| Notes forming part of accounts [line items] | | |
| Disclosure of notes and other explanatory information [text block] |
1 | ORGANIZATION AND PRINCIPAL ACTIVITIES |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Malath Cooperative Insurance Company (the “Company”) is a Saudi Joint Stock Company established in Riyadh, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia by Royal Decree Number M/60 and incorporated on 21 Rabi Al-Awal 1428H corresponding to 9 April 2007 under Commercial Registration No. 1010231787. The Company’s head office is situated at Mohammad Bin Abdelaziz Street, P.O. Box 99763, Riyadh 11625, and Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| The objectives of the Company are to engage in providing insurance and related services in accordance with its by-laws and the applicable regulations in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 2 | BASIS OF PREPARATION |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| (a) | Basis of presentation and measurement |
|
|
|
|
| These interim condensed financial information (interim condensed financial statements) of the Company as at and for the period ended 30 June 2020 have been prepared in accordance with International Accounting Standard 34 Interim Financial Reporting (“IAS 34”), as endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia by Saudi Organization for Certified Public Accountants (SOCPA). |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| These interim condensed financial statements are prepared under the going concern concept and the historical cost convention, except for the measurement at fair value of available-for-sale investments and employees' end of service benefits measured at present value of future obligations using projected unit credit method. The Company’s interim condensed statement of financial position is not presented using a current/non-current classification. However, the following balances would generally be classified as non-current: Available-for-sale investments, Property and equipment, Statutory deposit, Accrued income on statutory deposit, Employees' end-of-service benefits and Accrued commission income payable to SAMA. All other financial statement line items balances would generally be classified as current. The Company presents its interim condensed statement of financial position in order of liquidity. As required by the Law on Supervision of Co-operative Insurance Companies, the Company maintains separate books of accounts for Insurance Operations and Shareholders’ Operations and presents the interim condensed financial statements accordingly (Note 18). Assets, liabilities, revenues and expenses clearly attributable to either activity are recorded in the respective accounts. The basis of allocation of expenses from joint operations is determined and approved by the management and the Board of Directors. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| The interim condensed statement of financial position, interim condensed statements of income, comprehensive income and cash flows of the insurance operations and shareholders operations which are presented in Note 18 of the interim condensed financial statements have been provided as supplementary financial information to comply with the requirements of the guidelines issued by SAMA implementing regulations and is not required under IFRSs as endorsed in KSA. SAMA implementing regulations requires the clear segregation of the assets, liabilities, income and expenses of the insurance operations and the shareholders operations. Accordingly, the interim condensed statements of financial position, interim condensed statements of income, interim condensed statement of comprehensive income and interim condensed statement of cash flows prepared for the insurance operations and shareholders operations as referred to above, reflect only the assets, liabilities, income, expenses and comprehensive gains or losses of the respective operations. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| In preparing the Company-level interim condensed financial statements in compliance with IFRSs as endorsed in KSA, the balances and transactions of the insurance operations are amalgamated and combined with those of the shareholders’ operations. Inter-operation balances and transactions are eliminated in full during amalgamation. The accounting policies adopted for the insurance operations and shareholders operations are uniform for like transactions and events in similar circumstances. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| The interim condensed financial statements does not include all of the information required for full annual financial statements and should be read in conjunction with the audited annual financial statements as at and for the year ended 31 December 2019. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| |
| 18 |
| Disclosure of general information about reporting entity [abstract] | | |
| Disclosure of general information about reporting entity [text block] |
1 | ORGANIZATION AND PRINCIPAL ACTIVITIES |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Malath Cooperative Insurance Company (the “Company”) is a Saudi Joint Stock Company established in Riyadh, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia by Royal Decree Number M/60 and incorporated on 21 Rabi Al-Awal 1428H corresponding to 9 April 2007 under Commercial Registration No. 1010231787. The Company’s head office is situated at Mohammad Bin Abdelaziz Street, P.O. Box 99763, Riyadh 11625, and Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| The objectives of the Company are to engage in providing insurance and related services in accordance with its by-laws and the applicable regulations in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 1 |
| Disclosure of basis of preparation of financial statements [text block] |
2 | BASIS OF PREPARATION |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| (a) | Basis of presentation and measurement |
|
|
|
|
| These interim condensed financial information (interim condensed financial statements) of the Company as at and for the period ended 30 June 2020 have been prepared in accordance with International Accounting Standard 34 Interim Financial Reporting (“IAS 34”), as endorsed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia by Saudi Organization for Certified Public Accountants (SOCPA). |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| These interim condensed financial statements are prepared under the going concern concept and the historical cost convention, except for the measurement at fair value of available-for-sale investments and employees' end of service benefits measured at present value of future obligations using projected unit credit method. The Company’s interim condensed statement of financial position is not presented using a current/non-current classification. However, the following balances would generally be classified as non-current: Available-for-sale investments, Property and equipment, Statutory deposit, Accrued income on statutory deposit, Employees' end-of-service benefits and Accrued commission income payable to SAMA. All other financial statement line items balances would generally be classified as current. The Company presents its interim condensed statement of financial position in order of liquidity. As required by the Law on Supervision of Co-operative Insurance Companies, the Company maintains separate books of accounts for Insurance Operations and Shareholders’ Operations and presents the interim condensed financial statements accordingly (Note 18). Assets, liabilities, revenues and expenses clearly attributable to either activity are recorded in the respective accounts. The basis of allocation of expenses from joint operations is determined and approved by the management and the Board of Directors. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| The interim condensed statement of financial position, interim condensed statements of income, comprehensive income and cash flows of the insurance operations and shareholders operations which are presented in Note 18 of the interim condensed financial statements have been provided as supplementary financial information to comply with the requirements of the guidelines issued by SAMA implementing regulations and is not required under IFRSs as endorsed in KSA. SAMA implementing regulations requires the clear segregation of the assets, liabilities, income and expenses of the insurance operations and the shareholders operations. Accordingly, the interim condensed statements of financial position, interim condensed statements of income, interim condensed statement of comprehensive income and interim condensed statement of cash flows prepared for the insurance operations and shareholders operations as referred to above, reflect only the assets, liabilities, income, expenses and comprehensive gains or losses of the respective operations. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| In preparing the Company-level interim condensed financial statements in compliance with IFRSs as endorsed in KSA, the balances and transactions of the insurance operations are amalgamated and combined with those of the shareholders’ operations. Inter-operation balances and transactions are eliminated in full during amalgamation. The accounting policies adopted for the insurance operations and shareholders operations are uniform for like transactions and events in similar circumstances. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| The interim condensed financial statements does not include all of the information required for full annual financial statements and should be read in conjunction with the audited annual financial statements as at and for the year ended 31 December 2019. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 2 |
| Disclosure of summary of significant accounting policies [abstract] | | |
| Disclosure of summary of significant accounting policies, general comment [text block] |
3 | SIGNIFICANT ACCOUNTING POLICIES |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| The accounting policies adopted in the preparation of these interim condensed financial statements are consistent with those followed in the preparation of the Company’s annual financial statements for the year ended 31 December 2019, except for the adoption of new standards effective as of 1 January 2020. The Company has not early adopted any standard (interpretation) or amendments that has been issued but which are not yet effective. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| a) | Amendment to standards and interpretations |
|
|
|
|
| There are no new standards issued, however, certain amendments to standards and interpretations which are effective from 1 January 2020 and were listed in the Company's annual financial statements of 31 December 2019, but they do not have any impact on the interim condensed financial statements of the Company. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| b) | Standards issued but not yet effective |
|
|
|
|
|
| The Company has chosen not to early adopt the amendments and revisions to the IFRSs, which have been published and are mandatory for compliance for the Company with effect from future dates. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| STANDARD/ INTERPRETATION/ AMENDMENTS | DESCRIPTION |
|
| EFFECTIVE FROM PERIODS BEGINNING ON OR AFTER THE FOLLOWING DATE | IFRS 9 |
|
| Financial Instruments (refer below) |
| 1-Jan-19 |
|
| IFRS 17 |
|
| Insurance Contracts (refer below) |
|
| 1-Jan-23 |
|
|
| 3 |
| Description of accounting policy for time (murabaha) deposit [text block] |
5 | MURABAHA DEPOSITS |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 30 June |
| 31 December |
|
|
|
|
| 2020 |
| 2019 |
|
|
|
|
| (Unaudited) |
| (Audited) |
|
|
|
|
| SR (000) |
|
| Insurance operations |
|
|
|
|
| Short term Murabaha deposits |
|
| 415,000 |
| 360,000 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Shareholders' operations |
|
|
|
|
| Short term Murabaha deposits |
|
| 301,106 |
| 280,000 | Total Murabaha deposits |
|
| 716,106 |
| 640,000 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Murabaha deposits have an original maturity of more than three months from the date of acquisition and are subject to an average commission rate of 2.9% per annum as at 30 June 2020 (31 December 2019: 3.24% per annum). |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| The carrying amounts disclosed above are not materially different from their fair values at the date of the interim condensed statement of financial position. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 5 |
| Disclosure of notes forming part of accounts [abstract] | | |
| Disclosure of investments in available-for-sale investments [text block] |
8 | AVAILABLE-FOR-SALE INVESTMENTS |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 30 June |
| 31 December |
|
|
|
| 2020 |
| 2019 |
|
|
|
| (Unaudited) |
| (Audited) |
|
|
|
| SR (000) |
|
| Insurance operations |
|
|
|
| Unquoted |
|
|
|
|
| Funds |
|
| 3,372 |
| 3,372 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Shareholders’ operations |
|
|
|
| Quoted |
|
|
|
|
| Equity shares |
| 18,792 |
| 9,380 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Unquoted |
|
|
|
|
| Funds |
|
| 51,224 |
| 21,512 | Equity shares |
| 1,923 |
| 1,923 |
|
|
|
| 71,939 |
| 32,815 | Total available for sale investments (note 14) |
| 75,311 |
| 36,187 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| The fair values of the unquoted mutual funds computed above are based on the latest reported net assets as at the reporting date. Unquoted equity shares in shareholders' operations include investment in Najm Company for Insurance Services which is carried at cost due to absence of active market or other means of reliably measuring its fair value. An impairment review is performed at each reporting date. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Movement in the investments balance is as follows: |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 30 June |
| 31 December |
|
|
|
| 2020 |
| 2019 |
|
|
|
| (Unaudited) |
| (Audited) |
|
|
|
| SR (000) |
|
| Insurance operations |
|
|
|
| Balance at beginning of the period/year |
| 3,372 |
| 3,322 | Reversal of impairment of investments during the period/year |
| - |
| 50 | Balance at end of the period/year |
| 3,372 |
| 3,372 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Shareholders' operations |
|
|
|
| Balance at beginning of the period/year |
| 32,815 |
| 32,299 | Addition during the period/year |
| 38,072 |
| 8,516 | Disposals during the period/year |
| - |
| (10,000) | Reversal of impairment during the period/year |
| - |
| 1,135 | Re-measurement gain during the period/year |
| 1,052 |
| 865 | Balance at end of the period/year |
| 71,939 |
| 32,815 |
| 8 |
| Disclosure of premiums/ contributions and insurance/ reinsurance or takaful/ retakaful balance receivables [text block] |
6 | PREMIUMS AND REINSURERS' RECEIVABLE - NET |
|
|
| Receivables comprise amounts due from the following: |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 30 June |
| 31 December |
|
|
|
|
| 2020 |
| 2019 |
|
|
|
|
| (Unaudited) |
| (Audited) |
|
|
|
|
| SR (000) |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Policyholders |
|
|
| 247,970 |
| 205,100 | Reinsurers |
|
|
| 7,609 |
| 349 | Insurance companies |
|
| 17,061 |
| 4,729 | Agents and brokers |
|
| 7,497 |
| 7,030 |
|
|
|
|
| 280,137 |
| 217,208 | Less: |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Provision for doubtful receivables - insurance |
|
| (36,569) |
| (33,151) | Provision for doubtful receivables - reinsurers |
|
| (233) |
| (223) |
|
|
|
|
| (36,802) |
| (33,374) |
|
|
|
|
| 243,335 |
| 183,834 | The movement in the provision for doubtful receivables is as follows: |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 30 June |
| 31 December |
|
|
|
|
| 2020 |
| 2019 |
|
|
|
|
| (Unaudited) |
| (Audited) |
|
|
|
|
| SR (000) |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Beginning balance |
|
| 33,374 |
| 34,449 | Provision / (reversals) made during the period/year, net |
| 3,428 |
| (1,075) | Ending balance |
|
|
| 36,802 |
| 33,374 |
| 6 |
| Disclosure of due from related parties [text block] |
16 | RELATED PARTY TRANSACTIONS AND BALANCES |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Related parties represent major shareholders, directors and key management personnel of the Company, and companies of which they are principal owners and any other entities controlled, jointly controlled or significantly influenced by them. Pricing policies and terms of these transactions are mutually agreed and are approved by the Company’s management. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| The following are the details of the major related party transactions during the period and the related balances: |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Six-months period ended 30 June |
|
|
| 2020 |
| 2019 |
|
|
| (Unaudited) |
| (Unaudited) |
|
|
| SR (000) |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Remuneration paid to Board of Directors | 3,210 |
| 1,750 |
|
|
|
|
|
| Board of Directors’ and committees meeting fees | 165 |
| 114 |
|
|
|
|
|
| Balances due from / (to) related parties comprise the following: |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 30 June |
| 31 December |
|
|
| 2020 |
| 2019 |
|
|
| (Unaudited) |
| (Audited) |
|
|
| SR (000) |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Claims payable to companies owned by BOD members | (2) |
| (2) |
| 16 |
| Disclosure of cash and cash equivalents [text block] |
4 | CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 30 June |
| 31 December |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 2020 |
| 2019 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| (Unaudited) |
| (Audited) |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| SR (000) |
|
| Insurance operations |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Cash in banks |
|
|
|
|
| 75,681 |
| 48,960 | Cash on hand |
|
|
|
|
| 14 |
| 10 | Short term Murabaha deposits |
|
|
| 10,000 |
| 50,000 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 85,695 |
| 98,970 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Shareholders' operations |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Cash in banks |
|
|
|
|
| 39,825 |
| 71,300 | Total cash and cash equivalents |
|
|
| 125,520 |
| 170,270 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Short term Murabaha deposits have original maturity of less than three months from the date of acquisition and are subject to an average commission rate of 3.17% per annum as at 30 June 2020 (31 December 2019: 1.73% per annum). |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| The carrying amounts disclosed above are not materially different from their fair values at the date of the interim condensed statement of financial position. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| |
| Disclosure of zakat [text block] |
9 | PROVISION FOR ZAKAT |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| a) | Zakat payable |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| The movement in zakat payable during the period/year was as follows: |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 30 June |
| 31 December |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 2020 |
| 2019 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| (Unaudited) |
| (Audited) |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| SR (000) |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Balance at beginning of the period/year |
|
|
|
| 32,220 |
| 29,866 | Charge for the period/year |
|
|
|
|
| 6,600 |
| 13,183 | Payments during the period/year |
|
|
|
|
| - |
| (10,829) | Balance at end of the period/year |
|
|
|
|
| 38,820 |
| 32,220 | b) | Status of assessments |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| The Company had filed the Zakat return for the years 2016 to 2018 and received a temporary Zakat certificate. No assessments have been received from GAZT to date in respect of these years. For the year 2019, the Company has filed the Zakat return before extended deadline of July 31, 2020. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| c) | Status of appeals |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Zakat years 2007 to 2010: The Company had filed an appeal against the final assessment of GAZT and submitted a letter of guarantee to GAZT for zakat and withholding income tax amounting to SR 31.81 million (Note 15). During the year 2017, the primary appeal committee issued a report in which certain arguments of the Company were rejected. The Company appealed against this report in Higher Appeal Committee dated 18/10/1438 H, where the decision is pending. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Zakat years 2011 to 2015: The Company has also filed an appeal to the primary appeal committee against the final assessment of Zakat issued by GAZT for the amount of SR 8 million and the decision is pending. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 9 |
| Disclosure of classes of share capital [text block] |
10 | SHARE CAPITAL |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| As at 30 June 2020 and 31 December 2019, the issued and paid up share capital of the Company amounts to SR 500 million, divided into 50 million ordinary shares of SR 10 each. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 10 |
| Disclosure of statutory reserve [text block] |
12 | STATUTORY RESERVE |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| In accordance with the Company’s By-Laws and in compliance with Article 70(2)(g) of the Insurance Implementing Regulations issued by SAMA, the Company is required to allocate 20% of its net income for the year to the statutory reserve until it equals the value of share capital and such transfer is only made at year end. The statutory reserve is not available for distribution to shareholders until liquidation of the Company. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 12 |
| Disclosure of technical reserve for insurance/takaful/reinsurance/retakaful operations [text block] |
7 | TECHNICAL RESERVES |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| a) | Outstanding claims and reserves |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 30 June |
| 31 December |
|
|
|
|
| 2020 |
| 2019 |
|
|
|
|
| (Unaudited) |
| (Audited) |
|
|
|
|
| SR (000) |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Outstanding claims |
|
| 144,425 |
| 140,569 | Claims incurred but not reported at end of the period/year |
| 175,366 |
| 177,894 | Additional premium reserves |
|
| 55,217 |
| 17,314 | Other technical reserves |
|
| 3,838 |
| 3,605 |
|
|
|
|
| 378,846 |
| 339,382 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Reinsurers' share of outstanding claims |
|
| (120,580) |
| (122,227) | Reinsurers' share of claims incurred but not reported |
|
| (24,020) |
| (25,476) |
|
|
|
|
| (144,600) |
| (147,703) | Net outstanding claims and reserves |
|
| 234,246 |
| 191,679 |
| 7 |
| Disclosure of earnings per share [text block] |
11 | BASIC AND DILUTED EARNINGS PER SHARE |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Basic and diluted earnings per share for the period have been calculated by dividing the total net income for the period by the weighted average number of shares in issue throughout the period. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| The basic and diluted earning per share are as follows: |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Six-months period ended 30 June |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 2020 |
| 2019 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| (Unaudited) |
| (Unaudited) |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Basic and diluted earnings per share (Saudi Riyals) |
|
|
| 0.04 |
| (0.22) | Weighted average number of shares throughout the period (thousands) |
| 50,000 |
| 50,000 |
| 11 |
| Disclosure of entity's operating segments [text block] |
17 | SEGMENT INFORMATION |
|
|
| Consistent with the Company's internal reporting process, operating segments have been approved by management in respect of the Company's activities, assets and liabilities as stated below. Segment results do not include income from investments, income from Murabaha deposits, other income, general and administrative expenses, and provision for doubtful debts. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Segment results do not include commission on short-term Murabaha deposits. Segment assets do not include insurance operations’ cash and cash equivalents, Murabaha deposits, available for sale investments, premium and reinsurers' receivable net, prepayments and other assets and property and equipment. Accordingly, they are included in unallocated assets. Segment liabilities do not include reinsurance balances payable, policyholders claims payable, accrued and other liabilities, accumulated surplus and due to related parties. Accordingly, they are included in unallocated liabilities. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| These unallocated assets and liabilities (including the related charges for provision for doubtful debts on premiums and reinsurers’ receivable and depreciation on the property and equipment) are not reported to Chief Executive Officer under related segments and are monitored on a centralized basis. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 17 |
| Disclosure of capital management [text block] |
13 | CAPITAL MANAGEMENT |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Objectives are set by the Company to maintain healthy capital ratios in order to support its business objectives and maximize shareholders’ value. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| The Company manages its capital requirements by assessing shortfalls between reported and required capital levels on a regular basis. Adjustments to current capital levels are made in light of changes in market conditions and risk characteristics of the Company’s activities. In order to maintain or adjust the capital structure, the Company may adjust the amount of dividends paid to shareholders or issue new shares. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| The Company manages its capital to ensure that it is able to continue as going concern and comply with the regulators’ capital requirements of the markets in which the Company operates. The capital structure of the Company consists of equity attributable to equity holders comprising paid share capital and reserves. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| As per guidelines laid out by SAMA in Article 66 of the Implementing Insurance Regulations detailing the solvency margin requirements, the Company shall maintain solvency margin equivalent to the highest of the following three methods as per SAMA Implementing Regulations: |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Minimum Capital Requirement of SR 100 million |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Premium Solvency Margin |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Claims Solvency Margin |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| In the opinion of the Board of Directors, the Company has fully complied with the externally imposed capital requirements during the reported financial period. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 13 |
| Disclosure of commitments and contingencies, general [text block] |
15 | COMMITMENTS AND CONTINGENCIES |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| a. Legal proceedings and regulations |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| The Company operates in the insurance industry and is subject to legal proceedings in the normal course of business. While it is not practicable to forecast or determine the final results of all pending or threatened legal proceedings, management does not believe that such proceedings (including litigations) will have a material effect on its results and financial position for the current reporting period. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| b. Contingent liabilities |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| The Company’s contingent liabilities are as follows: |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 30 June |
| 31 December |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 2020 |
| 2019 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| (Unaudited) |
| (Audited) |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| SR (000) |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Letters of guarantee |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 41,141 |
| 48,027 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Above letters of guarantee include SR 31.81 million for zakat and withholding income tax submitted to GAZT (note 9) |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 15 |
| Disclosure of fair value of financial assets and liabilities [text block] |
14 | FAIR VALUE OF FINANCIAL INSTRUMENTS |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| The Company uses the following hierarchy for determining and disclosing the fair value of financial instruments: |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Level 1: Quoted market prices in an active market (that are unadjusted) for identical assets or liabilities. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Level 2: Valuation techniques (for which the lowest level input that is significant to the fair value measurement is directly or indirectly observable), and |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Level 3: Valuation techniques (for which the lowest level input that is significant to the fair value measurement is unobservable). |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| The fair values of all other financial assets and liabilities which are carried at cost, are not significantly different from the carrying values included in these financial statements, since the current market commission rates for similar financial instruments are not significantly different from the contracted rates, and on account of the short duration of the assets and liabilities. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 14 |
| Disclosure of board of director's approval of the financial statements [text block] |
21 | APPROVAL OF INTERIM CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| The interim condensed financial statements were approved by the Board of Directors on Dhul Hijjah 26, 1441 H (corresponding to August 16, 2020). |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 21 |
| Disclosure of other notes relevant to understanding of financial statements [text block] |
19 | IMPACT OF COVID-19 OUTBREAK |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| On 11 March 2020, the World Health Organization (“WHO”) declared the Coronavirus (“COVID-19”) outbreak as a pandemic in recognition of its rapid spread across the globe. This outbreak has also affected the GCC region including the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Governments all over the world took steps to contain the spread of the virus. Saudi Arabia in particular has implemented closure of borders, released social distancing guidelines and enforced country wide lockdowns and curfews.
In response to the spread of the Covid-19 virus in the GCC where the Company operates and its consequential disruption to the social and economic activities in those markets, the Company’s management has proactively assessed its impacts on its operations and has taken a series of proactive and preventative measures and processes to ensure: the health and safety of its employees and the wider community where it is operating the continuity of its business throughout the Kingdom is protected and kept intact.
The major impact of Covid-19 pandemic is seen in motor line of business as explained below. As with any estimate, the projections and likelihoods of occurrence are underpinned by significant judgment and rapidly evolving situation and uncertainties surrounding the duration and severity of the pandemic, and therefore, the actual outcomes may be different to those projected. The impact of such uncertain economic environment is judgmental, and the Company will continue to reassess its position and the related impact on a regular basis.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Motor technical reserves |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| In response to the Covid-19 pandemic, SAMA issued a circular 189 (the “circular”) dated 08 May 2020 to all insurance companies in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Amongst other things, the circular instructed insurance companies to extend the period of validity of all existing retail motor insurance policies by further two months as well as providing a two-month additional coverage for all new retail motor policies written within one month of this circular.
The Management, in conjunction with its appointed actuary, deliberated on a variety of internal factors and concluded, that the Company considers the extension of two months in exiting motor policies as new policy and record a premium deficiency reserve based on the expected claims for the extended 2 months period.
For new policies written as per above circular, the premium is earned over the period of coverage i.e. 14 month as per the Company accounting policy. There is no significant impact of two month extension in earned premium as of June 30, 2020 as no material amounts of premium have been written during the one month period.
The Company has performed a liability adequacy test using current estimates of future cash flows under its insurance contracts at segmented level for motor line of business and recorded an additional premium deficiency reserve amounting to SR 42.1 million as at 30 June, 2020. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Financial assets |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| To cater for any potential impacts, the Covid-19 pandemic may have had on the financial assets of the Company, the Company has performed an assessment in accordance with its accounting policy, to determine whether there is an objective evidence that a financial asset or a group of financial assets has been impaired. For debt financial assets, these include factors such as, significant financial difficulties of issuers or debtors, default or delinquency in payments, probability that the issuer or debtor will enter bankruptcy or other financial reorganization, etc. In case of equities classified under available-for-sale, the Company has performed an assessment to determine whether there is a significant or prolonged decline in the fair value of financial assets below their cost.
Based on these assessments, the Company’s management believes that the Covid-19 pandemic has had no material effects on Company’s reported results for the three and six-month periods ended 30 June 2020. The Company’s management continues to monitor the situation closely.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 19-20 |