | 3,910,916 | 19,420,788 | End of service indemnities | 9,057,669 | -- | 9,057,669 | 8,828,705 | -- | 8,828,705 | Accumulated surplus | 8,080,609 | -- | 8,080,609 | 7,546,140 | -- | 7,546,140 | Provision for zakat and tax | -- | 26,665,710 | 26,665,710 | -- | 23,742,062 | 23,742,062 | Accrued commission income payable to SAMA | -- | 18,662,243 | 18,662,243 | -- | 17,992,463 | 17,992,463 | Due to reinsurance operations* | -- | 88,121,876 | 88,121,876 | -- | 90,986,728 | 90,986,728 | TOTAL LIABILITIES | 1,944,382,305 | 137,792,166 | 2,082,174,471 | 1,642,606,295 | 136,632,169 | 1,779,238,464 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| EQUITY |
|
|
|
|
|
| Share capital | -- | 810,000,000 | 810,000,000 | -- | 810,000,000 | 810,000,000 | Statutory reserve | -- | 17,904,115 | 17,904,115 | -- | 17,904,115 | 17,904,115 | Other reserves | (2,058,517) | (628,900) | (2,687,417) | (2,058,517) | 111,925 | (1,946,592) | Retained earnings | -- | 56,479,650 | 56,479,650 | -- | 49,113,416 | 49,113,416 | TOTAL EQUITY | (2,058,517) | 883,754,865 | 881,696,348 | (2,058,517) | 877,129,456 | 875,070,939 | TOTAL LIABILITIES AND EQUITY | 1,942,323,788 | 1,021,547,031 | 2,963,870,819 | 1,640,547,778 | 1,013,761,625 | 2,654,309,403 |
SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION (CONTINUED)
Interim condensed statement of income
| For the three month period ended 30 March 2020 (Unaudited) | For the three month period ended 31 March 2019 (Unaudited) (Restated) |
| Reinsurance operations | Shareholders’ operations | Total | Reinsurance operations | Shareholders’ operations | Total | REVENUES |
|
|
|
|
|
| Gross written premiums | 527,717,654 | -- | 527,717,654 | 424,320,562 | -- | 424,320,562 | Retroceded premiums |
|
|
|
|
|
| | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | | (30,857,189) | -- | (30,857,189) | (13,437,784) | -- | (13,437,784) | Excess of loss expenses |
|
|
|
|
|
| | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | | (7,537,856) | -- | (7,537,856) | (8,186,245) | -- | (8,186,245) | Net written premiums | 489,322,609 | -- | 489,322,609 | 402,696,533 | -- | 402,696,533 | Changes in unearned premiums, net | (366,579,163) | -- | (366,579,163) | (228,502,771) | -- | (228,502,771) | Net earned premiums | 122,743,446 | -- | 122,743,446 | 174,193,762 | -- | 174,193,762 | Retrocession commissions | 2,029,594 | -- | 2,029,594 | 3,681,991 | -- | 3,681,991 | TOTAL REVENUES | 124,773,040 | -- | 124,773,040 | 177,875,753 | -- | 177,875,753 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| UNDERWRITING COSTS AND EXPENSES |
|
|
|
|
|
| Gross claims paid | (112,889,614) | -- | (112,889,614) | (108,584,886) | -- | (108,584,886) | Retroceded share of claims paid | 25,781,339 | -- | 25,781,339 | 27,339,389 | -- | 27,339,389 | Net claims paid | (87,108,275) | -- | (87,108,275) | (81,245,497) | -- | (81,245,497) | Changes in outstanding claims, net | (1,515,349) | -- | (1,515,349) | (11,764,068) | -- | (11,764,068) | Changes in Incurred but not reported claims, net | 30,160,366 | -- | 30,160,366 | (28,269,182) | -- | (28,269,182) | Net claims incurred | (58,463,258) | -- | (58,463,258) | (121,278,747) | -- | (121,278,747) | Policy acquisition costs and profit commissions | (45,405,980) | -- | (45,405,980) | (44,897,210) | -- | (44,897,210) | Other underwriting expenses | (1,342,367) | -- | (1,342,367) | (841,730) | -- | (841,730) | TOTAL UNDERWRITING COSTS AND EXPENSES | (105,211,605) | -- | (105,211,605) | (167,017,687) | -- | (167,017,687) | NET UNDERWRITING INCOME | 19,561,435 | -- | 19,561,435 | 10,858,066 | -- | 10,858,066 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| OTHER OPERATING (EXPENSES)/ INCOME |
|
|
|
|
|
| Special commission income from time deposits | 1,586,403 | 2,129,560 | 3,715,963 | 1,771,760 | 1,976,668 | 3,748,428 | Realized gains on investments held at fair value through income statement | 94,327 | 667,121 | 761,448 | 193,267 | 615,241 | 808,508 | Unrealized gains / (losses) on investments held at fair value through income statement | 120,156 | (316,239) | (196,083) | 9,866 | 18,056,843 | 18,066,709 | Special commission income from bonds and sukuk | -- | 1,116,003 | 1,116,003 | -- | 801,048 | 801,048 | Dividend income | -- | -- | -- | -- | 172,839 | 172,839 | Share of profit of equity accounted investee | -- | 3,796,654 | 3,796,654 | -- | 1,501,178 | 1,501,178 | Investment management expenses | (23,149) | (225,510) | (248,659) | (47,327) | (293,131) | (340,458) | Net investment income | 1,777,737 | 7,167,589 | 8,945,326 | 1,927,566 | 22,830,686 | 24,758,252 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Other income | -- | 325,553 | 325,553 | -- | 246,481 | 246,481 | (Charge) / reversal of provision for doubtful debts | (457,676) | -- | (457,676) | 836,460 | -- | 836,460 | General and administrative expenses | (10,589,663) | (1,463,358) | (12,053,021) | (9,833,251) | (1,553,421) | (11,386,672) | Board of directors’ remunerations, meetings fees and expenses | -- | (550,121) | (550,121) |
| (579,188) | (579,188) | Foreign exchange translation losses | (4,947,145) | -- | (4,947,145) | 527,519 | -- | 527,519 | Total income for the period before zakat and tax | 5,344,688 | 5,479,663 | 10,824,351 | 4,316,360 | 20,944,558 | 25,260,918 | Transfer of surplus to shareholders’ operations | (4,810,219) | 4,810,219 | -- | (3,884,724) | 3,884,724 | -- | Net income for the period before zakat and tax | 534,469 | 10,289,882 | 10,824,351 | 431,636 | 24,829,282 | 25,260,918 | Zakat and tax charge for the period | -- | (2,923,648) | (2,923,648) | -- | (3,394,189) | (3,394,189) | Net income for the period after zakat and tax and shareholders’ appropriations | 534,469 | 7,366,234 | 7,900,703 | 431,636 | 21,435,093 | 21,866,729 |
16 SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION (CONTINUED)
Interim condensed statement of comprehensive income
| For the three month period ended 31 March 2020 (Unaudited) | For the three month period ended 31 March 2019 (Unaudited) (Restated) |
| Reinsurance operations | Shareholders’ operations | Total | Reinsurance operations | Shareholders’ operations | Total | Net income for the period after zakat and tax | 534,469 | 7,366,234 | 7,900,703 | 431,636 | 21,435,093 | 21,866,729 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Other comprehensive income |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Items that will not be reclassified to income statement subsequently |
|
|
|
|
|
| Re-measurement of employee' end of service benefit obligations actuarial loss | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Items that may be classified to income statement subsequently |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Share of foreign currency translation reserve an equity accounted investee | -- | (740,825) | (740,825) | -- | 120,111 | 120,111 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Total comprehensive income for the period | 534,469 | 6,625,409 | 7,159,878 | 431,636 | 21,555,204 | 21,986,840 |
Reconciliation: Less: Net income attributable to reinsurance operations transferred to surplus payable |
|
| (534,469) |
|
| (431,636) | Total comprehensive income for the period |
|
| 6,625,409 |
|
| 21,555,204 |
SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION (CONTINUED)
Interim condensed statement of cash flows
| Reinsurance operations | Shareholders’ operations | Total | Reinsurance operations | Shareholders’ operations | Total | |
| For the three month period ended 31 March 2020 (Unaudited) | For the three month period ended 31 March 2019 (Unaudited) |
OPERATING ACTIVITIES |
|
|
|
|
|
| Total income for the period before zakat and tax | 534,469 | 10,289,882 | 10,824,351 | 431,636 | 24,829,282 | 25,260,918 | Adjustments to reconcile net income for the period to net cash from operating activities: |
|
|
|
|
|
| Employees’ end of service benefits | 799,550 | -- | 799,550 | 325,843 | -- | 325,843 | Depreciation of property and equipment | 358,326 | 197,720 | 556,046 | 205,420 | 206,698 | 412,118 | Realized gains on investments held at fair value through income statement | (94,327) | (667,121) | (761,448) | (193,267) | (615,241) | (808,508) | Unrealized (gains) / loss on investments held at fair value through income statement | (120,156) | 316,239 | 196,083 | (9,866) | (18,056,843) | (18,066,709) | Share of profit of an equity accounted investee | -- | (3,796,654) | (3,796,654) |
| (1,501,178) | (1,501,178) | Charge / (Reversal) of provision for doubtful receivable | 457,676 | -- | 457,676 | (836,460) | -- | (836,460) | Operating income / (loss) before changes in operating assets and liabilities | 1,935,538 | 6,340,066 | 8,275,604 | (76,694) | 4,862,718 | 4,786,024 | Changes in operating assets and liabilities: |
|
|
|
|
|
| Premiums receivable, gross | (29,616,202) | -- | (29,616,202) | (10,966,392) | -- | (10,966,392) | Accrued reinsurance premiums | (208,536,414) | -- | (208,536,414) | (201,024,634) | -- | (201,024,634) | Retroceded share of unearned premiums | (2,582,811) | -- | (2,582,811) | 4,863,992 | -- | 4,863,992 | Unearned premiums | 369,161,974 | -- | 369,161,974 | 223,638,779 | -- | 223,638,779 | Retroceded share of outstanding claims | 38,700,713 | -- | 38,700,713 | (25,256,065) | -- | (25,256,065) | Retroceded share of claims incurred but not reported | 4,780,546 | -- | 4,780,546 | 25,016,062 | -- | 25,016,062 | Deferred acquisition costs | (112,212,023) | -- | (112,212,023) | (58,617,312) | -- | (58,617,312) | Deferred excess of loss premiums | 5,259,679 | -- | 5,259,679 | 5,280,815 | -- | 5,280,815 | Prepaid expenses, deposits and other assets | (2,444,167) | (839,414) | (3,283,581) | (1,438,754) | 36 | (1,438,718) | Accounts payable | 6,165,076 | -- | 6,165,076 | 8,159,094 | -- | 8,159,094 | Retrocession balances payable | (12,950,598) | -- | (12,950,598) | (16,097,886) | -- | (16,097,886) | Accrued retroceded premiums | 12,366,773 | -- | 12,366,773 | 5,449,471 | -- | 5,449,471 | Outstanding claims | (37,185,363) | -- | (37,185,363) | 37,020,137 | -- | 37,020,137 | Claims incurred but not reported | (34,940,910) | -- | (34,940,910) | 3,253,119 | -- | 3,253,119 | Unearned commission income | 2,906,235 | -- | 2,906,235 | (468,246) | -- | (468,246) | Accrued expenses and other liabilities | (4,510,610) | 431,421 | (4,079,189) | 2,043,009 | (453,181) | 1,589,828 | Cash (used in) / generated from operating activities | (3,702,564) | 5,932,073 | 2,229,509 | 778,495 | 4,409,573 | 5,188,068 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Zakat and income tax paid | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | -- | Employees’ end of service benefits paid | (570,586) | -- | (570,586) | (63,054) | -- | (63,054) | Net cash (used in) / generated from operating activities | (4,273,150) | 5,932,073 | 1,658,923 | 715,441 | 4,409,573 | 5,125,014 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
16 SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION (CONTINUED) Interim condensed statement of cash flows (continued)
| Reinsurance operations | Shareholders’ operations | Total | Reinsurance operations | Shareholders’ operations | Total |
| For the three month period ended 31 March 2020 (Unaudited) | For the three month period ended 31 March 2019 (Unaudited) |
INVESTING ACTIVITIES |
|
|
|
|
|
| Time deposits | (8,945,347) | (2,047,500) | (10,992,847) | (18,988,398) | (3,612,437) | (22,600,835) | Accrued special commission income on time deposits | (995,144) | 1,640,161 | 645,017 | (800,409) | (403,152) | (1,203,561) | Accrued special commission income from bonds and sukuk | -- | 597,739 | 597,739 | -- | 326,355 | 326,355 | Purchase of property and equipment | (688,814) | -- | (688,814) | (435,537) | -- | (435,537) | Additions in investments held at fair value through income statement | (3,750,000) | (106,069,005) | (109,819,005) | -- | (97,732,000) | (97,732,000) | Proceeds from disposal of investments held at fair value through income statement | 9,000,000 | 90,000,000 | 99,000,000 | 54,204,896 | 218,809,335 | 273,014,231 | Net cash (used in) / generated from investing activities | (5,379,305) | (15,878,605) | (21,257,910) | 33,980,552 | 117,388,101 | 151,368,653 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| FINANCING ACTIVITIES |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Due to / from reinsurance / shareholders’ operations* | 2,864,852 | (2,864,852) | -- | 862,035 | (862,035) | -- |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| (DECREASE) / INCREASE IN CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS | (6,787,603) | (12,811,384) | (19,598,987) | 35,558,028 | 120,935,639 | 156,493,667 | Cash and cash equivalents at the beginning of the period | 27,648,198 | 20,185,736 | 47,833,934 | 72,093,146 | 9,542,390 | 81,635,536 | CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS AT THE END OF THE PERIOD | 20,860,595 | 7,374,352 | 28,234,947 | 107,651,174 | 130,478,029 | 238,129,203 |
* These items are not included in the statement of financial position and the statement of cash flows. | |