| Notes forming part of accounts [line items] | | |
| Disclosure of notes and other explanatory information [text block] | | |
| Disclosure of general information about reporting entity [abstract] | | |
| Disclosure of general information about reporting entity [text block] |
GENERAL
Walaa Cooperative Insurance Company (a Joint Stock Company incorporated in Kingdom of Saudi Arabia), “the Company”, was formed pursuant to Royal Decree No. (S/114) dated 02/05/1428H. The Company operates under UNN 7001526578 (formerly Commercial Registration no. 2051034982) dated Jumada II 19, 1428H corresponding to July 4, 2007. The registered address of the Company's head office is as follows:
Walaa Cooperative Insurance Company Head Office 4513, Adh Dhahran Al Khubar Al Janubiyah Unit No: 8, Al-Khobar 34621-8615 P.O. Box 31616 Al-Khobar 31952, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
The purpose of the Company is to transact cooperative insurance operations and all related activities including reinsurance and agency activities. Its principal lines of business include motor, medical, marine, fire, engineering, energy, aviation, casualty insurance and protection & savings.
On 2 Jumada II 1424H, corresponding to 31 July 2003, the Law on the Supervision of Cooperative Insurance Companies (“Insurance Law”) was promulgated by Royal Decree Number (M/32). On 28 Jumada II 1429H corresponding to July 2, 2008, the Saudi Central Bank (“SAMA”), as the principal authority responsible for the application and administration of the Insurance Law and its Implementing Regulations, granted the Company a license number (TMN/16/20087) to transact insurance activities in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.
The Board of Directors approved the distribution of the surplus from insurance operations in accordance with the Implementing Regulations issued by SAMA, whereby the shareholders of the Company are to receive 90% of the annual surplus from insurance operations and the policyholders are to receive the remaining 10%. Any deficit arising on insurance operations is transferred to the shareholders’ operations in full.
Proposed merger The Company signed a non-binding Memorandum of Understanding (the “MOU”) with SABB Takaful Company (“SABB Takaful”) on 05/12/1442H (corresponding to 15/07/2021G) to evaluate a potential merger between the two companies. Later, the Company announced on Tadawul’s website on 07/06/1443H (corresponding to 10/01/2022G) the extension of the MOU for another 45 days expiring on 24/02/2022G. The Company announced further on 26/07/1443H (corresponding to 27/02/2022G) that it has signed a binding merger agreement with SABB Takaful on 23/07/1443H (corresponding to 24/02/2022G) (the “Merger Agreement”) reflecting the agreement of both companies to merge through a share swap transaction, whereby Walaa shall issue /0.6005476176470590/ nominal shares in Walaa against each issued share in SABB Takaful (“Exchange Ratio”), to the benefit of eligible shareholders in SABB Takaful (i.e., shareholders owning the shares issued in SABB Takaful Company on the effective date of the Merger Transaction) and as consideration for the transfer of assets and liabilities of SABB Takaful, and without any additional cash consideration being paid (“Merger Transaction” or “Merger”). This is in accordance with the Companies Law issued by the Ministry of Commerce, the regulations of the Capital Market Authority (“CMA”), including the Mergers and Acquisitions Regulations, the Rules on the Offer of Securities and Continuing Obligations, the Listing Rules issued by the Saudi Stock Exchange (Tadawul), as well as the relevant regulations of the Saudi Central Bank (“SAMA”). The said merger is subject to approval by concerned regulatory authorities and by shareholders of both Companies in their Extraordinary General Assembly Meetings. | |
| Disclosure of basis of preparation of financial statements [text block] |
BASIS OF PREPARATION
Basis of presentation
The interim condensed financial statements of the Company as at and for the period ended March 31, 2022 have been prepared in accordance with International Accounting Standard 34 Interim Financial Reporting (“IAS 34”) as endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.
The financial statements of the Company as at and for the period ended March 31, 2022 , respectively, were prepared in compliance with the IAS 34 and the International Financial Reporting Standards (“IFRS”) respectively, as modified by SAMA for the accounting of zakat and income tax (relating to the application of IAS 12 – “Income Taxes” and IFRIC 21 – “Levies” so far as these relate to zakat and income tax) and the Regulations for Companies in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.
On July 23, 2019, SAMA instructed the insurance companies in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia to account for the zakat and income taxes in the statement of income. This aligns with the IFRS and its interpretations as issued by the International Accounting Standards Board (“IASB”) and as endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.
The interim condensed financial statements are prepared under the going concern basis and the historical cost convention, except for the measurement at fair value of held for trading and available-for-sale investments. The Company’s interim condensed statement of financial position is not presented using a current/non-current classification. However, the Company’s interim condensed statement of financial position is presented in order of liquidity. Except for property and equipment, intangible assets, statutory deposit, accrued income on statutory deposit, held to maturity Sukuk, long-term deposits, goodwill and gross & reinsurance share of mathematical reserves, end-of-service indemnities and accrued commission income payable to SAMA, all other assets and liabilities are of short-term nature, unless, stated otherwise.
As required by the Saudi Arabian Insurance Regulations, the Company maintains separate books of accounts for Insurance Operations and Shareholders’ Operations and presents the financial information accordingly. Assets, liabilities, revenues and expenses clearly attributable to either activity are recorded in the respective accounts. The basis of allocation of expenses from joint operations is determined and approved by the management and the Board of Directors.
The interim condensed statement of financial position, statements of income and statement of comprehensive income and cash flows of the insurance operations and shareholders’ operations which are presented in note 21 of the financial statements have been provided to comply with the requirements of the guidelines issued by SAMA implementing regulations. SAMA implementing regulations require the clear segregation of the assets, liabilities, income and expenses of the insurance operations and the shareholders’ operations. Accordingly, the interim condensed statements of financial position, statements of income, comprehensive income and cash flows prepared for the insurance operations and shareholders operations as referred to above, reflect only the assets, liabilities, income, expenses and comprehensive gains or losses of the respective operations.
In preparing the Company-level financial statements in compliance with IFRS, the balances and transactions of the insurance operations are amalgamated and combined with those of the shareholders’ operations. Interoperation balances, transactions and unrealized gains or losses, if any, are eliminated in full during amalgamation. The accounting policies adopted for the insurance operations and shareholders’ operations are uniform for like transactions and events in similar circumstances.
The interim condensed financial statements do not include all of the information required for full annual financial statements and should be read in conjunction with the annual financial statements as of and for the year ended December 31, 2020.
Amounts in this interim condensed financial statements are expressed in Saudi Arabian Riyals (SAR) and are rounded off to the nearest thousands. | |
| Disclosure of critical accounting judgements, estimates and assumptions, general [text block] |
BASIS OF PREPARATION (CONTINUED)
(b) Seasonality of operations There are no seasonal changes that may affect insurance operations of the Company.
(c) Critical accounting judgments, estimates and assumptions
The preparation of condensed interim financial statements requires management to make judgments, estimates and assumptions that affect the application of accounting policies and the reported amounts of assets and liabilities, income and expense. Actual results may differ from these estimates.
In preparing these condensed financial statements, the significant judgments made by management in applying the Company’s accounting policies and the key sources of estimation uncertainty including the risk management policies were the same as those that applied to the annual financial statements as at and for the year ended December 31, 2021.
Further, the Company has considered the following:
On 11 March 2020, the World Health Organization (“WHO”) declared the Coronavirus (“Covid-19”) outbreak as a pandemic in recognition of its rapid spread across the globe. This outbreak has also affected the GCC region including the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Governments all over the world took steps to contain the spread of the virus. Saudi Arabia in particular has implemented closure of borders, released social distancing guidelines and enforced country wide lockdowns and curfews.
In response to the spread of the Covid-19 virus in the GCC and other territories where the Company operates and its consequential disruption to the social and economic activities in those markets, the Company’s management has proactively assessed its impacts on its operations and has taken a series of proactive and preventative measures and processes to ensure:
- the health and safety of its employees and the wider community where it is operating - the continuity of its business throughoutthe Kingdomis protected and kept intact.
In response to the Covid-19 pandemic, SAMA issued a decree 189 (the “Decree”) dated May 8, 2020 to all insurance companies in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Among various other matters relating to the insurance sector, the Decree instructs all the insurance companies to extend the period of validity of all existing retail motor insurance policies by two months as well as providing a two-month additional coverage for all new retail motor policies written within one month of this Decree and allowing insurance companies not to cancel the policy in the event the insured fails to pay the premiums..
The management has considered the impact of Covid-19 and the Decree as mentioned above in these interim condensed financials. | |
| Disclosure of summary of significant accounting policies [abstract] | | |
| Description of other accounting policies relevant to understanding of financial statements [text block] |
SIGNIFICANT ACCOUNTING POLICIES
The accounting policies, estimates and assumptions used in the preparation of these interim condensed financial statements are consistent with those used in the preparation of the annual financial statements for the year ended December 31, 2021. | |
| Disclosure of notes forming part of accounts [abstract] | | |
| Disclosure of business combinations [text block] |
GOODWILL AND INTANGIBLE ASSETS ACQUIRED IN BUSINESS COMBINATION During the year ended December 31, 2020, the shareholders in the EGM held on January 27, 2020 corresponding to 2 Jumada II 1441H approved the proposed merger of the Company and MetLife AIG ANB Cooperative Insurance Company “MAA” to be effected by way of a merger pursuant to Articles 191, 192, and 193 of the Companies Law issued under Royal Decree No. M3 dated 28/1/1437H (corresponding to 10/11/2015G), through the issuance of 0.657761444444444 new shares in the Company for each share in MAA subject to the terms and conditions of the Merger Agreement.
The purchase consideration was determined to be SAR 191,566 thousands which consisted of the issue of 11,839,706 new shares to the shareholders of MAA.
The Company has undertaken a comprehensive purchase price allocation and has identified the following intangible assets. Their valuation approach and methodologies are further detailed below:
Goodwill |
|
| 24,415 | Intangible Assets acquired in merger |
|
|
| |
|
| 5,454 | |
|
| 2,832 | |
|
| 24,847 | Total |
|
| 57,548 |
Customer Contract (‘ALICO’) On the Acquisition Date, Walaa acquired the Saudi run-off portfolio of American Life Insurance Company “ALICO” which was transferred initially to MAA on April 1st, 2015 as per the portfolio transfer agreement entered between MetLife ALICO and MAA and was 100% reinsured back to MetLife under a quota-share reinsurance agreement. This portfolio includes long term life protection, savings insurance products and personal accident policies. As per the terms of the portfolio transfer agreement and the quota-share reinsurance agreement, the Company is entitled to a reinsurance commission at an agreed rate and reimbursement of all expenses related to administration of the portfolio. The management has employed “Multi Period Excess Earning Method” for valuing the contractual customer relationship and is considered to have a useful life of 83 years based on the run-off of the customer portfolio.
Customer Relationship IAS 38 specifies that if an entity can evidence that it can control economic benefits from non-contractual relationships, those customer relationships are identified as separable and can be recognized as an intangible asset. Arab National Bank (“has a relationship and was also 30% stakeholder of MAA) has historically contributed a consistent revenue stream for MAA with various insurance agreements. Hence, the relationship has been regarded to represent a Customer Relationship intangible. The management has employed “Multi Period Excess Earning Method” for valuing the non-contractual customer relationship and is considered to have a useful life of 6 years.
Product Licenses As a result of the Transaction, Walaa acquired the Protection & savings Insurance License. This license has been identified as an intangible asset. This life insurance intangible was valued using the “Multi Period Excess Earning Method” from the Protection & savings Line of Business for valuing product licenses. This is considered to be an intangible asset with an indefinite life and will therefore be subject to the annual impairment assessments. | |
| Disclosure of property and equipment [text block] |
PROPERTY AND EQUIPMENT, NET
| March 31, 2022 |
| December 31, 2021 |
| (Unaudited) |
| (Audited) |
Land | 16,400 |
| 16,400 | Property and equipment | 8,421 |
| 8,119 | Right of use assets (note 9.1) | 6,033 |
| 6,450 |
| 30,854 |
| 30,969 |
Depreciation charges on right of use assets amounted to SAR 0.4 million.
| |
| Disclosure of investments [text block] |
INVESTMENTS
Investments are classified as follows: Available for sale investments | 311,560 |
| 374,554 | Held for trading | 89,839 |
| 86,367 | Held to maturity | 264,358 |
| 249,367 |
| 665,757 |
| 710,288 |
| Policyholders’ operations |
|
|
|
| Held to maturity | 62,948 |
| 62,948 |
| 62,948 |
| 62,948 |
Available for sale investments | 311,560 |
| 374,554 | Held for trading | 89,839 |
| 86,367 | Held to maturity | 327,306 |
| 312,315 |
| 728,705 |
| 773,236 |
Movement in available for sale investments is as follows:
| March 31, 2022 |
| December 31, 2021 |
| (Unaudited) |
| (Audited) |
Opening balance | 374,554 |
| 291,390 | Purchases | 5,957 |
| 178,048 | Impairment of investment | - |
| (6,765) | Disposals | (76,360) |
| (119,726) | Changes in fair value of investments, net | 7,409 |
| 31,607 | Closing balance | 311,560 |
| 374,554 |
Available-for-sale investments include the following:
| March 31, 2022 |
| December 31, 2021 |
| (Unaudited) |
| (Audited) |
Quoted securities | 174,404 |
| 237,398 | Unquoted securities | 137,156 |
| 137,156 |
| 311,560 |
| 374,554 |
Movement in held to maturity investments is as follows:
| March 31, 2022 |
| December 31, 2021 |
|
| (Unaudited) |
| (Audited) |
|
Opening balance | 312,315 |
| 224,400 |
| Additional during the year | 15,002 |
| 88,173 |
| Amortization | (11) |
| (258) |
| Closing balance | 327,306 |
| 312,315 |
|
Investments in sukuks are classified as investments held to maturity and measured at amortized cost. Investments held to maturity are those investments which have fixed or determined payments and that the Company has a positive intention and ability to hold to maturity. | |
| Disclosure of premiums/ contributions and insurance/ reinsurance or takaful/ retakaful balance receivables [text block] |
PREMIUMS AND REINSURERS’ RECEIVABLE - NET
Receivables comprises of amounts due from the following:
| March31, 2022 |
| December 31, 2021 |
|
| (Unaudited) |
| (Audited) |
|
Policyholders | 208,348 |
| 201,080 |
| Brokers and agents | 291,229 |
| 393,052 |
| Related parties | 6,738 |
| 5,938 |
| Receivables from reinsurers | 28,965 |
| 32,702 |
|
| 535,280 |
| 632,772 |
| Less: Provision for doubtful receivables | (65,008) |
| (50,643) |
| Premiums and reinsurers’ receivable – net | 470,272 |
| 582,129 |
|
| |
| Disclosure of cash and cash equivalents [text block] |
CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS
Cash and cash equivalents comprise the following:
| March 31, 2022 |
| December 31, 2021 |
| (Unaudited) |
| (Audited) |
Cash and bank balances | 415,212 |
| 322,883 | Deposits maturing within 3 months from the acquisition date | - |
| - | Total | 415,212 |
| 322,883 |
| March 31, 2022 |
| December 31, 2021 |
| (Unaudited) |
| (Audited) |
Bank balances | 15,862 |
| 2,172 | Deposits maturing within 3 months from the acquisition date | - |
| - | Total | 15,862 |
| 2,172 | Total cash and cash equivalents | 431,074 |
| 325,055 |
| |
| Disclosure of accrued expenses and other liabilities [text block] |
ACCRUED AND OTHER LIABILITIES
| March 31, 2022 |
| December 31, 2021 |
| (Unaudited) |
| (Audited) |
Accrued and other liabilities | 195,500 |
| 185,135 | Lease rentals | 6,130 |
| 5,567 |
Maturity analysis of lease rentals is as follows:
| March 31, 2022 |
| December 31, 2021 |
| (Unaudited) |
| (Audited) |
Payable within one year | 3,059 |
| 2,948 | Payable more than one year but less than five years | 3,071 |
| 2,619 |
| 6,130 |
| 5,567 |
| 201,630 |
| 190,702 |
| |
| Disclosure of zakat [text block] |
ZAKAT AND INCOME TAX
The Company has filed Zakat and income tax return subsequent to the quarter ended March 31, 2022 with Zakat, Tax, and Customs Authority known previously as the General Authority of Zakat and Tax (“GAZT”) up to the year ended December 31, 2021 and paid the declared Zakat and is in the process of getting the required certificate from Zakat, Tax, and Customs Authority that is valid up to April 30, 2023.
Status of assessments
In 2019, the Company has received an assessment order for the year 2016 for an additional zakat and tax liability amounting to SR 20 million. The Company successfully appealed against most of the items in this assessment and paid an amount of SR 1.9 million as a full and final settlement.
15.ZAKAT AND INCOME TAX (CONTINUED)
During 2020, the Company received an assessment order for the year 2014 for an additional zakat and tax liability amounting to SR 5.9 million. Further, during 2020, the company has received assessment orders for the years 2015, 2017 and 2018 for an additional zakat and tax liability amounting to SR 9.3 million. The company has appealed against these assessments, which are under review and consideration by the General Secretariat of Tax Committees (“GSTC”).
The management of the Company reviewed assessment letters and responded in the specified time period and is confident that the additional liability would be adjusted significantly in favour of the Company. The management also believes that the provision as reflected in these financial statements is sufficient to meet any additional zakat and tax obligation.
Provision for zakat and income tax Provision for zakat has been made at 2.5% of the higher of approximate zakat base and adjusted net income attributable to the Saudi shareholders of the Company.
Income tax is payable at 20% of the adjusted net income attributable to the foreign shareholders of the Company.
Shareholding subject to zakat and income tax The following is the tentative shareholding percentage for computation as at the end of the period/year:
| March 31, 2022 % |
| December 31, 2021 % |
Shareholding subject to zakat | 87.35 |
| 87.35 | Shareholding subject to income tax | 12.65 |
| 12.65 |
| |
| Disclosure of classes of share capital [text block] |
SHARE CAPITAL
The authorized, issued and paid up capital of the Company was SAR646.4 million at December 31, 2021 consisting of 64.6 million shares of SAR10 each (December 31, 2020: SAR646.4 million consisting of 64.6 million shares of SAR10 each).
In the year 2015, the Company had increased its share capital from SAR 200 million to SAR 400 million, by issuing 20 million right shares to its existing shareholders, which were offered at an exercise price of SAR 12 per share. This resulted in a share premium less issuance cost amounting to SAR 30.1 million.
The Company’s Board of Directors in their meeting held on April 8, 2019 corresponding to 3 Sha’aban 1440H recommended to the Extraordinary General Assembly to increase share capital of the Company. The Extraordinary General Assembly approved to increase share capital of the Company from SAR 440 million to SAR 528 million by issuing one bonus share for every five existing shares owned by the shareholder. The increase in share capital is through capitalization of retained earnings of SAR 88 million. The increase in share capital was approved by the shareholders in their meeting held on 16 Ramadan 1440H (Corresponding to May 21, 2019).
The Board of Directors in their meeting held on 30 Muharram 1441 H (corresponding to 29 September 2019) resolved to increase the share capital from SAR 528,000,000 to SAR 646,397,060 by issuing 11,839,706 ordinary shares to merge MetLife AIG ANB Cooperative Insurance Company “MAA” into the Company and transferring all of MAA’s assets and liabilities to the Company through a securities exchange offer. The merger was successfully completed and shared issued accordingly during the year. The fair value of 11,839,706 shares of the Company was determined on the basis of closing market price of Walaa’s ordinary shares of SAR 16.18 per share on the Tadawul on the last trading date prior to the acquisition date of February 29, 2020.
Issue costs which were directly attributable to the issue of the shares were not material. As a result, there was an increase in share capital and share premium amounting to SAR 118,397 thousand and SAR 73,169 thousand, respectively
The Board of Directors in their meeting held on 27 Jumada I 1442 H (corresponding to 11 January 2021) recommended to increase share capital by offering right issue with an additional amount of SAR 775million to support growth plan of the company and maintain its solvency margin. Later, the Company announced on Tadawul on 15 July 2021 corresponding to 05/12/1442H to delay the rights issue due to signing of a memorandum of understanding (“MOU”) with SABB Takaful Company (“SABB Takaful”) to assess the feasibility of merging the two companies.
Shareholding structure of the Company is as below:
|
| Authorized and issued | Paid up |
|
| No. of Shares | SAR “000” |
American Life Insurance |
| 3,551,911 | 35,519 | 35,519 | Arab National Bank |
| 3,545,146 | 35,451 | 35,451 | International General Insurance Company |
| 2,020,569 | 20,206 | 20,206 | Others |
| 55,522,080 | 555,221 | 555,221 | Total |
| 64,639,706 | 646,397 | 646,397 |
|
| Authorized and issued | Paid up |
|
| No. of Shares | SAR “000” |
American Life Insurance |
| 3,551,911 | 35,519 | 35,519 | Arab National Bank |
| 3,545,146 | 35,451 | 35,451 | International General Insurance Company |
| 2,020,569 | 20,206 | 20,206 | Others |
| 55,522,080 | 555,221 | 555,221 | Total |
| 64,639,706 | 646,397 | 646,397 |
| |
| Disclosure of gross premiums/ contributions written [text block] |
GROSS PREMIUMS WRITTEN
(Unaudited) | For the three month period ended March 31, 2022 |
Class | Corporate |
Individual | Total Gross premiums written |
Micro |
Small |
Medium |
Large |
Medical | 12,740 | 10,519 | 9,781 | 124,604 | 16,424 | 174,068 | Motor | 379 | 2,479 | 3,370 | 10,781 | 96,947 | 113,956 | Property | 2,955 | 2,688 | 1,765 | 6,060 | - | 13,468 | Engineering | 874 | 960 | 3,256 | 7,776 | - | 12,866 | Energy | - | - | 8 | 24,087 | - | 24,095 | Protection & Savings | 7,800 | 400 | 329 | 7,307 | 462 | 16,298 | Others | 1,872 | 6,267 | 8,002 | 15,053 | 8,341 | 39,535 | Total | 26,620 | 23,313 | 26,511 | 195,668 | 122,174 | 394,286 |
(Unaudited) | For the three month period ended March 31, 2021 |
Class | Corporate |
Individual | Total Gross premiums written |
Micro |
Small |
Medium |
Large |
Medical | 3,187 | 2,970 | 5,812 | 39,150 | 5,474 | 56,593 | Motor | 786 | 2,152 | 4,980 | 23,996 | 132,190 | 164,104 | Property | 2,102 | 1,369 | 3,546 | 3,504 | - | 10,521 | Engineering | 1,024 | 997 | 8,015 | 19,372 | - | 29,408 | Protection & Savings | 2,959 | 94 | 51 | 14,796 | 770 | 18,670 | Others | 5,486 | 7,154 | 7,576 | 42,737 | 1,109 | 64,062 | Total | 15,544 | 14,736 | 29,980 | 143,555 | 139,543 | 343,358 |
| |
| Disclosure of technical reserve for insurance/takaful/reinsurance/retakaful operations [text block] |
TECHNICAL RESERVES
8.1Net outstanding claims and reserves Net outstanding claims and reserves comprise of the following:
| March 31, 2022 |
| December 31, 2021 |
|
| (Unaudited) |
| (Audited) |
|
Outstanding claims | 495,521 |
| 480,616 |
|
|
|
|
|
| Gross Claims incurred but not reported | 269,274 |
| 283,457 |
| Less: Net realizable value of salvage and subrogation | (16,880) |
| (17,255) |
| Claims incurred but not reported | 252,394 |
| 266,202 |
| Additional premium reserves: |
|
|
|
| - Premium deficiency reserve | 12,950 |
| 9,054 |
| -Additional unexpired risk reserve | - |
| - |
|
| 12,950 |
| 9,054 |
| Other technical reserves: |
|
|
|
| - Claims handling expense provision | - |
| - |
| - Unallocated loss adjustment expense provision | 7,102 |
| 7,701 |
| - Non-proportional reinsurance accrual reserve | - |
| - |
|
| 7,102 |
| 7,701 |
| Net outstanding claims and reserves | 767,967 |
| 763,573 |
|
|
|
|
|
| Less: |
|
|
|
| -Reinsurer’s share of outstanding claims | (325,321) |
| (338,919) |
| -Reinsurer’s share of claims incurred but not reported | (135,509) |
| (149,655) |
|
| (460,830) |
| (488,574) |
| Net outstanding claims and reserves | 307,137 |
| 274,999 |
|
8.2 Movement in unearned premiums Movement in unearned premiums comprise of the following:
| March 31, 2022 (Unaudited) |
|
Balance as at the beginning of the period | 1,074,103 |
| (538,598) |
| 535,505 |
| Premiums written during the period | 394,286 |
| (86,393) |
| 307,893 |
| Premiums earned during the period | (563,908) |
| 292,092 |
| (271,816) |
| Balance as at the end of the period | 904,481 |
| (332,899) |
| 571,582 |
|
| December 31, 2021(Audited) |
|
Balance as at the beginning of the year | 789,964 |
| (363,490) |
| 426,474 |
| Premiums written during the year | 2,338,834 |
| (1,188,273) |
| 1,150,561 |
| Premiums earned during the year | (2,054,695) | | 1,013,165 |
| (1,041,530) |
| Balance as at the end of the year | 1,074,103 |
| (538,598) |
| 535,505 |
|
| |
| Disclosure of earnings per share [text block] |
EARNINGS PER SHARE (“EPS”)
Basic and diluted earnings per share from shareholders' income/ (loss) is calculated by dividing net income/ (loss) for the period by weighted average number of ordinary shares outstanding during the period. | |
| Disclosure of investments held at fair value through statement of income [text block] |
FAIR VALUES OF FINANCIAL INSTRUMENTS
Fair value is the price that would be received to sell an asset or paid to transfer a liability in an orderly transaction between market participants at the measurement date. The fair value measurement is based on the presumption that the transaction takes place either: in the accessible principal market for the asset or liability, or in the absence of a principal market, in the most advantageous accessible market for the asset or liability
The management assessed that cash and short-term deposits, premium and reinsurance receivables, receivables from related parties, trade and other payables and other financial liabilities approximate their carrying amounts largely due to the short-term maturities of these instruments.
Determination of fair value and fair value hierarchy The Company uses the following hierarchy for determining and disclosing the fair value of financial instruments:
Level 1: quoted prices in active markets for the same or identical instrument that an entity can access at the measurement date;
Level 2: quoted prices in active markets for similar assets and liabilities or other valuation techniques for which all significant inputs are based on observable market data; and
Level 3: valuation techniques for which any significant input is not based on observable market data.
Carrying amounts and fair value
The following table shows the carrying amount and fair values of financial assets, including their levels in the fair value hierarchy for financial instruments measured at fair value. It does not include fair value information for financial assets and financial liabilities not measured at fair value if the carrying amount is a reasonable approximation to fair value.
Policyholders and Shareholders’ Operations |
| Fair value |
March 31, 2022 | Carrying value | Level 1 | Level 2 | Level 3 | Total |
Financial assets measured at fair value |
|
|
|
|
| Available for sale investments | 174,404 | 174,404 | - | - | 174,404 | Held for trading Investments | 89,839 | 89,839 | - | - | 89,839 |
| 264,243 | 264,243 | - | - | 264,243 |
Policyholders and Shareholders’ Operations |
| Fair value |
December 31, 2021 | Carrying value | Level 1 | Level 2 | Level 3 | Total |
Financial assets measured at fair value |
|
|
|
|
| Available for sale investments | 237,398 | 237,398 | - | - | 237,398 | Held for trading Investments | 86,367 | 86,367 |
|
| 86,367 |
| 323,765 | 323,765 | - | - | 323,765 |
b.Measurement of fair values The Company has investments amounting to SAR 137.156 million (31 December 2021: SAR 137.156 million) in unquoted securities and investments amounting to SAR 327.306 million in held to maturity investments recorded at amortized costs (31 December 2021: SAR 312.315 million). These investments in unquoted securities and recorded at amortized costs have not been measured at fair values in the absence of active market or other means of reliably measuring their fair values for certain investments. However, the management believes that there is no major difference between the carrying values and fair values of these investments.
Transfer between the levels During the year, there were no transfers into or out of each level. | |
| Disclosure of related party transactions [text block] |
RELATED PARTY TRANSACTIONS AND BALANCES
Related parties represent major shareholders, directors and key management personnel of the Company, and companies of which they are principal owners and any other entities controlled, jointly controlled or significantly influenced by them. Pricing policies and terms of these transactions are approved by the Company’s management and Board of Directors. The following are the details of the major related party transactions during the period and the related balances:
| Transactions for the three Month period ended |
| Net balance receivable / (payable) as at |
| March 31, 2022 |
| March 31, 2021 |
| March 31, 2022 |
| December 31, 2021 |
| (Unaudited) |
| (Unaudited) |
| (Unaudited) |
| (Audited) |
Entities controlled, jointly controlled or significantly influenced by related parties |
Insurance premium written / receivable from |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| | 4,485 |
| 14,391 |
| 6,738 |
| 3,567 | |
|
| - |
|
|
| - | Reinsurance business with Directors and related parties | - |
| - |
| - |
| (40) | Gross Claims paid and payable to directors and their related parties | 3,809 |
| 11,114 |
| 3,069 |
| (2,693) |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
The compensation of key management personnel during the period is as follows:
| March 31, 2022 (Unaudited) |
| March 31, 2021 (Unaudited) |
Salaries and other allowances | 1,408 |
| 1,436 | End of service indemnities | 454 |
| 626 |
| 1,862 |
| 2,062 |
|
|
|
| Remuneration to those charged with governance | 1,316 |
| 1,263 |
| |
| Disclosure of entity's operating segments [text block] |
OPERATING SEGMENTS
Operating segments are identified on the basis of internal reports about components of the Company that are regularly reviewed by the Company’s chief executive officer in their function as chief operating decision maker in order to allocate resources to the segments and to assess its performance.
Transactions between the operating segments are on normal commercial terms and conditions. The revenue from external parties reported to the chief executive officer is measured in a manner consistent with that in the income statement. Segment assets and liabilities comprise operating assets and liabilities.
Segment assets do not include cash and cash equivalents, short term deposits, long term deposits, premiums and insurance balances receivable - net, due from shareholders’ operations, investments, accrued commission income, prepaid expenses & other assets, property and equipment and intangible assets. Accordingly, these are included in unallocated assets.
Segment liabilities do not include policyholders’ claims payables, accrued and other liabilities, reinsurance balances payable, due to shareholders’ operations, end-of-service indemnities and accrual loss thereon, and insurance operations’ surplus. Accordingly, these are included in unallocated liabilities.
These unallocated assets and liabilities are not reported to chief operating decision maker under related segments and are monitored on a centralized basis.
Segments do not include shareholders’ assets and liabilities and equity hence, these are presented under unallocated assets / liabilities accordingly.
The segment information provided to the Company’s chief executive officer for the reportable segments for the Company’s total assets and liabilities at March 31, 2022 and December 31, 2021, its total revenues, expenses, and net income for the period ended 31 March 2022 and 31 March 2021, are as follows:
Financial Position The segment statements provided to the Company’s Board of Directors for the reportable segments for the Company’s total assets and liabilities at March 31, 2022 and December 31, 2021, its total revenues, expenses, and net income for the the three months period ended 31 March 2022 and 31 March 2021, are as follows:
|
|
|
| As at March 31, 2022 (Unaudited) |
| Medical | Motor | Property | Energy | Engineering | Protection &Savings | Others | Total - Insurance operations |
| Shareholders’ operations |
| Total |
Assets |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Reinsurers’ share of unearned premiums | 2,669 | 175 | 109,317 | 37,940 | 49,011 | 3,007 | 130,780 | 332,899 |
| - |
| 332,899 | Reinsurers’ share of outstanding claims | 446 | - | 216,112 | - | 33,456 | 17,442 | 57,865 | 325,321 |
| - |
| 325,321 |
Reinsurers’ share of claims incurred but not reported | - | - | 31,854 | 64,300 | 20,046 | 2,097 | 17,212 | 135,509 |
| - |
| 135,509 |
| Reinsurer’s share of mathematical reserves | - | - | - | - | - | 108,525 | - | 108,525 |
| - |
| 108,525 |
|
Deferred policy acquisition costs | 15,337 | 13,416 | 2,423 | 24 | 3,454 | 168 | 5,693 | 40,515 |
| - |
| 40,515 | Unallocated assets | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | 1,361,529 |
| 831,104 |
| 2,192,633 | Total assets | 18,452 | 13,591 | 359,706 | 102,264 | 105,967 | 131,239 | 211,550 | 2,304,298 |
| 831,104 |
| 3,135,402 |
Liabilities and shareholders’ equity |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Unearned premiums | 265,585 | 273,713 | 113,468 | 38,219 | 52,469 | 6,889 | 154,138 | 904,481 |
| - |
| 904,481 | Unearned Insurance commission | 605 | 17 | 6,428 | 1,856 | 6,576 | 59 | 7,817 | 23,358 |
| - |
| 23,358 | Outstanding claims | 50,580 | 57,902 | 217,709 | - | 34,160 | 64,338 | 70,832 | 495,521 |
| - |
| 495,521 | Claims incurred but not reported | 31,034 | 71,701 | 33,057 | 64,623 | 21,496 | 8,849 | 21,634 | 252,394 |
| - |
| 252,394 | Gross mathematical reserves | - | - | - | - | - | 108,525 | - | 108,525 |
| - |
| 108,525 | Additional Premium Reserve | 1,596 | 10,857 | - | - | - | 497 | - | 12,950 |
| - |
| 12,950 | Other Technical Reserve | 698 | 4,740 | 190 | 32 | 180 | 436 | 826 | 7,102 |
| - |
| 7,102 | Unallocated liabilities and shareholders’ equity | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | 499,967 |
| 831,104 |
| 1,331,071 | Total liabilities and shareholders’ equity | 350,098 | 418,930 | 370,852 | 104,730 | 114,881 | 189,593 | 255,247 | 2,304,298 |
| 831,104 |
| 3,135,402 |
Financial Position (continued)
| Medical | Motor | Property |
Energy | Engineering | Protection and Savings | Others | Total - Insurance operations |
| Shareholders’ operations |
| Total |
Assets |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Reinsurers’ share of unearned premiums | 3,564 | 47 | 178,620 | 144,495 | 57,986 | 587 | 153,299 | 538,598 |
| - |
| 538,598 | Reinsurers’ share of outstanding claims | 446 | - | 232,018 | - | 33,813 | 15,284 | 57,358 | 338,919 |
| - |
| 338,919 | Reinsurers’ share claims incurred but not Reported | - | - | 33,416 | 63,217 | 34,280 | 6,735 | 12,007 | 149,655 |
| - |
| 149,655 | Reinsurers’ share of mathematical reserves | - | - | - | - | - | 123,696 | - | 123,696 |
| - |
| 123,696 | Deferred policy acquisition costs | 10,548 | 13,005 | 3,241 | 37 | 3,414 | 123 | 6,108 | 36,476 |
| - |
| 36,476 | Unallocated assets | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | 1,404,958 |
| 854,879 |
| 2,259,837 | Total assets | 14,558 | 13,052 | 447,295 | 207,749 | 129,493 | 146,425 | 228,772 | 2,592,302 |
| 854,879 |
| 3,447,181 |
Liabilities and shareholders’ equity |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Unearned premiums | 196,922 | 304,320 | 184,173 | 145,081 | 61,650 | 3,491 | 178,466 | 1,074,103 |
| - |
| 1,074,103 | Unearned reinsurance commission | 801 | 5 | 9,059 | 6,456 | 6,635 | 25 | 8,277 | 31,258 |
| - |
| 31,258 | Outstanding claims | 45,290 | 46,500 | 233,827 | - | 35,033 | 47,588 | 72,378 | 480,616 |
| - |
| 480,616 | Claims incurred but not reported | 29,675 | 68,348 | 34,273 | 63,339 | 35,431 | 18,872 | 16,264 | 266,202 |
| - |
| 266,202 | Gross mathematical reserves | - | - | - | - | - | 123,696 | - | 123,696 |
| - |
| 123,696 | Additional premium reserves | 86 | 8,841 | - | - | - | 127 | - | 9,054 |
| - |
| 9,054 | Other technical reserves | 614 | 5,468 | 146 | 12 | 165 | 445 | 851 | 7,701 |
| - |
| 7,701 | Unallocated liabilities and shareholders’ equity | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | 599,672 |
| 854,879 |
| 1,454,551 | Total liabilities and shareholders’ equity | 273,388 | 433,482 | 461,478 | 214,888 | 138,914 | 194,244 | 276,236 | 2,592,302 |
| 854,879 |
| 3,447,181 |
|
|
| For the three Month period ended March 31, 2022 (Unaudited) |
| Medical | Motor | Property | Energy | Engineering | Protection &Savings | Others | Total |
REVENUES |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Gross premiums written |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| | 174,068 | 113,956 | 12,176 | 24,095 | 12,807 | 16,252 | 39,535 | 392,889 | | - | - | 1,292 | - | 59 | 46 | - | 1,397 |
| 174,068 | 113,956 | 13,468 | 24,095 | 12,866 | 16,298 | 39,535 | 394,286 | Reinsurance premiums ceded |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| | - | - | (592) | - | (939) | - | - | (1,531) | | 50 | (175) | (11,013) | (24,078) | (10,371) | (9,099) | (28,637) | (83,323) |
| 50 | (175) | (11,605) | (24,078) | (11,310) | (9,099) | (28,637) | (84,854) | Excess of loss expenses | - | (685) | (327) | - | (327) | - | (200) | (1,539) | Net premiums written | 174,118 | 113,096 | 1,536 | 17 | 1,229 | 7,199 | 10,698 | 307,893 | Changes in unearned premiums, net | (69,558) | 30,735 | 1,401 | 307 | 206 | (979) | 1,811 | (36,077) | Net premiums earned | 104,560 | 143,831 | 2,937 | 324 | 1,435 | 6,220 | 12,509 | 271,816 | Reinsurance commissions | 188 | 5 | 4,559 | 6,320 | 2,506 | 342 | 3,838 | 17,758 | Other underwriting income | - | 12 | 3 | - | 2 | - | 20 | 37 | TOTAL REVENUES | 104,748 | 143,848 | 7,499 | 6,644 | 3,943 | 6,562 | 16,367 | 289,611 | UNDERWRITING COSTS AND EXPENSES |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Gross claims paid | 87,221 | 138,333 | 16,743 | - | 575 | 11,896 | 5,012 | 259,780 | Surrenders and maturities | - | - | - | - | - | 13,170 | - | 13,170 | Expenses incurred related to claims | 5,917 | 3,489 | - | - | - | - | - | 9,406 | Reinsurers’ share of claims Paid | (568) | (113) | (16,274) | - | (314) | (17,067) | (2,586) | (36,922) | Net claims and other benefits paid | 92,570 | 141,709 | 469 | - | 261 | 7,999 | 2,426 | 245,434 | Changes in outstanding claims, Net | 5,290 | 11,402 | (213) | - | (516) | 14,592 | (2,052) | 28,503 | Changes in IBNR, net | 1,359 | 3,353 | 346 | 201 | 299 | (5,386) | 166 | 338 | Net claims and other benefits Incurred | 99,219 | 156,464 | 602 | 201 | 44 | 17,205 | 540 | 274,275 | Additional premium reserves | 1,510 | 2,016 | - | - | - | 370 | - | 3,896 | Other technical reserves | 84 | (728) | 44 | 20 | 15 | (10) | (24) | (599) | Policy acquisition costs | 5,961 | 6,999 | 1,770 | 20 | 1,278 | 108 | 2,651 | 18,787 | Other underwriting expenses | 6,762 | 13,632 | 64 | 5,765 | 66 | 11 | 703 | 27,003 | TOTAL UNDERWRITING COSTS AND EXPENSES | 113,536 | 178,383 | 2,480 | 6,006 | 1,403 | 17,684 | 3,870 | 323,362 | NET UNDERWRITING INCOME/ (LOSS) | (8,788) | (34,535) | 5,019 | 638 | 2,540 | (11,122) | 12,497 | (33,751) |
OTHER OPERATING (EXPENSES)/ INCOME |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Allowance for doubtful debts |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| (14,365) |
General and administrative expenses |
|
|
|
|
|
| (36,674) | Commission income on deposits |
|
|
|
|
|
| 4,029 |
Dividend income on investments |
|
| 3,953 | Impairment on investments |
|
| - | Realized gain on investments |
|
| 30,453 | Unrealized gain on investments |
|
| 14,046 | TOTAL OTHER OPERATING EXPENSES | |
| 1,442 | Total loss for the period before zakat and income tax & surplus attribution |
|
| (32,309) | Zakat for the period |
|
| (4,500) |
NET LOSS FOR THE PERIOD |
|
|
|
|
|
| (36,809) |
Total income for the period attributable to insurance operations | - |
NET LOSS FOR THE PERIOD ATTRIBUTABLE TO SHAREHOLDERS |
|
| (36,809) |
|
| For the three Month period ended March 31, 2021 (Unaudited) |
| Medical | Motor | Property | Engineering | Protection &Savings | Others | Total |
REVENUES |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| | Gross premiums written |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| | | 56,593 | 164,104 | 10,521 | 29,331 | 15,822 | 64,062 | 340,433 | | | - | - |
| 77 | 2,848 |
| 2,925 | |
| 56,593 | 164,104 | 10,521 | 29,408 | 18,670 | 64,062 | 343,358 | | Reinsurance premiums ceded |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| | |
| - | (1,018) | (4,143) | - | - | (5,161) | | | (833) | - | (8,552) | (23,384) | (9,446) | (52,693) | (94,908) | |
| (833) | - | (9,570) | (27,527) | (9,446) | (52,693) | (100,069) | | Excess of loss expenses | - | (626) | (307) | (307) |
| (232) | (1,472) | | Net premiums written | 55,760 | 163,478 | 644 | 1,574 | 9,224 | 11,137 | 241,817 | | Changes in unearned premiums, net | (21,296) | 5,693 | 120 | (742) | (2,763) | (2,914) | (21,902) | | Net premiums earned | 34,464 | 169,171 | 764 | 832 | 6,461 | 8,223 | 219,915 | | Reinsurance commissions | 77 | 15 | 3,240 | 2,856 | 152 | 3,873 | 10,213 | | Other underwriting income | 114 | 145 | 3 | 2 | - | 458 | 722 | | TOTAL REVENUES | 34,655 | 169,331 | 4,007 | 3,690 | 6,613 | 12,554 | 230,850 | | UNDERWRITING COSTS AND EXPENSES |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| | Gross claims paid | 30,958 | 168,127 | 2,848 | 360 | 7,261 | 2,353 | 211,907 | | Surrenders and maturities |
|
|
|
| 4,180 |
| 4,180 | | Expenses incurred related to claims | 1,550 | 5,404 | - | - | - | - | 6,954 | | Reinsurers’ share of claims paid | (1,169) | (13) | (2,479) | (310) | (9,607) | (1,648) | (15,226) | | Net claims and other benefits paid | 31,339 | 173,518 | 369 | 50 | 1,834 | 705 | 207,815 | | Changes in outstanding claims, net | 9,042 | (448) | (111) | 112 | 3,142 | 4,014 | 15,751 | | Changes in IBNR, net | (4,130) | (4,964) | 64 | (217) | 1,010 | (840) | (9,077) | | Net claims and other benefits incurred | 36,251 | 168,106 | 322 | (55) | 5,986 | 3,879 | 214,489 | | Additional premium reserves | 41 | (11,575) | - | - | - | - | (11,534) | | Other technical reserves | 23 | (120) | 7 | (32) | 519 | 5 | 402 | Policy acquisition costs | 2,196 | 7,435 | 1,202 | 1,316 | 20 | 2,155 | 14,324 | Other underwriting expenses | 2,927 | 15,608 | 194 | 398 | 485 | 1,693 | 21,305 | | TOTAL UNDERWRITING COSTS AND EXPENSES | 41,438 | 179,454 | 1,725 | 1,627 | 7,010 | 7,732 | 238,986 | | NET UNDERWRITING INCOME | (6,783) | (10,123) | 2,282 | 2,063 | (397) | 4,822 | (8,136) | |
OTHER OPERATING (EXPENSES)/ INCOME |
|
|
|
|
Allowance for doubtful debts |
|
|
|
|
|
| (1,755) |
General and administrative expenses |
|
|
|
|
| (35,869) | Commission income on deposits |
|
|
|
|
| 4,210 | Dividend and realized gain on investments |
|
|
|
|
| 14,470 |
Unrealized gain on investments |
|
| 3,223 | TOTAL OTHER OPERATING EXPENSES |
|
| (15,721) | Total loss for the period before zakat and income tax & surplus attribution |
|
| (23,857) | Zakat and Income tax |
|
| (3,750) |
|
|
|
|
NET LOSS FOR THE PERIOD |
|
|
|
|
| (27,607) |
Total income for the period attributable to insurance operations | - |
NET LOSS FOR THE PERIOD ATTRIBUTABLE TO SHAREHOLDERS |
|
| (27,607) |
| |
| Disclosure of capital management [text block] |
CAPITAL MANAGEMENT
Objectives are set by the Company to maintain healthy capital ratios in order to support its business objectives and maximize shareholders’ value. The Company manages its capital requirements by assessing shortfalls between reported and required capital levels on a regular basis. Adjustments to current capital levels are made in light of changes in market conditions and risk characteristics of the Company’s activities. In order to maintain or adjust the capital structure, the Company may adjust the amount of dividends paid to shareholders or issue shares. In the opinion of the Board of Directors, the Company has fully complied with the externally imposed capital requirements during the reported financial period. | |
| Disclosure of insurance/ takaful operations surplus and dividends [text block] |
DIVIDEND
No dividend was proposed or paid during the period. | |
| Disclosure of commitments and contingencies, general [text block] |
COMMITMENTS AND CONTINGENCIES
The Company’s commitments and contingencies are as follows:
| March 31, 2022 |
| December 31, 2021 |
| (Unaudited) |
| (Audited) |
Letters of guarantee | 9,375 |
| 8,375 |
|
| |
| Disclosure of board of director's approval of the financial statements [text block] |
APPROVAL OF THE INTERIM CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
The interim condensed financial statements have been approved by the Board of Directors on May 12, 2022 corresponding to 10 Shawwal 1443H. | |