| [100010] Filing information | [200100] Independent auditors report | [300100] Statement of financial position, order of liquidity | |||
| [300200] Statement of insurance/ takaful operations, nature of expense | [300300] Statement of shareholders operations, nature of expense | [300400] Statement of other comprehensive income, before tax, insurance operations | |||
| [300500] Statement of other comprehensive income, before tax, shareholders operations | [300600] Statement of cash flows, indirect method, insurance operations | [300700] Statement of cash flows, indirect method, shareholders operations | |||
| [300800] Statement of changes in equity | [400100] Notes forming part of accounts |

| [100010] Filing information |
|   | English [member] | |
|---|---|---|
| Start Date | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 |
| End Date | 2021-12-31 | 2020-12-31 |
| Filing information [line items] | ||
| Disclosure of entity information [abstract] | ||
| Name of reporting entity | The Mediterranean and Gulf Insurance and Reinsurance Co. | |
| Company symbol code| ISIN code | 8030 | SA000A0MJ2H8 | |
| Sector| Industry group | Financials | Insurance | |
| Disclosure of document information [abstract] | ||
| Whether entity wants to report opening statement of financial position | No | |
| Period covered by financial statements | Annual | |
| Reporting period start date | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 |
| Reporting period end date | 2021-12-31 | 2020-12-31 |
| Description of nature of financial statements | Standalone | |
| Status of financial statements | Audited | |
| Description of presentation currency | Saudi Arabia, Riyals | |
| Level of rounding used in financial statements | Thousands | |
| [200100] Independent auditors report |
|   | Primary auditor [member] | Second primary auditor [member] |
|---|---|---|
|   | English [member] | English [member] |
| Start Date | 2021-01-01 | 2021-01-01 |
| End Date | 2021-12-31 | 2021-12-31 |
| Auditors information [line items] | ||
| Details of auditors signing report [abstract] | ||
| Name of auditor signing report | Salman B. Al Sudairy | Suleiman A. Al-Kharashi |
| Registration number of auditor | 283 | 91 |
| Details of audit firm [abstract] | ||
| Name of audit firm | AlAzem, AlSudairy, AlShaikh and Partners | AlKharashi and Co |
| Address of audit firm | Riyadh | Riyadh |
|   | English [member] |
|---|---|
| Start Date | 2021-01-01 |
| End Date | 2021-12-31 |
| Auditors report [line items] | |
| Disclosures of auditors report [text block] | Unmodified opinion |
| Contents of auditors report [abstract] | |
| Nature of auditors opinion | Unmodified opinion |
| Auditors opinion | We have audited the financial statements of The Mediterranean and Gulf Cooperative Insurance and Reinsurance Company, (A Saudi Joint Stock Company) (the “Company”), which comprise of Statement of financial position as at 31 December 2021, statements of income, statements of comprehensive income and the statements of changes in shareholders’ equity and cash flows for the year then ended, and the accompanying notes which form an integral part of these financial statements.In our opinion, the accompanying financial statements present fairly, in all material respects, the financial position of the Company as at 31 December 2021, and the results of its operations and its cash flows for the year then ended in accordance with International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRSs) as endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and other standards and pronouncements that are issued by Saudi Organization for Chartered and Professional Accountants (“SOCPA”). |
| Basis of opinion | We conducted our audit in accordance with International Standards on Auditing (“ISAs”) as endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Our responsibilities under those standards are further described in the Auditors’ Responsibilities for the Audit of the Financial Statements section of our report. We are independent of the Company in accordance with the professional code of conduct and ethics, as endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia that are relevant to our audit of the financial statements, and we have fulfilled our other ethical responsibilities in accordance with these requirements. We believe that the audit evidence we have obtained is sufficient and appropriate to provide a basis for our opinion. |
| Key audit matters | Key audit matters are those matters that, in our professional judgment, were of most significance in our audit of the financial statements of the current year. These matters were addressed in the context of our audit of the financial statements as a whole, and in forming our opinion thereon, and we do not provide a separate opinion on these matters. |
| Responsibilities of management and those charged with governance for financial statements | The Directors are responsible for the preparation and fair presentation of the financial statements in accordance with International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRSs) as endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and other standards and pronouncements that are issued by Saudi Organization for Chartered and Professional Accountants (“SOCPA”), the applicable requirements of the Regulations for Companies, the Cooperative Insurance Companies Control Law in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and the Company’s by-laws and for such internal control as the Directors determines is necessary to enable the preparation of financial statements that are free from material misstatement, whether due to fraud or error.In preparing the financial statements, the Directors are responsible for assessing the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern, disclosing, as applicable, matters related to going concern and using the going concern basis of accounting unless the Directors either intend to liquidate the Company or to cease operations, or have no realistic alternative but to do so.Those charged with governance are responsible for overseeing the Company’s financial reporting process. |
| Auditors responsibilities for audit of financial statements | Our objectives are to obtain reasonable assurance about whether the financial statements as a whole are free from material misstatement, whether due to fraud or error, and to issue an auditors’ report that includes our opinion. Reasonable assurance is a high level of assurance, but is not a guarantee that an audit conducted in accordance with International Standards on Auditing “ISAs” as endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia will always detect a material misstatement when it exists. Misstatements can arise from fraud or error and are considered material if, individually or in the aggregate, they could reasonably be expected to influence the economic decisions of users taken on the basis of these financial statements.As part of an audit in accordance with International Standards on Auditing (“ISAs”) as endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, we exercise professional judgment and maintain professional skepticism throughout the audit. We also: Identify and assess the risks of material misstatement of the financial statements, whether due to fraud or error, design and perform audit procedures responsive to those risks, and obtain audit evidence that is sufficient and appropriate to provide a basis for our opinion. The risk of not detecting a material misstatement resulting from fraud is higher than for one resulting from error, as fraud may involve collusion, forgery, intentional omissions, misrepresentations, or the override of internal control. Obtain an understanding of internal control relevant to the audit in order to design audit procedures that are appropriate in the circumstances, but not for the purpose of expressing an opinion on the effectiveness of the Company’s internal control. Evaluate the appropriateness of accounting policies used and the reasonableness of accounting estimates and related disclosures made by the Directors. Conclude on the appropriateness of the Directors’ use of the going concern basis of accounting and, based on the audit evidence obtained, whether a material uncertainty exists related to events or conditions that may cast significant doubt on the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern. If we conclude that a material uncertainty exists, we are required to draw attention in our auditors’ report to the related disclosures in the financial statements or, if such disclosures are inadequate, to modify our opinion. Our conclusions are based on the audit evidence obtained up to the date of our auditors’ report. However, future events or conditions may cause the Company to cease to continue as a going concern. Evaluate the overall presentation, structure and content of the financial statements, including the disclosures, and whether the financial statements represent the underlying transactions and events in a manner that achieves fair presentation. We communicate with those charged with governance regarding, among other matters, the planned scope and timing of the audit and significant audit findings, including any significant deficiencies in internal control that we identify during our audit. We also provide those charged with governance with a statement that we have complied with relevant ethical requirements regarding independence, and to communicate with them all relationships and other matters that may reasonably be thought to bear on our independence, and where applicable, related safeguards.From the matters communicated with those charged with governance, we determine those matters that were of most significance in the audit of the financial statements of the current year and are therefore the key audit matters. We describe these matters in our auditors’ report unless law or regulation precludes public disclosure about the matter or when, in extremely rare circumstances, we determine that a matter should not be communicated in our report because the adverse consequences of doing so would reasonably be expected to outweigh the public interest benefits of such communication. |
| Date of signing audit report by auditor | 2022-03-09 |
| [300100] Statement of financial position, order of liquidity |
| Start Date | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2021-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | |
| Statement of financial position [abstract] | |||
| Assets [abstract] | |||
| Insurance/ takaful operations assets [abstract] | |||
| Property and equipment, net, insurance/ takaful operations assets | 28,572 | 23,642 | |
| Due from related parties, insurance/ takaful operations assets | 1,994 | 1,994 | |
| Deferred policy acquisition costs | 49,897 | 60,156 | |
| Reinsurers/ retakaful share of unearned premiums/ contributions | 260,855 | 220,301 | |
| Due from shareholders operations | 678,594 | 527,888 | |
| Premiums/ insurance receivables/takaful contributions receivable, net | 838,577 | 866,983 | |
| Reinsurers/ retakaful share of outstanding claims/ benefits, net | 725,568 | 736,004 | |
| Available-for-sale investments, insurance/ takaful operations assets | 30,789 | 10,502 | |
| Cash and cash equivalents, insurance/ takaful operations assets | 87,035 | 272,589 | |
| Other assets, insurance/ takaful operations assets | 354,490 | 321,867 | |
| Total insurance/ takaful operations assets | 3,056,371 | 3,041,926 | |
| Shareholders assets [abstract] | |||
| Property and equipment, net, shareholders assets | 30,000 | 30,000 | |
| Investments in joint ventures and associates, shareholders assets | 11,799 | 9,734 | |
| Goodwill | 480,000 | 480,000 | |
| Statutory deposit | 120,000 | 120,000 | |
| Time (Murabaha) deposits, shareholders assets | 50,000 | 18,477 | |
| Accrued investment income | 28,158 | 26,626 | |
| Available-for-sale investments, shareholders assets | 631,650 | 580,414 | |
| Due from insurance/ takaful operations assets | -678,594 | -527,888 | |
| Cash and cash equivalents, shareholders assets | 389,968 | 66,076 | |
| Other assets, shareholders assets | 5,929 | 3,104 | |
| Total shareholders assets | 1,068,910 | 806,543 | |
| Total assets | 4,125,281 | 3,848,469 | |
| Liabilities and equity [abstract] | |||
| Insurance/ takaful operations liabilities and surplus (deficit) [abstract] | |||
| Insurance/ takaful operations liabilities [abstract] | |||
| Gross unearned premiums/ contributions | 897,653 | 1,023,041 | |
| Unearned commission income | 18,034 | 32,914 | |
| Employees end of service benefits, insurance/ takaful operations liabilities | 28,770 | 24,405 | |
| Surplus distribution payable | 82,762 | 89,393 | |
| Due to related parties, insurance/ takaful operations liabilities | 2,048 | 751 | |
| Reinsurers/ retakaful balance payable | 155,259 | 165,531 | |
| Gross outstanding claims/ benefits including IBNR payable | 1,207,171 | 1,299,713 | |
| Other technical reserves | 143,752 | 58,750 | |
| Accrued commission payable | 256,861 | 144,715 | |
| Accrued expenses payable, insurance/ takaful operations liabilities | 264,295 | 191,120 | |
| Other liabilities, insurance/ takaful operations | 8,534 | 16,596 | |
| Total insurance/ takaful operations liabilities | 3,065,139 | 3,046,929 | |
| Total insurance/ takaful operations liabilities and surplus (deficit) | 3,065,139 | 3,046,929 | |
| Shareholders liabilities and equity [abstract] | |||
| Shareholders liabilities [abstract] | |||
| Zakat payable | 14,025 | 12,767 | |
| Accrued expenses payable, shareholders liabilities | 872 | 1,012 | |
| Other liabilities, shareholders liabilities | 30,596 | 28,064 | |
| Total shareholders liabilities | 45,493 | 41,843 | |
| Shareholders equity [abstract] | |||
| Equity attributable to owners of parent [abstract] | |||
| Share capital | 1,050,000 | 800,000 | |
| Share premium | 70,000 | ||
| Statutory reserve | 26,135 | 26,135 | |
| Fair value reserve on investments, shareholders equity | 25,682 | 38,636 | |
| Retained earnings (accumulated losses) | -147,611 | -99,569 | |
| Other reserves | -9,557 | -5,505 | |
| Total equity attributable to equity holders of company | 1,014,649 | 759,697 | |
| Total shareholders liabilities and equity | 1,060,142 | 801,540 | |
| Total insurance/ takaful operations liabilities, surplus (deficit) and shareholders liabilities and equity | 4,125,281 | 3,848,469 |
| [300200] Statement of insurance/ takaful operations, nature of expense |
| Start Date | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2021-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | |
| Statement of insurance/ takaful operations [abstract] | |||
| Statement of insurance/ takaful operations and accumulated surplus (deficit) [abstract] | |||
| Income from insurance/ takaful operations [abstract] | |||
| Net premiums/ contributions earned [abstract] | |||
| Net premiums/ contributions written [abstract] | |||
| Gross premiums/ contributions written | 2,236,222 | 2,534,501 | |
| Excess of loss expense | 62,290 | 55,755 | |
| Reinsurance/ retakaful premiums ceded | 773,478 | 893,783 | |
| Net premiums/ contributions written | 1,400,454 | 1,584,963 | |
| Changes in unearned premiums/ contributions | -165,942 | 107,921 | |
| Net premiums/ contributions earned | 1,566,396 | 1,477,042 | |
| Reinsurance/ retakaful commissions | 127,333 | 180,469 | |
| Total income from insurance/ takaful operations | 1,693,729 | 1,657,511 | |
| Cost and expenses [abstract] | |||
| Net claims/ benefits incurred [abstract] | |||
| Net claims/ benefits paid [abstract] | |||
| Gross claims/ benefits paid | 2,064,551 | 1,709,252 | |
| Reinsurance/ retakaful share of gross claims/ benefits paid | 624,777 | 498,315 | |
| Net claims/ benefits paid | 1,439,774 | 1,210,937 | |
| Changes in outstanding claims/ benefits including IBNR | -82,106 | -96,655 | |
| Changes in other technical reserves | 85,003 | 23,328 | |
| Net claims/ benefits incurred | 1,442,671 | 1,137,610 | |
| Policy acquisition costs | 96,525 | 100,135 | |
| General and administrative expenses, insurance/ takaful operations | 339,383 | 403,114 | |
| Other underwriting income | 4,809 | 11,537 | |
| Realised gain (loss) on held-to-maturity investments | 1,392 | 5,044 | |
| Total cost and expenses | 1,872,378 | 1,624,278 | |
| Surplus (deficit) for period from insurance/ takaful operations | -178,649 | 33,233 | |
| Shareholders appropriation from insurance/ takaful operations surplus (deficit) | -178,649 | 29,910 | |
| Net result for period from insurance/ takaful operations after shareholders appropriation | 0 | 3,323 | |
| Policyholders share of accumulated surplus, at end of period | 0 | 3,323 |
| [300300] Statement of shareholders operations, nature of expense |
| Start Date | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2021-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | |
| Statement of shareholders operations [abstract] | |||
| Profit (loss) [abstract] | |||
| Income (loss) from continuing operations [abstract] | |||
| Shareholders appropriation of surplus (deficit) transferred from insurance/ takaful operations | -178,649 | 29,910 | |
| Revenue [abstract] | |||
| Investment income | 3,771 | 3,942 | |
| Income from murabaha/ time deposits | 13,949 | 10,665 | |
| Realised gain (loss) on available-for-sale investments | 22,501 | 9,288 | |
| Dividend income | 7,558 | 6,367 | |
| Total revenue | 47,779 | 30,262 | |
| Expenses [abstract] | |||
| General and administrative expenses, shareholders operations | 4,718 | 5,268 | |
| Total expenses | 4,718 | 5,268 | |
| Income (loss) from continuing operations before zakat and income tax | -135,588 | 54,904 | |
| Zakat expenses on continuing operations for period | 5,000 | 17,991 | |
| Profit (loss) from continuing operations | -140,588 | 36,913 | |
| Profit (loss) for the period | -140,588 | 36,913 | |
| Profit (loss), attributable to [abstract] | |||
| Profit (loss), attributable to saudi shareholders of company | -105,441 | 27,684.75 | |
| Profit (loss), attributable to non-saudi shareholders of company | -35,147 | 9,228.25 | |
| Earnings per share [abstract] | |||
| Basic earnings (loss) per share [abstract] | |||
| Basic earnings (loss) per share from continuing operations | -1.85 | 0.49 | |
| Total basic earnings (loss) per share | -1.85 | 0.49 | |
| Weighted average number of equity shares outstanding | 76014 | 76014 | |
| Share closing price at the last trading day of financial year (in numbers) | 17.18 | 22.73 |
| [300400] Statement of other comprehensive income, before tax, insurance operations |
| Start Date | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2021-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | |
| Statement of other comprehensive income, before tax [abstract] | |||
| Net result for period from insurance/ takaful operations after shareholders appropriation | 0 | 3,323 | |
| Total comprehensive income (loss) for period | 0 | 3,323 |
| [300500] Statement of other comprehensive income, before tax, shareholders operations |
| Start Date | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2021-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | |
| Statement of other comprehensive income, before tax [abstract] | |||
| Statement of comprehensive income [abstract] | |||
| Profit (loss) for the period | -140,588 | 36,913 | |
| Other comprehensive income [abstract] | |||
| Components of other comprehensive income that will not be reclassified to profit or loss [abstract] | |||
| Remeasurement gains (losses) on defined benefit plans | -4,052 | -346 | |
| Total other comprehensive income that will not be reclassified to profit or loss | -4,052 | -346 | |
| Components of other comprehensive income that will be reclassified to profit or loss [abstract] | |||
| Available-for-sale financial assets [abstract] | |||
| Gains (losses) on remeasuring available-for-sale financial assets | -12,954 | 16,975 | |
| Total other comprehensive income (loss), available-for-sale financial assets | -12,954 | 16,975 | |
| Total other comprehensive income (loss), that will be reclassified to profit or loss | -12,954 | 16,975 | |
| Total other comprehensive income (loss) | -17,006 | 16,629 | |
| Total comprehensive income (loss) for period | -157,594 | 53,542 | |
| Total comprehensive income (loss) attributable to [abstract] | |||
| Total comprehensive income (loss), attributable to saudi shareholders of company | -118,195.5 | 40,156.5 | |
| Total comprehensive income (loss), attributable to non-saudi shareholders of company | -39,398.5 | 13,385.5 |
| [300600] Statement of cash flows, indirect method, insurance operations |
| Start Date | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2021-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | |
| Statement of cash flows, indirect method [abstract] | |||
| Statement of cash flows, insurance/ takaful operations [abstract] | |||
| Cash flows from (used in) operating activities, insurance/ takaful operations [abstract] | |||
| Net result for period from insurance/ takaful operations after shareholders appropriation | 0 | 3,323 | |
| Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash from insurance/ takaful operations after shareholders appropriation | |||
| Adjustments for depreciation, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | 10,099 | 9,563 | |
| Adjustments for employees end of service benefits | 5,120 | 6,071 | |
| Adjustments for allowance for doubtful receivables | -24,514 | 39,115 | |
| Adjustments for (gains) losses on disposal of property and equipment, net | 0 | ||
| Total adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash from insurance/ takaful operations after shareholders appropriation | -9,295 | 54,749 | |
| Changes in operating assets and liabilities [abstract] | |||
| Adjustments for decrease (increase) in premium receivables, net | 52,920 | -297,428 | |
| Adjustments for decrease (increase) in prepayments and other assets | 1,056 | -12,622 | |
| Adjustments for increase (decrease) in outstanding claims including IBNR | -92,542 | 81,903 | |
| Adjustments for increase (decrease) in reinsurers/ retakaful balance payable | -10,272 | 58,043 | |
| Adjustments for increase (decrease) in accrued expenses and other liabilities | 65,113 | 123,345 | |
| Adjustments for increase (decrease) in accrued commission income | 112,146 | 6,971 | |
| Adjustments for increase (decrease) in accrued retroceded/ reinsurance premiums | -40,554 | 70,318 | |
| Adjustments for decrease (increase) in reinsurers/ retakaful share of outstanding claims, net | 10,436 | -178,558 | |
| Adjustments for decrease (increase) in retroceded share of outstanding claims | 0 | ||
| Adjustments for decrease (increase) in deferred policy acquisition costs | 10,259 | 7,040 | |
| Adjustments for decrease (increase) in unearned commission income | -14,880 | 1,753 | |
| Adjustments for decrease (increase) in due from shareholders operations | 0 | -1,931 | |
| Adjustments for increase (decrease) in due to shareholders operations | 1,297 | -16,329 | |
| Adjustments for movement in gross unearned premiums/ contributions | -125,388 | 37,604 | |
| Adjustment for changes in other technical reserves | 85,002 | 23,327 | |
| Adjustments for other changes in operating assets and liabilities, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | -33,679 | 11,046 | |
| Total changes in operating assets and liabilities | 20,914 | -85,518 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) insurance/ takaful operations | 11,619 | -27,446 | |
| Other inflows (outflows) of cash classified as operating activities, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | -11,438 | -35,954 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) operating activities, insurance/ takaful operations | 181 | -63,400 | |
| Cash flows from (used in) investing activities, insurance/ takaful operations [abstract] | |||
| Proceeds from sales of investments, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | 57,500 | ||
| Purchase of available-for-sale investments, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | 77,500 | ||
| Purchase of property and equipment, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | 15,029 | 12,316 | |
| Other inflows (outflows) of cash classified as investing activities, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | 91,835 | ||
| Net cash flows from (used in) investing activities, insurance/ takaful operations | -35,029 | 79,519 | |
| Cash flows from (used in) financing activities, insurance/ takaful operations [abstract] | |||
| Due to related party, insurance/ takaful operations cash flow | 150,706 | -79,111 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) financing activities, insurance/ takaful operations | -150,706 | 79,111 | |
| Increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents before effect of exchange rate changes | -185,554 | 95,230 | |
| Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents | -185,554 | 95,230 | |
| Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period | 272,589 | 177,359 | |
| Cash and cash equivalents at end of period | 87,035 | 272,589 |
| [300700] Statement of cash flows, indirect method, shareholders operations |
| Start Date | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | Note No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| End Date | 2021-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | |
| Statement of cash flows, indirect method [abstract] | |||
| Statement of cash flows [abstract] | |||
| Cash flows from (used in) operating activities [abstract] | |||
| Net profit (loss) for period [abstract] | |||
| Income (loss) from continuing operations before zakat and income tax | -135,588 | 54,904 | |
| Net profit (loss) for period (before zakat expenses and income tax) | -135,588 | 54,904 | |
| Adjustments to reconcile profit (loss) [abstract] | |||
| Adjustments for realised loss (gain) on available-for-sale investments, shareholders cash flow | -26,272 | -13,230 | |
| Total adjustments to reconcile profit (loss) | -26,272 | -13,230 | |
| Changes in operating assets and liabilities [abstract] | |||
| Adjustments for increase (decrease) in accrued expenses and other liabilities, shareholders cash flow | -140 | -142 | |
| Adjustments for decrease (increase) in prepayments and other assets, shareholders assets | -2,825 | 166 | |
| Total changes in operating assets and liabilities | -2,965 | 24 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) operations | -164,825 | 41,698 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) operating activities | -164,825 | 41,698 | |
| Cash flows from (used in) investing activities [abstract] | |||
| Purchase of available-for-sale investments | 242,576 | 299,335 | |
| Proceeds from disposal of available-for-sale investments | 169,077 | 370,699 | |
| Dividends received | 1,706 | 3,601 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) investing activities | -71,793 | 74,965 | |
| Cash flows from (used in) financing activities [abstract] | |||
| Due to reinsurance/ retakaful operations | -563,252 | 79,111 | |
| Other inflows (outflows) of cash | -2,742 | -5,012 | |
| Net cash flows from (used in) financing activities | 560,510 | -84,123 | |
| Increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents before effect of exchange rate changes | 323,892 | 32,540 | |
| Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents | 323,892 | 32,540 | |
| Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period | 66,076 | 33,536 | |
| Cash and cash equivalents at end of period | 389,968 | 66,076 |
| [300800] Statement of changes in equity |
|   | Share capital [member] | Share premium [member] | Statutory reserve [member] | General reserve [member] | Fair value reserve on investments, shareholders equity [member] | Retained earnings (accumulated losses) [member] | Treasury shares [member] | Other reserves [member] | Reserve of disposal group held for distribution/ sale [member] | Share based payments reserve [member] | Other equity interest [member] | Equity attributable to owners of parent [member] | Non-controlling interests [member] | Total equity [member] | Note No. | ||||||||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Start Date | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | 2021-01-01 | 2020-01-01 | |
| End Date | 2021-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2021-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2021-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2021-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2021-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2021-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2021-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2021-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2021-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2021-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2021-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2021-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2021-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | 2021-12-31 | 2020-12-31 | |
| Statement of changes in equity [line items] | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Equity balance at beginning of period (before adjustments) | 800,000 | 800,000 | 26,135 | 146,135 | 38,636 | 21,661 | -99,569 | -256,482 | -5,505 | -5,159 | 759,697 | 706,155 | |||||||||||||||||
| Equity balance at beginning of period (after adjustments) | 800,000 | 800,000 | 26,135 | 146,135 | 38,636 | 21,661 | -99,569 | -256,482 | -5,505 | -5,159 | 759,697 | 706,155 | |||||||||||||||||
| Changes in equity [abstract] | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Comprehensive income [abstract] | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Net profit (loss) for period | -140,588 | 36,913 | -140,588 | 36,913 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Other comprehensive income, net of tax | -12,954 | 16,975 | -4,052 | -346 | -17,006 | 16,629 | |||||||||||||||||||||||
| Total comprehensive income (loss) for period | -12,954 | 16,975 | -140,588 | 36,913 | -4,052 | -346 | -157,594 | 53,542 | |||||||||||||||||||||
| Share premium on share issue | 350,000 | 70,000 | 420,000 | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Expenses for right issue of shares | 7,454 | 7,454 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Other miscellaneous changes in equity | -100,000 | -120,000 | 100,000 | 120,000 | 0 | 0 | |||||||||||||||||||||||
| Total changes in equity | 250,000 | 70,000 | -120,000 | -12,954 | 16,975 | -48,042 | 156,913 | -4,052 | -346 | 254,952 | 53,542 | ||||||||||||||||||
| Equity balance at end of period | 1,050,000 | 800,000 | 70,000 | 26,135 | 26,135 | 25,682 | 38,636 | -147,611 | -99,569 | -9,557 | -5,505 | 1,014,649 | 759,697 | ||||||||||||||||
| [400100] Notes forming part of accounts |
|   | English [member] | Note No. |
|---|---|---|
| Start Date | 2021-01-01 | |
| End Date | 2021-12-31 | |
| Notes forming part of accounts [line items] | ||
| Disclosure of notes and other explanatory information [text block] | ||
| Disclosure of general information about reporting entity [abstract] | ||
| Disclosure of general information about reporting entity [text block] | The Mediterranean and Gulf Cooperative Insurance and Reinsurance Company (the “Company”) is a Saudi Joint Stock Company registered in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia under Commercial Registration No. 1010231925 dated 8 Rabi Thani 1428H (corresponding to 26 April 2007). The registered address of the Company's head office is as follows: Medgulf InsuranceFuturo TowerKing Saud RoadP.O. Box 2302Riyadh 11451, Saudi ArabiaThe objectives of the Company are to transact in cooperative insurance and reinsurance business and related activities in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Its principal lines of business include medical, motor and other general insurance. The Company was listed on the Saudi Arabian Stock Exchange (Tadawul) on 28 Rabi Al-Awal 1428H (corresponding to 16 April 2007). | |
| Disclosure of basis of preparation of financial statements [text block] | The financial statements have been prepared on a historical cost basis except for the measurement at fair value of available for sale investments and investment in associates which is accounted for under equity method.Statement of complianceThe financial statements of the Company have been prepared in accordance with ‘International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) as endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and other standards and pronouncements issued by the Saudi Organization for Chartered and Professional Accountants (SOCPA) and the Regulations for Companies in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.As required by Saudi Arabian insurance regulations, the Company maintains separate accounts for Insurance Operations and Shareholders’ Operations and presents the financial statements accordingly (refer note 34). The physical custody of all assets related to the Insurance Operations and Shareholders’ Operations are held by the Company. Revenues and expenses clearly attributable to either activity are recorded in the respective accounts. The basis of allocation of other revenue and expenses from joint operations is as determined by the management and Board of Directors. | |
| Disclosure of new standards and amendments in standards [text block] | The accounting policies and risk management policy used in the preparation of the financial statement are consistent with those followed in the preparation of the Company’s annual financial statements for the year ended 31 December 2021, except as explained below:New Standards, Amendment to Standards and Interpretations (adopted by the Company)The Company has applied the following standards and amendments for the first time for their annual reporting period commencing 1 January 2021.Amendments to IFRS 7, IFRS 4 and IFRS 16 Interest rate benchmark reform - Phase 2The Phase 2 amendments address issues that arise from the implementation of the reforms, including the replacement of one benchmark with an alternative one. The Phase 2 amendments provide additional temporary reliefs from applying specific IAS 39 and IFRS 9 hedge accounting requirements to hedging relationships directly affected by IBOR reform. The Company did not identify a material impact as a result of this amendment.Standards and amendments published but not yet effectiveIFRS 17 – Insurance ContractsThis standard has been published on May 18, 2017, it establishes the principles for the recognition, measurement, presentation and disclosure of insurance contracts and supersedes IFRS 4 – Insurance contracts.The new standard applies to insurance contracts issued, to all reinsurance contracts and to investment contracts with discretionary participating features provided the entity also issues insurance contracts. It requires to separate the following components from insurance contracts:embedded derivatives, if they meet certain specified criteria;distinct investment components; anddistinct performance obligations to provide non-insurance goods and services.These components should be accounted for separately in accordance with the related standards (IFRS 9 and IFRS 15).MeasurementIn contrast to the requirements in IFRS 4, which permitted insurers to continue to use the accounting policies for measurement purposes that existed prior to January 2015, IFRS 17 provides the following different measurement models:The General model is based on the following “building blocks”:the fulfilment cash flows (FCF), which comprise:probability-weighted estimates of future cash flows,an adjustment to reflect the time value of money (i.e. discounting) and the financial risks associated with those future cash flows,and a risk adjustment for non-financial risk;the Contractual Service Margin (CSM). The CSM represents the unearned profit for a group of insurance contracts and will be recognized as the entity provides services in the future. The CSM cannot be negative at inception; any net negative amount of the fulfilment cash flows at inception will be recorded in profit or loss immediately. At the end of each subsequent reporting period the carrying amount of a group of insurance contracts is remeasured to be the sum of:the liability for remaining coverage, which comprises the FCF related to future services and the CSM of the group at that date;and the liability for incurred claims, which is measured as the FCF related to past services allocated to the group at that date.the remaining contracts in the portfolio.The CSM is adjusted subsequently for changes in cash flows related to future services but the CSM cannot be negative, so changes in future cash flows that are greater than the remaining CSM are recognized in profit or loss. Interest is also accreted on the CSM at rates locked in at initial recognition of a contract (i.e. discount rate used at inception to determine the present value of the estimated cash flows). Moreover, the CSM will be released into profit or loss based on coverage units, reflecting the quantity of the benefits provided and the expected coverage duration of the remaining contracts in the group.The Variable Fee Approach (VFA) is a mandatory model for measuring contracts with direct participation features (also referred to as ‘direct participating contracts’). This assessment of whether the contract meets these criteria is made at inception of the contract and not reassessed subsequently. For these contracts, the CSM is also adjusted for in addition to adjustment under general model;changes in the entity’s share of the fair value of underlying items ,changes in the effect of the time value of money and financial risks not relating to the underlying items.the entity expects a substantial proportion of any change in the amounts to be paid to the policyholder to vary with the change in fair value of the underlying items.In addition, a simplified Premium Allocation Approach (PAA) is permitted for the measurement of the liability for the remaining coverage if it provides a measurement that is not materially different from the general model or if the coverage period for each contract in the group is one year or less. With the PAA, the liability for remaining coverage corresponds to premiums received at initial recognition less insurance acquisition cash flows. The general model remains applicable for the measurement of incurred claims. However, the entity is not required to adjust future cash flows for the time value of money and the effect of financial risk if those cash flows are expected to be paid/received in one year or less from the date the claims are incurred.Effective DateThe IASB issued an Exposure Draft Amendments to IFRS 17 during June 2019 and received comments from various stakeholders. The IASB is currently re-deliberating issues raised by stakeholders. For any proposed amendments to IFRS 17, the IASB will follow its normal due process for standard-setting. The effective date of IFRS 17 and the deferral of the IFRS 9 temporary exemption in IFRS 4,is currently January 1, 2023. Earlier application is permitted if both IFRS 15 – Revenue from Contracts with Customers and IFRS 9 – Financial Instruments have also been applied. The Company intend to apply the standard on its effective date. TransitionRetrospective application is required. However, if full retrospective application for a group of insurance contracts is impracticable, then the entity is required to choose either a modified retrospective approach or a fair value approach.Presentation and DisclosuresThe Company expects that the new standard will result in a change to the accounting policies for insurance contracts together with amendments to presentation and disclosures. | |
| Disclosure of notes forming part of accounts [abstract] | ||
| Disclosure of investments in associates and joint ventures [text block] | The Company maintains adequate reserves in respect of its insurance business in order to protect against adverse future claims experience and developments. As claims develop and the ultimate cost of claims becomes more certain, adverse claims experiences will be eliminated which results in the release of reserves from earlier accident years. In order to maintain adequate reserves, the Company transfers much of this release to the current accident year reserves when the development of claims is less mature and there is much greater uncertainty attached to the ultimate cost of claims. | |
| Disclosure of investments in available-for-sale investments [text block] | InvestmentinanassociatecomprisesofanequityinvestmentinAl-WaseelforElectronicTransportationamountingtoSAR11,799thousand(a25%equityinterest)(2020:SAR9,734thousand),inanunquotedcompany(the“associate”),registered in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. | |
| Disclosure of premiums/ contributions and insurance/ reinsurance or takaful/ retakaful balance receivables [text block] | Short term deposits are placed with counterparties that have credit ratings equivalent to BBB+ to BBB ratings under Standard and Poor's, Fitch and Moody’s ratings methodology.Short term deposits are placed with local and licensed foreign banks’ branches in Kingdom of Saudi Arabia with a maturity of more than three months from the date of original acquisition and earned special commission income at an average rate of 1% per annum (2020: 2.13% per annum).For the year ended 31 December 2021 the carrying amounts of the short term deposits reasonably approximate the fair value at the statement of financial position date. | |
| Disclosure of cash and cash equivalents [text block] | The key assumptions concerning the future and other key sources of estimation uncertainty at the date of statement of financial position, that have a significant risk of causing a material adjustment to the carrying amounts of the assets and liabilities within the next financial year are discussed below.The ultimate liability arising from claims made under insurance contractsThe estimation of the ultimate liability arising from claims made under insurance contracts is the Company’s most critical accounting estimate and involves a significant degree of judgment. There are several sources of uncertainty that needed to be considered in estimating the liability that the Company will ultimately pay for such claims. The provision for claims incurred but not reported (IBNR) is an estimation of claims which are expected to be reported subsequent to the date of statement of financial position, for which the insured event has occurred prior to the date of statement of financial position. The liabilities are based on the best-estimate of ultimate cost of all claims incurred but not settled at a given date, whether reported or not, together with the related claims handling costs. The primary technique adopted by management in estimating the cost of notified and IBNR claims, is that of using the past claims settlement trends to predict future claims settlement trends.Following are the critical areas of estimation and judgments for medical and motor business for which the Company acquires services of independent actuary to determine such reserves.As a first step towards setting appropriate IBNR reserves for the medical and motor line of businesses, a runoff analysis is prepared to assess how the claims reserves determined at the previous valuation dates compare with actual developments. Results from runoff analysis are taken into consideration while setting reserves for IBNR claims. An analysis is carried out by using the following methods:Chain Ladder method - this builds up, using historical claims payment patterns, ratios of eventual cumulative claims which have been incurred in a particular year to those which have been paid as at the end of a reporting year.Bornhuetter Ferguson method – this is a technique that combines actual past claims experience and any prior information or expectations that might be available concerning claims, for example expected ultimate loss ratios.Expected Loss Ratio method – this technique determines the projected amount of claims relative to earned premiums. The method is used where the insurer lacks the appropriate past claim occurrence data because of changes in product offerings, change in claims settlement processes, etc. Claims requiring court or arbitration decisions are estimated individually. Independent loss adjusters normally estimate property claims. Management reviews its provisions for claims incurred, and claims incurred but not reported, on quarterly basis.The Company is exposed to disputes with, and possibility of defaults by, its reinsurers. The Company monitors on a quarterly basis the evolution of disputes with and the strength of its reinsurers.Premium deficiency reserveEstimation of the premium deficiency for medical and motor business is highly sensitive to a number of assumptions as to the future events and conditions. It is based on an expected loss ratio for the unexpired portion of the risks for written policies. To arrive at the estimate of the expected loss ratio, the actuary looks at the claims and premiums relationship which is expected to realize in the future.Impairment of receivablesThe Company assesses receivables that are individually significant and receivables included in a group of financial assets with similar credit risk characteristics for impairment. Receivables that are individually assessed for impairment and for which an impairment loss is or continues to be recognised are not included in a collective assessment of impairment. This assessment of impairment requires judgment. In making this judgment, the Company evaluates credit risk characteristics that consider past-due status being indicative of the ability to pay all amounts due as per contractual terms. During 2017, the Company has revisited its provisioning approach and significantly increased the level of provisioning in respect of insurance and reinsurance receivables due to increase in credit risk associated with the receivables.Goodwill impairmentImpairment exists when the carrying value of an asset or cash generating unit exceeds its recoverable amount, which is the higher of its fair value less costs to sell and its value in use. Management believes that fair value less cost to sell analysis provides a higher value compared to value in use, and therefore, fair value less cost to sell analyses are used for impairment assessments. Management used a valuation expert to perform fair value less cost to sell analysis through a market based approach to test impairment. The fair value less cost to sell calculation is based on the quoted share price of the Company as of period close and subsequent events that occurred till measurement date. In arriving at the valuation under market approach, the expert also applied certain judgments and factors including analysis of price book value multiples of the comparable companies and comparable transactions.ReinsuranceThe Company accounts for its reinsurance transactions based on their understanding of the contractual terms of the reinsurance treaties. | |
| Disclosure of due to related parties [text block] | As disclosed in note 10.c, the Company, together with CRC carried out an exercise to separate the Company’s transactions and balances with the respective reinsurers and brokers from those of other related parties. This exercise is completed and Saudi Riyals 59.4 million have been identified as receivable from related party. However, the Company has booked full provision for this balance and disclosed under due from other related parties in note 10.Premiums and reinsurance balances receivables comprise a large number of customers mainly within the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia as well as reinsurance companies mainly in Europe. Premiums and reinsurance balances receivable include SAR 33.4 million (31 December 2020: SAR 80.1 million) due in foreign currencies, mainly in US Dollars. The Company’s terms of business require amounts to be paid within 30 to 90 days of the date of transaction. Arrangements with reinsurers normally require settlement if the balance exceeds a certain agreed amount. The five largest customers accounts for 39.8% (31 December 2020: 37.3%) of the premiums receivable as at 31 December 2021. Further, total receivable from government entities amount to SR 250.7 million (31 December 2020: SAR 221.8 million) constituting 32.4% (31 December 2020: 24.03%) of total premium receivable.Unimpaired premiums and reinsurance balances receivables are expected, on the basis of past experience, to be fully recoverable. It is not the practice of the Company to obtain collateral over receivables and the vast majority are, therefore, unsecured. The Company does not have an internal credit ratings assessment process and accordingly, amounts which are neither past due nor impaired, in respect of premiums receivable balances, are from individuals and unrated corporates. Balances due from reinsurers are with counterparties who have investment grade credit ratings issued by external rating agencies. |