| Disclosure of other notes relevant to understanding of financial statements [text block] | | 5 | MURABAHA DEPOSITS | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Murabaha deposits represents deposits with local banks that have investment grade credit ratings and have an original maturity of more than three months from date of acquisition. The deposits earn commission at rate ranging from 2.05% to 3.4% per annum (31 December 2018: 2.05% to 3.4% per annum). | |
|
| 7 | MOVEMENT IN OUTSTANDING CLAIMS, UNEARNED PREMIUMS, UNEARNED REINSURANCE COMMISSION AND DEFERRED POLICY ACQUISITION COSTS | | | a) | Outstanding claims and reserves | | 31 March 2019 (Unaudited) | 31 December 2018 (Audited) | | | | | Gross | Reinsurers' share | Net | Gross | Reinsurers' share | Net | | Outstanding claims and reserves | | 498,694,501 | (392,787,009) | 105,907,492 | 562,818,115 | (406,377,136) | 156,440,979 | | Less: realizable value of salvage and subrogation | | - | - | - | (16,800,343) | - | (16,800,343) | | Outstanding claims and reserves at end of the period/year | | 498,694,501 | (392,787,009) | 105,907,492 | 546,017,772 | (406,377,136) | 139,640,636 | | Claims incurred but not reported at end of the period/year | | 116,157,551 | (41,291,640) | 74,865,911 | 106,490,126 | (30,649,486) | 75,840,640 | | | | | 614,852,052 | (434,078,649) | 180,773,403 | 652,507,898 | (437,026,622) | 215,481,276 | | Claims paid | | 188,301,528 | (23,068,547) | 165,232,981 | 467,719,874 | (60,798,386) | 406,921,488 | | | | | | | | | | | | Outstanding claims and reserves at beginning of the period/year | (546,017,772) | 406,377,136 | (139,640,636) | (392,182,646) | 300,410,645 | (91,772,001) | | Claims incurred but not reported | | (106,490,129) | 30,649,486 | (75,840,643) | (85,492,069) | 29,141,000 | (56,351,069) | | | | | (652,507,901) | 437,026,622 | (215,481,279) | (477,674,715) | 329,551,645 | (148,123,070) | | Claims incurred | | 150,645,679 | (20,120,574) | 130,525,105 | 642,553,057 | (168,273,363) | 474,279,694 | | | | | | | | | | | | b) | Unearned premiums | | 31 March 2019 (Unaudited) | 31 December 2018 (Audited) | | | | | Gross | Reinsurers' share | Net | Gross | Reinsurers' share | Net | | Unearned premiums at beginning of the period/year | 323,999,626 | (46,800,071) | 277,199,555 | 225,617,077 | (32,357,633) | 193,259,444 | | Premiums written during the period/year | | 359,345,715 | (139,550,711) | 219,795,004 | 949,992,803 | (239,889,594) | 710,103,209 | | Excess of loss expenses during the period/year | | - | (3,879,701) | (3,879,701) | - | (23,644,798) | (23,644,798) | | Premiums earned during the period/year | | (223,279,516) | 56,788,830 | (166,490,686) | (851,610,254) | 249,091,954 | (602,518,300) | | Unearned premiums at end of the period/year | | 460,065,825 | (133,441,653) | 326,624,172 | 323,999,626 | (46,800,071) | 277,199,555 | | | | | | | | | | | | c) | Unearned reinsurance commission | | | | | | 31 March | 31 December | | | | | | | | | 2019 | 2018 | | | | | | | | | (Unaudited) | (Audited) | | | | | | | | | | | | Beginning of the period/year | | | | | | 6,915,653 | 8,642,266 | | Commission received during the period/year | | | | | | 10,684,347 | 42,150,011 | | Commission earned during the period/year | | | | | | (5,338,807) | (43,876,624) | | End of the period/year | | | | | | 12,261,193 | 6,915,653 |
| 7 | MOVEMENT IN OUTSTANDING CLAIMS, UNEARNED PREMIUMS, UNEARNED REINSURANCE COMMISSION AND DEFERRED POLICY ACQUISITION COSTS (continued) | | | | | | | | | | d) | Deferred policy acquisition costs | | 31 March | | 31 December | | | | | 2019 | | 2018 | | | | | (Unaudited) | | (Audited) | | | | | | | | | Beginning of the period/year | | 21,311,787 | | 18,725,912 | | Incurred during the period/year | | 26,523,593 | | 67,516,829 | | Amortized during the period/year | | (16,555,274) | | (64,930,954) | | End of the period/year | | 31,280,106 | | 21,311,787 |
| 16 | NET UNDERWRITING INCOME | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Net underwriting surplus as defined by the management of the Company for the period is as follows: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Three-months period ended 31 March | | | | | | | | | | | | | 2019 | | 2018 | | | | | | | | | | | | | (Unaudited) | | (Unaudited) | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Net earned premiums | | | | | | | | 166,490,686 | | 140,841,244 | | Commission income | | | | | | | | 5,338,807 | | 10,486,029 | | Other underwriting income | | | | | | | | 2,662,991 | | 955,385 | | Policy acquisition costs | | | | | | | | (16,555,274) | | (15,449,510) | | Inspection and supervision fees | | | | | | (2,546,320) | | (3,154,850) | | Net claims incurred | | | | | | | | (130,525,105) | | (106,295,592) | | Net underwriting income | | | | | | | | 24,865,785 | | 27,382,706 |
| 18 | SEGMENT INFORMATION | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Consistent with the Company's internal reporting process, operating segments have been approved by management in respect of the Company's activities, assets and liabilities as stated below. Segment results do not include income from investments, income from murabaha deposits, other income, general and administrative expenses, and provision for doubtful debts. | |
|
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Segment assets do not include cash and cash equivalents, murabaha deposits, premiums and reinsurers' receivable - net, available for sale investment, held-to-maturity investment, due from related parties, prepayments and other assets, property and equipment, intangible assets, statutory deposit and accrued income from statutory deposit. Accordingly, they are included in unallocated assets. | |
|
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Segment liabilities do not include accrued and other liabilities, surplus distribution payable, reinsurance balances payable, accounts payable, employees' end-of-service benefits, provision for zakat, accrued commission income payable to SAMA. Accordingly, they are included in unallocated liabilities. All of the Company's operating assets and principal activities are located in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Three-months period ended 31 March 2019 (Unaudited) (SR '000) | | | | | | | | | Property & | | Protection & | | Shareholders'operations | | | | Operating segment | | Medical | | Motor | | casualty | | savings | | | Total | | Revenues | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Gross premiums written | | | | | | | | | | | | | | - Individual | | | 107 | | 70,777 | | 1,177 | | - | | - | | 72,061 | | - Micro enterprise | | 2,140 | | 2,387 | | 4,365 | | - | | - | | 8,892 | | - Small enterprises | | 14,993 | | 5,758 | | 1,727 | | - | | - | | 22,478 | | - Medium enterprises | | 42,069 | | 19,294 | | 10,923 | | - | | - | | 72,286 | | - Large enterprise | | 35,135 | | 12,221 | | 136,273 | | - | | - | | 183,629 | | | | | 94,444 | | 110,437 | | 154,465 | | - | | - | | 359,346 | | Reinsurance premiums ceded | | | | | | | | | | | | | | - Local | | | - | | (743) | | (37,545) | | - | | - | | (38,288) | | - International (includes premium ceded through local broker) | - | | (6,887) | | (94,376) | | - | | - | | (101,263) | | | | | - | | (7,630) | | (131,921) | | - | | - | | (139,551) | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Excess of loss expenses | | | | | | | | | | | | | | - Local | | | - | | (145) | | (26) | | - | | - | | (171) | | - International | | (2,245) | | (582) | | (882) | | - | | - | | (3,709) | | | | | (2,245) | | (727) | | (908) | | - | | - | | (3,880) | | Net premiums written | | 92,199 | | 102,080 | | 21,636 | | - | | - | | 215,915 |
| 18 | SEGMENT INFORMATION (continued) | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Three-months period ended 31 March 2019 (Unaudited) (SR '000) | | | | | | | | | Property & | | Protection & | | Shareholders'operations | | | | | | | Medical | | Motor | | casualty | | savings | | | Total | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Net premiums written | | 92,199 | | 102,080 | | 21,636 | | - | | - | | 215,915 | | Movement in unearned premiums, net | | 8,955 | | (44,225) | | (14,155) | | - | | - | | (49,425) | | Net premiums earned | | 101,154 | | 57,855 | | 7,481 | | - | | - | | 166,490 | | Reinsurance commissions | | - | | 717 | | 4,622 | | - | | - | | 5,339 | | Other underwriting income | | - | | 2,663 | | - | | - | | - | | 2,663 | | Net revenues | | 101,154 | | 61,235 | | 12,103 | | - | | - | | 174,492 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Underwriting costs and expenses | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Gross claims paid | | 120,473 | | 46,385 | | 21,444 | | - | | - | | 188,302 | | Reinsurers' share of claims paid | | - | | (3,072) | | (19,997) | | - | | - | | (23,069) | | Net claims paid | | 120,473 | | 43,313 | | 1,447 | | - | | - | | 165,233 | | Movement in outstanding claims, net | | (28,687) | | (7,782) | | 1,761 | | - | | - | | (34,708) | | Net claims incurred | | 91,786 | | 35,531 | | 3,208 | | - | | - | | 130,525 | | Policy acquisition costs | | 5,925 | | 5,468 | | 5,162 | | - | | - | | 16,555 | | Inspection and supervision fees | | 1,413 | | 549 | | 584 | | - | | - | | 2,546 | | Total underwriting costs and expenses | | 99,124 | | 41,548 | | 8,954 | | - | | - | | 149,626 | | Net underwriting income | | 2,030 | | 19,687 | | 3,149 | | - | | - | | 24,866 | | Unallocated revenue | | | | | | | | | | 2,032 | | 7,058 | | Unallocated expenses | | | | | | | | | | (314) | | (28,768) | | Total income for the period | | | | | | | | | | | | 3,156 |
| 18 | SEGMENT INFORMATION (Continued) | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Three-months period ended 31 March 2018 (Unaudited) (SR '000) | | | | | | | | | Property & | | Protection & | | Shareholders'operations | | | | Operating segment | | Medical | | Motor | | casualty | | savings | | | Total | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Revenues | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Gross premiums written | | 145,022 | | 60,865 | | 164,759 | | - | | - | | 370,646 | | Reinsurance premiums ceded | | | | | | - | | | | | | | | - Local | | | - | | - | | (32,597) | | - | | - | | (32,597) | | - International (includes premium ceded through local broker) | - | | (117) | | (118,739) | | - | | - | | (118,856) | | | | | - | | (117) | | (151,336) | | - | | - | | (151,453) | | Excess of loss expenses | | | | | | | | | | | | | | - Local | | | - | | (104) | | (3) | | - | | - | | (107) | | - International | | 5,347 | | (432) | | (760) | | - | | - | | 4,155 | | | | | 5,347 | | (536) | | (763) | | - | | - | | 4,048 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Net premiums written | | 150,369 | | 60,212 | | 12,660 | | - | | - | | 223,241 | | Movement in unearned premiums, net | | (55,501) | | (19,522) | | (7,377) | | - | | - | | (82,400) | | Net premiums earned | | 94,868 | | 40,690 | | 5,283 | | - | | - | | 140,841 | | Reinsurance commissions | | - | | 26 | | 10,460 | | - | | - | | 10,486 | | Other underwriting income | | - | | 955 | | - | | - | | - | | 955 | | Net revenues | | 94,868 | | 41,671 | | 15,743 | | - | | - | | 152,282 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Underwriting costs and expenses | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Gross claims paid | | 56,291 | | 28,401 | | 25,758 | | - | | - | | 110,450 | | Reinsurers' share of claims paid | | - | | (36) | | (25,157) | | - | | - | | (25,193) | | Net claims paid | | 56,291 | | 28,365 | | 601 | | - | | - | | 85,257 | | Movement in outstanding claims, net | | 24,151 | | (1,631) | | (1,483) | | - | | - | | 21,037 | | Net claims incurred | | 80,442 | | 26,734 | | (882) | | - | | - | | 106,294 | | Policy acquisition costs | | 4,826 | | 4,846 | | 5,778 | | - | | - | | 15,450 | | Inspection and supervision fees | | 2,190 | | 304 | | 661 | | | | | | 3,155 | | Total underwriting costs and expenses | | 87,458 | | 31,884 | | 5,557 | | - | | - | | 124,899 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Net underwriting income | | 7,410 | | 9,787 | | 10,186 | | - | | - | | 27,383 | | Unallocated revenue | | | | | | | | | | 1,517 | | 3,564 | | Unallocated expenses | | | | | | | | | | (392) | | (30,913) | | Total income for the period | | | | | | | | | | | | 34 |
| 18 | SEGMENT INFORMATION (Continued) | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | As at 31 March 2019 (Unaudited) (SR '000) | | | | | | | | | Property & | | Protection & | | Shareholders'operations | | | | Operating segment | | Medical | | Motor | | casualty | | savings | | | Total | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Assets | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Reinsurers' share of outstanding claims and reserves | | - | | 19,439 | | 373,348 | | - | | - | | 392,787 | | Reinsurers' share of claims incurred but not reported | | - | | 4,478 | | 36,814 | | - | | - | | 41,292 | | Reinsurers' share of unearned premiums | | - | | 14,728 | | 118,714 | | - | | - | | 133,442 | | Deferred policy acquisition costs | | 8,916 | | 9,966 | | 12,398 | | - | | - | | 31,280 | | Segment assets | | 8,916 | | 48,611 | | 541,274 | | - | | - | | 598,801 | | Unallocated assets | | | | | | | | | | 325,269 | | 1,064,615 | | Total assets | | | | | | | | | | | | | 1,663,416 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Liabilities and equity | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Outstanding claims and reserves | | 57,318 | | 38,397 | | 402,980 | | - | | - | | 498,695 | | Claims incurred but not reported | | 47,772 | | 28,756 | | 39,630 | | - | | - | | 116,158 | | Unearned premiums | | 159,367 | | 161,260 | | 139,439 | | - | | - | | 460,066 | | Unearned reinsurance commission | | - | | 1,518 | | 10,743 | | - | | - | | 12,261 | | Segment liabilities | | 264,457 | | 229,931 | | 592,792 | | - | | - | | 1,087,180 | | Unallocated liabilities and surplus | | | | | | | | | | 14,215 | | 255,933 | | Total equity | | | | | | | | | | | 320,304 | | 320,304 | | Total liabilities and equity | | | | | | | | | | | | 1,663,416 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Unallocated assets at 31 March 2019 consists mainly of murabaha deposits of SR 525 million, premiums and reinsurers' receivable - net of SR 327 million, cash and cash equivalents of SR 116 million, and other assets of SR 96 million. | |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | At 31 March 2019, the total premiums and reinsurers' receivable - net amounting to SR 327 million comprised mainly premiums receivable from Medical clients of SR 130 million while the remaining balance of SR 197 million consisted mainly of receivables from the following lines of business: (a) Motor and (b) Property & casualty. | |
|
| 18 | SEGMENT INFORMATION (Continued) | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | As at 31 December 2018 (Audited) (SR '000) | | | | | | | | | Property & | | Protection & | | Shareholders'operations | | | | Operating segment | | Medical | | Motor | | casualty | | savings | | | Total | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Assets | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Reinsurers' share of outstanding claims and reserves | | - | | 19,288 | | 387,089 | | - | | - | | 406,377 | | Reinsurers' share of claims incurred but not reported | | - | | 2,285 | | 28,364 | | - | | - | | 30,649 | | Reinsurers' share of unearned premiums | | - | | 14,059 | | 32,741 | | - | | - | | 46,800 | | Deferred policy acquisition costs | | 10,469 | | 7,334 | | 3,509 | | - | | - | | 21,312 | | Segment assets | | 10,469 | | 42,966 | | 451,703 | | - | | - | | 505,138 | | Unallocated assets | | | | | | | | | | 323,192 | | 986,840 | | Total assets | | | | | | | | | | | | | 1,491,978 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Liabilities | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Outstanding claims and reserves | | 82,825 | | 47,496 | | 415,697 | | - | | - | | 546,018 | | Claims incurred but not reported | | 50,952 | | 25,096 | | 30,442 | | - | | - | | 106,490 | | Unearned premiums | | 168,322 | | 116,363 | | 39,315 | | - | | - | | 324,000 | | Unearned reinsurance commission | | - | | 1,433 | | 5,483 | | - | | - | | 6,916 | | Segment liabilities | | 302,099 | | 190,388 | | 490,937 | | - | | - | | 983,424 | | Unallocated liabilities and surplus | | | | | | | | | | 11,683 | | 188,000 | | Total equity | | | | | | | | | | | 319,768 | | 320,554 | | Total liabilities | | | | | | | | | | | | 1,491,978 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Unallocated assets at 31 December 2018 consist mainly of murabaha deposits SR 454 million, premiums and reinsurers' receivable - SR 258 million, cash and cash equivalents SR 176 million and other assets SR 99 million. | |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | At 31 December 2018, the total premiums and reinsurance balances receivable amounting to SR 258 million comprised mainly of premiums receivable from Medical clients SR 99 million while the remaining balance SR 159 million consisted mainly of receivables from the following lines of business: (a) Motor and (b) Property & casualty. | |
|
| 19 | SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | 19.1 | Interim condensed statement of financial position | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Insurance Operations | | Shareholders' Operations | | Total | | | | | | | 31 March | | 31 December | | 31 March | | 31 December | | 31 March | | 31 December | | | | | | 2019 | | 2018 | | 2019 | | 2018 | | 2019 | | 2018 | | | | | | | (Unaudited) | | (Audited) | | (Unaudited) | | (Audited) | | (Unaudited) | | (Audited) | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | ASSETS | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Cash and cash equivalents | | | 112,134,135 | | 171,226,879 | | 4,357,052 | | 4,701,333 | | 116,491,187 | | 175,928,212 | | Murabaha deposits | | | | 239,217,160 | | 168,805,161 | | 285,671,073 | | 285,088,564 | | 524,888,233 | | 453,893,725 | | Premiums and reinsurers' receivable - net | | 327,146,048 | | 258,113,416 | | - | | - | | 327,146,048 | | 258,113,416 | | Reinsurers' share of unearned premiums | | 133,441,653 | | 46,800,071 | | - | | - | | 133,441,653 | | 46,800,071 | | Reinsurers' share of outstanding claims and reserves | | 392,787,009 | | 406,377,136 | | - | | - | | 392,787,009 | | 406,377,136 | | Reinsurers' share of claims incurred but not reported | | 41,291,640 | | 30,649,486 | | - | | - | | 41,291,640 | | 30,649,486 | | Deferred policy acquisition costs | | | 31,280,106 | | 21,311,787 | | - | | - | | 31,280,106 | | 21,311,787 | | Deferred excess of loss premiums | | | 2,638,375 | | 464,904 | | - | | - | | 2,638,375 | | 464,904 | | Available for sale investment | | | 1,923,080 | | 7,399,990 | | - | | - | | 1,923,080 | | 7,399,990 | | Held-to-maturity investment | | | 10,000,000 | | 10,000,000 | | - | | - | | 10,000,000 | | 10,000,000 | | Prepayments and other assets | | | 36,881,084 | | 37,825,276 | | 3,427,999 | | 1,752,874 | | 40,309,083 | | 39,578,150 | | Property and equipment | | | | 6,536,420 | | 6,576,102 | | - | | - | | 6,536,420 | | 6,576,102 | | Intangible assets | | | | 2,871,079 | | 3,235,282 | | - | | - | | 2,871,079 | | 3,235,282 | | Statutory deposit | | | | - | | - | | 30,000,000 | | 30,000,000 | | 30,000,000 | | 30,000,000 | | Accrued income from statutory deposit | | - | | - | | 1,812,552 | | 1,649,511 | | 1,812,552 | | 1,649,511 | | TOTAL ASSETS | | | | 1,338,147,789 | | 1,168,785,490 | | 325,268,676 | | 323,192,282 | | 1,663,416,465 | | 1,491,977,772 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Above stated assets do not include "Due from insurance operations" amounting to SR 9,249,503 (31 December 2018: 9,044,027) to be consistent with total assets presented in the statement of financial position. | |
| 19 | SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION (continued) | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | 19.1 | Interim condensed statement of financial position (continued) | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Insurance Operations | | Shareholders' Operations | | Total | | | | | | | 31 March | | 31 December | | 31 March | | 31 December | | 31 March | | 31 December | | | | | 2019 | | 2018 | | 2019 | | 2018 | | 2019 | | 2018 | | | | | | | (Unaudited) | | (Audited) | | (Unaudited) | | (Audited) | | (Unaudited) | | (Audited) | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | LIABILITIES | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Policyholders claims payable | | | 26,321,300 | | 31,048,352 | | - | | - | | 26,321,300 | | 31,048,352 | | Accrued and other liabilities | | | 77,971,521 | | 67,671,620 | | - | | - | | 77,971,521 | | 67,671,620 | | Surplus distribution payable | | | 3,365,007 | | 7,729,845 | | - | | - | | 3,365,007 | | 7,729,845 | | Reinsurance balances payable | | | 118,705,020 | | 54,992,469 | | - | | - | | 118,705,020 | | 54,992,469 | | Unearned premiums | | | | 460,065,825 | | 323,999,626 | | - | | - | | 460,065,825 | | 323,999,626 | | Unearned reinsurance commission | | | 12,261,193 | | 6,915,653 | | - | | - | | 12,261,193 | | 6,915,653 | | Outstanding claims and reserves | | | 498,694,501 | | 546,017,772 | | - | | - | | 498,694,501 | | 546,017,772 | | Claims incurred but not reported | | | 116,157,551 | | 106,490,126 | | - | | - | | 116,157,551 | | 106,490,126 | | Accounts payable | | | | - | | - | | 1,222,134 | | 1,325,503 | | 1,222,134 | | 1,325,503 | | Employees' end-of-service benefits | | | 15,356,368 | | 14,876,000 | | - | | - | | 15,356,368 | | 14,876,000 | | Provision for zakat | | | | - | | - | | 11,179,880 | | 8,707,630 | | 11,179,880 | | 8,707,630 | | Accrued commission income payable to SAMA | | - | | - | | 1,812,552 | | 1,649,511 | | 1,812,552 | | 1,649,511 | | TOTAL LIABILITIES | | | | 1,328,898,286 | | 1,159,741,463 | | 14,214,566 | | 11,682,644 | | 1,343,112,852 | | 1,171,424,107 | | EQUITY | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Share capital | | | | - | | - | | 300,000,000 | | 300,000,000 | | 300,000,000 | | 300,000,000 | | Statutory reserve | | | | - | | - | | 20,008,901 | | 20,008,901 | | 20,008,901 | | 20,008,901 | | Retained earnings/(accumulated losses) | | - | | - | | 298,382 | | (241,220) | | 298,382 | | (241,220) | | Fair value reserve for available-for-sale investment | | - | | - | | - | | 789,654 | | - | | 789,654 | | Re-measurement reserve of end-of-service benefits | | - | | - | | (3,670) | | (3,670) | | (3,670) | | (3,670) | | TOTAL EQUITY | | | | - | | - | | 320,303,613 | | 320,553,665 | | 320,303,613 | | 320,553,665 | | TOTAL LIABILITIES AND SHAREHOLDERS’ EQUITY | | 1,328,898,286 | | 1,159,741,463 | | 334,518,179 | | 332,236,309 | | 1,663,416,465 | | 1,491,977,772 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Above stated liabilities do not include "Due to shareholders' operations" amounting to SR 9,249,503 (31 December 2018: 9,044,027) to be consistent with total liabilities presented in the statement of financial position. |
| 19 | SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION (continued) | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | 19.2 | Interim condensed statement of income | | | Three-months period ended 31 March (Unaudited) (SR '000) | | | | | | | Insurance Operations | | Shareholders' Operations | | Total | | | | | | | 2019 | | 2018 | | 2019 | | 2018 | | 2019 | | 2018 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | REVENUES | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Gross premiums written | | | | 359,345,715 | | 370,645,921 | | - | | - | | 359,345,715 | | 370,645,921 | | Reinsurance premiums ceded | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | - Local | | | | | (38,287,611) | | (32,596,922) | | - | | - | | (38,287,611) | | (32,596,922) | | - International (includes premium ceded through local broker) | | (101,263,100) | | (118,855,932) | | - | | - | | (101,263,100) | | (118,855,932) | | | | | | | (139,550,711) | | (151,452,854) | | - | | - | | (139,550,711) | | (151,452,854) | | Excess of loss/ stop loss expenses | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | - Local | | | | | (171,477) | | (107,251) | | - | | - | | (171,477) | | (107,251) | | - International | | | | | (3,708,224) | | 4,155,415 | | - | | - | | (3,708,224) | | 4,155,415 | | | | | | | (3,879,701) | | 4,048,164 | | - | | - | | (3,879,701) | | 4,048,164 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Net premiums written | | | | 215,915,303 | | 223,241,231 | | - | | - | | 215,915,303 | | 223,241,231 | | Movement in unearned premiums, net | | | (49,424,617) | | (82,399,987) | | - | | - | | (49,424,617) | | (82,399,987) | | Net premiums earned | | | | 166,490,686 | | 140,841,244 | | - | | - | | 166,490,686 | | 140,841,244 | | Reinsurance commissions | | | | 5,338,807 | | 10,486,029 | | - | | - | | 5,338,807 | | 10,486,029 | | Other underwriting income | | | | 2,662,991 | | 955,385 | | - | | - | | 2,662,991 | | 955,385 | | NET REVENUES | | | | | 174,492,484 | | 152,282,658 | | - | | - | | 174,492,484 | | 152,282,658 | | UNDERWRITING COSTS AND EXPENSES | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Gross claims paid | | | | | 188,301,528 | | 110,450,472 | | - | | - | | 188,301,528 | | 110,450,472 | | Reinsurers' share of claims paid | | | (23,068,547) | | (25,193,319) | | - | | - | | (23,068,547) | | (25,193,319) | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | - | | - | | Net claims paid | | | | | 165,232,981 | | 85,257,153 | | - | | - | | 165,232,981 | | 85,257,153 | | Movement in outstanding claims, net | | | (34,707,876) | | 21,038,439 | | - | | - | | (34,707,876) | | 21,038,439 | | Net claims incurred | | | | 130,525,105 | | 106,295,592 | | - | | - | | 130,525,105 | | 106,295,592 | | Policy acquisition costs | | | | 16,555,274 | | 15,449,510 | | - | | - | | 16,555,274 | | 15,449,510 | | Inspection and supervision fees | | | 2,546,320 | | 3,154,850 | | - | | - | | 2,546,320 | | 3,154,850 | | TOTAL UNDERWRITING COSTS AND EXPENSES | | 149,626,699 | | 124,899,952 | | - | | - | | 149,626,699 | | 124,899,952 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | NET UNDERWRITING INCOME | | | 24,865,785 | | 27,382,706 | | - | | - | | 24,865,785 | | 27,382,706 |
| 19 | SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION (continued) | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | 19.2 | Interim condensed statement of income (continued) | | Three-months period ended 31 March (Unaudited) (SR '000) | | | | | | | Insurance Operations | | Shareholders' Operations | | Total | | | | | | | 2019 | | 2018 | | 2019 | | 2018 | | 2019 | | 2018 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | OTHER INCOME/(EXPENSES) | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Income from investments | | | | 1,398,439 | | 975,882 | | - | | - | | 1,398,439 | | 975,882 | | Income from murabaha deposits | | | 1,362,034 | | 833,400 | | 2,032,284 | | 1,516,673 | | 3,394,318 | | 2,350,073 | | Other income | | | | | 2,265,362 | | 238,334 | | - | | - | | 2,265,362 | | 238,334 | | General and administrative expenses | | | (28,223,984) | | (30,492,706) | | (314,435) | | (391,951) | | (28,538,419) | | (30,884,657) | | Provision for doubtful debts | | | | (229,855) | | (28,471) | | - | | - | | (229,855) | | (28,471) | | TOTAL OTHER INCOME/(EXPENSES) | | | (23,428,004) | | (28,473,561) | | 1,717,849 | | 1,124,722 | | (21,710,155) | | (27,348,839) | | Total income for the period | | | | 1,437,781 | | (1,090,855) | | 1,717,849 | | 1,124,722 | | 3,155,630 | | 33,867 | | Total income attributed to shareholders | | | (1,294,003) | | 1,090,855 | | 1,294,003 | | (1,090,855) | | - | | - | | Total income for the period | | | | 143,778 | | - | | 3,011,852 | | 33,867 | | 3,155,630 | | 33,867 |
| 19 | SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION (continued) | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | 19.3 | Interim condensed statement of comprehensive income | | Three-months period ended 31 March 2019 (Unaudited) (SR '000) | | | | | | | | Note | Insurance Operations | | Shareholders' Operations | | Total | | | | | | | | | 2019 | | 2018 | | 2019 | | 2018 | | 2019 | | 2018 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Total income for the period | | | | | 143,778 | | - | | 3,011,852 | | 33,867 | | 3,155,630 | | 33,867 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Other comprehensive income / (loss) : | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Items that may be reclassified to statement of insurance | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | operations' surplus in subsequent periods: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | - Change in fair value of available-for-sale investments, net | | - | - | | (364,345) | | - | | - | | - | | (364,345) | | - Transfer of fair value reserve on disposal of available-for-sale investment | - | (789,654) | | - | | - | | - | | (789,654) | | - | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Total comprehensive income for the period | | | | (645,876) | | (364,345) | | 3,011,852 | | 33,867 | | 2,365,976 | | (330,478) |
| 19 | SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION (continued) | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | 19.4 | Interim condensed statement of cash flows | | Three-months period ended 31 March 2019 (Unaudited) (SR '000) | | | | | | | | | Insurance Operations | | Shareholders' Operations | | Total | | | | | | | | Note | 2019 | | 2018 | | 2019 | | 2018 | | 2019 | | 2018 | | CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Total income for the period before zakat | | | 1,437,781 | | (1,090,855) | | 1,717,849 | | 1,124,722 | | 3,155,630 | | 33,867 | | Adjustments for non-cash items: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Depreciation of property and equipment | | | 556,416 | | 561,545 | | - | | - | | 556,416 | | 561,545 | | Amortization of intangible assets | | | 381,818 | | 475,914 | | - | | - | | 381,818 | | 475,914 | | Provision for doubtful debts | | 6 | (229,855) | | 28,471 | | - | | - | | (229,855) | | 28,471 | | Provision for employees' end-of-service benefits | | 541,667 | | 750,000 | | - | | - | | 541,667 | | 750,000 | | Gain on disposal of available-for-sale investment | 8a | (1,269,597) | | (838,567) | | - | | - | | (1,269,597) | | (838,567) | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Changes in operating assets and liabilities: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Premiums and reinsurers' receivable | | | (68,802,777) | | (107,020,206) | | - | | - | | (68,802,777) | | (107,020,206) | | Reinsurers' share of unearned premiums | | | (86,641,582) | | (96,717,862) | | - | | - | | (86,641,582) | | (96,717,862) | | Reinsurers' share of outstanding claims and reserves | | 13,590,127 | | 6,108,115 | | - | | - | | 13,590,127 | | 6,108,115 | | Reinsurers' share of claims incurred but not reported | | (10,642,154) | | (544,552) | | - | | - | | (10,642,154) | | (544,552) | | Deferred policy acquisition costs | | | (9,968,319) | | (13,607,112) | | - | | - | | (9,968,319) | | (13,607,112) | | Deferred excess of loss premiums | | | (2,173,471) | | (1,241,601) | | - | | - | | (2,173,471) | | (1,241,601) | | Prepayments and other assets | | | 944,192 | | 9,184,730 | | (1,675,125) | | (1,176,072) | | (730,933) | | 8,008,658 | | Policyholders claims payable | | | (4,727,052) | | (3,522,468) | | - | | - | | (4,727,052) | | (3,522,468) | | Accrued and other liabilities | | | 10,299,901 | | (4,306,376) | | - | | - | | 10,299,901 | | (4,306,376) | | Reinsurance balances payable | | | 63,712,551 | | 3,644,258 | | - | | - | | 63,712,551 | | 3,644,258 | | Unearned premiums | | | 136,066,199 | | 179,117,849 | | - | | - | | 136,066,199 | | 179,117,849 | | Unearned reinsurance commission | | | 5,345,540 | | 14,445,460 | | - | | - | | 5,345,540 | | 14,445,460 | | Outstanding claims and reserves | | | (47,323,271) | | 11,579,114 | | - | | - | | (47,323,271) | | 11,579,114 | | Claims incurred but not reported | | | 9,667,425 | | 3,895,763 | | - | | - | | 9,667,425 | | 3,895,763 | | Accounts payable | | | | - | | - | | (103,369) | | 241,500 | | (103,369) | | 241,500 | | Cash from (used in) operating activities | | | 10,765,539 | | 901,620 | | (60,645) | | 190,150 | | 10,704,894 | | 1,091,770 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Surplus paid to policy holders | | | (4,508,616) | | (1,485,612) | | - | | - | | (4,508,616) | | (1,485,612) | | Employees' end-of-service benefits paid | | | (61,299) | | (319,246) | | - | | - | | (61,299) | | (319,246) | | Net cash from (used in) operating activities | | | 6,195,624 | | (903,238) | | (60,645) | | 190,150 | | 6,134,979 | | (713,088) |
| 19 | SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION (continued) | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | 19.4 | Interim condensed statement of cash flows (continued) | Three-months period ended 31 March 2019 (Unaudited) (SR '000) | | | | | | | | | Insurance Operations | | Shareholders' Operations | | Total | | | | | | | | Note | 2019 | | 2018 | | 2019 | | 2018 | | 2019 | | 2018 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | CASH FLOWS FROM INVESTING ACTIVITIES | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Additions of property and equipment | | | (516,734) | | (225,150) | | - | | - | | (516,734) | | (225,150) | | Additions of intangible assets | | | (17,615) | | (152,475) | | - | | - | | (17,615) | | (152,475) | | Proceed from disposal of available-for-sale investments | 8a | 5,956,853 | | 1,037,825 | | - | | - | | 5,956,853 | | 1,037,825 | | (Decrease)/increase in murabaha deposits | | | (70,411,999) | | 54,194,839 | | (582,509) | | 45,734,399 | | (70,994,508) | | 99,929,238 | | Net cash (used in) from investing activities | | | (64,989,495) | | 54,855,039 | | (582,509) | | 45,734,399 | | (65,572,004) | | 100,589,438 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITY | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Due to shareholders' operations, net | | | (298,873) | | 1,223 | | 298,873 | | (1,223) | | - | | - | | Net cash (used in) from financing activity | | | (298,873) | | 1,223 | | 298,873 | | (1,223) | | - | | - | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Net change in cash and cash equivalents | | | (59,092,744) | | 53,953,024 | | (344,281) | | 45,923,326 | | (59,437,025) | | 99,876,350 | | Cash and cash equivalents at the beginning of the period | 4 | 171,226,879 | | 85,821,687 | | 4,701,333 | | 3,259,157 | | 175,928,212 | | 89,080,844 | | Cash and cash equivalents at the end of the period | 4 | 112,134,135 | | 139,774,711 | | 4,357,052 | | 49,182,483 | | 116,491,187 | | 188,957,194 | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Supplemental non-cash information: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Change in fair value of available-for-sale investments | 8a | - | | (364,345) | | - | | - | | - | | (364,345) | | Transfer of fair value reserve on disposal of available- for-sale investment | 8a | (789,654) | | - | | - | | - | | (789,654) | | - | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | 20 | COMPARATIVE FIGURES | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Certain prior period figures have been reclassified to conform to current period presentation. | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | 21 | EVENTS AFTER THE REPORTING DATE | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | There are no subsequent events that require disclosure or amendments to the accompanying interim condensed financial statements. | | | | |
| |