| [100010] Filing information | [200100] Independent auditors report | [300100] Statement of financial position, order of liquidity | |||
| [300200] Statement of insurance/ takaful operations, nature of expense | [300300] Statement of shareholders operations, nature of expense | [300400] Statement of other comprehensive income, before tax, insurance operations | |||
| [300500] Statement of other comprehensive income, before tax, shareholders operations | [300600] Statement of cash flows, indirect method, insurance operations | [300700] Statement of cash flows, indirect method, shareholders operations | |||
| [300800] Statement of changes in equity | [400100] Notes forming part of accounts |

| [100010] Filing information |
|   | English [member] | |
|---|---|---|
| Start Date | 2020-01-01 | 2019-01-01 |
| End Date | 2020-12-31 | 2019-12-31 |
| Filing information [line items] | ||
| Disclosure of entity information [abstract] | ||
| Name of reporting entity | Salama Cooperative Insurance Co. | |
| Company symbol code| ISIN code | 8050 | SA000A0MLUE6 | |
| Sector| Industry group | Financials | Insurance | |
| Disclosure of document information [abstract] | ||
| Whether entity wants to report opening statement of financial position | No | |
| Period covered by financial statements | Annual | |
| Reporting period start date | 2020-01-01 | 2019-01-01 |
| Reporting period end date | 2020-12-31 | 2019-12-31 |
| Description of nature of financial statements | Consolidated | |
| Status of financial statements | Audited | |
| Description of presentation currency | Saudi Arabia, Riyals | |
| Level of rounding used in financial statements | Thousands | |
| [200100] Independent auditors report |
|   | Primary auditor [member] | Second primary auditor [member] |
|---|---|---|
|   | English [member] | English [member] |
| Start Date | 2020-01-01 | 2020-01-01 |
| End Date | 2020-12-31 | 2020-12-31 |
| Auditors information [line items] | ||
| Details of auditors signing report [abstract] | ||
| Name of auditor signing report | Jamal M. Al-Amri | Abdullah M. AlAzem |
| Registration number of auditor | 331 | 335 |
| Details of audit firm [abstract] | ||
| Name of audit firm | Dr. Mohamed Al-Amri & Co. | Al Azem, Al Sudairy, Al Shaikh & Partners |
| Registration number of audit firm | 66 | 148 |
| Address of audit firm | P.O Box 784Jeddah 21421Kingdom of Saudi Arabia | P.O Box 10504Riyadh 11443Kingdom of Saudi Arabia |
|   | English [member] |
|---|---|
| Start Date | 2020-01-01 |
| End Date | 2020-12-31 |
| Auditors report [line items] | |
| Disclosures of auditors report [text block] | We have audited the financial statements of Salama Cooperative Insurance Company (the “Company”), which comprise the statement of financial position as at 31 December 2020, and the statement of income, statement of comprehensive income, statement of changes in equity and statement of cash flows for the year then ended, and notes to the financial statements, including a summary of significant accounting policies.In our opinion, except for the effects of the matter described in the paragraph of Basis for Qualified Opinion, the accompanying financial statements present fairly, in all material respects, the financial position of the Company as at 31 December 2020, and its financial performance and its cash flows for the year then ended in accordance with International Financial Reporting Standards (“IFRSs”) as endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and other standards and pronouncements issued by Saudi Organization for Charted and Professional Accountants (‘‘SOCPA”). |
| Contents of auditors report [abstract] | |
| Nature of auditors opinion | Qualified opinion |
| Auditors opinion | We have audited the financial statements of Salama Cooperative Insurance Company (the “Company”), which comprise the statement of financial position as at 31 December 2020, and the statement of income, statement of comprehensive income, statement of changes in equity and statement of cash flows for the year then ended, and notes to the financial statements, including a summary of significant accounting policies.In our opinion, except for the effects of the matters described in the paragraph of basis for Qualified Opinion, the accompanying financial statements present fairly, in all material respects, the financial position of the Company as at 31 December 2020, and its financial performance and its cash flows for the year then ended in accordance with International Financial Reporting Standards (“IFRSs”) as endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and other standards and pronouncements issued by Saudi Organization for Charted and Professional Accountants (‘SOCPA”). |
| Basis of opinion | As stated in Note 10 to the financial statements, the Company has other receivables balance amounting to SAR 15.1 million as of December 31, 2020, which represents accounting system processing differences related to the insurance operations due to the difficulties in the implementation of new IT system, which has been escalated to the upper management of the IT developer supplier. We were unable to obtain sufficient appropriate evidence in respect of the other receivable balance. In light of the above, we were unable to determine whether any adjustments to other receivables were required and we were unable to determine the possible impact on the financial statements for the year ended December 31, 2020.We conducted our audit in accordance with International Standards on Auditing (“ISAs”) that are endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Our responsibilities under those standards are further described in the Auditors’ Responsibilities for the Audit of the Financial Statements section of our report. We are independent of the Company in accordance with the professional code of conduct and ethics, that are endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, that are relevant to our audit of the financial statements, and we have fulfilled our ethical responsibilities in accordance with these requirements. We believe that the audit evidence we have obtained is sufficient and appropriate to provide a basis for our qualified opinion. |
| Key audit matters | Key audit matters are those matters that, in our professional judgment, were of most significance in our audit of the financial statements of the current period. These matters were addressed in the context of our audit of the financial statements as a whole, and in forming our opinion thereon, and we do not provide a separate opinion on these matters. |
| Responsibilities of management and those charged with governance for financial statements | Management is responsible for the preparation and fair presentation of the financial statements in accordance with IFRSs as endorsed in KSA, the applicable requirements of the Companies’ Law, the Company’s By-Laws and for such internal control as management determine is necessary to enable the preparation of financial statements that are free from material misstatement, whether due to fraud or error.In preparing the financial statements, management is responsible for assessing the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern, disclosing, as applicable, matters related to going concern and using the going concern basis of accounting unless management either intend to liquidate the Company or to cease operations, or have no realistic alternative but to do so.Those charged with governance are responsible for overseeing the Company’s financial reporting process. |
| Auditors responsibilities for audit of financial statements | Our objectives are to obtain reasonable assurance about whether the financial statements as a whole are free from material misstatement, whether due to fraud or error, and to issue an auditors’ report that includes our opinion. Reasonable assurance is a high level of assurance, but is not a guarantee that an audit conducted in accordance with ISAs that are endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia will always detect a material misstatement when it exists. Misstatements can arise from fraud or error and are considered material if, individually or in the aggregate, they could reasonably be expected to influence the economic decisions of users taken on the basis of these financial statements.As part of an audit in accordance with ISA that are endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, we exercise professional judgment and maintain professional skepticism throughout the audit. We also: Identify and assess the risks of material misstatement of the financial statements, whether due to fraud or error, design and perform audit procedures responsive to those risks, and obtain audit evidence that is sufficient and appropriate to provide a basis for our opinion. The risk of not detecting a material misstatement resulting from fraud is higher than for one resulting from error, as fraud may involve collusion, forgery, intentional omissions, misrepresentations, or the override of internal control. Obtain an understanding of internal control relevant to the audit in order to design audit procedures that are appropriate in the circumstances, but not for the purpose of expressing an opinion on the effectiveness of the Company’s internal control. Evaluate the appropriateness of accounting policies used and the reasonableness of accounting estimates and related disclosures made by management. Conclude on the appropriateness of management’s use of the going concern basis of accounting and, based on the audit evidence obtained, whether a material uncertainty exists related to events or conditions that may cast significant doubt on the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern. If we conclude that a material uncertainty exists, we are required to draw attention in our auditors’ report to the related disclosures in the financial statements or, if such disclosures are inadequate, to modify our opinion. Our conclusions are based on the audit evidence obtained up to the date of our auditors’ report. However, future events or conditions may cause the Company to cease to continue as a going concern. Evaluate the overall presentation, structure and content of the financial statements, including the disclosures, and whether the financial statements represent the underlying transactions and events in a manner that achieves fair presentation.We communicate with those charged with governance regarding, among other matters, the planned scope and timing of the audit and significant audit findings, including any significant deficiencies in internal control that we identify during our audit.We also provide those charged with governance with a statement that we have complied with relevant ethical requirements regarding independence, and to communicate with them all relationships and other matters that may reasonably be thought to bear on our independence, and where applicable, related safeguards.From the matters communicated with those charged with governance, we determine those matters that were of most significance in the audit of the financial statements of the current period and are therefore the key audit matters. We describe these matters in our auditors’ report unless law or regulation precludes public disclosure about the matter or when, in extremely rare circumstances, we determine that a matter should not be communicated in our report because the adverse consequences of doing so would reasonably be expected to outweigh the public interest benefits of such communication. |
| Date of signing audit report by auditor | 2021-04-08 |
| [300100] Statement of financial position, order of liquidity |
| Start Date | 2020-01-01 | 2019-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2020-12-31 | 2019-12-31 | |
| Statement of financial position [abstract] | |||
| Assets [abstract] | |||
| Insurance/ takaful operations assets [abstract] | |||
| Property and equipment, net, insurance/ takaful operations assets | 11,689 | 12,044 | |
| Investments held-to-maturity, insurance/ takaful operations assets | 10,000 | 18,530 | |
| Deferred policy acquisition costs | 21,020 | 9,033 | |
| Reinsurers/ retakaful share of unearned premiums/ contributions | 23,270 | 21,858 | |
| Prepayments and other assets, insurance/ takaful operations assets | 42,047 | 11,173 | |
| Premiums/ insurance receivables/takaful contributions receivable, net | 40,896 | 86,207 | |
| Reinsurers/ retakaful share of outstanding claims/ benefits, net | 32,692 | 21,018 | |
| Time (Murabaha) deposits, insurance/ takaful operations assets | 148,318 | 155,288 | |
| Investments held at fair value through statement of income, insurance/ takaful operations assets | 103,021 | 128,920 | |
| Cash and cash equivalents, insurance/ takaful operations assets | 47,892 | 26,834 | |
| Other assets, insurance/ takaful operations assets | 21,927 | 40,647 | |
| Total insurance/ takaful operations assets | 502,772 | 531,552 | |
| Shareholders assets [abstract] | |||
| Investments held-to-maturity, shareholders assets | 4,983 | 26,768 | |
| Statutory deposit | 41,168 | 40,828 | |
| Prepayments and other assets, shareholders assets | 185 | 186 | |
| Investments held at fair value through statement of income, shareholders assets | 48,947 | 46,593 | |
| Time (Murabaha) deposits, shareholders assets | 0 | 100,201 | |
| Available-for-sale investments, shareholders assets | 1,923 | 1,923 | |
| Due from insurance/ takaful operations assets | 32,537 | 12,979 | |
| Cash and cash equivalents, shareholders assets | 111,354 | 2,927 | |
| Total shareholders assets | 241,097 | 232,405 | |
| Total assets | 743,869 | 763,957 | |
| Liabilities and equity [abstract] | |||
| Insurance/ takaful operations liabilities and surplus (deficit) [abstract] | |||
| Insurance/ takaful operations liabilities [abstract] | |||
| Gross unearned premiums/ contributions | 218,302 | 229,678 | |
| Premiums/ contributions received in advance | 13,522 | 13,943 | |
| Unearned commission income | 3,733 | 3,401 | |
| Employees end of service benefits, insurance/ takaful operations liabilities | 9,701 | 9,688 | |
| Due to shareholders operations | 32,537 | 12,979 | |
| Reinsurers/ retakaful balance payable | 7,037 | 7,811 | |
| Gross outstanding claims/ benefits including IBNR payable | 149,460 | 169,539 | |
| Other technical reserves | 3,096 | 16,041 | |
| Accrued commission payable | 8,757 | ||
| Accrued expenses payable, insurance/ takaful operations liabilities | 19,922 | 23,627 | |
| Other liabilities, insurance/ takaful operations | 30,365 | 23,703 | |
| Total insurance/ takaful operations liabilities | 487,675 | 519,167 | |
| Insurance/ takaful operations surplus (deficit) [abstract] | |||
| Surplus (deficit) from insurance/ takaful fund | 15,149 | 14,535 | |
| Other insurance/ takaful operations surplus (deficit) | -800 | ||
| Total insurance/ takaful operations surplus (deficit) | 15,149 | 13,735 | |
| Total insurance/ takaful operations liabilities and surplus (deficit) | 502,824 | 532,902 | |
| Shareholders liabilities and equity [abstract] | |||
| Shareholders liabilities [abstract] | |||
| Zakat payable | 31,131 | 25,131 | |
| Other liabilities, shareholders liabilities | 3,668 | 3,328 | |
| Total shareholders liabilities | 34,799 | 28,459 | |
| Shareholders equity [abstract] | |||
| Equity attributable to owners of parent [abstract] | |||
| Share capital | 250,000 | 250,000 | |
| Statutory reserve | 5,003 | 5,003 | |
| Retained earnings (accumulated losses) | -48,705 | -52,407 | |
| Other reserves | -52 | ||
| Total equity attributable to owners of parent | 206,246 | 202,596 | |
| Total equity attributable to equity holders of company | 206,246 | 202,596 | |
| Total shareholders liabilities and equity | 241,045 | 231,055 | |
| Total insurance/ takaful operations liabilities, surplus (deficit) and shareholders liabilities and equity | 743,869 | 763,957 |
| [300200] Statement of insurance/ takaful operations, nature of expense |
| Start Date | 2020-01-01 | 2019-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2020-12-31 | 2019-12-31 | |
| Statement of insurance/ takaful operations [abstract] | |||
| Statement of insurance/ takaful operations and accumulated surplus (deficit) [abstract] | |||
| Income from insurance/ takaful operations [abstract] | |||
| Net premiums/ contributions earned [abstract] | |||
| Net premiums/ contributions written [abstract] | |||
| Gross premiums/ contributions written | 427,623 | 503,504 | |
| Excess of loss expense | 22,007 | 16,335 | |
| Reinsurance/ retakaful premiums ceded | 45,652 | 49,305 | |
| Net premiums/ contributions written | 359,964 | 437,864 | |
| Changes in unearned premiums/ contributions | -11,376 | -57,415 | |
| Reinsurance/ retakaful share of unearned premiums/ contributions | -1,412 | -8,719 | |
| Net premiums/ contributions earned | 372,752 | 503,998 | |
| Reinsurance/ retakaful commissions | 6,967 | 5,953 | |
| Investment income from insurance/ takaful operations, net | 9,887 | 3,233 | |
| Fees and other income from insurance/ takaful operations | 8,900 | 3,816 | |
| Total income from insurance/ takaful operations | 398,506 | 517,000 | |
| Cost and expenses [abstract] | |||
| Net claims/ benefits incurred [abstract] | |||
| Net claims/ benefits paid [abstract] | |||
| Gross claims/ benefits paid | 347,288 | 501,320 | |
| Reinsurance/ retakaful share of gross claims/ benefits paid | 35,133 | 31,848 | |
| Net claims/ benefits paid | 312,155 | 469,472 | |
| Changes in outstanding claims/ benefits including IBNR | -20,078 | -40,721 | |
| Changes in reinsurance/ retakaful share of outstanding claims/ benefits | -11,675 | 2,765 | |
| Changes in other technical reserves | -12,945 | 4,583 | |
| Net claims/ benefits incurred | 267,457 | 436,099 | |
| Policy acquisition costs | 17,312 | 28,031 | |
| General and administrative expenses, insurance/ takaful operations | 81,157 | 94,788 | |
| Other underwriting expenses | 26,444 | 21,345 | |
| Total cost and expenses | 392,370 | 580,263 | |
| Surplus (deficit) for period from insurance/ takaful operations | 6,136 | -63,263 | |
| Shareholders appropriation from insurance/ takaful operations surplus (deficit) | 5,522 | -63,263 | |
| Net result for period from insurance/ takaful operations after shareholders appropriation | 614 | 0 | |
| Policyholders share of accumulated surplus, at start of period | 29,070 | ||
| Policyholders share of accumulated surplus, at end of period | 614 | 29,070 |
| [300300] Statement of shareholders operations, nature of expense |
| Start Date | 2020-01-01 | 2019-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2020-12-31 | 2019-12-31 | |
| Statement of shareholders operations [abstract] | |||
| Profit (loss) [abstract] | |||
| Income (loss) from continuing operations [abstract] | |||
| Shareholders appropriation of surplus (deficit) transferred from insurance/ takaful operations | 5,522 | -63,263 | |
| Revenue [abstract] | |||
| Investment income | 5,995 | 10,086 | |
| Total revenue | 5,995 | 10,086 | |
| Expenses [abstract] | |||
| General and administrative expenses, shareholders operations | 1,815 | 938 | |
| Total expenses | 1,815 | 938 | |
| Income (loss) from continuing operations before zakat and income tax | 9,702 | -54,115 | |
| Zakat expenses on continuing operations for period | 6,000 | 6,000 | |
| Profit (loss) from continuing operations | 3,702 | -60,115 | |
| Profit (loss) for the period | 3,702 | -60,115 | |
| Profit (loss), attributable to [abstract] | |||
| Profit (loss), attributable to saudi shareholders of company | 3,702 | -60,115 | |
| Earnings per share [abstract] | |||
| Basic earnings (loss) per share [abstract] | |||
| Basic earnings (loss) per share from continuing operations | 0.15 | -2.4 | |
| Total basic earnings (loss) per share | 0.15 | -2.4 | |
| Weighted average number of equity shares outstanding | 25000 | 25000000 | |
| Share closing price at the last trading day of financial year (in numbers) | 12 | 12 |
| [300400] Statement of other comprehensive income, before tax, insurance operations |
| Start Date | 2020-01-01 | 2019-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2020-12-31 | 2019-12-31 | |
| Statement of other comprehensive income, before tax [abstract] | |||
| Net result for period from insurance/ takaful operations after shareholders appropriation | 614 | 0 | |
| Other comprehensive income [abstract] | |||
| Components of other comprehensive income that will not be reclassified to profit or loss [abstract] | |||
| Remeasurement gains (losses) on defined benefit plans | 748 | -1,879 | |
| Total other comprehensive income that will not be reclassified to profit or loss | 748 | -1,879 | |
| Total other comprehensive income (loss) | 748 | -1,879 | |
| Total comprehensive income (loss) for period | 1,362 | -1,879 |
| [300500] Statement of other comprehensive income, before tax, shareholders operations |
| Start Date | 2020-01-01 | 2019-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2020-12-31 | 2019-12-31 | |
| Statement of other comprehensive income, before tax [abstract] | |||
| Statement of comprehensive income [abstract] | |||
| Profit (loss) for the period | 3,702 | -60,115 | |
| Total comprehensive income (loss) for period | 3,702 | -60,115 | |
| Total comprehensive income (loss) attributable to [abstract] | |||
| Total comprehensive income (loss), attributable to saudi shareholders of company | 3,702 | -60,115 |
| [300600] Statement of cash flows, indirect method, insurance operations |
| Start Date | 2020-01-01 | 2019-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2020-12-31 | 2019-12-31 | |
| Statement of cash flows, indirect method [abstract] | |||
| Statement of cash flows, insurance/ takaful operations [abstract] | |||
| Cash flows from (used in) operating activities, insurance/ takaful operations [abstract] | |||
| Net result for period from insurance/ takaful operations after shareholders appropriation | 614 | 0 | |
| Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash from insurance/ takaful operations after shareholders appropriation | |||
| Adjustments for depreciation, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | 12,543 | 6,730 | |
| Adjustments for unrealised (gains) losses on investments held as fair value through statement of income | 192 | 3,421 | |
| Adjustments for employees end of service benefits | 761 | -1,132 | |
| Adjustments for allowance for doubtful receivables | 238 | -4,604 | |
| Adjustments for bond premium amortization (accretion of discounts), net, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | -3,784 | ||
| Total adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash from insurance/ takaful operations after shareholders appropriation | 13,734 | 631 | |
| Changes in operating assets and liabilities [abstract] | |||
| Adjustments for decrease (increase) in premium receivables, net | 45,073 | 73,841 | |
| Adjustments for decrease (increase) in prepayments and other assets | -23,467 | 13,111 | |
| Adjustments for increase (decrease) in outstanding claims including IBNR | -20,079 | -40,721 | |
| Adjustments for increase (decrease) in reinsurers/ retakaful balance payable | -774 | 1,264 | |
| Adjustments for increase (decrease) in accrued expenses and other liabilities | -669 | -28,552 | |
| Adjustments for decrease (increase) in reinsurers/ retakaful share of outstanding claims, net | -12,165 | 2,765 | |
| Adjustments for decrease (increase) in deferred policy acquisition costs | -11,987 | 5,102 | |
| Adjustments for decrease (increase) in unearned commission income | 332 | 858 | |
| Adjustments for movement in gross unearned premiums/ contributions | -11,376 | -57,415 | |
| Adjustments for reinsurance/ retakaful share of unearned premiums/ contributions | -1,412 | -8,719 | |
| Adjustment for changes in other technical reserves | -12,945 | 4,583 | |
| Adjustments for other changes in operating assets and liabilities, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | 70 | 3,127 | |
| Total changes in operating assets and liabilities | -49,399 | -30,756 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) insurance/ takaful operations | -35,051 | -30,125 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) operating activities, insurance/ takaful operations | -35,051 | -30,125 | |
| Cash flows from (used in) investing activities, insurance/ takaful operations [abstract] | |||
| Time (Murabaha) deposits, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | 109,964 | -14,152 | |
| Proceeds from sales of investments, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | 4,644 | 83,434 | |
| Proceeds from sales of held-to-maturity investments, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | 8,530 | ||
| Proceeds from sales of investments held as fair value through statement of income, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | 64,929 | ||
| Purchase of investments, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | 81,931 | 122,839 | |
| Purchase of property and equipment, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | 137 | 3,462 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) investing activities, insurance/ takaful operations | 41,070 | 7,910 | |
| Cash flows from (used in) financing activities, insurance/ takaful operations [abstract] | |||
| Adjustments for increase (decrease) in due to shareholders operations | 19,558 | -32,743 | |
| Other inflows (outflows) of cash classified as financing activities, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | -4,519 | ||
| Net cash flows from (used in) financing activities, insurance/ takaful operations | 15,039 | -32,743 | |
| Increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents before effect of exchange rate changes | 21,058 | -54,958 | |
| Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents | 21,058 | -54,958 | |
| Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period | 26,834 | 81,792 | |
| Cash and cash equivalents at end of period | 47,892 | 26,834 |
| [300700] Statement of cash flows, indirect method, shareholders operations |
| Start Date | 2020-01-01 | 2019-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2020-12-31 | 2019-12-31 | |
| Statement of cash flows, indirect method [abstract] | |||
| Statement of cash flows [abstract] | |||
| Cash flows from (used in) operating activities [abstract] | |||
| Net profit (loss) for period [abstract] | |||
| Income (loss) from continuing operations before zakat and income tax | 9,702 | -54,115 | |
| Net profit (loss) for period (before zakat expenses and income tax) | 9,702 | -54,115 | |
| Adjustments to reconcile profit (loss) [abstract] | |||
| Adjustments for unrealised loss (gain) on investments held as fair value through statement of income, shareholders cash flow | -3,812 | -8,371 | |
| Adjustments for amortisation of premium (accretion of discounts) on investments | 59 | ||
| Total adjustments to reconcile profit (loss) | -3,812 | -8,312 | |
| Changes in operating assets and liabilities [abstract] | |||
| Adjustments for decrease (increase) in prepayments and other assets, shareholders assets | 1 | -93 | |
| Adjustments for decrease (increase) in statutory deposits | -340 | -642 | |
| Adjustments for increase (decrease) in other liabilities | 340 | 642 | |
| Total changes in operating assets and liabilities | 1 | -93 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) operations | 5,891 | -62,520 | |
| Zakat expenses | 630 | ||
| Net cash flows from (used in) operating activities | 5,891 | -63,150 | |
| Cash flows from (used in) investing activities [abstract] | |||
| Purchase of investments | -13,466 | 4,982 | |
| Proceeds from sales of investments | 8,427 | 28,986 | |
| Proceeds from disposal of held-to-maturity investments | 15,225 | ||
| Purchase of term deposits investments | 100,000 | 212,500 | |
| Proceeds from redemption of term deposits investments | 200,201 | 200,178 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) investing activities | 122,094 | 26,907 | |
| Cash flows from (used in) financing activities [abstract] | |||
| Other inflows (outflows) of cash | -19,558 | 32,743 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) financing activities | -19,558 | 32,743 | |
| Increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents before effect of exchange rate changes | 108,427 | -3,500 | |
| Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents | 108,427 | -3,500 | |
| Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period | 2,927 | 6,427 | |
| Cash and cash equivalents at end of period | 111,354 | 2,927 |
| [300800] Statement of changes in equity |
|   | Share capital [member] | Share premium [member] | Statutory reserve [member] | General reserve [member] | Fair value reserve on investments, shareholders equity [member] | Retained earnings (accumulated losses) [member] | Treasury shares [member] | Other reserves [member] | Reserve of disposal group held for distribution/ sale [member] | Share based payments reserve [member] | Other equity interest [member] | Equity attributable to owners of parent [member] | Non-controlling interests [member] | Total equity [member] | Note No. | ||||||||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Start Date | 2020-01-01 | 2019-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2019-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2019-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2019-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2019-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2019-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2019-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2019-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2019-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2019-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2019-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2019-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2019-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2019-01-01 | |
| End Date | 2020-12-31 | 2019-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2019-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2019-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2019-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2019-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2019-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2019-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2019-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2019-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2019-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2019-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2019-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2019-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2019-12-31 | |
| Statement of changes in equity [line items] | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Equity balance at beginning of period (before adjustments) | 250,000 | 250,000 | 5,003 | 5,003 | -52,407 | 7,708 | -52 | 202,544 | 262,711 | 202,544 | 262,711 | ||||||||||||||||||
| Equity balance at beginning of period (after adjustments) | 250,000 | 250,000 | 5,003 | 5,003 | -52,407 | 7,708 | -52 | 202,544 | 262,711 | 202,544 | 262,711 | ||||||||||||||||||
| Changes in equity [abstract] | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Comprehensive income [abstract] | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Net profit (loss) for period | 3,702 | -60,115 | 3,702 | -60,115 | 3,702 | -60,115 | |||||||||||||||||||||||
| Total comprehensive income (loss) for period | 3,702 | -60,115 | 3,702 | -60,115 | 3,702 | -60,115 | |||||||||||||||||||||||
| Total changes in equity | 3,702 | -60,115 | 3,702 | -60,115 | 3,702 | -60,115 | |||||||||||||||||||||||
| Equity balance at end of period | 250,000 | 250,000 | 5,003 | 5,003 | -48,705 | -52,407 | -52 | 206,246 | 202,596 | 206,246 | 202,596 | ||||||||||||||||||
| [400100] Notes forming part of accounts |
|   | English [member] | Note No. |
|---|---|---|
| Start Date | 2020-01-01 | |
| End Date | 2020-12-31 | |
| Notes forming part of accounts [line items] | ||
| Disclosure of notes and other explanatory information [text block] | ||
| Disclosure of general information about reporting entity [abstract] | ||
| Disclosure of general information about reporting entity [text block] | Salama Cooperative Insurance Company (“the Company”) is a Saudi Joint Stock Company incorporated in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia as per the Ministry of Commerce and Industry’s Resolution number 1121K dated 29 Rabi Al-Thani 1428H (corresponding to 16 May 2007). The Company is registered in Jeddah under Commercial Registration No. 4030169661 dated 6 Jamad Al-Awwal I428H (corresponding to 23 May 2007). The registered office address of the Company is:Salama Tower;Al Madinah RoadP.O. Box 4020;Jeddah 21491;Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.The objective of the Company is to transact cooperative insurance operations and related activities in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. The Company was listed on the Saudi Stock Exchange on 23 May 2007. The Company started its operations on 1 January 2008. The Company is fully owned by the general public and Saudi shareholders. | |
| Disclosure of basis of preparation of financial statements [text block] | These financial statements have been prepared in accordance with International Financial Reporting Standards (“IFRSs”) as endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (“KSA”), and other standards and pronouncements issued by Saudi Organization for Charted and Professional Accountants (“ SOCPA”). The financial statements of the Company as at and for the year ended 31 December 2020 were prepared in compliance with IFRS as endorsed in KSA.The financial statement is prepared under the going concern basis and the historical cost convention, except for the measurement of investments (excluding held-to-maturity) at their fair value and re-measurement of employee benefit obligations. The Company’s statement of financial position is presented in order of liquidity. Except for property and equipment, right of use assets, intangible assets, statutory deposit, employee benefits, outstanding claims, claims incurred but not reported, all other assets and liabilities are of short-term nature, unless, stated otherwise.As required by the Saudi Arabian Insurance Regulations (the Implementation Regulations), the Company maintains separate books of accounts for “Insurance Operations” and “Shareholders’ Operations”. Accordingly, assets, liabilities, revenues and expenses clearly attributable to either operation, are recorded in the respective accounts.Similarly, the Company’s annual financial statements presented separately the statements of financial position, income, comprehensive income and cash flows for the insurance operations and shareholders operations. The basis of allocation of expenses from joint operations is determined and approved by the management and the Board of Directors.The statement of financial position, statements of income and statement of comprehensive income and cash flows of the insurance operations and shareholders’ operations which are presented on pages 53 to 59 of the financial statements have been provided as supplementary financial information and to comply with the requirements of the guidelines issued by SAMA implementing regulations. SAMA implementing regulations requires the clear segregation of the assets, liabilities, income and expenses of the insurance operations and the shareholders’ operations. Accordingly, the statements of financial position, statements of income, comprehensive income and cash flows prepared for the insurance operations and shareholders operations as referred to above, reflect only the assets, liabilities, income, expenses and comprehensive gains or losses of the respective operations.The inclusion of separate information of the insurance operations with the financial information of the Company in the statements of financial position, statement of income, statement of comprehensive income, statement of cash flows as well as certain relevant notes to the financial statements represents additional supplementary information required as required by the implementing regulations.During 2018, under the supervision of SAMA, the insurance companies’ management prepared and adopted the illustrative financial statements for the insurance sector in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. In preparing the Company level financial statements in compliance with IFRS as modified by SAMA, the balances and transactions of insurance operations are combined with those of shareholders’ operations. Inter-operation balances and transactions, if any, are eliminated in full. The accounting policies adopted for the insurance and shareholders’ operations are uniform for like transactions and events in similar circumstances | |
| Disclosure of new standards and amendments in standards [text block] | a) New IFRS, International Financial Reporting and Interpretations Committee’s interpretations (IFRIC) and amendments thereof, adopted by the CompanyThe following new standards, interpretations, amendments and revisions to existing standards, which were issued by the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB) have been effective from 1 January 2020, as applicable:Standard/ Amendments DescriptionAmendments to IAS 1 and IAS 8 Definition of MaterialAmendments to IFRS 3 Definition of a BusinessConceptual Framework Amendments to References to Conceptual Framework in IFRS StandardsAmendments to IFRS 9, IAS 39 and IFRS 7 Interest rate benchmark reformThe adoption of the relevant new and amended standards and interpretations applicable to the Company did not have any significant impact on these financial statements.Amendments to IAS 1 and IAS 8 on the definition of materialThese amendments to IAS 1, ‘Presentation of financial statements’, and IAS 8, ‘Accounting policies, changes in accounting estimates and errors’, and consequential amendments to other IFRSs: i) use a consistent definition of materiality throughout IFRSs and the Conceptual Framework for Financial Reporting; ii) clarify the explanation of the definition of material; and iii) incorporate some of the guidance in IAS 1 about immaterial information.Amendments to IFRS 3 – definition of a businessThis amendment revises the definition of a business. According to feedback received by the IASB, application of the current guidance is commonly thought to be too complex, and it results in too many transactions qualifying as business combinations.Amendments to References to the Conceptual Framework in IFRS StandardsThe Conceptual Framework is not a standard, and none of the concepts contained therein override the concepts or requirements in any standard. The purpose of the Conceptual Framework is to assist the IASB in developing standards, to help preparers develop consistent accounting policies where there is no applicable standard in place and to assist all parties to understand and interpret the standards. This will affect those entities which developed their accounting policies based on the Conceptual Framework. The revised Conceptual Framework includes some new concepts, updated definitions and recognition criteria for assets and liabilities and clarifies some important concepts. These amendments had no impact on the financial statements of the Company. | |
| Disclosure of issued IFRS not yet adopted [text block] | Standard/ Interpretation Description Annual periods beginning on or after IFRS 17 Insurance Contracts See belowIFRS 9 Financial Instruments See belowIAS 1 Classification of Liabilities as Current or Non-current 1 January 2021IFRS 16 Leases for COVID-19 rent related concessions 1 January 2021IFRS 3 Reference to Conceptual Framework 1 January 2021IAS 16 Property, Plant and Equipment: Proceeds before Intended Use 1 January 2021IAS 37 Onerous contracts: Cost of Fulfilling a contract 1 January 2021IFRS 9, IAS 39, IFRS 7, IFRS 4 and IFRS 16 Interest Rate Benchmark Reform – Phase 2 1 January 2021 | |
| Disclosure of critical accounting judgements, estimates and assumptions, general [text block] | The preparation of the financial statements requires the use of estimates and judgments that affect the reported amounts of assets and liabilities and disclosure of contingent assets and liabilities at the date of the financial statements and the reported amounts of revenues and expenses during the reporting year. Although these estimates and judgments are based on management’s best knowledge of current events and actions, actual results ultimately may differ from those estimates.In preparing these financial statements, the significant judgments made by management in applying the Company’s accounting policies, and the key sources of estimation uncertainty including the risk management policies, were the same as those that applied to the annual financial statements as at and for the year ended 31 December 2019. However, the Company has reviewed the key sources of estimation uncertainties disclosed in the last annual financial statements against the backdrop of the COVID-19 pandemic. Management is unable at this time to reasonably quantify the estimation uncertainties as disclosed in note 31 to these financial statements. Management will continue to assess the situation, and reflect any required changes in future reporting periods.Following are the accounting judgments and estimates that are critical in preparation of these financial statements:i) The ultimate liability arising from claims made under insurance contractsThe estimation of the ultimate liability arising from claims made under insurance contracts is the Company’s most critical accounting estimate. There are several sources of uncertainty that need to be considered in the estimate of the liability that the Company will ultimately pay for such claims. Estimates are made at the end of the reporting period both for the expected ultimate cost of claim reported and for the expected ultimate costs of claims incurred but not reported (“IBNR”). Liabilities for unpaid reported claims are estimated using the input of assessments for individual cases reported to the Company. At the end of each reporting period, prior year claims estimates are reassessed for adequacy and changes are made to the provision.The provision for claims incurred but not reported (IBNR) is an estimation of claims which are expected to be reported subsequent to the date of statement of financial position, for which the insured event has occurred prior to the date of statement of financial position. The primary technique adopted by management in estimating the cost of notified and IBNR claims, is that of using the past claims settlement trends to predict future claims settlement trends. A range of methods such as Chain Ladder Method, Bornhuetter-Ferguson Method and Expected Loss Ratio Method are used by the actuaries to determine these provisions. Actuary had also used a segmentation approach including analyzing cost per member per year for medical line of business. Underlying these methods are a number of explicit or implicit assumptions relating to the expected settlement amount and settlement patterns of claims.ii) Impairment of financial assetsThe Company determines that financial assets are impaired when there has been a significant or prolonged decline in the fair value of the financial assets below its cost. The determination of what is significant or prolonged requires judgment. A period of 12 months or longer is considered to be prolonged and a decline of 25% from original cost is considered significant as per Company policy. In making this judgment, the Company evaluates among other factors, the normal volatility in share price, the financial health of the investee, industry and sector performance, changes in technology, and operational and financing cash flows.iii) Impairment of receivablesA provision for impairment of receivables is established when there is objective evidence that the Company will not be able to collect all amounts due according to the original terms of the receivables. Significant financial difficulties of the debtor, probability that the debtor will enter bankruptcy or financial reorganization, and default or delinquency in payments are considered indicators that the receivable is impaired.iv) Fair value of financial instrumentsFair values of available-for-sale investments are based on quoted prices for marketable securities or estimated fair values. The fair value of commission-bearing items is estimated based on discounted cash flows using commission for items with similar terms and risk characteristics.The fair values of financial instruments where no active market exists or where quoted prices are not otherwise available are determined by using valuation techniques. In these cases, the fair values are estimated from observable data in respect of similar financial instruments or using models. Where market observable inputs are not available, they are estimated based on appropriate assumptions. Where valuation techniques (for example, models) are used to determine fair values, they are validated and periodically reviewed by qualified personnel independent of those that sourced them. All models are certified before they are used, and models are calibrated to ensure that outputs reflect actual data and comparative market prices. To the extent practical, models use only observable data; however, areas such as credit risk (both own credit risk and counterparty risk), volatilities and correlations require management to make estimates. v) Useful lives of property and equipmentThe Company's management determines the estimated useful lives of its property and equipment for calculating depreciation. These estimates are determined after considering the expected usage of the assets or physical wear and tear. Management reviews residual values and useful lives annually and future depreciation charges are adjusted where management believes the useful lives differ from previous estimates.vi) Going concernThe Company’s management has made an assessment of the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern and is satisfied that it has the resources to continue in business for the foreseeable future. Furthermore, management is not aware of any material uncertainties that may cast significant doubt upon the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern. Therefore, the financial statements continue to be prepared on the going concern basis. | |
| Disclosure of functional and presentation currency [text block] | These financial statements have been presented in Saudi Arabian Riyals (SAR), which is also the functional currency of the Company. All financial information presented in Saudi Arabian Riyal has been rounded to the nearest thousands, except where otherwise indicated. |